LOG IN    OR   REGISTER TO FORUMS


8000 or Bust

FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras
Thread started 20 Feb 2005 (Sunday) 05:14   
LIST NEARBY THREADS
 
MDJAK
" ...a complete lack of talent "
MDJAK's Avatar
Joined Nov 2004
24,532 posts
New York
[MORE/SHARE]

Is it just coincidence that the EOS 1ds Mark II has a top shutter speed of 8000 and costs 8000?

Does anybody really use 8000 as a shutter speed? Or even 4000? Are those speeds really for specialty photography, or am I missing out on something?

Post #1, Feb 20, 2005 05:14:38




LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)
scottbergerphoto
Cream of the Crop
scottbergerphoto's Avatar
Joined Jun 2003
5,430 posts
Brooklyn, NY, USA
[MORE/SHARE]

The ability to use high shutter speeds is useful if you are working outside on a very sunny day and you don't want to close down the aperture. It's not bad after my third cup of coffee either.
Scott

Post #2, Feb 20, 2005 05:20:12


One World, One Voice Against Terror,
Best Regards,
Scott
ScottBergerPhotography

LOG IN TO REPLY
PacAce
Cream of the Crop
PacAce's Avatar
Joined Feb 2003
26,804 posts
ABE, PA USA
[MORE/SHARE]

MDJAK wrote:
Is it just coincidence that the EOS 1ds Mark II has a top shutter speed of 8000 and costs 8000?

Does anybody really use 8000 as a shutter speed? Or even 4000? Are those speeds really for specialty photography, or am I missing out on something?

The 1DmkII has 1/8000 as the top shutter speed but it only costs aboue half of $8000 to get it. :D

As for the usefulness of very fast shutter speeds, my take on it is that if you have it, you can use it whenever the need arises for it. If you don't, you can wish real hard for it 'til the cows come hom but you still won't have it.

Say you're at the beach (or somewhere with lots of snow around) on a sunny day (EV=16 at ISO 100) and you want a nice portrait of somebody with a blurred out background. So you decide you want to use the max aperture on your lens, say f/2.8 (AV=3). Well, at that aperture, using ISO 100, you'd need a shutter speed of 1/8000 (TV=13) to get that shot exposed properly. With only 1/4000 sec. you'd need to stop down the aperture to f/4 or, if you want to keep it at f/2.8, use a 2X ND filter.

Post #3, Feb 20, 2005 07:14:34


...Leo

LOG IN TO REPLY
Europa
Junior Member
Europa's Avatar
Joined Jan 2005
29 posts
Toledo, Ohio
[MORE/SHARE]

The 1DmkII has 1/8000 as the top shutter speed but it only costs aboue half of $8000 to get it.

Well the 20D has this speed & it costs you even LESS to get this shutter speed!!!!!

Post #4, Feb 20, 2005 08:29:54


Canon 20D; 28-135 mm; 100 mm Macro; 50 mm Macro with Life Size Converter;
Sandisk 2 GB Extreme III CF Card - 10-22mm Next Purchase :cool:

LOG IN TO REPLY
pcasciola
POTN SHOPKEEPER
pcasciola's Avatar
Joined Sep 2004
3,129 posts
Millstone Township, NJ
[MORE/SHARE]

MDJAK wrote:
Does anybody really use 8000 as a shutter speed? Or even 4000? Are those speeds really for specialty photography, or am I missing out on something?

Sports photographers shoot at very wide apertures to isolate their subject and blur the background. On a bright sunny day, escpecially with an aperture of 2.8 or below, it is very easy for proper exposure to be achieved with a shutter speed above 1/4000. Highest I've noticed was 1/3200, but that's only because I use an f/4 lens, which would have been a 1/6400 exposure with an f/2.8 lens.

Post #5, Feb 20, 2005 08:40:52


Philip Casciola
Pro Camera Gearexternal link - POTN Shopexternal link
Canon 7D, EF 50/1.8, EF 85/1.8, EF 300/4L IS, EF-S 18-55, Tamron 28-75/2.8, EF 70-200/2.8L IS
Sigma 1.4x & 2x, Tamron 1.4x, Gitzo 2220 Explorer, 322RC2 grip

LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)
DocFrankenstein
Cream of the Crop
DocFrankenstein's Avatar
Joined Apr 2004
12,311 posts
where the buffalo roam
[MORE/SHARE]

Whenever I use f/2.8 wide open in sunny conditions, the 1/4000 is not enough...

And 77mm ND filters are expensive... and degrade image quality...

Now if you think about using something fast like f/2 or f/1.4... then you'll sure wish you had 1/16000

Cheers

Post #6, Feb 20, 2005 08:54:29 as a reply to pcasciola's post 13 minutes earlier.


National Sarcasm Society. Like we need your support.

LOG IN TO REPLY
CyberDyneSystems
Admin (type T-2000)
CyberDyneSystems's Avatar
Joined Apr 2003
40,780 posts
Providence RI
[MORE/SHARE]

I've pegged the speedometer on the 1DmkII in the past on a sunny day,. it does happen.

Try using a 200mm f/1.8 wide open outdoors,. I've had to drop to ISO 50 on occasion :)

Post #7, Feb 20, 2005 11:15:15


GEAR LIST
CDS' HOT LINKS
My POTN Share Threads
Jake Hegnauer Photographyexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
DocFrankenstein
Cream of the Crop
DocFrankenstein's Avatar
Joined Apr 2004
12,311 posts
where the buffalo roam
[MORE/SHARE]

How's the quality at ISO 50? Why is it a custom function? :confused:

Post #8, Feb 20, 2005 11:26:39 as a reply to CyberDyneSystems's post 11 minutes earlier.


National Sarcasm Society. Like we need your support.

LOG IN TO REPLY
CoolToolGuy
Boosting Ruler Sales
CoolToolGuy's Avatar
Joined Aug 2003
4,175 posts
Maryland, USA
[MORE/SHARE]

MDJAK wrote:
Is it just coincidence that the EOS 1ds Mark II has a top shutter speed of 8000 and costs 8000?

Well that may be 1:1, but it is 16 megapixels for $8000 - that is 2,000:1!

Compared to the 20D, which loses on the shutter speed (8,000 / $1,500) at 5.33:1, but comes out ahead on the megapixel ratio (8.2 MP / $1,500) at 5,466 : 1! :lol: :lol: :lol:

Have Fun,

Post #9, Feb 20, 2005 11:44:10


Rick

My Gear list

LOG IN TO REPLY
timmyquest
Goldmember
Joined Dec 2003
4,172 posts
Outside of Chicago
[MORE/SHARE]
banned

I've used 1/16,000 a few times on my 1D. I dont mind losing the ability to shoot at such a shutter speed, such as the 1dMKII, but all i ask in return is ISO 50, not expanded.

When i first got my camera i was at a football game talking to a lady about the "extreams" of my new camera, such as 1/500 shutter sync. and the 1/16,000 shutter speed. She said "Yeah, but really...when are you going to ever use that". I agreed with her, but after using the camera for 6 months now, i disagree. There have been times i've used the extreams of this camera, and any other camera that i own, even my rebel 2000's mere 1/2000.

Post #10, Feb 20, 2005 12:40:18


Capturing life a fraction of a second at a time

LOG IN TO REPLY
KennyG
Goldmember
KennyG's Avatar
Joined Aug 2003
2,252 posts
Leeds, UK
[MORE/SHARE]

ISO 50 is a custom function because it has an effect on the DR.

Post #11, Feb 20, 2005 15:08:10


Ken
Professional Motorsport Photographer
2 x 1D MK-II, 7D, 17-40L, 24-70L, 70-200 2.8L IS, 100-400L,
300 2.8L IS, 500 4.0L IS, 85 1.8, 50 1.4, 1.4 & 2.0 MK-II TC.

LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)
timmyquest
Goldmember
Joined Dec 2003
4,172 posts
Outside of Chicago
[MORE/SHARE]
banned

KennyG wrote:
ISO 50 is a custom function because it has an effect on the DR.


I know, but what i want is for it to work nicely. I dont even use ISO 100 on my 1D because of htis.

Post #12, Feb 20, 2005 15:08:49 as a reply to KennyG's post 39 seconds earlier.


Capturing life a fraction of a second at a time

LOG IN TO REPLY
DocFrankenstein
Cream of the Crop
DocFrankenstein's Avatar
Joined Apr 2004
12,311 posts
where the buffalo roam
[MORE/SHARE]

KennyG wrote:
ISO 50 is a custom function because it has an effect on the DR.

DR as in digital rebel or something else? :confused:

Post #13, Feb 20, 2005 15:21:40 as a reply to KennyG's post 13 minutes earlier.


National Sarcasm Society. Like we need your support.

LOG IN TO REPLY
timmyquest
Goldmember
Joined Dec 2003
4,172 posts
Outside of Chicago
[MORE/SHARE]
banned

DocFrankenstein wrote:
DR as in digital rebel or something else? :confused:

dynamic range ;-)a

Post #14, Feb 20, 2005 15:22:48 as a reply to DocFrankenstein's post 1 minute earlier.


Capturing life a fraction of a second at a time

LOG IN TO REPLY
DocFrankenstein
Cream of the Crop
DocFrankenstein's Avatar
Joined Apr 2004
12,311 posts
where the buffalo roam
[MORE/SHARE]

Why is dynamic range affected by that ISO setting? How bad is it?

Post #15, Feb 20, 2005 15:25:20 as a reply to timmyquest's post 2 minutes earlier.


National Sarcasm Society. Like we need your support.

LOG IN TO REPLY


LIST NEARBY THREADS
1,580 views & 0 likes for this thread
8000 or Bust
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras



NOT A MEMBER YET? CLICK HERE TO REGISTER TO FORUMS

CHANGE BODY TEXT SIZE FOR ALL THREAD PAGES
POWERED BY AMASS 1.0version 1.0
made in Finland
by Pekka Saarinen
for photography-on-the.net


SEND FEEDBACK TO STAFF  |  JUMP TO FORUM...  |  FORUM RULES


Spent 0.00125 for 6 database queries.
PAGE COMPLETED IN 0.01s
1031 guests, 815 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 3341, that happened on Dec 11, 2014
Latest registered member is aaazzz0514

COOKIES DISCLAIMER: By using this site you agree that some cookies will be stored on your browser. For unlogged users we store one session id cookie. For registered members we store (in addition to login session cookie) only cookies that are essential for required functionality, we do not store any personal tracking data in cookies or other browser's data storage methods.