Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Read More.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras
Thread started 01 Oct 2015 (Thursday) 09:20
Prev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)

ISO on 70D When Using Flash

 
Bassat
"I am still in my underwear."
Bassat's Avatar
6,315 posts
Joined Oct 2015
Bourbon, Indiana - USA
Sep 28, 2017 06:09 |  #46

John Sheehy wrote in post #18462025 (external link)
I was talking about a possible custom function that allows ISO to drop from a manual setting to avoid over-exposure. Canon started including this a few years ago.

It is not available in M mode in the cameras I have that have it.

Just checked both 6D and 80D. In Manual mode, ISO set to 400 and Safety-Shift set to ISO, both cameras will allow extreme overexposure, well past blown highlights. ISO setting remains at 400, even for the overexposure.


Tom

LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)
tspencer1
THREAD ­ STARTER
Member
Joined Oct 2015
Sep 28, 2017 06:35 as a reply to Bassat's post |  #47

Same with my 70D. Makes no sense.




LOG IN TO REPLY
apersson850
Cream of the Crop
apersson850's Avatar
11,609 posts
Joined Nov 2007
Traryd, Sweden
Sep 28, 2017 09:28 |  #48

Of course it does. It's manual mode. There's no exposure compensation, so you setting the parameters is the only way you can tell how bright you want the picture to be.

The user's guide clearly states that ISO safety shift is for P, Tv and Av only.


Anders

LOG IN TO REPLY
TeamSpeed
01010100 01010011
TeamSpeed's Avatar
31,912 posts
Gallery: 58 photos
Joined May 2002
Northern Indiana
Post has been edited 21 days ago by TeamSpeed.
Sep 28, 2017 09:51 |  #49

Now that we have the ability to float the ISO and bias it one way or another with EC in manual mode, I don't see why the safety shift couldn't also be applied now. All the functionality is in place. If in M mode, it sees that you are about to run the exposure off the cliff either way, it could apply the safety to change the ISO for you. It could even be a 2nd option that the user sets to allow it to apply or not to M. Not sure how useful it would be generally, but in special situations it could be useful. In any case, it COULD be done, but I doubt it ever will.


Past Equipment | My Gallery (external link)

LOG IN TO REPLY
Charlie
Guess What! I'm Pregnant!
13,464 posts
Gallery: 2 photos
Joined Sep 2007
Post has been edited 21 days ago by Charlie.
Sep 28, 2017 12:31 |  #50

tspencer1 wrote in post #18461360 (external link)
Any recommendations on where to look for decent used Canon speedlites?

skip it and buy godox

https://www.amazon.com ...ywords=godox+tt685c​&psc=1 (external link)

assuming your shutter speed is 1/125 in low light, make sure the flash is set on TTL.

using F2.8 lens, ISO 800
using F4, ISO 1600
using F5.6, ISO 3200

do this in manual mode

this should get you in the ballpark. If background too dark, lower the shutter a little and raise the ISO a little. Try not to lower shutter too much, may get camera shake.

EDIT: stay away from autoiso + flash, doesnt seem to work well with canon, go manual mode, and set values as seen above. you can probably shoot the whole night without issue. If you have a variable aperture lens, set to ISO 1600.


Sony A7r - A7ii - A7rii - FE 12-24/4 - FE 24-240 - FE 35/2.8 - CV 35/1.7 - FE 50/1.8 - FE 85/1.8 - EF 135/1.8 Art - F 600/5.6 - CY 35-70, 100-300 - Astro Rok 14/2.8, 24/1.4

LOG IN TO REPLY
John ­ Sheehy
Goldmember
2,199 posts
Joined Jan 2010
Sep 28, 2017 13:58 |  #51

Bassat wrote in post #18462029 (external link)
I'm pretty sure every Canon camera I've ever had does that, but I'm not sure about Manual mode. Let me check my 6D/80D.

6D and 7D2 have it, but not in M mode. If you like your lens wide open, then you can simulate it with Tv mode, because the camera will not stop down the lens when it can drop the ISO first. If you like your lens stopped down exactly 2/3 stop or something like that, many cameras won't allow that degree of control for the floating Av value. The Tv and Av automated range limits that most of the cameras I've tried them on have, are pathetic.




LOG IN TO REPLY
tspencer1
THREAD ­ STARTER
Member
Joined Oct 2015
Sep 28, 2017 14:03 as a reply to Charlie's post |  #52

Thanks Charlie - appreciate the tips. You use a Godox unit?




LOG IN TO REPLY
John ­ Sheehy
Goldmember
2,199 posts
Joined Jan 2010
Sep 28, 2017 14:03 |  #53

apersson850 wrote in post #18462101 (external link)
Of course it does. It's manual mode. There's no exposure compensation, so you setting the parameters is the only way you can tell how bright you want the picture to be.

The user's guide clearly states that ISO safety shift is for P, Tv and Av only.

There's no reason that they couldn't have it for M mode, even without EC. If you're shooting RAW, the ratio of ambient to flash is what matters the most. If you use HTP, your RAWs can handle more accidental over-exposure.




LOG IN TO REPLY
John ­ Sheehy
Goldmember
2,199 posts
Joined Jan 2010
Sep 28, 2017 14:18 |  #54

John Sheehy wrote in post #18462277 (external link)
6D and 7D2 have it, but not in M mode. If you like your lens wide open, then you can simulate it with Tv mode, because the camera will not stop down the lens when it can drop the ISO first. If you like your lens stopped down exactly 2/3 stop or something like that, many cameras won't allow that degree of control for the floating Av value. The Tv and Av automated range limits that most of the cameras I've tried them on have, are pathetic.

On second thought, now that I read what I wrote there, I think I might be mixing my memories with some other mode of operation, like auto-ISO in Tv mode without flash (lens stays open as much as possible) .

I'll have to try this again; I haven't done it in a couple of years. Perhaps you can't keep the lens wide open per se, but have to choose a range. None of my cameras allow you to lock a single f-number in Tv-Pri mode, IIRC.




LOG IN TO REPLY
Charlie
Guess What! I'm Pregnant!
13,464 posts
Gallery: 2 photos
Joined Sep 2007
Sep 28, 2017 15:06 |  #55

tspencer1 wrote in post #18462283 (external link)
Thanks Charlie - appreciate the tips. You use a Godox unit?

Yes, I use Godox as well as many others. They offer the most robust system and low prices. They offer a revolutionary system, and if you shoot Canon, Nikon, Sony, or Fuji, Godox should be your flash of choice.

The tt685c is comparable to the Canon rt600....

Read up on it here: http://photography-on-the.net .../showthread.php?t=1​455540


Sony A7r - A7ii - A7rii - FE 12-24/4 - FE 24-240 - FE 35/2.8 - CV 35/1.7 - FE 50/1.8 - FE 85/1.8 - EF 135/1.8 Art - F 600/5.6 - CY 35-70, 100-300 - Astro Rok 14/2.8, 24/1.4

LOG IN TO REPLY
apersson850
Cream of the Crop
apersson850's Avatar
11,609 posts
Joined Nov 2007
Traryd, Sweden
Sep 28, 2017 16:10 |  #56

John Sheehy wrote in post #18462284 (external link)
There's no reason that they couldn't have it for M mode, even without EC. If you're shooting RAW, the ratio of ambient to flash is what matters the most. If you use HTP, your RAWs can handle more accidental over-exposure.

There is a good reason, and that's consistency in how the camera behaves. What you describe could be done, but you would have even less of an idea of how your picture comes out, before you see it, than in the regular automatic modes.


Anders

LOG IN TO REPLY
tspencer1
THREAD ­ STARTER
Member
Joined Oct 2015
Oct 06, 2017 09:45 as a reply to apersson850's post |  #57

So here is a photo indicative of my tries last week.
1/200; f14 and ISO 800
Background is just about properly exposed. Flash was used but came out dark. Thankfully, I was not the primary shooter and was just practicing. Thank gosh.

Questions: why so dark? I was fairly close to the subjects (maybe 10 ft). Yes, I can drop the aperture, but wouldn't that blowout the background?

Pls ignore the softness of this one - not sure why - I took many non-flash that came out just fine.

Thx all,

Tim

HOSTED PHOTO
please log in to view hosted photos in full size.



LOG IN TO REPLY
DreDaze
happy with myself for not saying anything stupid
DreDaze's Avatar
17,690 posts
Gallery: 19 photos
Joined Mar 2006
S.F. Bay Area
Oct 06, 2017 10:45 |  #58

F14, ISO 800? Why?


Andre or Dre
gear list
Instagram (external link)
flickr (external link)
my 366 for 2016 (external link)

LOG IN TO REPLY
tspencer1
THREAD ­ STARTER
Member
Joined Oct 2015
Oct 06, 2017 11:17 as a reply to DreDaze's post |  #59

ISO 800 because when the camera defaults to ISO 400 on my flash shots, they have been coming out dark. f14 because at 1/200 shutter, that's what got me proper overall exposure - according to the settings before I popped up the flash.




LOG IN TO REPLY
John ­ from ­ PA
Cream of the Crop
7,360 posts
Joined May 2003
Southeast Pennsylvania
Oct 06, 2017 11:22 |  #60

tspencer1 wrote in post #18461360 (external link)
Any recommendations on where to look for decent used Canon speedlites?

Not sure if the prices are good, but I can vouch for the Canon refurbs. The one I bought was essentially new!

https://shop.usa.canon​.com ...rbished-speedlite-flashes (external link)




LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)

11,458 views & 11 likes for this thread
ISO on 70D When Using Flash
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras


Not a member yet? Click here to register to the forums.
Registered members get all the features: search, following threads, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, settings, view hosted photos, own reviews and more...


AAA

Send feedback to staff    •   Jump to forum...    •   Rules    •   Index    •   New posts    •   RTAT    •   'Best of'    •   Gallery    •   Gear    •   Reviews    •   Polls

COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Privacy policy and cookie usage info.

POWERED BY AMASS 1.4version 1.4
made in Finland
by Pekka Saarinen
for photography-on-the.net
Spent 0.00118 for 6 database queries.
PAGE COMPLETED IN 0.03s
Latest registered member is Thwarp
865 guests, 444 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 6106, that happened on Jun 09, 2016