Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Read More.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS General Gear Talk Flash and Studio Lighting
Thread started 05 Nov 2017 (Sunday) 16:30
Prev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)

Godox X1 (N) and Neewer 750II, not behaving?

 
ShutterKlick
Member
ShutterKlick's Avatar
68 posts
Joined Oct 2017
Post has been edited 13 days ago by ShutterKlick.
Nov 05, 2017 16:30 |  #1

Running Nikon D5300, Godox X1T and X1R for Nikon, attached is the Neewer 750II flash

https://www.amazon.com ...age_o01_s00?ie=UTF8​&psc=1 (external link)

The flash, when connected to the hot shoe of my camera, "behaves" properly..

However, when running with the Godox X1 system which I just got today, it does not
appear to "behave" properly.

AFAIK, Ive done everything "right".

First I updated both with latest firmware (was actually smooth as butter)

I placed T on camera cut it on first, then cut on camera (as per instructions)

Then I cut R on and cut on flash.

T and R are both on the same channel. R is set to group A,
controlling group A from T.


I have tried two ways, setting the FLASH on manual, and on TTL.
Im still confused as to what the setting on the flash is supposed to be
in, but I think the manual says to put the flash in M.

Anyway.. I was excited to have TTL control, *and* adjust "power" of
the flash in Manual mode too!

Problem is, manual doesnt appear to behave properly.. after about 1/4
power the flash doesnt get any brighter.

When I set the flash to MANUAL, and 1/1 and trigger it with the X1
the light output is GREAT. However it doesnt seam to be selected
from the transmitter (X1T).

No matter what I do from the X1T, the display on the flash does not
appear to change what so ever. When the flash is in manual, and
the transmitter is set to manual mode, scrolling the wheel to adjust
power does not update the LCD display on the flash unit.
I anticipated it should marry, or both will show the same (?)

Am I doing something wrong? Is this flash not compatible with the
Godox X1 system?? I love the flash, is why I bought the transmitter
and receiver pair.

Its looking like Ill have to chip up for a new flash to get the desired,
and anticipated, behavior that I wanted.

https://www.amazon.com ...J4507&colid=2Q3RABF​MGW1FR (external link)

Im pretty short on funds after buying the T and R so I guess it would have to
wait.. which sux because I dont have a flash that will work on the R at this
time, according to my observations.

Any help or advice would be great, thanks in advance for your time!

BTW, Ive searched for a list of (3rd party) flashes that would be compatible with
the X1 system, I am presuming that the Nikon brand fla$hes will work as I expected,
but Im not that rich at this time.


THANKS MUCH!
Andrew


"Camera rich, Cash poor"

LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)
ShutterKlick
THREAD ­ STARTER
Member
ShutterKlick's Avatar
68 posts
Joined Oct 2017
Nov 05, 2017 18:44 |  #2

I went back and was playing with the setup agn. Flash in TTL, changing
power on the transmitter in manual mode... anything over 1/4 still gives
the same light output.

I really like the setup potential, but I think this flash just may not be up
to cake. Ill likely sell all the flashes I have along with some body parts
and get a used SB800 on ebay.

Ill still monitoring the thread for any follow ups though I think the
setup is never going to work as expected.

I am also curious if this has *anything* to do with TTL versus
I-TTL. In the end, I feel pretty certain that an SB800 will 100%
work with the X1 system.

Andrew


"Camera rich, Cash poor"

LOG IN TO REPLY
ShutterKlick
THREAD ­ STARTER
Member
ShutterKlick's Avatar
68 posts
Joined Oct 2017
Nov 05, 2017 20:46 |  #3

I am returning the X1R-N unit and getting a TT600 (full manual) flash with built in X1 receiver as a stop gap.
I hope to get 1 or 2 TT685N which TTL and manual mode later/end of the month, but a few TT600's
would be very nice to have too... Its a 100% problem solver and will fill the bill allowing me one
flash with TTL and Id like to have 3 others in TT600 full manual, that should make for a decent
entry level studio setup for not a lot of bacon. mmm... bacon.

I just cant part with the cash that would be needed to get a used SB800 at this time, maybe
after I improve my skills enough to make some side money and upgrade later.

Cheers,
Andrew

TT698N supports i-TTL, X1 receiver built in
https://www.amazon.com ...6DUAR&colid=2Q3RABF​MGW1FR (external link)

TT600 low buck full manual, X1 receiver built in
https://www.amazon.com ...312&sr=1-2&keywords=tt600 (external link)


"Camera rich, Cash poor"

LOG IN TO REPLY
elv
Goldmember
1,456 posts
Joined Jul 2006
Nov 06, 2017 03:24 |  #4

Hi Andrew,

After a recent email and comment on the blog, I was just trying this with an SB-700 and can confirm the same issue. So it is with at least some genuine Nikon Speedlights as well (SB-600 and SB-700 known so far).

I found using a flash duration meter the flash is firing in HSS mode, so that's why its losing 2 stops of power.


The flashes with receiver built-in are the best way to go though, as you see the X1 receivers tend to be Godox's last priority (I'm not sure how long ago this bug was introduced).


FLASHHAVOC.COMexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
ShutterKlick
THREAD ­ STARTER
Member
ShutterKlick's Avatar
68 posts
Joined Oct 2017
Nov 06, 2017 10:12 |  #5

elv wrote in post #18489703 (external link)
Hi Andrew,

After a recent email and comment on the blog, I was just trying this with an SB-700 and can confirm the same issue. So it is with at least some genuine Nikon Speedlights as well (SB-600 and SB-700 known so far).

I found using a flash duration meter the flash is firing in HSS mode, so that's why its losing 2 stops of power.


The flashes with receiver built-in are the best way to go though, as you see the X1 receivers tend to be Godox's last priority (I'm not sure how long ago this bug was introduced).


THANK YOU VERY MUCH!

You confirmed my observation, and also satisfied my curiosity that Im doing the right thing (Godox flash with X1 integrated)
I dont need $400 speedlight quality, $120 speedlight quality will suffice for my applications now, and the foreseeable future.

Thanks agn!
Andrew


"Camera rich, Cash poor"

LOG IN TO REPLY
ShutterKlick
THREAD ­ STARTER
Member
ShutterKlick's Avatar
68 posts
Joined Oct 2017
Nov 07, 2017 20:17 |  #6

UPDATE!

Got the Godox TT600 today... WOW!!! What a wonderful flash, and it works PERFECTLY with the X1T!

Matter of fact, Ive already ordered another.

Andrew


"Camera rich, Cash poor"

LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)

994 views & 0 likes for this thread
Godox X1 (N) and Neewer 750II, not behaving?
FORUMS General Gear Talk Flash and Studio Lighting


Not a member yet? Click here to register to the forums.
Registered members get all the features: search, following threads, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, settings, view hosted photos, own reviews and more...


AAA

Send feedback to staff    •   Jump to forum...    •   Rules    •   Index    •   New posts    •   RTAT    •   'Best of'    •   Gallery    •   Gear    •   Reviews    •   Polls

COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Privacy policy and cookie usage info.

POWERED BY AMASS 1.4version 1.4
made in Finland
by Pekka Saarinen
for photography-on-the.net
Spent 0.00095 for 6 database queries.
PAGE COMPLETED IN 0.01s
Latest registered member is aKilter
699 guests, 288 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 6106, that happened on Jun 09, 2016