Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Read More.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS General Gear Talk Data Storage, Memory Cards & Backup 
Thread started 25 Jan 2018 (Thursday) 17:34
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

help with my memory card

 
FreeSoul1987
Senior Member
468 posts
Gallery: 14 photos
Likes: 285
Joined Jul 2012
Location: Southern Indiana
     
Jan 25, 2018 17:34 |  #1

The card was working fine two days ago, this afternoon I turn on my camera and I'm getting this message. any help?


HOSTED PHOTO
please log in to view hosted photos in full size.



HOSTED PHOTO
please log in to view hosted photos in full size.


*Do It For Yourself, Do It Because They Said It Was Impossible, Do It Because They Said You Were Incapable*
www.FreeSoulPhotograph​y.smugmug.com (external link)
Gear: Canon T2i, 430EX II flash, Tamron 18-270mm VC PZD II, Canon 18-55mm lens, Canon EF 50mm f/1.8 II lens

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
John ­ from ­ PA
Cream of the Crop
7,890 posts
Likes: 455
Joined May 2003
Location: Southeast Pennsylvania
Post edited 3 months ago by John from PA. (3 edits in all)
     
Jan 25, 2018 19:13 |  #2

I see in your equipment you have a T2i which was prone to issues with the SD card slot area. But start with checking the card then move to checking the camera.

Are there any valuable images on the card? If not do an in camera low level format and report back. Also, try a different card and see what behavior you get. Carefully check the plastic that borders the sliding contacts. It has been reported that some of the plastic may break off. Last thing would be to get a really bright light and look into the slot. You should see a switch that should line up with the notch on the side of the card near the lock switch. Do you see any damage on the switch? There are also some reports of people having issues that were fixed by filling the void adjacent to the lock switch and then applying scotch tape over the switch area. This enabled the camera to work.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
MadMadge
Member
31 posts
Likes: 27
Joined Aug 2009
     
Jan 25, 2018 19:16 |  #3

The card may possibly be corrupt. Do you have a memory card reader you could try it in?




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
FreeSoul1987
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
468 posts
Gallery: 14 photos
Likes: 285
Joined Jul 2012
Location: Southern Indiana
     
Jan 26, 2018 09:20 |  #4

This is the first time my T2i has had an issue, and I've used many SD cards with it.
I've tried formatting it as I've already erased what was on there (or taken off) and I keep getting an error that Windows cannot format card. I've tried both the low level format and the other one (can't remember what it was but I am not home at that computer). And it came up with the error both times, I am having no issues with my other cards though, I've got 3 other working cards and I have no issues with them.
I went ahead last night and bought another 32 GB just like this one, just in case I have to trash this one.


*Do It For Yourself, Do It Because They Said It Was Impossible, Do It Because They Said You Were Incapable*
www.FreeSoulPhotograph​y.smugmug.com (external link)
Gear: Canon T2i, 430EX II flash, Tamron 18-270mm VC PZD II, Canon 18-55mm lens, Canon EF 50mm f/1.8 II lens

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
FreeSoul1987
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
468 posts
Gallery: 14 photos
Likes: 285
Joined Jul 2012
Location: Southern Indiana
     
Jan 26, 2018 09:22 |  #5

My cards.
The transcend one is damaged (thanks to my son) but I am unwilling to get rid of it.


HOSTED PHOTO
please log in to view hosted photos in full size.


*Do It For Yourself, Do It Because They Said It Was Impossible, Do It Because They Said You Were Incapable*
www.FreeSoulPhotograph​y.smugmug.com (external link)
Gear: Canon T2i, 430EX II flash, Tamron 18-270mm VC PZD II, Canon 18-55mm lens, Canon EF 50mm f/1.8 II lens

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
John ­ from ­ PA
Cream of the Crop
7,890 posts
Likes: 455
Joined May 2003
Location: Southeast Pennsylvania
Post edited 3 months ago by John from PA.
     
Jan 26, 2018 10:43 |  #6

FreeSoul1987 wrote in post #18549314 (external link)
I've tried formatting it as I've already erased what was on there (or taken off) and I keep getting an error that Windows cannot format card. I've tried both the low level format and the other one (can't remember what it was but I am not home at that computer). And it came up with the error both times, I am having no issues with my other cards though, I've got 3 other working cards and I have no issues with them.
I went ahead last night and bought another 32 GB just like this one, just in case I have to trash this one.

Based on these various comments, and the fact that memory is cheap, I would trash the card that gave you the original issues. Even if you get it working, why risk a chance it would act up again and at a time when you might lose valuable images?

By the way I previously mentioned a low level format in camera meaning don't do it in a computer. It isn't super critical but done in camera a very specific directory structure is established.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
FreeSoul1987
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
468 posts
Gallery: 14 photos
Likes: 285
Joined Jul 2012
Location: Southern Indiana
     
Jan 26, 2018 11:33 |  #7

John from PA wrote in post #18549381 (external link)
Based on these various comments, and the fgact that memory is cheap, I would trash the card that gave you the original issues. Even if you get it working, why risk a chance it would act up again and at a time when you might lose valuable images.

By the way I previously mentioned a low level format in camera meaning don't do it in a computer. It isn't super critical but done in camera a very specific directory structure is established.

I'll remember that. And yeah I'll go ahead and toss it.


*Do It For Yourself, Do It Because They Said It Was Impossible, Do It Because They Said You Were Incapable*
www.FreeSoulPhotograph​y.smugmug.com (external link)
Gear: Canon T2i, 430EX II flash, Tamron 18-270mm VC PZD II, Canon 18-55mm lens, Canon EF 50mm f/1.8 II lens

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
eelnoraa
Goldmember
1,757 posts
Likes: 30
Joined May 2007
     
Jan 26, 2018 16:34 |  #8

If even Windows can't format with a card reader, the card is shot.

My question to OP, is there any reason you want a UHS-II card for a Ti2? It costs more and you won't have any benefit with Ti2.


5Di, 5Diii, 28, 50, 85, 16-35II, 24-105, 70-200F2.8 IS

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
John ­ from ­ PA
Cream of the Crop
7,890 posts
Likes: 455
Joined May 2003
Location: Southeast Pennsylvania
     
Jan 27, 2018 08:30 |  #9

eelnoraa wrote in post #18549696 (external link)
My question to OP, is there any reason you want a UHS-II card for a Ti2? It costs more and you won't have any benefit with Ti2.

Good point, just go to Best Buy and get the card below for $20 (MSRP $55).


HOSTED PHOTO
please log in to view hosted photos in full size.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
tim
Light Bringer
Avatar
50,916 posts
Likes: 330
Joined Nov 2004
Location: Wellington, New Zealand
     
Jan 29, 2018 12:21 |  #10

My experience is Lexar cards have more problems than other brands.

If a card ever plays up at all, either toss it out or have it replaced. It's not worth any risk. Test the cards each year, I use this (external link).


Professional wedding photographer, solution architect and general technical guy with multiple Amazon Web Services certifications.
Read all my FAQs (wedding, printing, lighting, books, etc)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
RPCrowe
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
7,822 posts
Likes: 633
Joined Nov 2005
Location: San Diego County, California, USA
Post edited 2 months ago by RPCrowe.
     
Mar 21, 2018 14:30 |  #11

What pieces of crap are SD cards in comparison to CF cards. I have had CF cards go through a washing machine and another chewed up by a puppy - they still worked (although I retired the CF card that was chewed up). I have never in over 15 years of shooting had a CF card go bad (although I did get two Kingston CF cards which were bad from the start). No more Kingston cards, no more problems:twisted:

People complain that the Canon 6D2 only has one SD card slot. That Is my complaint too. Although the complaint isn't about one slot, I would be happy if the single slot was for a CF card. In fact I have had my 7D2 for several years now. It has a CF and and an SD card slot. I have only inserted an SD card in the extra slot one time :rolleyes: to ensure that it was working.

Physically, the CF cards are a lot more robust. I cringe every time I put pressure on the SD card in my 6D2 and hope that the darn flimsy thing doesn't break...


See my images at http://rpcrowe.smugmug​.com/ (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
John ­ from ­ PA
Cream of the Crop
7,890 posts
Likes: 455
Joined May 2003
Location: Southeast Pennsylvania
Post edited 2 months ago by John from PA.
     
Mar 21, 2018 19:38 |  #12

RPCrowe wrote in post #18591046 (external link)
What pieces of crap are SD cards in comparison to CF cards. I have had CF cards go through a washing machine and another chewed up by a puppy - they still worked (although I retired the CF card that was chewed up). I have never in over 15 years of shooting had a CF card go bad (although I did get two Kingston CF cards which were bad from the start). No more Kingston cards, no more problems:twisted:

People complain that the Canon 6D2 only has one SD card slot. That Is my complaint too. Although the complaint isn't about one slot, I would be happy if the single slot was for a CF card. In fact I have had my 7D2 for several years now. It has a CF and and an SD card slot. I have only inserted an SD card in the extra slot one time :rolleyes: to ensure that it was working.

Physically, the CF cards are a lot more robust. I cringe every time I put pressure on the SD card in my 6D2 and hope that the darn flimsy thing doesn't break...

I'm old enough that I don't buy green bananas, so I may not be around for the demise of CF cards. See https://www.imaging-resource.com …h-another-new-card-format (external link)




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

721 views & 4 likes for this thread
help with my memory card
FORUMS General Gear Talk Data Storage, Memory Cards & Backup 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.1forum software
version 2.1 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is chrisquintero2012
760 guests, 380 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 6430, that happened on Dec 03, 2017

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.