Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Read More.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS General Gear Talk Data Storage, Memory Cards & Backup
Thread started 13 Apr 2016 (Wednesday) 16:16
Prev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)

NAS Advice ...

 
AlanU
Cream of the Crop
Joined Feb 2008
Vancouver, BC
Apr 21, 2016 09:25 |  #16

jlt23 wrote in post #17979576 (external link)
I'm leaning towards a Synology DS416 with 4 WD 4 TB red drives.

Fortunately the price of this type of gear is CHEAP!! in the US. It was extremely painful to buy my Qnap and 6tb Red's locally in Canada.

At the end of the day you will almost forget that you spent that money. The convenience of a NAS system is so beneficial. I automatically throw all of my IP Camera video logs in my NAS. Creating your own cloud is "cool" but the upload limitation of your "average" ISP service will possibly drive you nuts. I still use dropbox for large file transfers.


5Dmkiv |5Dmkiii | 80D | 24LmkII | 35mm f/2 IS | 85 mkII L | 100L | EF-S 10-22 | 16-35L mkII | 24-70 f/2.8L mkii| 70-200 f/2.8 ISL mkII| 600EX-RT x2 | 580 EX II x2 | Einstein's
Fuji X-T2 w/battery booster | 16mm f/1.4 | 56 f/1.2 | 10-24 f/4.0 | 55-200 | EF-X500

LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)
Daphatty
Senior Member
Joined Jan 2012
Apr 21, 2016 12:30 |  #17

There is a lot of great advice here. Sadly, the OP doesn't site what sort of budget to work within.

Personally, I started off with a Synology 412+ and recently upgraded to a newer 1815+ model. Once I figured out how to use Lightroom with the NAS (keep the catalog local and store your RAW files on the NAS), I never looked back. Any new photos I add to my library are automatically backed up the same evening (duplicate copies to separate hard drives). I use RAID simply because it is an option but I've experienced enough RAID failures in my professional career to know better than to count on RAID to save my data.


Canon 5D III | EF 24-105mm f/4L IS | EF 70-200mm f/2.8L IS II | EF 40mm f/2.8
Nest NT-6295c Tripod | Bendo IB2 Ballhead

LOG IN TO REPLY
flowrider
Goldmember
flowrider's Avatar
Joined Dec 2009
604
Apr 21, 2016 13:44 as a reply to AlanU's post |  #18

Alan, who's your provider? I'm with Telus but they block port 80 (I think that was the one) that prevented me from setting up OwnCloud.


~Steve~
~ My Website-stevelowephoto.com (external link) ~ Facebook (external link)
Feedback Feedback Feedback

LOG IN TO REPLY
flowrider
Goldmember
flowrider's Avatar
Joined Dec 2009
604
Apr 21, 2016 13:50 |  #19

Like everyone else here I'd recommend getting a 4 bay NAS. You will want to upgrade and the ability to use different types of RAID depending on your needs is nice. I ended up with a 4 bay Asustor NAS because the Synology was much more expensive, Asustor was just starting out in NAS but make a ton of computer equipment, and the specs were very good. It works for me but I would have bought a Synology if I had the extra money. The DSM software is excellent in Synologys.


~Steve~
~ My Website-stevelowephoto.com (external link) ~ Facebook (external link)
Feedback Feedback Feedback

LOG IN TO REPLY
jlt23
Senior Member
401 posts
Joined May 2010
Tustin, CA
Apr 21, 2016 15:00 |  #20

I'm glad I'm seeing all of the positive comments on Synology.


James

LOG IN TO REPLY
hidroela
Senior Member
hidroela's Avatar
Joined Jul 2014
Right across NASA
Apr 21, 2016 15:10 |  #21

Or Build your own "Synology"http://us.hardware.inf​o ...y-build-your-own-synology (external link)


PĂ©rez
GEAR

LOG IN TO REPLY
NG8JGFX
Senior Member
NG8JGFX's Avatar
Joined Mar 2011
Southern CA
Apr 21, 2016 16:00 |  #22

Look into QNAP. I have a 4 bay and it kicks ass!


MyCanonPhotos (external link) facebook (external link)
Tenba 32L, 5D IV, 5D III, 7D II, 8 Lenses, Three 600 EX-RT's, ST-E3-RT +

LOG IN TO REPLY
AlanU
Cream of the Crop
Joined Feb 2008
Vancouver, BC
Apr 21, 2016 16:07 |  #23

flowrider wrote in post #17979857 (external link)
Alan, who's your provider? I'm with Telus but they block port 80 (I think that was the one) that prevented me from setting up OwnCloud.

I use Shaw. I can't remember but I setup my cloud with my Qnap. However I almost never use it remotely because my broadband 60 at home has a slow upload of 6 Mbps. I see more advantage using dropbox. DB would be slow upload but remotely it'll be faster pulling stuff off their service.


5Dmkiv |5Dmkiii | 80D | 24LmkII | 35mm f/2 IS | 85 mkII L | 100L | EF-S 10-22 | 16-35L mkII | 24-70 f/2.8L mkii| 70-200 f/2.8 ISL mkII| 600EX-RT x2 | 580 EX II x2 | Einstein's
Fuji X-T2 w/battery booster | 16mm f/1.4 | 56 f/1.2 | 10-24 f/4.0 | 55-200 | EF-X500

LOG IN TO REPLY
flowrider
Goldmember
flowrider's Avatar
Joined Dec 2009
604
Apr 21, 2016 16:10 as a reply to AlanU's post |  #24

Thanks. I use dropbox and google drive as well. It's just one of the few things I can't get to work because Telus blocks so many ports. Frustrating part is that that the Synology Cloudstation did work but I hated how it handled photos on any mobile platform.


~Steve~
~ My Website-stevelowephoto.com (external link) ~ Facebook (external link)
Feedback Feedback Feedback

LOG IN TO REPLY
AlanU
Cream of the Crop
Joined Feb 2008
Vancouver, BC
Apr 21, 2016 16:10 |  #25

jlt23 wrote in post #17979941 (external link)
I'm glad I'm seeing all of the positive comments on Synology.

Synology has it's nice proprietary raid system.

I have only used Qnap but so far it's been working fine for me.

What individuals may find is that once you adapt to your "brand" you'll just get comfortable regardless of what brand you buy.

I use Qnap 451 and it's responsive and it works...that's all I care about :)


5Dmkiv |5Dmkiii | 80D | 24LmkII | 35mm f/2 IS | 85 mkII L | 100L | EF-S 10-22 | 16-35L mkII | 24-70 f/2.8L mkii| 70-200 f/2.8 ISL mkII| 600EX-RT x2 | 580 EX II x2 | Einstein's
Fuji X-T2 w/battery booster | 16mm f/1.4 | 56 f/1.2 | 10-24 f/4.0 | 55-200 | EF-X500

LOG IN TO REPLY
AlanU
Cream of the Crop
Joined Feb 2008
Vancouver, BC
Apr 21, 2016 16:19 |  #26

IF you buy a NAS I strongly suggest buying a pure sine wave power backup system UPS. This way the UPS detects a power outage and your NAS has time to shutdown properly.

I purchased a cyberpower unit:

http://www.newegg.ca ...o4wh7gNo99DlKhxoC45​Tw_wcB (external link)

I've heard some nasty catastrophic failures when an outage has wiped out a NAS system.

Even a simulated sine wave UPS will give the NAS time to shutdown. Depending on how yours is setup you can shut down the NAS via USB cable connected to the UPS to trigger a shutdown sequence.


5Dmkiv |5Dmkiii | 80D | 24LmkII | 35mm f/2 IS | 85 mkII L | 100L | EF-S 10-22 | 16-35L mkII | 24-70 f/2.8L mkii| 70-200 f/2.8 ISL mkII| 600EX-RT x2 | 580 EX II x2 | Einstein's
Fuji X-T2 w/battery booster | 16mm f/1.4 | 56 f/1.2 | 10-24 f/4.0 | 55-200 | EF-X500

LOG IN TO REPLY
mike_d
Goldmember
mike_d's Avatar
4,976 posts
Joined Aug 2009
Apr 21, 2016 16:50 |  #27

AlanU wrote in post #17980022 (external link)
IF you buy a NAS I strongly suggest buying a pure sine wave power backup system UPS. This way the UPS detects a power outage and your NAS has time to shutdown properly.

I purchased a cyberpower unit:

http://www.newegg.ca ...o4wh7gNo99DlKhxoC45​Tw_wcB (external link)

I've heard some nasty catastrophic failures when an outage has wiped out a NAS system.

Even a simulated sine wave UPS will give the NAS time to shutdown. Depending on how yours is setup you can shut down the NAS via USB cable connected to the UPS to trigger a shutdown sequence.

Pure vs. stepped sine wave is a function of the type of power supply it will be powering, not the function of the load or the runtime.

Active PFC power supplies don't run on stepped waves. Since active PFC is more and more common, I only recommend pure sine wave UPSs just to be safe. I have several of the Cyberpower units you linked to and they're great.




LOG IN TO REPLY
Daphatty
Senior Member
Joined Jan 2012
Apr 21, 2016 17:55 |  #28

AlanU wrote in post #17980022 (external link)
IF you buy a NAS I strongly suggest buying a pure sine wave power backup system UPS. This way the UPS detects a power outage and your NAS has time to shutdown properly.

I purchased a cyberpower unit:

http://www.newegg.ca ...o4wh7gNo99DlKhxoC45​Tw_wcB (external link)

I've heard some nasty catastrophic failures when an outage has wiped out a NAS system.

Even a simulated sine wave UPS will give the NAS time to shutdown. Depending on how yours is setup you can shut down the NAS via USB cable connected to the UPS to trigger a shutdown sequence.

This times a bajillion!

I have a unit similar to this (slightly less capable) and it works wonderfully.


Canon 5D III | EF 24-105mm f/4L IS | EF 70-200mm f/2.8L IS II | EF 40mm f/2.8
Nest NT-6295c Tripod | Bendo IB2 Ballhead

LOG IN TO REPLY
jlt23
Senior Member
401 posts
Joined May 2010
Tustin, CA
May 02, 2016 14:10 |  #29

Ordered my Synology DS416, 4 - 4TB WD Red HD, and a UPS. Should be here this weekend. Now I need to figure out how to set it up and transfer my photos without screwing things up in Lightroom.


James

LOG IN TO REPLY
mike_d
Goldmember
mike_d's Avatar
4,976 posts
Joined Aug 2009
May 02, 2016 14:32 |  #30

jlt23 wrote in post #17993222 (external link)
Ordered my Synology DS416, 4 - 4TB WD Red HD, and a UPS. Should be here this weekend. Now I need to figure out how to set it up and transfer my photos without screwing things up in Lightroom.

First, be sure to leave your database on your computer. Just move the images.

Its actually pretty easy. Create a folder on the Synology (either on an existing share or a new one) and make sure you can read/write to it before trying to use it in Lightroom. In LR's Library, go to Folders on the left, click the + and choose new folder. Point it to the folder on your NAS. You'll now have two top level folders listed. Now just drag and drop whatever you want to the new folder within Lightroom. Moving files within LR ensures that your database can find them so your edits are all preserved.




LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)

9,141 views & 9 likes for this thread
NAS Advice ...
FORUMS General Gear Talk Data Storage, Memory Cards & Backup


Not a member yet? Click here to register to the forums.
Registered members get all the features: search, following threads, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, settings, view hosted photos, own reviews and more...


AAA

Send feedback to staff    •   Jump to forum...    •   Rules    •   Index    •   New posts    •   RTAT    •   'Best of'    •   Gallery    •   Gear    •   Reviews    •   Polls

COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Privacy policy and cookie usage info.

POWERED BY AMASS 1.4version 1.4
made in Finland
by Pekka Saarinen
for photography-on-the.net
Spent 0.00255 for 6 database queries.
PAGE COMPLETED IN 0.03s
Latest registered member is RoMEo1
993 guests, 444 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 6106, that happened on Jun 09, 2016