Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Read More.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS General Gear Talk Data Storage, Memory Cards & Backup
Thread started 30 Oct 2017 (Monday) 10:10
Prev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)

Canon 550D memory card question

 
davholla
Senior Member
Joined Nov 2014
Oct 30, 2017 10:10 |  #1

I shoot raw and after about 4 shots in a row, this takes time to record. I have a card which has a write speed of 60mbs, if I replaced it with a 90mbs would it get quicker?




LOG IN TO REPLY
John ­ from ­ PA
Cream of the Crop
7,459 posts
Joined May 2003
Southeast Pennsylvania
Oct 30, 2017 10:41 |  #2

It might, but a class 6 card should be sufficient for the 550D/T2i. What class card are you using?

Probably worth your time to read the thread at https://www.canonrumor​s.com/forum/index.php?​topic=15611.0 (external link).




LOG IN TO REPLY
saea501
... spilled over a little on the panties
saea501's Avatar
Joined Jan 2010
Florida
Oct 30, 2017 10:47 |  #3

It's not your SD card, it's the buffer in the camera. It fills, cannot accept any more data and has to move that data to the card before it can accept additional input.

A larger buffer is one of the advantages more elaborate cameras have. I have never heard of increasing the buffer capacity of a camera so this is something you're going to have to live with or..........go camera shopping. Which could be...:-D......or......:-(


Remember what the DorMouse said.....feed your head.
Bob

LOG IN TO REPLY
John ­ from ­ PA
Cream of the Crop
7,459 posts
Joined May 2003
Southeast Pennsylvania
Oct 30, 2017 15:55 |  #4

saea501 wrote in post #18484642 (external link)
It's not your SD card, it's the buffer in the camera. It fills, cannot accept any more data and has to move that data to the card before it can accept additional input.

Likely this is the case. You'll note below, from the 550D manual, you will fill the buffer in three images if you have RAW + "large" L selected. That's the data in the red box and the number of burst images is at the extreme right. You could confirm the buffer as the issue by turning off RAW, keeping the "large" L jpeg, and see if you get around 30+ images before things slow down. That is what I show in the blue box on the image below.

HOSTED PHOTO
please log in to view hosted photos in full size.



LOG IN TO REPLY
davholla
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
Joined Nov 2014
Oct 31, 2017 08:21 |  #5

Thank you all, I thought that it was not likely to work but wanted to see anyway.




LOG IN TO REPLY

161 views & 1 like for this thread
Canon 550D memory card question
FORUMS General Gear Talk Data Storage, Memory Cards & Backup


Not a member yet? Click here to register to the forums.
Registered members get all the features: search, following threads, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, settings, view hosted photos, own reviews and more...


AAA

Send feedback to staff    •   Jump to forum...    •   Rules    •   Index    •   New posts    •   RTAT    •   'Best of'    •   Gallery    •   Gear    •   Reviews    •   Polls

COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Privacy policy and cookie usage info.

POWERED BY AMASS 1.4version 1.4
made in Finland
by Pekka Saarinen
for photography-on-the.net
Spent 0.00139 for 6 database queries.
PAGE COMPLETED IN 0.02s
Latest registered member is BradMD96
807 guests, 417 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 6106, that happened on Jun 09, 2016