Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Read More.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras
Thread started 17 Sep 2017 (Sunday) 07:31
Prev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)

Which canon models have this feature?

 
James ­ Crockett
Member
James Crockett's Avatar
129 posts
Joined May 2017
Sep 17, 2017 07:31 |  #1

Ok, roughly a year ago I had Canon 70d. It had continous shooting then a high continous shooting mode that would display an "H". Which models have this feature? Don't laugh but I noticed the 5dmark2 doesn't have it but was wandering if all newer Canon cameras have this. Thanks!




LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)
apersson850
Cream of the Crop
apersson850's Avatar
11,632 posts
Joined Nov 2007
Traryd, Sweden
Sep 17, 2017 11:16 |  #2

As a rough estimate, those capable of more than five pictures per second.


Anders

LOG IN TO REPLY
davesrose
Title Fairy still hasn't visited me!
2,910 posts
Joined Apr 2007
Atlanta, GA
Sep 17, 2017 12:49 |  #3

The 5D3 has a high burst mode. I can't find an official list of models that have it: there's even Powershot models that have it.


Canon 5D mk III , 7D mk II
EF 135mm 2.0L, EF 70-200mm 2.8L IS II, EF 24-70 2.8L II, EF 50mm 1.4, EF 100mm 2.8L Macro, EF 16-35mm 4L IS, Sigma 150-600mm C, 580EX, 600EX-RT, MeFoto Globetrotter tripod, grips, Black Rapid RS-7, CAMS plate and strap system, Lowepro Flipside 500 AW, and a few other things...
smugmug (external link)

LOG IN TO REPLY
Capn ­ Jack
Senior Member
Capn Jack's Avatar
Joined Mar 2010
NE USA
Sep 17, 2017 13:13 |  #4

7D2 does. It shows a series of overlapping rectangles and an H both on the back screen and the LCD on the top of the camera.


USA members- don't let the airlines buy the air traffic control system: http://www.atcnotforsa​le.com/ (external link)

LOG IN TO REPLY
djsander
Junior Member
25 posts
Joined Mar 2012
Shreveport, La
Sep 17, 2017 13:20 |  #5

7dii has a slow speed continuous at about 3 shots/sec a high speed continuous at about 10 shots/s and a continuous quiet which is about 4 shots/s which is noticeably quieter.




LOG IN TO REPLY
James ­ Crockett
THREAD ­ STARTER
Member
James Crockett's Avatar
129 posts
Joined May 2017
Sep 17, 2017 13:30 |  #6

IMO this is a must have feature. esp with engagement couples capturing "in the moment" if the 5d3 has this then I know the 5d4 does as well. thanks everybody! just didn't know what this feature was called.




LOG IN TO REPLY
saea501
... spilled over a little on the panties
saea501's Avatar
Joined Jan 2010
Florida
Sep 18, 2017 07:06 |  #7

James Crockett wrote in post #18454285 (external link)
IMO this is a must have feature. esp with engagement couples capturing "in the moment" if the 5d3 has this then I know the 5d4 does as well. thanks everybody! just didn't know what this feature was called.

I never imagined needing a high frame rate to capture engagement couples.

I guess people do the engagement thing much differently where you are. :rolleyes:


Remember what the DorMouse said.....feed your head.
Bob
https://www.flickr.com ...282@N06/with/382034​70844/ (external link)

LOG IN TO REPLY
MakisM1
Cream of the Crop
MakisM1's Avatar
Joined Dec 2011
Houston
Sep 18, 2017 14:03 |  #8

60D has it too... A 'normal frame rate' (about 3 FPS?) and a 'high frame rate' 5.5 FPS IIRR...


Gerry
Canon 5D MkIII/Canon 60D/Canon EF-S 18-200/Canon EF 24-70L USM II/Canon EF 70-200L 2.8 USM II/Canon EF 50 f1.8 II/Σ 8-16/ 430 EXII
OS: Linux Ubuntu/PostProcessing: Darktable/Image Processing: GIMP

LOG IN TO REPLY
WaltA
Goldmember
WaltA's Avatar
Joined Feb 2006
White Rock, BC, Canada
Post has been edited 2 months ago by WaltA.
Sep 18, 2017 15:10 |  #9

7D (original) has Low-Speed (3 shots per second) and High-Speed (8 shots per second) Continuous modes


Walt
400D, 5D, 7D and a bag of stuff

LOG IN TO REPLY
joeseph
"smells like turd"
joeseph's Avatar
Joined Jan 2004
Auckland, New Zealand
Sep 19, 2017 03:25 |  #10

'spose someone should mention the 1D series...


some fairly old canon camera stuff, canon lenses, Manfrotto "thingy", 1D MK II converted for IR, and now an M5
TF posting: here :-)

LOG IN TO REPLY
Colin ­ Glover
Goldmember
Joined Aug 2012
Southport nr Liverpool United Kingdom
Sep 19, 2017 07:06 |  #11

Think the old 1D had it. Anyone care to either confirm or deny this? Heck, even the old 2MP fixed lens Jenoptik I bought 15 years ago had a burst rate of 3f. Not PS, just 3 frames. Never did get my stopwatch out. High speed burst is useful for sports, kids,pets and even airshows.


Canon EOS 70D, Canon EOS 600D, EF-S 18-55 ii, EF 55-200 USM ii, EF-S 75-300 iii, Tamron 28-80, Sigma 70-210. Pentax 50mm, Pentax 135mm, EF-S 55-250, Raynox Macro adapter, Neewer filters (CPL, UV, FLD & ND4), Fuji HS20 EXR (30X zoom ) & cable release, Yongnuo 560 iii & Luxon 9800A manual flashguns for the Fuji, Hama Star 63 tripod, Hongdek RC-6 remote control, Velbon DF 40 www.point-n-shoot.co.uk website.

LOG IN TO REPLY
apersson850
Cream of the Crop
apersson850's Avatar
11,632 posts
Joined Nov 2007
Traryd, Sweden
Sep 19, 2017 08:30 |  #12

The Motor Drive FN for the new F-1 had two speeds in the early 1980's. Before that, Motor Drive MA (1978) for the A-1, and later the AE-1 Program, also had a high and low speed. So this is not any new feature.

The T-90 I bought in 1987 also had this feature. But it was not on a slow camera like the 400D.


Anders

LOG IN TO REPLY
Michael ­ Rumsey
Senior Member
Michael Rumsey's Avatar
Joined Jan 2015
Richardson, TX
Sep 19, 2017 10:48 |  #13

My old 30D had that feature, too.


"He's Just This Guy, You Know?"

LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)

11,442 views & 3 likes for this thread
Which canon models have this feature?
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras


Not a member yet? Click here to register to the forums.
Registered members get all the features: search, following threads, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, settings, view hosted photos, own reviews and more...


AAA

Send feedback to staff    •   Jump to forum...    •   Rules    •   Index    •   New posts    •   RTAT    •   'Best of'    •   Gallery    •   Gear    •   Reviews    •   Polls

COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Privacy policy and cookie usage info.

POWERED BY AMASS 1.4version 1.4
made in Finland
by Pekka Saarinen
for photography-on-the.net
Spent 0.00107 for 6 database queries.
PAGE COMPLETED IN 0.04s
Latest registered member is fjacp
926 guests, 473 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 6430, that happened on Dec 03, 2017