Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Read More.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras
Thread started 21 Feb 2012 (Tuesday) 20:01
Prev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)

FINALLY! A simple shutter count program for (many) EOS cameras

 
ikossan
Hatchling
ikossan's Avatar
5 posts
Joined Apr 2016
Feb 28, 2017 15:01 |  #811

WaltA wrote in post #18287813 (external link)
I've been using the Canon SDK (Software Development Kit) for many years. Here's my theory.

When you could use the SDK to query the shutter count it would be possible to reverse engineer that function call and edit the shutter count. I think they took that function out of the SDK around 3 years ago so that hackers couldn't change the shutter count.

Its still being stored in the camera (obviously) and Canon can tell you what it is - if you ask. I think they've changed the memory location to hide it.

Magic Lantern developers have reverse engineered it - you can get it if you install their software. However I don't the 5DsR on their list of supported cameras.

yes, all functionalities are offers by the SDK officially by Canon. only the shutter counter is hidden since the version sdk2.13 ( i'm not sure).
I coded this function in assembler to read the value of the counter.

this commercial software lets you change and reset the Shot and the mirror counters!! look at this link:
http://www.spt.info ...rn=713&action=show_​detail (external link)




LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)
WaltA
Goldmember
WaltA's Avatar
Joined Feb 2006
White Rock, BC, Canada
Feb 28, 2017 17:36 |  #812

ikossan wrote in post #18288031 (external link)
yes, all functionalities are offers by the SDK officially by Canon. only the shutter counter is hidden since the version sdk2.13 ( i'm not sure).
I coded this function in assembler to read the value of the counter.

this commercial software lets you change and reset the Shot and the mirror counters!! look at this link:
http://www.spt.info ...rn=713&action=show_​detail (external link)

Yeah, the SPT software is "supposed" to be only available to official Canon repair shops so they can reset the shutter count after a shutter replacement.


Walt
400D, 5D, 7D and a bag of stuff

LOG IN TO REPLY
BushWacker
Goldmember
BushWacker's Avatar
1,593 posts
Gallery: 1 photo
Joined Dec 2011
Lake Tahoe, USA
Mar 01, 2017 01:06 |  #813

I don't want to pay $275 to find out my shutter count.


"When I shoot something I use a Canon!"
-------------- Flickr (external link)| Gear List --------------

LOG IN TO REPLY
ikossan
Hatchling
ikossan's Avatar
5 posts
Joined Apr 2016
Mar 01, 2017 07:13 as a reply to BushWacker's post |  #814

For this price you can replace the old shutter part by a new one .
hh




LOG IN TO REPLY
richardjg
Hatchling
2 posts
Joined Jun 2017
Jun 02, 2017 06:07 |  #815

But if you pay just under $4 and buy Shuttercount you will be able to see the shutter count on a 7d mk2 which the simple shutter count program can't display, unfortunately.




LOG IN TO REPLY
BushWacker
Goldmember
BushWacker's Avatar
1,593 posts
Gallery: 1 photo
Joined Dec 2011
Lake Tahoe, USA
Jun 02, 2017 15:44 |  #816

I would like one for my 5DsR but I don't want to pay over $10.


"When I shoot something I use a Canon!"
-------------- Flickr (external link)| Gear List --------------

LOG IN TO REPLY
richardjg
Hatchling
2 posts
Joined Jun 2017
Jun 02, 2017 16:37 as a reply to BushWacker's post |  #817

The EOS-1D X Mark II, EOS 5DS, 5DS R, 80D, 750D / Rebel T6i / Kiss X8i and 760D / Rebel T6s / 8000D cameras do not provide shutter count information. It seems that Canon has removed the shutter count functionality from the remote control interface.




LOG IN TO REPLY
eddieb1
Senior Member
eddieb1's Avatar
709 posts
Joined Apr 2013
Oregon
Jun 02, 2017 18:34 |  #818

Or, you can install Magic Lantern and get your count for free.




LOG IN TO REPLY
BushWacker
Goldmember
BushWacker's Avatar
1,593 posts
Gallery: 1 photo
Joined Dec 2011
Lake Tahoe, USA
Jun 02, 2017 19:05 |  #819

I guess I missed something. I'll look for Magic Lantern but as I understood the 5DsR didn't have a program that could read its shutter count.


"When I shoot something I use a Canon!"
-------------- Flickr (external link)| Gear List --------------

LOG IN TO REPLY
BushWacker
Goldmember
BushWacker's Avatar
1,593 posts
Gallery: 1 photo
Joined Dec 2011
Lake Tahoe, USA
Jun 02, 2017 19:15 |  #820

Here is what I found on the Magic Lantern forum:

---------------

There is no ML version for 5DS, nobody is working on it and nobody is planning to work on it.
Rumours about Canon restricting ML on newer consumer cams are plain BS.
The only one remotely true: EOS M3. There will be no ML ever because M3 is using a totally different firmware (= the one used in Point-and-Shooters). But there is a CHDK port.

General rule: If there is no ML port for a cam act like there will be no port ever.
---------------


I wish it was as easy as you say but it looks like not...


"When I shoot something I use a Canon!"
-------------- Flickr (external link)| Gear List --------------

LOG IN TO REPLY
eddieb1
Senior Member
eddieb1's Avatar
709 posts
Joined Apr 2013
Oregon
Jun 03, 2017 10:31 |  #821

BushWacker wrote in post #18369528 (external link)
Here is what I found on the Magic Lantern forum:

---------------

There is no ML version for 5DS, nobody is working on it and nobody is planning to work on it.
Rumours about Canon restricting ML on newer consumer cams are plain BS.
The only one remotely true: EOS M3. There will be no ML ever because M3 is using a totally different firmware (= the one used in Point-and-Shooters). But there is a CHDK port.

General rule: If there is no ML port for a cam act like there will be no port ever.
---------------


I wish it was as easy as you say but it looks like not...

Sorry. I stand corrected.




LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)

620,869 views & 14 likes for this thread
FINALLY! A simple shutter count program for (many) EOS cameras
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras


Not a member yet? Click here to register to the forums.
Registered members get all the features: search, following threads, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, settings, view hosted photos, own reviews and more...


AAA

Send feedback to staff    •   Jump to forum...    •   Rules    •   Index    •   New posts    •   RTAT    •   'Best of'    •   Gallery    •   Gear    •   Reviews    •   Polls

COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Privacy policy and cookie usage info.

POWERED BY AMASS 1.4version 1.4
made in Finland
by Pekka Saarinen
for photography-on-the.net
Spent 0.00195 for 6 database queries.
PAGE COMPLETED IN 0.02s
Latest registered member is zhumiao23
912 guests, 384 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 6430, that happened on Dec 03, 2017