Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Read More.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras
Thread started 25 Feb 2017 (Saturday) 08:59
Prev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)

60D not recognizing my SD Card, although my computer does...

 
bassrebel
Member
Joined Sep 2006
Orlando, FL
Feb 25, 2017 08:59 |  #1

Hey Guys!

I have recently ran into some issues with my SD Card.

I have a 128GB Sandisk Extreme Pro SD Card. I thought I lost it for months, and recently found again.

For some reason the computer recognizes the SD Card, I was able to copy everything from it, but my 60D won't recognize it. I have tried cleaning the sd card, reformatting it, and nothing!

What can I do to have my camera recognize this specific SD Card?

It can recognize any other SD Cards, including micro SD Cards with adapters.

Thanks!


Canon EOS 60D | Tamron 70-200mm f/2.8 Di VC USD, SP 24-70mm f/2.8 Di VC USD | Sigma 10-20mm f/4-5.6 |

LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)
TreeburnerCT
Member
TreeburnerCT's Avatar
Joined Dec 2016
Stratford, CT, USA
Post has been edited 7 months ago by TreeburnerCT.
Feb 25, 2017 21:29 |  #2

Do you have the write protect switch on the card flipped on? If not, are you sure the 60D supports 128gb cards?

-Joe


RapidPhotoCT.com (external link) | RapidPhotoCT Facebook (external link) | RapidPhotoCT Instagram (external link)

LOG IN TO REPLY
bassrebel
THREAD ­ STARTER
Member
Joined Sep 2006
Orlando, FL
Feb 26, 2017 07:16 |  #3

TreeburnerCT wrote in post #18285139 (external link)
Do you have the write protect switch on the card flipped on? If not, are you sure the 60D supports 128gb cards?

-Joe

Hey Joe,

Write protect is not switched, and yes, I was using that card before, as well as many other 128's that I have...


Canon EOS 60D | Tamron 70-200mm f/2.8 Di VC USD, SP 24-70mm f/2.8 Di VC USD | Sigma 10-20mm f/4-5.6 |

LOG IN TO REPLY
CyberManiaK
Senior Member
668 posts
Joined Jan 2009
So.Cal
Feb 26, 2017 23:15 |  #4

Have you tried doing a low level format in camera?


Carlos
60D / 10-20 + 100L + 40/2.8

LOG IN TO REPLY
Archibald
You must be quackers!
Archibald's Avatar
Joined May 2008
Calgary
Feb 26, 2017 23:52 |  #5

Long shot maybe, but check that it is formatted as exFAT and not some incompatible file system.


Hasselblad 500 C/M with 80mm/2.8 Zeiss Planar (trying to sell it); Pentax Spotmatic F with 28/3.5, 50/1.4, 50/1.8, 135/3.5; Canon digital gear
C&C always welcome.
Picture editing OK

LOG IN TO REPLY
bassrebel
THREAD ­ STARTER
Member
Joined Sep 2006
Orlando, FL
Feb 27, 2017 09:25 |  #6

CyberManiaK wrote in post #18286306 (external link)
Have you tried doing a low level format in camera?

Whenever I try doing a format in the camera it tells me that there is no card


Canon EOS 60D | Tamron 70-200mm f/2.8 Di VC USD, SP 24-70mm f/2.8 Di VC USD | Sigma 10-20mm f/4-5.6 |

LOG IN TO REPLY
bassrebel
THREAD ­ STARTER
Member
Joined Sep 2006
Orlando, FL
Feb 27, 2017 09:25 |  #7

Archibald wrote in post #18286315 (external link)
Long shot maybe, but check that it is formatted as exFAT and not some incompatible file system.

Will try to reformat and make sure it's on exFAT :)


Canon EOS 60D | Tamron 70-200mm f/2.8 Di VC USD, SP 24-70mm f/2.8 Di VC USD | Sigma 10-20mm f/4-5.6 |

LOG IN TO REPLY
FarmerTed1971
fondling the 5D4
FarmerTed1971's Avatar
Joined Sep 2013
Portland, OR
Feb 27, 2017 09:28 |  #8

Toss it and get another.


Getting better at this - Fuji Xt-2 - 18-55 - 35 f2 WR - 50-140 - 6D - 135L - 70-200 f4L IS - 600EX-RT x2 - ST-E3-RT - flickr (external link) - www.scottaticephoto.co​m (external link)

LOG IN TO REPLY
John ­ from ­ PA
Cream of the Crop
7,376 posts
Joined May 2003
Southeast Pennsylvania
Feb 27, 2017 09:40 |  #9

Go to https://www.sdcard.org​/downloads/ (external link) and download the SD organization's card formatter. Use it, then do a low level in camera format and retest. If it still doesn't work in the 60D, and other cards do, then deal with the card OEM for a replacement. Most brand name cards have good warranties.




LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)

876 views & 0 likes for this thread
60D not recognizing my SD Card, although my computer does...
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras


Not a member yet? Click here to register to the forums.
Registered members get all the features: search, following threads, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, settings, view hosted photos, own reviews and more...


AAA

Send feedback to staff    •   Jump to forum...    •   Rules    •   Index    •   New posts    •   RTAT    •   'Best of'    •   Gallery    •   Gear    •   Reviews    •   Polls

COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Privacy policy and cookie usage info.

POWERED BY AMASS 1.4version 1.4
made in Finland
by Pekka Saarinen
for photography-on-the.net
Spent 0.00106 for 6 database queries.
PAGE COMPLETED IN 0.02s
Latest registered member is alessandro
907 guests, 443 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 6106, that happened on Jun 09, 2016