Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Read More.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon Accessories
Thread started 04 Sep 2017 (Monday) 12:04
Prev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)

Using a larger external screen to view photos at a shoot?

 
kat.hayes
Member
145 posts
Joined Mar 2012
Sep 04, 2017 12:04 |  #1

I want to use a larger screen with my 5DM3, whether it is a phone attached to the hot shoe or a 9.7 inch ipad attached to a separate stand.

1. Any suggestions for blocking out ambient light when viewing the phone or iPad?
2. Do you find a separate screen useful? Is it best for focus? Other?
3. How do you adjust brightness so that it is not completely misleading when viewing it?

Thanks.




LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)
ThreeHounds
Senior Member
ThreeHounds's Avatar
Joined Mar 2014
Delray Beach, Fl USA
Post has been edited 5 months ago by ThreeHounds.
Sep 04, 2017 13:33 |  #2

I use an iPad Pro 9.7" and 12.9" in my studio via Camranger, and find it excellent for focusing and composing. really helps with focus stacking too. Clients get a good look at what I'm doing for approval as well.
I have used them for outdoor work, and have only had a couple occasions where the display was difficult to see. I imagine throwing a black cloth over your head and viewing under that would work, or maybe an umbrella.

I calibrated both with the ColorTrue app by Xrite and my i1 Display Pro monitor calibrator, and they are very reasonably close.


5D MkIII | 7D | Bronica ETRS
24-105 f/4 L | 17-40 f/4 L | 70-300 f/4 L | 105 f/3.5 Zenzanon | Tamron SP90 f/2.8 Di Macro VC USM
flickr (external link)

LOG IN TO REPLY
filmuser
Member
Joined Jul 2016
Sep 04, 2017 14:25 |  #3

Anther idea would be to use a 17 inch monitor to run a slideshow direct from camera. I picked up a 22 inch Samsung cheap for slideshows. Unless it is too big for your needs.




LOG IN TO REPLY
Canon ­ Amateur
Member
Canon Amateur's Avatar
Joined Aug 2010
The Netherlands
Sep 04, 2017 15:33 |  #4

Can Tethertools be of any help ?
https://www.tethertool​s.com/ (external link)


Canon EOS 1D Mark IV / Canon EOS M3 / Lytro illum

LOG IN TO REPLY
kat.hayes
THREAD ­ STARTER
Member
145 posts
Joined Mar 2012
Sep 05, 2017 23:33 |  #5

ThreeHounds wrote in post #18444373 (external link)
I use an iPad Pro 9.7" and 12.9" in my studio via Camranger, and find it excellent for focusing and composing. really helps with focus stacking too. Clients get a good look at what I'm doing for approval as well.
I have used them for outdoor work, and have only had a couple occasions where the display was difficult to see. I imagine throwing a black cloth over your head and viewing under that would work, or maybe an umbrella.

I calibrated both with the ColorTrue app by Xrite and my i1 Display Pro monitor calibrator, and they are very reasonably close.

I didn't know an iPad could be color calibrated with a i1 Display Pro monitor calibrator; thanks for the tip! Do you sync .jpg files to the iPad or .CR2?




LOG IN TO REPLY
ThreeHounds
Senior Member
ThreeHounds's Avatar
Joined Mar 2014
Delray Beach, Fl USA
Sep 06, 2017 00:18 as a reply to kat.hayes's post |  #6

Medium or High res jpgs. 26mb cr2s take way too long to transfer via wifi.


5D MkIII | 7D | Bronica ETRS
24-105 f/4 L | 17-40 f/4 L | 70-300 f/4 L | 105 f/3.5 Zenzanon | Tamron SP90 f/2.8 Di Macro VC USM
flickr (external link)

LOG IN TO REPLY
Temma
Senior Member
Joined Sep 2009
Rocky River, Ohio
Sep 11, 2017 06:09 |  #7

I made myself a sun shade for my Android tablet by cutting up an old plastic ring binder. It works well enough for what it cost me ($0.00).




LOG IN TO REPLY
TeamSpeed
01010100 01010011
TeamSpeed's Avatar
32,810 posts
Gallery: 63 photos
Joined May 2002
Northern Indiana
Post has been last edited 1 month ago by TeamSpeed. 2 edits done in total.
Sep 11, 2017 07:08 |  #8

Convert an MR3040 router to be a wireless device for your 5D3. Then put DSLRController on your tablet and control the camera, view images, etc from the tablet.

I have a spare I should probably sell, already flashed with the ROM needed for this. It is what the camranger does, but without the markup. I keep thinking I will need it, but at this point I haven't in a while.

https://petapixel.com ...sly-control-dslr-less-40/ (external link)


Past Equipment | My Gallery (external link)

LOG IN TO REPLY
truecolors
Member
truecolors's Avatar
Joined Aug 2008
New Mexico
Post has been edited 1 month ago by truecolors.
Jan 10, 2018 05:38 as a reply to ThreeHounds's post |  #9

I didn't know you could hook up your iPad to your camera. Guess I have been living under a rock. Do you mind explaining how you do this? I have had Lasik surgery
and have a real hard time focusing at times. So looking at my iPad to focus would really be awesome. Or any info would be great.


Sheron
Have some stuff, want more stuff, need a good eye.

LOG IN TO REPLY
tcphoto1
Goldmember
tcphoto1's Avatar
Joined Sep 2005
Madison, Ga
Post has been edited 1 month ago by tcphoto1.
Jan 11, 2018 15:35 |  #10

I shoot tethered to a MBP and 27” Apple Display via CaptureOne. I’ve seen people add an iPad to the mix for Stylists and clients just off the set. CaptureOne has the Capture Pilot app but I haven’t tried it yet.


www.tonyclarkphoto.comexternal link
www.tcphoto.orgexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
truecolors
Member
truecolors's Avatar
Joined Aug 2008
New Mexico
Post has been edited 1 month ago by truecolors.
Jan 12, 2018 00:40 as a reply to tcphoto1's post |  #11

OMG, This is a complete game changer for me. I thought I was getting to old to see and was actually thinking I had better give photography up. So
many times I would come home thinking I had some good shots... but no ... blurry. Time after time. I am so excited about this. I have an 12.9 "
iPad. I can see that! Thanks for your quick response.


Sheron
Have some stuff, want more stuff, need a good eye.

LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)

1,761 views & 8 likes for this thread
Using a larger external screen to view photos at a shoot?
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon Accessories


Not a member yet? Click here to register to the forums.
Registered members get all the features: search, following threads, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, settings, view hosted photos, own reviews and more...


AAA

Send feedback to staff    •   Jump to forum...    •   Rules    •   Index    •   New posts    •   RTAT    •   'Best of'    •   Gallery    •   Gear    •   Reviews    •   Polls

COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Privacy policy and cookie usage info.

POWERED BY AMASS 1.4version 1.4
made in Finland
by Pekka Saarinen
for photography-on-the.net
Spent 0.00194 for 6 database queries.
PAGE COMPLETED IN 0.03s
Latest registered member is Willow-wisp
959 guests, 466 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 6430, that happened on Dec 03, 2017