Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Read More.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS General Gear Talk Data Storage, Memory Cards & Backup 
Thread started 08 Jan 2018 (Monday) 23:28
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

RAID 5 v RAID 10

 
NCHANT
Goldmember
3,007 posts
Gallery: 2 photos
Best ofs: 1
Likes: 2086
Joined Jul 2012
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
     
Jan 08, 2018 23:28 |  #1

Hey guys,

I currently have a QNAP TS-451 NAS with 4x4tb drives running in RAID 10, so around 8tb of usable space. I'm considering reformatting and going RAID 5 so I can boost the space to around 12tb, has anyone else done this or is using RAID 5?


6D | 600D | A6000 | 10-22mm ƒ3.5-4.5 USM | 24-105mm ƒ4L USM | TM 35mm ƒ1.8 VC | 40mm ƒ2.8 STM | 50mm ƒ1.8 | 85mm ƒ1.8 | 135mm ƒ2L | 200mm ƒ2.8L II | 55-250 ƒ4.5-5.6 II | Sy 24mm ƒ1.4 | Sy XP 14mm ƒ2.4
Flickr (external link) | Facebook (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
mike_d
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
5,068 posts
Likes: 366
Joined Aug 2009
     
Jan 08, 2018 23:33 |  #2

I'm running Synology's version of RAID 5 on my 5 bay NAS. Yes, you get more space since only one drive's capacity is lost to redundancy, but you also get less redundancy. It's always a tradeoff. What's your tolerance for losing the array?




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
NCHANT
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
3,007 posts
Gallery: 2 photos
Best ofs: 1
Likes: 2086
Joined Jul 2012
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
     
Jan 08, 2018 23:55 |  #3

mike_d wrote in post #18536806 (external link)
I'm running Synology's version of RAID 5 on my 5 bay NAS. Yes, you get more space since only one drive's capacity is lost to redundancy, but you also get less redundancy. It's always a tradeoff. What's your tolerance for losing the array?

It's hard to say really, I just want to simplify how I store my photos. I'm currently doing a spring clean and eliminating all the clutter, then will compile all my images off my external drives and into one big catalog on the NAS. Then use the spare external drives to make backups of the most important shoots – weddings, workshops etc.


6D | 600D | A6000 | 10-22mm ƒ3.5-4.5 USM | 24-105mm ƒ4L USM | TM 35mm ƒ1.8 VC | 40mm ƒ2.8 STM | 50mm ƒ1.8 | 85mm ƒ1.8 | 135mm ƒ2L | 200mm ƒ2.8L II | 55-250 ƒ4.5-5.6 II | Sy 24mm ƒ1.4 | Sy XP 14mm ƒ2.4
Flickr (external link) | Facebook (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
tim
Light Bringer
Avatar
50,908 posts
Likes: 328
Joined Nov 2004
Location: Wellington, New Zealand
     
Jan 10, 2018 01:46 |  #4

I assume you've read a number of articles (external link) on RAID5 vs RAID10? RAID10 is going to be safer and easier to recover.

What is your reason for using RAID? I use what's effectively a RAID mirror to protect against data loss during a drive failure. I also have careful and extensive backups.


Professional wedding photographer, solution architect and general technical guy with multiple Amazon Web Services certifications.
Read all my FAQs (wedding, printing, lighting, books, etc)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Jethr0
Senior Member
Avatar
846 posts
Gallery: 38 photos
Likes: 431
Joined Aug 2012
Location: ON, Canada
     
Jan 10, 2018 05:46 |  #5

Raid 5 is great for capacity with a side benefit of some parity/redundancy. It’s “slower” than raid 10 though.
You can’t lose more than one drive in a raid 5 array, so if there’s spare functionality NAS you should use it.

Raid 10 is quick for sure but it really gobbles the gigs to accomplish what it accomplishes.


www.jefflowe.ca (external link)
Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/jeff​lowe.ca (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
drmaxx
Senior Member
895 posts
Gallery: 11 photos
Likes: 154
Joined Jul 2010
Post edited 3 months ago by drmaxx.
     
Jan 10, 2018 07:10 |  #6

mike_d wrote in post #18536806 (external link)
What's your tolerance for losing the array?

^^^ This!
I regret going RAID 5 on my (personal) NAS. I have good local backups and for me it is not very important to have a high uptime reliability of the NAS. Now, I just have 25% less storage space for no real useful benefit. Additionally, the load on my NAS is not very taxing on the HD so that the probability of loosing one of them is fairly low (WD red). Your miles might vary - but RAID is not for data safety but only for uptime - and this is what you need to keep in mind for making your decision.


Donate if you love POTN

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
eelnoraa
Goldmember
1,754 posts
Likes: 30
Joined May 2007
     
Jan 12, 2018 11:39 |  #7

Is there any reason to use RAID10 over RAID6? I think RAID6 is even safer.


5Di, 5Diii, 28, 50, 85, 16-35II, 24-105, 70-200F2.8 IS

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
CyberDyneSystems
Admin (type T-2000)
Avatar
48,190 posts
Gallery: 79 photos
Likes: 4338
Joined Apr 2003
Location: Rhode Island USA
Post edited 3 months ago by CyberDyneSystems. (2 edits in all)
     
Jan 12, 2018 11:43 |  #8

I'm not familiar with the Qnap from personal use.

My experience with RAID 5 is that unless you have a very high end high performance controller, it is significantly slower than RAID 10 (or 0+1) in use, and even more slow when a rebuild is required. Rebuilds taking 24 plus hours are possible (depending on TB and controller) Where as with RAID 10 a rebuild will be similar to the time it takes to simply copy one HDD to another.

So the decision comes down to capacity vs. speed.

I choose speed :)

*Note, in my case, the RAID is my WORKING active array. It is not a back up archive.


GEAR LIST
CDS' HOT LINKS
Jake Hegnauer Photography (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
CyberDyneSystems
Admin (type T-2000)
Avatar
48,190 posts
Gallery: 79 photos
Likes: 4338
Joined Apr 2003
Location: Rhode Island USA
Post edited 3 months ago by CyberDyneSystems.
     
Jan 12, 2018 11:44 |  #9

eelnoraa wrote in post #18539391 (external link)
Is there any reason to use RAID10 over RAID6? I think RAID6 is even safer.

Speed. Also, if only 4 drives are used, you gain no increase in capacity vs. RAID10


GEAR LIST
CDS' HOT LINKS
Jake Hegnauer Photography (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
eelnoraa
Goldmember
1,754 posts
Likes: 30
Joined May 2007
     
Jan 12, 2018 11:48 |  #10

I think for most NAS, the speed is bottle neck by the LAN speed by far. Normal usage, I don't think the read speed matter much, right? I agree the speed for rebuilt, but this should be a rare event.


5Di, 5Diii, 28, 50, 85, 16-35II, 24-105, 70-200F2.8 IS

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
CyberDyneSystems
Admin (type T-2000)
Avatar
48,190 posts
Gallery: 79 photos
Likes: 4338
Joined Apr 2003
Location: Rhode Island USA
Post edited 3 months ago by CyberDyneSystems.
     
Jan 12, 2018 11:49 |  #11

eelnoraa wrote in post #18539406 (external link)
I think for most NAS, the speed is bottle neck by the LAN speed by far. Normal usage, I don't think the read speed matter much, right? I agree the speed for rebuilt, but this should be a rare event.


This is true, thus I edited to add my note about my own uses being non archival non-NAS.


GEAR LIST
CDS' HOT LINKS
Jake Hegnauer Photography (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
eelnoraa
Goldmember
1,754 posts
Likes: 30
Joined May 2007
     
Jan 12, 2018 12:18 as a reply to  @ CyberDyneSystems's post |  #12

IC, understood.

My NAS is also acting as an centeral data repository at home, not for backup purpose. I have enough drive space and currently with RAID5. When I swapping the drives out, I kind of the added security of 10 or 6. I am leaning toward 6 because I can afford to lose any two of out 4 drives. With 10, it has to be 1 drive in each pair. However, I don't know if going to 10 will improve performance in my usage, if so, I think 10 is also a consideration


5Di, 5Diii, 28, 50, 85, 16-35II, 24-105, 70-200F2.8 IS

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

541 views & 0 likes for this thread
RAID 5 v RAID 10
FORUMS General Gear Talk Data Storage, Memory Cards & Backup 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.0forum software
version 2.0 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is insurfr
717 guests, 372 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 6430, that happened on Dec 03, 2017

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.