Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Read More.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS General Gear Talk Flash and Studio Lighting
Thread started 31 Aug 2017 (Thursday) 00:15
Prev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)

Godox X1c and RS600P - Power range problem

 
ahering
Hatchling
6 posts
Joined Aug 2017
Aug 31, 2017 00:15 |  #1

I have been using the transmitter X1c with the Godox RS600P flash without any issues, but I am suddenly unable to go any lower than 1/32. I have rechecked the manual for the RS600P and it says in there the flash has a range of 1/1 to 1/32 which would make a lot of sense if had I not have been using the flash (with the trigger) for a power range of 1/1 to 1/128...

Any idea how to fix this so it works again all the way from 1/1 to 1/128???

I had also rechecked the configuration of the Godox X1c, and everything seems to be configured correctly. So why now after more than a year the flash won't go under 1/32.... arggggg




LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)
dpe
Member
155 posts
Joined Jan 2017
Wareham
Aug 31, 2017 02:30 |  #2

the trigger can only set the levels that the RS600p can handle so only 1/1 to 1/32 can be used

mike




LOG IN TO REPLY
TeamSpeed
01010100 01010011
TeamSpeed's Avatar
32,241 posts
Gallery: 63 photos
Joined May 2002
Northern Indiana
Aug 31, 2017 06:46 |  #3

Have you updated the x1c firmware since the last time you used the 600? If so perhaps a year ago the firmware allowed you to set any value you wanted but counted on the flash to do only what it could do. Now it talks to the 600 and honors it's min/max values? Just a guess though...


Past Equipment | My Gallery (external link)

LOG IN TO REPLY
ahering
THREAD ­ STARTER
Hatchling
6 posts
Joined Aug 2017
Aug 31, 2017 08:02 as a reply to dpe's post |  #4

Thanks, but the thing is that I have been able to use the full power range from 1/1 to 1/128 all along for over a year and it just stop happening two days ago and now it only goes from 1/1 to 1/32...




LOG IN TO REPLY
ahering
THREAD ­ STARTER
Hatchling
6 posts
Joined Aug 2017
Aug 31, 2017 08:04 as a reply to TeamSpeed's post |  #5

I have not updated the firmware, it actually happened during a session, after hours of taking pictures it suddenly stopped going all way down to 1/128... it is the weirdest thing and yes, it is like it suddenly decided to honor the min/max values of the flash itself. Totally clueless. The trigger has the firmware version 14.




LOG IN TO REPLY
abbadon31
Goldmember
abbadon31's Avatar
Joined Jul 2009
SOCAL
Aug 31, 2017 08:48 |  #6

You could never go down the 1/128 with the RS600P. Yes the trigger will go down to that, but the strobe its will stay at 1/32 even if the trigger is at 1/1/28


I AM SHOM

LOG IN TO REPLY
ahering
THREAD ­ STARTER
Hatchling
6 posts
Joined Aug 2017
Aug 31, 2017 08:52 as a reply to abbadon31's post |  #7

That is exactly what is happening now, but I have been using it all the way from 1/1 to 1/128 for over a year, visually seeing the 1/128 on the flash screen it self... sooo weird




LOG IN TO REPLY
abbadon31
Goldmember
abbadon31's Avatar
Joined Jul 2009
SOCAL
Aug 31, 2017 08:58 |  #8

the screen on the RS600P can't display 1/128 and never could


I AM SHOM

LOG IN TO REPLY
ahering
THREAD ­ STARTER
Hatchling
6 posts
Joined Aug 2017
Aug 31, 2017 09:01 as a reply to abbadon31's post |  #9

It did, more positive on that one I could not be, the question is how it did happen and why it did work then...




LOG IN TO REPLY
abbadon31
Goldmember
abbadon31's Avatar
Joined Jul 2009
SOCAL
Post has been last edited 2 months ago by abbadon31. 3 edits done in total.
Aug 31, 2017 09:04 |  #10

Take it from the guy that did the logo for godox on this unit. it can't and will not show because the segment displays can't do it. I own every version made of this unit.


I AM SHOM

LOG IN TO REPLY
abbadon31
Goldmember
abbadon31's Avatar
Joined Jul 2009
SOCAL
Aug 31, 2017 09:43 |  #11

this is the display screen

HOSTED PHOTO
please log in to view hosted photos in full size.

I AM SHOM

LOG IN TO REPLY
TeamSpeed
01010100 01010011
TeamSpeed's Avatar
32,241 posts
Gallery: 63 photos
Joined May 2002
Northern Indiana
Aug 31, 2017 11:57 |  #12

That is pretty concrete evidence.... :)


Past Equipment | My Gallery (external link)

LOG IN TO REPLY
ahering
THREAD ­ STARTER
Hatchling
6 posts
Joined Aug 2017
Aug 31, 2017 13:05 as a reply to abbadon31's post |  #13

Then I have been looking at the transmitter all this time... shame on me.... :( thanks for opening my eyes




LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)

1,928 views & 4 likes for this thread
Godox X1c and RS600P - Power range problem
FORUMS General Gear Talk Flash and Studio Lighting


Not a member yet? Click here to register to the forums.
Registered members get all the features: search, following threads, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, settings, view hosted photos, own reviews and more...


AAA

Send feedback to staff    •   Jump to forum...    •   Rules    •   Index    •   New posts    •   RTAT    •   'Best of'    •   Gallery    •   Gear    •   Reviews    •   Polls

COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Privacy policy and cookie usage info.

POWERED BY AMASS 1.4version 1.4
made in Finland
by Pekka Saarinen
for photography-on-the.net
Spent 0.00133 for 6 database queries.
PAGE COMPLETED IN 0.02s
Latest registered member is Desser
907 guests, 443 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 6106, that happened on Jun 09, 2016