Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Read More.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Post Processing, Marketing & Presenting Photos RAW, Post Processing & Printing
Thread started 11 Feb 2018 (Sunday) 21:20
Prev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)

How can I edit this band? (Photoshop)

 
icor1031
Senior Member
Joined Jan 2015
Feb 11, 2018 21:20 |  #1

At the top of the picture, there's a blue/gray band. I want to make it white, like the rest of the background.
This was a test shot, I was getting my lights in place; I didn't intend to use this picture. But, the model loves it.

https://i.imgur.com/IF​dsOp0.jpg (external link)


(2) Canon 6D || Zeiss Sonnar 135mm f/2 || Zeiss Otus 85mm f/1.4 || Sigma 85mm f/1.4 || Helios 44-2 58mm f/2 || Sigma 50mm f/1.4 Art || Canon 24mm f/2.8 || Rokinon 14mm f/2.8 || (2) Eg-S Focusing Screen
Ideal Portraits (external link)

LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)
Dan ­ Marchant
Goldmember
Dan Marchant's Avatar
Joined Oct 2011
Where I'm from is unimportant, it's where I'm going that counts.
Post has been last edited 11 days ago by Dan Marchant. 2 edits done in total.
Feb 11, 2018 22:28 |  #2

A two minute job in Lightroom or ACR (which comes with PS). Use a feathered adjustment brush or a graduated filter adjustment set to desaturate. If using the latter the top of his head will be desaturated so use the brush setting to delete the graduated filter over the head area.

As well as setting the saturation to -100 (the background may look very slightly grey) you may want to push the exposure up very slightly.

HOSTED PHOTO
please log in to view hosted photos in full size.

Dan Marchant
Website/blog: danmarchant.com (external link)
Instagram: @dan_marchant (external link)
Gear Canon 5DIII + Fuji X-T2 + lenses + a plastic widget I found in the camera box.

LOG IN TO REPLY
icor1031
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
Joined Jan 2015
Feb 11, 2018 22:47 |  #3

I can't open ACR with my TIFF?


(2) Canon 6D || Zeiss Sonnar 135mm f/2 || Zeiss Otus 85mm f/1.4 || Sigma 85mm f/1.4 || Helios 44-2 58mm f/2 || Sigma 50mm f/1.4 Art || Canon 24mm f/2.8 || Rokinon 14mm f/2.8 || (2) Eg-S Focusing Screen
Ideal Portraits (external link)

LOG IN TO REPLY
Peano
Goldmember
Peano's Avatar
1,652 posts
Joined Aug 2007
Feb 11, 2018 23:36 |  #4

Create a layer mask revealing only the background. You just need to mask the top of the head because that's the only area that needs fixing. Put that mask on a blank layer and paint over the blue stripe with white.

HOSTED PHOTO
please log in to view hosted photos in full size.

HOSTED PHOTO
please log in to view hosted photos in full size.

---
Peano
RadiantPics.comexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
Dan ­ Marchant
Goldmember
Dan Marchant's Avatar
Joined Oct 2011
Where I'm from is unimportant, it's where I'm going that counts.
Feb 12, 2018 01:24 |  #5

icor1031 wrote in post #18561812 (external link)
I can't open ACR with my TIFF?

Are you asking me or telling me? You certainly should be able to open a TIFF in ACR.


Dan Marchant
Website/blog: danmarchant.com (external link)
Instagram: @dan_marchant (external link)
Gear Canon 5DIII + Fuji X-T2 + lenses + a plastic widget I found in the camera box.

LOG IN TO REPLY
icor1031
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
Joined Jan 2015
Feb 12, 2018 01:44 |  #6

Dan Marchant wrote in post #18561854 (external link)
Are you asking me or telling me? You certainly should be able to open a TIFF in ACR.

Asking, because I followed the instructions on google and it won't.
Though I believe that if I open CR2, it does.


(2) Canon 6D || Zeiss Sonnar 135mm f/2 || Zeiss Otus 85mm f/1.4 || Sigma 85mm f/1.4 || Helios 44-2 58mm f/2 || Sigma 50mm f/1.4 Art || Canon 24mm f/2.8 || Rokinon 14mm f/2.8 || (2) Eg-S Focusing Screen
Ideal Portraits (external link)

LOG IN TO REPLY
john ­ crossley
Goldmember
john crossley's Avatar
Joined Nov 2009
The Rhubarb Triangle
Feb 12, 2018 02:27 |  #7

icor1031 wrote in post #18561858 (external link)
Asking, because I followed the instructions on google and it won't.
Though I believe that if I open CR2, it does.

From the FILE menu select OPEN.
In the window that opens select your image.
In the bottom lefthand corner of the window select OPTIONS.
Then change the FORMAT to CAMERA RAW.
Then click OPEN.


HOSTED PHOTO
please log in to view hosted photos in full size.

Some days I'm the dog, some days I'm the lamppost.

LOG IN TO REPLY
DagoImaging
Goldmember
DagoImaging's Avatar
Joined Nov 2012
Feb 12, 2018 07:21 |  #8

No edits of the guy, just the background.

Use select and mask, Select Subject
Add a white background
Paint in some of the masked out hair


HOSTED PHOTO
please log in to view hosted photos in full size.
HOSTED PHOTO
please log in to view hosted photos in full size.

Sony a6300/ 16-70/4 / 70-200/4 G / Sony HVL-60M

LOG IN TO REPLY
kirkt
Cream of the Crop
5,457 posts
Joined Feb 2008
Philadelphia, PA USA
Feb 12, 2018 10:14 |  #9

icor1031 wrote in post #18561812 (external link)
I can't open ACR with my TIFF?

You can open your TIFF in PS and then invoke ACR as a filter (Filter > Camera Raw Filter or use the keyboard shortcut CMD-SHIFT-A (CTRL-SHIFT-A)).

This way you can open your original TIFF, then create a duplicate of it on a new layer (CMD-J) and do your ACR manipulation there, as opposed to the original image.

Or you can use any number of ways with masks, exposure boost, etc.

You are essentially keying the background , creating a matte (mask) that isolates the subject from the background, and replacing the original background with a new one.

kirk


Kirk
---
images: http://kirkt.smugmug.c​omexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
icor1031
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
Joined Jan 2015
Feb 12, 2018 14:23 |  #10

I followed these instructions, but I can't figure out how you made the mask. http://www.adobepress.​com ...le.asp?p=1950633&se​qNum=4 (external link)
Your mask retained the hair very well.

In step 5, refine mask - I can't find that option in the current version of PS.

Peano wrote in post #18561833 (external link)
Create a layer mask revealing only the background. You just need to mask the top of the head because that's the only area that needs fixing. Put that mask on a blank layer and paint over the blue stripe with white.
thumbnailHosted photo: posted by Peano in
./showthread.php?p=185​61833&i=i99365216
forum: RAW, Post Processing & Printing
thumbnailHosted photo: posted by Peano in
./showthread.php?p=185​61833&i=i240664464
forum: RAW, Post Processing & Printing


(2) Canon 6D || Zeiss Sonnar 135mm f/2 || Zeiss Otus 85mm f/1.4 || Sigma 85mm f/1.4 || Helios 44-2 58mm f/2 || Sigma 50mm f/1.4 Art || Canon 24mm f/2.8 || Rokinon 14mm f/2.8 || (2) Eg-S Focusing Screen
Ideal Portraits (external link)

LOG IN TO REPLY
icor1031
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
Joined Jan 2015
Feb 12, 2018 14:25 |  #11

john crossley wrote in post #18561862 (external link)
From the FILE menu select OPEN.
In the window that opens select your image.
In the bottom lefthand corner of the window select OPTIONS.
Then change the FORMAT to CAMERA RAW.
Then click OPEN.


thumbnailHosted photo: posted by john crossley in
./showthread.php?p=185​61862&i=i239337918
forum: RAW, Post Processing & Printing

Same directions I found on Google, didn't work; thanks though. (PC equivalent)


kirkt wrote in post #18562040 (external link)
You can open your TIFF in PS and then invoke ACR as a filter (Filter > Camera Raw Filter or use the keyboard shortcut CMD-SHIFT-A (CTRL-SHIFT-A)).


That worked, thanks!


(2) Canon 6D || Zeiss Sonnar 135mm f/2 || Zeiss Otus 85mm f/1.4 || Sigma 85mm f/1.4 || Helios 44-2 58mm f/2 || Sigma 50mm f/1.4 Art || Canon 24mm f/2.8 || Rokinon 14mm f/2.8 || (2) Eg-S Focusing Screen
Ideal Portraits (external link)

LOG IN TO REPLY
Peano
Goldmember
Peano's Avatar
1,652 posts
Joined Aug 2007
Feb 12, 2018 17:15 |  #12

icor1031 wrote in post #18562208 (external link)
I followed these instructions, but I can't figure out how you made the mask.

It's easier than it might look. Just three steps:

HOSTED PHOTO
please log in to view hosted photos in full size.

---
Peano
RadiantPics.comexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
icor1031
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
Joined Jan 2015
Feb 13, 2018 23:02 |  #13

Peano wrote in post #18562309 (external link)
It's easier than it might look. Just three steps:

It looks like I'm on the right track until step 2...

https://i.imgur.com/UF​JcSpr.jpg (external link)

My image turns red when I go to adjustments -> levels.

Your levels menu doesn't look the same as mine, either. For example, I can't select the channel?


(2) Canon 6D || Zeiss Sonnar 135mm f/2 || Zeiss Otus 85mm f/1.4 || Sigma 85mm f/1.4 || Helios 44-2 58mm f/2 || Sigma 50mm f/1.4 Art || Canon 24mm f/2.8 || Rokinon 14mm f/2.8 || (2) Eg-S Focusing Screen
Ideal Portraits (external link)

LOG IN TO REPLY
Peano
Goldmember
Peano's Avatar
1,652 posts
Joined Aug 2007
Post has been last edited 8 days ago by Peano. 3 edits done in total.
Feb 13, 2018 23:12 |  #14

icor1031 wrote in post #18563309 (external link)
It looks like I'm on the right track until step 2...

https://i.imgur.com/UF​JcSpr.jpg (external link)

My image turns red when I go to adjustments -> levels.

Your levels menu doesn't look the same as mine, either. For example, I can't select the channel?

1. In the channels panel, click on the blue channel.
2. Image > Calculations -- both Source channels will be the blue channel
3. Change blend mode to Color Burn and click OK.
4. You should now be on a newly created channel, probably "Alpha 1." (The "eyeball" should be visible only on the Alpha 1 channel. All the other channels are turned off. If you turn the others on, that causes the red overlay.)
5. Hit Ctrl-L to bring up the Levels dialog
6. Make the Levels adjustment illustrated above. You'll still be in the Alpha 1 channel. Click OK.
7. Still in the Alpha 1 channel, burn the shadows on the forehead to make them black.

That's it. That's your mask.


---
Peano
RadiantPics.comexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
icor1031
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
Joined Jan 2015
Post has been edited 8 days ago by icor1031.
Feb 14, 2018 00:28 |  #15

Peano wrote in post #18563315 (external link)
1. In the channels panel, click on the blue channel.
2. Image > Calculations -- both Source channels will be the blue channel
3. Change blend mode to Color Burn and click OK.
4. You should now be on a newly created channel, probably "Alpha 1." (The "eyeball" should be visible only on the Alpha 1 channel. All the other channels are turned off. If you turn the others on, that causes the red overlay.)
5. Hit Ctrl-L to bring up the Levels dialog
6. Make the Levels adjustment illustrated above. You'll still be in the Alpha 1 channel. Click OK.
7. Still in the Alpha 1 channel, burn the shadows on the forehead to make them black.

That's it. That's your mask.

Well, I'm almost there........
I know *very little* about photoshop.

I used a video to figure out how to create the layer's mask.
However, I can't figure out how to apply what you showed me, to the layer mask...

I think I'm at the last step. See here (my vid): https://www.youtube.co​m ...bh05AhDo&feature=yo​utu.be (external link)


(I know I didn't burn/level in that video. I did that part already; it went well. I just can't get it to apply the mask.)

Thanks.


(2) Canon 6D || Zeiss Sonnar 135mm f/2 || Zeiss Otus 85mm f/1.4 || Sigma 85mm f/1.4 || Helios 44-2 58mm f/2 || Sigma 50mm f/1.4 Art || Canon 24mm f/2.8 || Rokinon 14mm f/2.8 || (2) Eg-S Focusing Screen
Ideal Portraits (external link)

LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)

902 views & 8 likes for this thread
How can I edit this band? (Photoshop)
FORUMS Post Processing, Marketing & Presenting Photos RAW, Post Processing & Printing


Not a member yet? Click here to register to the forums.
Registered members get all the features: search, following threads, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, settings, view hosted photos, own reviews and more...


AAA

Send feedback to staff    •   Jump to forum...    •   Rules    •   Index    •   New posts    •   RTAT    •   'Best of'    •   Gallery    •   Gear    •   Reviews    •   Polls

COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Privacy policy and cookie usage info.

POWERED BY AMASS 1.4version 1.4
made in Finland
by Pekka Saarinen
for photography-on-the.net
Spent 0.00118 for 6 database queries.
PAGE COMPLETED IN 0.04s
Latest registered member is ddelaneyrose
863 guests, 374 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 6430, that happened on Dec 03, 2017