Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Read More.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Sony Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Sony Cameras
Thread started 09 Jun 2017 (Friday) 10:57
Prev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)

Sony Lounge Thread MKIII (All Sony cameras welcome)

 
xpfloyd
Cream of the Crop
xpfloyd's Avatar
Joined Feb 2011
Glasgow, Scotland
Post has been edited 25 days ago by xpfloyd.
Oct 27, 2017 00:27 |  #6256

navydoc wrote in post #18481781 (external link)
Since I always keep the same memory card for a single camera, I just go by the file number. My last a7rii ARW file number is DSC08006.ARW so that tells me the number of actuations on my camera is 8,006.

Edit: Using the software suggested by Dave Dugdale, my count is 8578. The file number is 8008.

Gene, smooth reflections will only add one file number even though it’s more than one actuation. That’s where the discrepency might be

Edit - just realised someone already said this


Eddie | flickr (external link)| gear
x100F | α7R II
Voigtlander 15 | Zeiss Loxia 21 | Samyang 24 | Contax Zeiss 100-300
Sony 28 | Sony/Zeiss 55 | Zeiss Batis 85 | Sony 90 Macro

LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)
xpfloyd
Cream of the Crop
xpfloyd's Avatar
Joined Feb 2011
Glasgow, Scotland
Oct 27, 2017 00:33 |  #6257

TRhoads wrote in post #18481952 (external link)
I have to say, the most frustrating thing about the memory cards and file names is that it bases file number on the memory card, and not the body...and for people like me that shoot a lot of cards either at an event, on a trip or just keep them in cycle...its really annoying, because by name they will get all out of order...I wish it would not do that.

You can prefix each camera differently so that they name the files differently. It’s a setting in the menus. Regardless though you can tell Lightroom to display by capture time and it doesn’t matter what the file name is


Eddie | flickr (external link)| gear
x100F | α7R II
Voigtlander 15 | Zeiss Loxia 21 | Samyang 24 | Contax Zeiss 100-300
Sony 28 | Sony/Zeiss 55 | Zeiss Batis 85 | Sony 90 Macro

LOG IN TO REPLY
navydoc
Cream of the Crop
navydoc's Avatar
10,878 posts
Gallery: 44 photos
Joined Oct 2009
Inland Empire, So. Cal
Oct 27, 2017 01:07 |  #6258

xpfloyd wrote in post #18482058 (external link)
Gene, smooth reflections will only add one file number even though it’s more than one actuation. That’s where the discrepency might be

Edit - just realised someone already said this

Since my quantity of images taken over the lifetime of any of my cameras is low compared to most photographers, I've never really paid much attention or cared about the number of actuations. I suppose it's only when selling that this even comes up for the most part.

Even though I have it, I don't think I've ever used Sony's SR app. I also don't shoot hdr sequences anymore either. I did try the timelapse app from Sony once.


Gene - My Photo Gallery ||external link My USS Oriskany websiteexternal link || My Flickrexternal link
Take nothing but photos - leave nothing but footprints - break nothing but silence - kill nothing but time.

LOG IN TO REPLY
TRhoads
Goldmember
TRhoads's Avatar
Joined Jun 2009
Roswell, Georgia
Oct 27, 2017 06:11 |  #6259

MedicineMan4040 wrote in post #18482009 (external link)
On trips nightly back up to external hard drive AND either the phone memory or usb zip drive (save me at Easter Island when someone in the airlines stole the hard drive), and always format the
card when re-inserting. That's my story, sticking to it.

Travis, editing because I forgot to tell. 3 weeks ago in Yellowstone with the a9 a Lexar 128gb UHS-II 2000x failed. Would not read, write, could not format in camera or in two different laptops on the trip nor on the big machine when we got back. Lexar replaced already...never acknowledged why. Why mention this? Tony Northrup uses big cards for the whole trip. I'm not going to do that now, never did in fact, but def. not now.

On a trip, like my upcoming to JTNP, I have close to 400GB of cards going with me. I will shoot a new card every day, at the end of every day I load those to a hard drive and then store the card in my luggage in the clear plastic case...I don't write over them while on the road...and I don't use big cards, I don't like the 64GB cards I have, too big for me, I like the 32gb, and have a bunch of them. I have always been a fan of lots of cards to minimize any loss if one decides to go SNAFU on me....

digital_AM wrote in post #18482034 (external link)
"US Post Office and Court House - SATX"

Loxia 21mm, 2 shot vertical pano merged in PS CC, Edited in DxO PhotoLab and Nik Color Efex


QUOTED IMAGE
[IMAGE'S LINK: https://flic.kr/p/YKwr​VA] (external link)SATX US Post Office and Court House (external link) by Alfredo Mora (external link), on Flickr

2048px Version on Flickr:
https://www.flickr.com ...edomoraphotography/​H8269E (external link)

Beautiful image Alfredo, great tones, very clean. I need to check out that tripod head you are using to do that.

How do you like PhotoLab, I got an email from them today about getting it now at a discount, was going to do that when I get home.

xpfloyd wrote in post #18482060 (external link)
You can prefix each camera differently so that they name the files differently. It’s a setting in the menus. Regardless though you can tell Lightroom to display by capture time and it doesn’t matter what the file name is

Yeah, I have both cameras setup with prefixes, but the file numbering starts different with each new card, and yes LR will sort by capture time, but it would be nice if the camera didn't care which card was in, just keep the file numbers based in the camera, there are times when that would be helpful...for instance. On my last trip to the Smokies, two of my cards that were acquired at the same time, end up putting similar file numbers on, and at some point they were the same file numbers, so LR was not wanting to import duplicates. I tend to load all files into the folder and don't have these small cards numbered to remember which one I shot with first, and then once in the computer I rename them based on capture time, so if I am loading 6 cards from 2 cameras, I can rename them all at once...but not if the camera duplicates file names on different cards...


Gear List & Feedback | SmugMug Page (external link) | Flickr (external link) | Facebook (external link)

LOG IN TO REPLY
MedicineMan4040
The Magic Johnson of Cameras
MedicineMan4040's Avatar
Joined Jul 2013
Oct 27, 2017 06:33 |  #6260

I'm just now noticing the 24-105. I glanced at it and said meh.
Then I mentally put it beside my 12-24mm and went hmmmm!
Something then clicked in my mind for a 3 lens solution for some trips.
12-24, 24-105, 100-400mm.
So the 24-105 might be a possible.

Anyway here is a typical 'boondock' site on the trip, this one in the Spearfish Canyon
inside the Blackhills Nat. Forest. We used this 'dispersed' camping technique a lot
and why not-no crowds and its free :)

HOSTED PHOTO
please log in to view hosted photos in full size.

flickr (external link)
Vid Collection: https://www.youtube.co​m/user/medicineman4040 (external link)

LOG IN TO REPLY
MedicineMan4040
The Magic Johnson of Cameras
MedicineMan4040's Avatar
Joined Jul 2013
Oct 27, 2017 07:54 |  #6261

Done. Pre-order for the 24-105 is in.
Not that I use that focal length often but it completes yet another triumvirate.


flickr (external link)
Vid Collection: https://www.youtube.co​m/user/medicineman4040 (external link)

LOG IN TO REPLY
vinmunoz
Cream of the Crop
vinmunoz's Avatar
Joined Sep 2010
California
Oct 27, 2017 08:03 |  #6262

Here's my A7RII in case any of you wanna take it from me. We got a whole session of photoshoot last night.

https://www.flickr.com .../albums/72157686628​324252 (external link)


VINZ - SONY A7RII/A6000/FDR-X3000 | 85GM | FE3514 | FE1635F4 |
INSTAGRAM (external link)- WEBSITE (external link) - FACEBOOK (external link) - 500PX (external link)

LOG IN TO REPLY
vinmunoz
Cream of the Crop
vinmunoz's Avatar
Joined Sep 2010
California
Oct 27, 2017 08:08 |  #6263

MedicineMan4040 wrote in post #18482152 (external link)
Done. Pre-order for the 24-105 is in.
Not that I use that focal length often but it completes yet another triumvirate.

i think i getting that one and sell my 35 F1.4. I use flash on receptions so F4 is not an issue. I just have to be mindful not to shoot at 24mm with group shots. I thought it's perfect for studio work too. When I was in Canon, i remembered the 24-105L was my sharpest lens.

Kai tested the RIII+24-105F4, really sharp


VINZ - SONY A7RII/A6000/FDR-X3000 | 85GM | FE3514 | FE1635F4 |
INSTAGRAM (external link)- WEBSITE (external link) - FACEBOOK (external link) - 500PX (external link)

LOG IN TO REPLY
TRhoads
Goldmember
TRhoads's Avatar
Joined Jun 2009
Roswell, Georgia
Oct 27, 2017 08:10 |  #6264

vinmunoz wrote in post #18482156 (external link)
i think i getting that one and sell my 35 F1.4.]

that one is on my wish list too...so many lenses...not enough $$...


Gear List & Feedback | SmugMug Page (external link) | Flickr (external link) | Facebook (external link)

LOG IN TO REPLY
rantercsr
Goldmember
rantercsr's Avatar
Joined Mar 2014
Oct 27, 2017 08:19 |  #6265

MedicineMan4040 wrote in post #18481936 (external link)
DONT sell the 28/2. Congratulations on the Riii.
I was looking at the 'trade up' program at Adorama and Poof said 'hey I might want to carry the R2' Ha! I can't win :)

Thanks..

The 80d and ef 50 1.4 .. is probably going as well as a pilotfly h2 that i dont use anymore..

I really dont want to sell my fuji kit

..
Tempted to get 24-70 gm as i do miss the convenience of zooms.. but not too sure .

No rush for a lens though as in the mean time i do have the 28 and ef 50 and ef mount rokinon 85 ..


Canon 5DIV*T4i/10-18/24 f2.8/ 35 f1.4Lii /50 f1.4/ 85 f1.8
Pentax k1000* k50 f2*135 f2.
Fuji XT2 // 23 f2/ 50 f2
https://www.instagram.​com/shotbypops/ (external link) MYflickr (external link)

LOG IN TO REPLY
MedicineMan4040
The Magic Johnson of Cameras
MedicineMan4040's Avatar
Joined Jul 2013
Oct 27, 2017 08:34 as a reply to rantercsr's post |  #6266

The only GM tempting me is the 16-35 but no hurry. the 16-35/4 has always been good to me.

So for this moose I did a different style of processing....shooting for the retro 'Browning' look, kind of what
you'd see on the cover of a hunting magazine. That was the scheme anyway.

HOSTED PHOTO
please log in to view hosted photos in full size.

flickr (external link)
Vid Collection: https://www.youtube.co​m/user/medicineman4040 (external link)

LOG IN TO REPLY
xpfloyd
Cream of the Crop
xpfloyd's Avatar
Joined Feb 2011
Glasgow, Scotland
Oct 27, 2017 09:17 |  #6267

DOes the a7r have playmemories or did that start with the a7rii? I can’t remember


Eddie | flickr (external link)| gear
x100F | α7R II
Voigtlander 15 | Zeiss Loxia 21 | Samyang 24 | Contax Zeiss 100-300
Sony 28 | Sony/Zeiss 55 | Zeiss Batis 85 | Sony 90 Macro

LOG IN TO REPLY
Charlie
Guess What! I'm Pregnant!
13,709 posts
Gallery: 2 photos
Joined Sep 2007
Oct 27, 2017 09:26 |  #6268

TRhoads wrote in post #18482117 (external link)
Yeah, I have both cameras setup with prefixes, but the file numbering starts different with each new card, and yes LR will sort by capture time, but it would be nice if the camera didn't care which card was in, just keep the file numbers based in the camera, there are times when that would be helpful...for instance. On my last trip to the Smokies, two of my cards that were acquired at the same time, end up putting similar file numbers on, and at some point they were the same file numbers, so LR was not wanting to import duplicates. I tend to load all files into the folder and don't have these small cards numbered to remember which one I shot with first, and then once in the computer I rename them based on capture time, so if I am loading 6 cards from 2 cameras, I can rename them all at once...but not if the camera duplicates file names on different cards...

Do you use the same prefix? If you do A7 and A9 prefix, how does LR get confused?


Sony A7rii x2 - FE 12-24/4 - FE 24-240 - FE 35/2.8 - CV 35/1.7 - FE 50/1.8 - FE 85/1.8 - EF 135/1.8 Art - F 600/5.6 - CZ 35-70, 100-300 - Astro Rok 14/2.8, 24/1.4 - Tamron 28-75 f2.8, 70-200 f2.8 VC

LOG IN TO REPLY
Charlie
Guess What! I'm Pregnant!
13,709 posts
Gallery: 2 photos
Joined Sep 2007
Oct 27, 2017 09:28 |  #6269

xpfloyd wrote in post #18482196 (external link)
DOes the a7r have playmemories or did that start with the a7rii? I can’t remember

It has it


Sony A7rii x2 - FE 12-24/4 - FE 24-240 - FE 35/2.8 - CV 35/1.7 - FE 50/1.8 - FE 85/1.8 - EF 135/1.8 Art - F 600/5.6 - CZ 35-70, 100-300 - Astro Rok 14/2.8, 24/1.4 - Tamron 28-75 f2.8, 70-200 f2.8 VC

LOG IN TO REPLY
digital_AM
Cream of the Crop
digital_AM's Avatar
5,562 posts
Gallery: 1 photo
Joined Dec 2010
Texas
Oct 27, 2017 09:41 |  #6270

TRhoads wrote in post #18482117 (external link)
Beautiful image Alfredo, great tones, very clean. I need to check out that tripod head you are using to do that.

How do you like PhotoLab, I got an email from them today about getting it now at a discount, was going to do that when I get home.

Thank you Travis. I love shooting blue hour. The FLM ballhead I got is the CB-38FTR. It's a perfect size for the a7RII. I'm using a RRS clamp on top to secure the camera on the ballhead.

Regarding PhotoLab, I like the tool, especially the control point feature which they incorporated from Nik. It allows you to make targeted adjustments including exposure, contrast, microconstast, sharpening, vibrance, etc. I also like the noise reduction, clear view (kind of like dehaze) and smart lighting (kind of like ProContrast) features. The one thing I hope they improve is when you're making an adjustment in the main panel, the image gets re-rendered and then it snaps into view. It's strange at first to see. Definitely not as smooth as Lightroom where you see the change instantly as you move the sliders. All in all, I think PhotoLab has a ton of potential and some really cool features.


Sony α7R II / ILCE-7RM2, α6000 / ILCE-6000 | Sony Sonnar T* FE 55mm F1.8 ZA | Carl Zeiss Loxia 21mm F2.8, Loxia 85mm F2.4, Batis 18mm F2.8 | Voigtlander Heliar Ultra Wide-Angle 12mm f/5.6 | Tokina AT-X 90mm f/2.5 macro |

LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)

252,962 views & 14005 likes for this thread
Sony Lounge Thread MKIII (All Sony cameras welcome)
FORUMS Sony Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Sony Cameras


Not a member yet? Click here to register to the forums.
Registered members get all the features: search, following threads, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, settings, view hosted photos, own reviews and more...


AAA

Send feedback to staff    •   Jump to forum...    •   Rules    •   Index    •   New posts    •   RTAT    •   'Best of'    •   Gallery    •   Gear    •   Reviews    •   Polls

COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Privacy policy and cookie usage info.

POWERED BY AMASS 1.4version 1.4
made in Finland
by Pekka Saarinen
for photography-on-the.net
Spent 0.00845 for 6 database queries.
PAGE COMPLETED IN 0.11s
Latest registered member is Coleman
888 guests, 474 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 6106, that happened on Jun 09, 2016