Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Read More.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS General Gear Talk DIY & Customizing
Thread started 21 Oct 2017 (Saturday) 09:51
Prev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)

Photobooth Camera Models?

 
werds
"Yes, Sire. You'll shut your trap!"
werds's Avatar
Joined Mar 2014
Delaware
Oct 21, 2017 09:51 |  #1

I know that you can setup a photobooth with practically anything with a camera lens but I want to continue using a DSLR of some variety if possible. Currently I am using a Nikon D5300, and the one thing that bothers me is how long between start of picture and end of picture it takes for each shot to be done. Because of the sounds associated with the shutter it seems to throw people in the booth off.

Does anyone have suggestions for DSLR models (not necessarily Nikon) that do not suffer from lag so much when in photobooth operation?


Gear: Nikon D750, Nikon D7200, Sigma 17-50 2.8 OS, Sigma 50-150 2.8 OS HSM EX , Nikon 70-200 2.8 VR1, Tamron 24-70 2.8 VC, Tamron 70-200 2.8 VC, Tamron 28-300mm Di VC PZD, Tamron 16-300mm VC PZD, Tamron 150-600 VC, Nikon AF-S 50mm 1.8, Nikon SB-900
POTN Seller Feedback (and other)

LOG IN TO REPLY
pat.kane
Senior Member
pat.kane's Avatar
566 posts
Joined May 2005
Arlington, VA
Oct 21, 2017 19:48 |  #2

I'm not following what you're stating as I wouldn't expect any lag on a dSLR unless the camera is trying to focus. If you've not set manual focus, I'd suggest starting there. Good luck.


1Dx, 5D3 and some L glass (gear list / feedback)
http://MaxPreps.DMVpix​.com (external link)
http://www.DMVpix.com (external link)

LOG IN TO REPLY
iAMB
Senior Member
iAMB's Avatar
834 posts
Joined Mar 2009
St. Louis
Oct 23, 2017 13:44 |  #3

Are you are not using a flash? The flash will eliminate the need to be below 1/100th of a second. Any longer than that and you have too long of time for people moving as they pose. Set aperture at f/11-16 to keep everyone in focus.


Canon 6D Mk I
24-70mm F/4L , 70-200mm F/4L , 50mm 1.8 I , Rokinon 14mm F/2.8 & 35mm F/1.4
"I'm so far behind, it looks like I'm winning"
-Adam

LOG IN TO REPLY
Chet
For $20, I'll be your friend.
Chet's Avatar
41,637 posts
Gallery: 89 photos
Joined Sep 2007
Oct 23, 2017 14:12 |  #4

I use a Canon xti with an older Elinchrom power unit and 3 flash heads. I modified a tattoo gun foot switch as my shutter release for a self contained setup that goes over well. I've tried Canon Speedlites, but the recycle time always kills the deal and 30% of the shots go directly in the trash bin. Any way Using the Canon 16-40 lens ths is what I usually get as out put. This year I'm also using a 1d3 as well. They can be had for cheap now a days and they are tanks.

Though most low buck camera's with a couple decent flashes will do the trick.

IMAGE: https://photos.smugmug.com/photos/i-vqVZLJ9/0/1c5a4524/X2/i-vqVZLJ9-X2.jpg

IMAGE: https://photos.smugmug.com/photos/i-4DPdbwB/0/c4ed4ba1/X2/i-4DPdbwB-X2.jpg

IMAGE: https://photos.smugmug.com/photos/i-LNNcM2c/0/91823e97/L/i-LNNcM2c-L.jpg

Canon flash when they work.

IMAGE: https://photos.smugmug.com/photos/i-b3fMhRP/0/c0b7667a/L/i-b3fMhRP-L.jpg

Canon when some flashes don't recycle in time or batteries are exhausted.

IMAGE: https://photos.smugmug.com/photos/i-BB349L8/0/1cbc4c65/L/i-BB349L8-L.jpg

Curator of the Bob's Pickle Emporium experience. -As always, One location to serve you better!
~Feel good today and donate to this great forum~ LINK
My Gear List

LOG IN TO REPLY
Dan ­ Marchant
Goldmember
Dan Marchant's Avatar
Joined Oct 2011
Where I'm from is unimportant, it's where I'm going that counts.
Nov 01, 2017 21:54 |  #5

werds wrote in post #18477498 (external link)
Does anyone have suggestions for DSLR models (not necessarily Nikon) that do not suffer from lag so much when in photobooth operation?

Either your camera is broken (unlikely) or you are doing something wrong. There is no reason why any DSLR would lag in proper use (as in proper settings and sufficient light). Changing camera won't make any difference when the issue is caused by user error.

So what settings are you using on the camera and what lighting are you using?


Dan Marchant
Website/blog: danmarchant.com (external link)
Instagram: @dan_marchant (external link)
Gear Canon 5DIII + Fuji X-T2 + lenses + a plastic widget I found in the camera box.

LOG IN TO REPLY

309 views & 0 likes for this thread
Photobooth Camera Models?
FORUMS General Gear Talk DIY & Customizing


Not a member yet? Click here to register to the forums.
Registered members get all the features: search, following threads, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, settings, view hosted photos, own reviews and more...


AAA

Send feedback to staff    •   Jump to forum...    •   Rules    •   Index    •   New posts    •   RTAT    •   'Best of'    •   Gallery    •   Gear    •   Reviews    •   Polls

COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Privacy policy and cookie usage info.

POWERED BY AMASS 1.4version 1.4
made in Finland
by Pekka Saarinen
for photography-on-the.net
Spent 0.00227 for 6 database queries.
PAGE COMPLETED IN 0.02s
Latest registered member is aftahir
848 guests, 362 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 6106, that happened on Jun 09, 2016