Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Read More.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Photo Sharing & Visual Enjoyment Nature & Landscapes
Thread started 30 Sep 2017 (Saturday) 13:31
Prev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)

Need help on 80D

 
manbhat
Mostly Lurking
13 posts
Joined May 2017
Sep 30, 2017 13:31 |  #1

Hi,

I just upgraded from rebel xti to canon 80D. Went out to test it. I used manual mode. But realized that most of my photos are over exposed. I took care of centre weighted metering while shooting....but all my photos were over-exposed. I didn't face this problem with xti. Below I have uploaded few photos....let me know please what wrong am I doing.

HOSTED PHOTO
please log in to view hosted photos in full size.

HOSTED PHOTO
please log in to view hosted photos in full size.



LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)
gjl711
They have pills for that now you know.
gjl711's Avatar
53,043 posts
Joined Aug 2006
Deep in the heart of Texas
Sep 30, 2017 13:59 |  #2

If you look at the center of each photo, it is perfectly exposed. For images with a wide dynamic range as these have, especially from corner to corner, evaluative would work better as it takes in more of the scene. Best yet would be to shoot raw and look at the histogram and meter appropriately.


Not sure why, but call me JJ.
I used to hate math but then I realised decimals have a point.
.
::Flickr:: (external link)
::Gear::

LOG IN TO REPLY
manbhat
THREAD ­ STARTER
Mostly Lurking
13 posts
Joined May 2017
Sep 30, 2017 23:05 as a reply to gjl711's post |  #3

Thanks JJ

Uploading two more....again both are over-exposed. Second one doesn't seems to be case of wider DR....but still over-exposed. I shall try your recommendation of shooting RAW. I hope it's not a camera issue (my first doubt is myself ;) ofcourse).

HOSTED PHOTO
please log in to view hosted photos in full size.

HOSTED PHOTO
please log in to view hosted photos in full size.



LOG IN TO REPLY
ronniechef
Hatchling
2 posts
Joined Sep 2017
Kuching, Malaysia
Post has been edited 21 days ago by ronniechef.
Sep 30, 2017 23:38 |  #4

I do photography on hobby only...but slowly developing interest on wedding photography....current​ly using 7D...I m facing same problem using 50mm..f2.5...always over exposed..please advise.




LOG IN TO REPLY
FFFCFF
Member
Joined Dec 2016
Warsaw/Poland
Post has been edited 21 days ago by FFFCFF.
Oct 01, 2017 03:29 |  #5

For me, it is impossible to proper expose thouse scenes. You could use HDR option for pictures like those.


Still learning English. Sorry for language bugs.

LOG IN TO REPLY
TeamSpeed
01010100 01010011
TeamSpeed's Avatar
31,927 posts
Gallery: 58 photos
Joined May 2002
Northern Indiana
Post has been last edited 21 days ago by TeamSpeed. 2 edits done in total.
Oct 01, 2017 06:03 |  #6

If you are in manual mode, you are in charge of the exposure. Don't use the xti as a litmus test, the 80d will produce, different and better images, with you in charge of the exposure. Also what are you using as verification of overexposure, a screen or the histogram?

If you are chasing the metering needle in manual, your metering mode matters, but then one might say to just use Av or TV modes if you do that.


Past Equipment | My Gallery (external link)

LOG IN TO REPLY
Left ­ Handed ­ Brisket
That's my line!
Left Handed Brisket's Avatar
Joined Jun 2011
The Uwharrie Mts, NC
Oct 01, 2017 06:53 |  #7

manbhat wrote in post #18463733 (external link)
Thanks JJ

Uploading two more....again both are over-exposed. Second one doesn't seems to be case of wider DR....but still over-exposed. I shall try your recommendation of shooting RAW. I hope it's not a camera issue (my first doubt is myself ;) ofcourse).
thumbnailHosted photo: posted by manbhat in
./showthread.php?p=184​63733&i=i191456875
forum: Nature & Landscapes
thumbnailHosted photo: posted by manbhat in
./showthread.php?p=184​63733&i=i34944156
forum: Nature & Landscapes

Both are pretty close to perfectly exposed. If you are not seeing any detail in the white of the lamp, you have a monitor problem.


As said, shoot raw in high DR situations, expose so the highlights are not blown out and recover the shadows.

In fact even with some of the above jpgs you can lift the shadows.


PSA: The above post may contain sarcasm, reply at your own risk | Formerly he's gone before apostrophe-gate | Not in gear database: Canon 70-210 3.5-4.5, Auto Sears 50mm 2.0 / 2x CL-360, Nikon SB-28, SunPak auto 322 D, Minolta 20

LOG IN TO REPLY
paul3221
Goldmember
paul3221's Avatar
2,363 posts
Joined Apr 2010
Phoenix, AZ
Oct 01, 2017 09:27 |  #8

Learn to use your Histogram, and you will never need to rely completely on your camera's metering... ;-)a I agree with the previous poster that if you are using center weighted metering in scenes with a lot of dynamic range, you will run into these issues. The center's of the photos look well exposed.


Paul
5DII, 60D, 10-22, 17-40L, 24-105L, Tokina 11-16, and a bunch of other stuff.
Flickrexternal link/Fluidrexternal link
500pxexternal link
Facebook Photography Page

LOG IN TO REPLY
manbhat
THREAD ­ STARTER
Mostly Lurking
13 posts
Joined May 2017
Oct 01, 2017 10:23 as a reply to TeamSpeed's post |  #9

I am using laptop screen to verify the exposure. Some photos on camera screen look OK but over exposed on laptop.!




LOG IN TO REPLY
manbhat
THREAD ­ STARTER
Mostly Lurking
13 posts
Joined May 2017
Oct 01, 2017 10:27 as a reply to paul3221's post |  #10

Sounds good. So histogram is the way forward!!




LOG IN TO REPLY
Left ­ Handed ­ Brisket
That's my line!
Left Handed Brisket's Avatar
Joined Jun 2011
The Uwharrie Mts, NC
Oct 01, 2017 10:37 |  #11

manbhat wrote in post #18463943 (external link)
Sounds good. So histogram is the way forward!!

You can open your above shots in your photo editor and view the histogram there as a starting point.


PSA: The above post may contain sarcasm, reply at your own risk | Formerly he's gone before apostrophe-gate | Not in gear database: Canon 70-210 3.5-4.5, Auto Sears 50mm 2.0 / 2x CL-360, Nikon SB-28, SunPak auto 322 D, Minolta 20

LOG IN TO REPLY
PhotosGuy
Moderator
PhotosGuy's Avatar
74,727 posts
Gallery: 2 photos
Joined Feb 2004
Middle of Michigan
Oct 01, 2017 12:57 |  #12

manbhat wrote in post #18463939 (external link)
I am using laptop screen to verify the exposure. Some photos on camera screen look OK but over exposed on laptop.!

Did you calibrate the laptop screen?

manbhat wrote in post #18463943 (external link)
Sounds good. So histogram is the way forward!!

Not always. It depends on the subject matter.


FrankC - 20D, RAW, Manual everything...
Classic Carz, Racing, Air Show, Flowers.
Find the light... A few Car Lighting Tips, and MOVE YOUR FEET!
Have you thought about making your own book? // Need an exposure crutch?
New Image Size Limits: Image must not exceed 1280 pixels on any side.

LOG IN TO REPLY
TeamSpeed
01010100 01010011
TeamSpeed's Avatar
31,927 posts
Gallery: 58 photos
Joined May 2002
Northern Indiana
Post has been last edited 20 days ago by TeamSpeed. 4 edits done in total.
Oct 01, 2017 13:27 |  #13

Laptops are too bright from the factory and you cannot judge exposure by just viewing an image on an uncalibrated device without using the histogram.

The XTi uses the old method of metering, all newer bodies have much more accurate metering, so I would presume your XTi images were actually underexposed, and now you are seeing properly exposed images.


Past Equipment | My Gallery (external link)

LOG IN TO REPLY
saea501
... spilled over a little on the panties
saea501's Avatar
Joined Jan 2010
Florida
Oct 02, 2017 07:16 |  #14

Left Handed Brisket wrote in post #18463843 (external link)
Both are pretty close to perfectly exposed. If you are not seeing any detail in the white of the lamp, you have a monitor problem.

As said, shoot raw in high DR situations, expose so the highlights are not blown out and recover the shadows.

In fact even with some of the above jpgs you can lift the shadows.

This is the correct answer. These don't look over exposed to me either.

How is it that you have decided that these are over exposed?


Remember what the DorMouse said.....feed your head.
Bob

LOG IN TO REPLY
manbhat
THREAD ­ STARTER
Mostly Lurking
13 posts
Joined May 2017
Oct 02, 2017 10:31 as a reply to saea501's post |  #15

Might be the screen I am looking on is a problem. Will look at these on another screen.... Might be they look OK to me as well (and make me happy☺️)




LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)

1,004 views & 4 likes for this thread
Need help on 80D
FORUMS Photo Sharing & Visual Enjoyment Nature & Landscapes


Not a member yet? Click here to register to the forums.
Registered members get all the features: search, following threads, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, settings, view hosted photos, own reviews and more...


AAA

Send feedback to staff    •   Jump to forum...    •   Rules    •   Index    •   New posts    •   RTAT    •   'Best of'    •   Gallery    •   Gear    •   Reviews    •   Polls

COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Privacy policy and cookie usage info.

POWERED BY AMASS 1.4version 1.4
made in Finland
by Pekka Saarinen
for photography-on-the.net
Spent 0.0011 for 6 database queries.
PAGE COMPLETED IN 0.04s
Latest registered member is RoMEo1
971 guests, 463 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 6106, that happened on Jun 09, 2016