Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Read More.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Photography Talk by Genre Macro Talk
Thread started 02 Oct 2017 (Monday) 08:24
Prev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)

Canon MPE65 error

 
davholla
Senior Member
Joined Nov 2014
Oct 02, 2017 08:24 |  #1

With my Cannon I sometimes get "Canon EOS Error 01 (Err01) – ". If I clean it, it normally goes away but always come back, sometimes very quickly. I did put Caig DeoxIT Gold Contact Cleaning Fluid on the connections but no good. Any ideas?




LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)
LordV
Macro Photo-Lord of the Year 2006
LordV's Avatar
59,009 posts
Gallery: 7 photos
Joined Oct 2005
Worthing UK
Oct 02, 2017 13:25 |  #2

If the lens is well used it may be getting the common cable connection problem inside the lens. This results in loss of communication often at certain magnifications as the cable moves. Does it tend to happen at higher magnifications ?

Brian V.


http://www.flickr.com/​photos/lordv/ (external link)
http://www.lordv.smugm​ug.com/ (external link)
Macro Hints and tips
Canon 600D, 40D, 5D mk2, 7D, Tamron 90mm macro, Sigma 105mm OS, Canon MPE-65,18-55 kit lens X2, canon 200mm F2.8 L, Tamron 28-70mm xrdi, Other assorted bits

LOG IN TO REPLY
Dalantech
Goldmember
Dalantech's Avatar
Joined Jul 2006
Bacoli, Italy
Oct 02, 2017 14:12 |  #3

Brian nailed it, especially if the problem gets worse as you extend the lens. The cable that runs between the lens contacts and the aperture assembly wears out over time, and the entire assembly has to be replaced.


My Gallery (external link)
My Blog (external link)
Macro Tutorials (external link)

LOG IN TO REPLY
davholla
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
Joined Nov 2014
Oct 02, 2017 15:19 |  #4

LordV wrote in post #18464654 (external link)
If the lens is well used it may be getting the common cable connection problem inside the lens. This results in loss of communication often at certain magnifications as the cable moves. Does it tend to happen at higher magnifications ?

Brian V.

No, it can happen at any 1.0 Magnification, in fact yesterday when I was trying high magnifications it did not happen.

BTW Any idea on how to fix it?




LOG IN TO REPLY
Dalantech
Goldmember
Dalantech's Avatar
Joined Jul 2006
Bacoli, Italy
Oct 02, 2017 15:27 |  #5

davholla wrote in post #18464733 (external link)
No, it can happen at any 1.0 Magnification, in fact yesterday when I was trying high magnifications it did not happen.

BTW Any idea on how to fix it?

Contact Canon Repair Services (external link), explain the symptoms, and get a repair quote. They'll give you an estimate on how much it's going to cost and an address that you can mail your lens to.


My Gallery (external link)
My Blog (external link)
Macro Tutorials (external link)

LOG IN TO REPLY
davholla
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
Joined Nov 2014
Oct 03, 2017 04:01 |  #6

Dalantech wrote in post #18464736 (external link)
Contact Canon Repair Services (external link), explain the symptoms, and get a repair quote. They'll give you an estimate on how much it's going to cost and an address that you can mail your lens to.

Thanks for that. I am based in the UK and I was told
"Unfortunately, it is impossible for us to be able to provide an informed and accurate estimate without the benefit of examination. I can give you a very very rough idea on a labour price but this would be subject to inspection you could be looking around £85 in labour plus parts on top.

However, we do not charge for providing a free, no obligation estimate based on proper investigation. "
This is with fixation, what do people think?
http://www.fixationuk.​com/ (external link)




LOG IN TO REPLY
Dalantech
Goldmember
Dalantech's Avatar
Joined Jul 2006
Bacoli, Italy
Oct 03, 2017 06:33 as a reply to davholla's post |  #7

I've only used Canon's service department.


My Gallery (external link)
My Blog (external link)
Macro Tutorials (external link)

LOG IN TO REPLY
Lester ­ Wareham
Moderator
Lester Wareham's Avatar
Joined Jul 2005
Hampshire, UK
Oct 03, 2017 13:17 |  #8

EOS Error codes and messages (external link)

Err 01
Description: The communication between the camera and lens is faulty.
Resolution: Very gently clean the electrical contacts (highlighted in red) on the camera and the lens using a clean and dry cloth.

Could be the cable or just the pins on the camera or lens worn. Does it happen with a different body?


My Photography Home Page (external link) RSS Feed (external link)
Gear List
FAQ on UV and Clear Protective Filters
Macrophotography by LordV

LOG IN TO REPLY
Dalantech
Goldmember
Dalantech's Avatar
Joined Jul 2006
Bacoli, Italy
Oct 04, 2017 01:40 |  #9

Lester Wareham wrote in post #18465320 (external link)
EOS Error codes and messages (external link)

Could be the cable or just the pins on the camera or lens worn. Does it happen with a different body?

Can rule out the camera if it only happens with the MP-E 65mm.


My Gallery (external link)
My Blog (external link)
Macro Tutorials (external link)

LOG IN TO REPLY
davholla
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
Joined Nov 2014
Oct 04, 2017 03:41 |  #10

Lester Wareham wrote in post #18465320 (external link)
EOS Error codes and messages (external link)

Could be the cable or just the pins on the camera or lens worn. Does it happen with a different body?

Yes - I have tried 3 and they all have it.




LOG IN TO REPLY
Lester ­ Wareham
Moderator
Lester Wareham's Avatar
Joined Jul 2005
Hampshire, UK
Oct 04, 2017 13:00 |  #11

davholla wrote in post #18465698 (external link)
Yes - I have tried 3 and they all have it.

Does sound like the lens then, trip to Canon?


My Photography Home Page (external link) RSS Feed (external link)
Gear List
FAQ on UV and Clear Protective Filters
Macrophotography by LordV

LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)

931 views & 4 likes for this thread
Canon MPE65 error
FORUMS Photography Talk by Genre Macro Talk


Not a member yet? Click here to register to the forums.
Registered members get all the features: search, following threads, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, settings, view hosted photos, own reviews and more...


AAA

Send feedback to staff    •   Jump to forum...    •   Rules    •   Index    •   New posts    •   RTAT    •   'Best of'    •   Gallery    •   Gear    •   Reviews    •   Polls

COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Privacy policy and cookie usage info.

POWERED BY AMASS 1.4version 1.4
made in Finland
by Pekka Saarinen
for photography-on-the.net
Spent 0.00112 for 6 database queries.
PAGE COMPLETED IN 0.02s
Latest registered member is Kkelly1029
858 guests, 414 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 6106, that happened on Jun 09, 2016