Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Read More.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Community Talk, Chatter & Official Stuff Forum Talk 
Thread started 02 Sep 2017 (Saturday) 03:38
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

why cant I upload images to forum ?

 
Davenn
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
Avatar
908 posts
Gallery: 13 photos
Likes: 335
Joined Jun 2013
Location: Sydney, Australia
     
Sep 03, 2017 00:43 |  #16

OhLook wrote in post #18443271 (external link)
Frank, I always get "converting, please hold on." It doesn't last long.

yup, that has been the norm. for as long as I remember :-)


OK lets try again .... been 24 hrs since I last tried


nope still no-go just the converting msg that never goes away and no thumb appears

well, hell !! :-( .... not much fun not being able to post my pix

Dave


A picture is worth 1000 words ;)
Canon 5D3, 6D, 700D, a bunch of lenses and other bits, ohhh and some Pentax stuff ;)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
Archibald
You must be quackers!
Avatar
5,925 posts
Gallery: 163 photos
Best ofs: 1
Likes: 5907
Joined May 2008
Location: Calgary
     
Sep 03, 2017 00:46 |  #17

I have no idea.

Maybe try a different computer in your current location.

Try the same computer (if it is a laptop) at a different location.

Go to the local library or work and try on one of theirs.

Ask the mods if you could create a second POTN ID and see if it is different with it.


Pentax Spotmatic F with 28/3.5, 50/1.4, 50/1.8, 135/3.5; Canon digital gear
C&C always welcome.
Picture editing OK

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Davenn
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
Avatar
908 posts
Gallery: 13 photos
Likes: 335
Joined Jun 2013
Location: Sydney, Australia
     
Sep 03, 2017 00:50 |  #18

Archibald wrote in post #18443294 (external link)
I have no idea.

Maybe try a different computer in your current location.


Try the same computer (if it is a laptop) at a different location.

Go to the local library or work and try on one of theirs.

Ask the mods if you could create a second POTN ID and see if it is different with it.


that's a good thought .... that one hadn't occurred to me .... will try now :-)


A picture is worth 1000 words ;)
Canon 5D3, 6D, 700D, a bunch of lenses and other bits, ohhh and some Pentax stuff ;)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Davenn
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
Avatar
908 posts
Gallery: 13 photos
Likes: 335
Joined Jun 2013
Location: Sydney, Australia
Post edited 7 months ago by Davenn.
     
Sep 03, 2017 01:10 |  #19

OK .... now on my laptop.....


well that took quite some time for the thumb to appear in the upload box
but it did finally appear


HOSTED PHOTO
please log in to view hosted photos in full size.


A picture is worth 1000 words ;)
Canon 5D3, 6D, 700D, a bunch of lenses and other bits, ohhh and some Pentax stuff ;)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Davenn
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
Avatar
908 posts
Gallery: 13 photos
Likes: 335
Joined Jun 2013
Location: Sydney, Australia
     
Sep 03, 2017 01:42 |  #20

OK ... this time try an upload of an image that wouldn't upload from the main PC


OK, that didn't work ......


something about the forum that doesn't like my recently resized images
time to ponder ...... thanks everyone for your input

OK this has always been the work flow for that small number of images I want to upload to Facebook, here or other forums .....

Edit the RAW image in Lightroom ----> save to desktop as the full sized jpg ---> resize and compress image in IrfanView --> upload to WWW

IrfanView is a basic editor I have used for many years. 99.9% of its use is for resizing and compressing
load in a full sized image > resize to 1000 x 665 ( or there abouts) save with a compression of around 85%

maybe something has ( or I have accidentally) changed in that editor ??


Dave


A picture is worth 1000 words ;)
Canon 5D3, 6D, 700D, a bunch of lenses and other bits, ohhh and some Pentax stuff ;)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
john ­ crossley
Goldmember
Avatar
2,152 posts
Gallery: 41 photos
Likes: 1001
Joined Nov 2009
Location: The Rhubarb Triangle
     
Sep 03, 2017 01:59 |  #21

Davenn wrote in post #18443315 (external link)
OK ... this time try an upload of an image that wouldn't upload from the main PC


OK, that didn't work ......


something about the forum that doesn't like my recently resized images
time to ponder ...... thanks everyone for your input

OK this has always been the work flow for that small number of images I want to upload to Facebook, here or other forums .....

Edit the RAW image in Lightroom ----> save to desktop as the full sized jpg ---> resize and compress image in IrfanView --> upload to WWW

IrfanView is a basic editor I have used for many years. 99.9% of its use is for resizing and compressing
load in a full sized image > resize to 1000 x 665 ( or there abouts) save with a compression of around 85%

maybe something has ( or I have accidentally) changed in that editor ??


Dave

I don't understand why you would want to do that. Surely it is easier just to export a resized jpeg straight from Lightroom.


Some days I'm the dog, some days I'm the lamppost.

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
scriveyn
Goldmember
Avatar
1,149 posts
Gallery: 391 photos
Best ofs: 3
Likes: 1665
Joined Jun 2011
Location: SW Germany
     
Sep 03, 2017 02:58 |  #22

All my uploaded images have been edited + resized with IrfanView; I don't have that problem.

Are you using the 'Save for web' or the standard save/save as dialog?

Any colour profiles involved?


Frank, also known as jazzman
C&C welcome
Image Editing OK (for reposting in the same thread)

I Jazz

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Davenn
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
Avatar
908 posts
Gallery: 13 photos
Likes: 335
Joined Jun 2013
Location: Sydney, Australia
     
Sep 03, 2017 03:26 |  #23

john crossley wrote in post #18443317 (external link)
I don't understand why you would want to do that. Surely it is easier just to export a resized jpeg straight from Lightroom.


because I don't want to be constantly changing the setting in LR for image size and compression factor
so I leave it set for a full sized and no compression

It's then just a quick edit in IrfanView to resize, it works well for me :-)


A picture is worth 1000 words ;)
Canon 5D3, 6D, 700D, a bunch of lenses and other bits, ohhh and some Pentax stuff ;)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Davenn
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
Avatar
908 posts
Gallery: 13 photos
Likes: 335
Joined Jun 2013
Location: Sydney, Australia
     
Sep 03, 2017 03:30 |  #24

scriveyn wrote in post #18443324 (external link)
All my uploaded images have been edited + resized with IrfanView; I don't have that problem.

Are you using the 'Save for web' or the standard save/save as dialog?

Any colour profiles involved?


well nor did I till a few days ago and it was only with this forum

just the standard save/save as mode

OK I went through IrfanView preferences over the last hr or so, couldn't see anything obviously out of place

lets try again .... nope still no go


A picture is worth 1000 words ;)
Canon 5D3, 6D, 700D, a bunch of lenses and other bits, ohhh and some Pentax stuff ;)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
rrblint
Listen! .... do you smell something?
Avatar
20,504 posts
Gallery: 38 photos
Best ofs: 2
Likes: 1425
Joined May 2012
Location: U.S.A.
     
Sep 03, 2017 03:39 |  #25

One more long-shot Dave that you've probably already checked, but have you tested your upload speed?


Mark

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Davenn
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
Avatar
908 posts
Gallery: 13 photos
Likes: 335
Joined Jun 2013
Location: Sydney, Australia
     
Sep 03, 2017 03:45 |  #26

rrblint wrote in post #18443332 (external link)
One more long-shot Dave that you've probably already checked, but have you tested your upload speed?


yup, no probs there .... all OK

lets try this..... I logged out of forum and logged back in, just in case it was that cookie setting

nope ... not that either

OK, I will clear cache and cookies and see what happens
technically this shouldn't matter as I have tried another browser with same result
but I'm getting desperate


D


A picture is worth 1000 words ;)
Canon 5D3, 6D, 700D, a bunch of lenses and other bits, ohhh and some Pentax stuff ;)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Davenn
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
Avatar
908 posts
Gallery: 13 photos
Likes: 335
Joined Jun 2013
Location: Sydney, Australia
     
Sep 03, 2017 04:23 |  #27

OK one more try after browser history, cookies and cache have been cleared


WOW ... it worked.... this time the converting comment lasted maybe 5-10 sec
then it was replaced with abort upload and it sat there for some 5 minutes before the thumbnail appeared

BUT IT WORKED haha

ill see how it goes over the next few days or so

thanks again to everyone :-)


Dave


HOSTED PHOTO
please log in to view hosted photos in full size.


A picture is worth 1000 words ;)
Canon 5D3, 6D, 700D, a bunch of lenses and other bits, ohhh and some Pentax stuff ;)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

1,797 views & 12 likes for this thread
why cant I upload images to forum ?
FORUMS Community Talk, Chatter & Official Stuff Forum Talk 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.0forum software
version 2.0 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is mason.snipes
698 guests, 426 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 6430, that happened on Dec 03, 2017

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.