Canon Digital Photography Forums  

Go Back   Canon Digital Photography Forums > 'Equipment Talk' section > Canon G-series Digital Cameras
Register Rules FAQ Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 23rd of January 2008 (Wed)   #1
ChrisGorabPhotography
Senior Member
 
ChrisGorabPhotography's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: NJ, USA
Posts: 1,551
Default G9 ND feature

How well does the ND filter feature on the G9 work? That is, compared to a physical 3-stop ND filter, how does the artificial feature on the G9 compare? Does anyone have experience using the two? Does anyone have examples to compare? Does anyone want to venture out and give it a shot for us to see?
ChrisGorabPhotography is offline   Reply With Quote
This ad block will go away when you log in as member
Old 23rd of January 2008 (Wed)   #2
CJinAustin
User is banned from forums
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 2,361
Default Re: G9 ND feature

I don't think it is artificial... I can visibly see it slide behind the lens when activated and it functions wonderfully.

It is a 3 stop filter so I think it would be like any other 3 stop filter... works fine.
CJinAustin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd of January 2008 (Wed)   #3
ChrisGorabPhotography
Senior Member
 
ChrisGorabPhotography's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: NJ, USA
Posts: 1,551
Default Re: G9 ND feature

Really? That's interesting. So, with a G9, you really don't have to go out and purchase a 3-stop filter to avoid overexposure if you want to increase your exposure time with a fixed aperature, right? Would buying one be a waste of time? Does anyone have any examples?
ChrisGorabPhotography is offline   Reply With Quote
This ad block will go away when you log in as member
Old 23rd of January 2008 (Wed)   #4
Jman13
Cream of the Crop
 
Jman13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Columbus, OH
Posts: 5,558
Default Re: G9 ND feature

Yeah, it's a real ND. If you activate it while looking down the lens you can see the filter slide into place. It's pretty cool.
__________________
Jordan Steele - http://www.jordansteele.com
Admiring Light - http://www.admiringlight.com
Jman13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd of January 2008 (Wed)   #5
CJinAustin
User is banned from forums
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 2,361
Default Re: G9 ND feature

Quote:
Originally Posted by imtrashed View Post
Really? That's interesting. So, with a G9, you really don't have to go out and purchase a 3-stop filter to avoid overexposure if you want to increase your exposure time with a fixed aperature, right? Would buying one be a waste of time? Does anyone have any examples?
The filter is neutral, you won't be able to see anything in examples really,,, it just allows you to slow down your shutter time. You can keep the aperture wide open in sunlight etc... Yeah, it would probably be a waste of money imo
CJinAustin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th of January 2008 (Thu)   #6
lukeeesteve
Member
 
lukeeesteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: TX
Posts: 116
Default Re: G9 ND feature

Wow...that's cool. I thought it was electronic. Would be nice if they could build in other filters like a polarizing filter that you could adjust with the dial
__________________
----------------------------------------
Luke
Canon G9, Lensmate, Canon TC-DC58N (for sale), Raynox Macro 4x
XSi, Kit Lens, Nifty 50, Tokina 11-16mm, Canon 200mm f2.8, Canon 100-300 f5.6, 420EX, 420EZ....and growing
lukeeesteve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th of January 2008 (Thu)   #7
CJinAustin
User is banned from forums
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 2,361
Default Re: G9 ND feature

Quote:
Originally Posted by lukeeesteve View Post
Wow...that's cool. I thought it was electronic. Would be nice if they could build in other filters like a polarizing filter that you could adjust with the dial
Yeah, that would be cool... I imagine they may do that at some point.
Problem is, with every additional moving part you have there is an increased risk of something breaking...
CJinAustin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th of January 2008 (Sun)   #8
Broomer
Member
 
Broomer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Broome, Western Australia
Posts: 543
Default Re: G9 ND feature

After reading this thread I thought I'd try the ND filter on my G7.
First time I have used it, here's the results.
Taken in full midday sun, M mode, Av 8, Tv 1/13 and a tripod.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMG_8736ls.jpg (75.8 KB, 608 views)
Broomer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th of January 2008 (Mon)   #9
ChrisGorabPhotography
Senior Member
 
ChrisGorabPhotography's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: NJ, USA
Posts: 1,551
Default Re: G9 ND feature

Broomer, that's a nice looking example of what the G9 can do with it's ND filter. Thank you. I'll have to fiddle around with it and see how it compares to external quality ND filters. Maybe using both.
ChrisGorabPhotography is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th of January 2008 (Mon)   #10
CJinAustin
User is banned from forums
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 2,361
Default Re: G9 ND feature

Quote:
Originally Posted by imtrashed View Post
Broomer, that's a nice looking example of what the G9 can do with it's ND filter. Thank you. I'll have to fiddle around with it and see how it compares to external quality ND filters. Maybe using both.
I think they will be the same,,, but if you use another one you can of course slow things down even more...
CJinAustin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th of January 2008 (Mon)   #11
Savas K
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 1,424
Default Re: G9 ND feature

I'd like to see a camera with a built-in leveling device, instead of relying on cross hairs. I mean one that gives you feedback in the LCD. Sometimes, the scene is indistinct.
Savas K is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th of January 2008 (Mon)   #12
lukeeesteve
Member
 
lukeeesteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: TX
Posts: 116
Default Re: G9 ND feature

Quote:
Originally Posted by Savas K View Post
I'd like to see a camera with a built-in leveling device, instead of relying on cross hairs. I mean one that gives you feedback in the LCD. Sometimes, the scene is indistinct.
There is software out there that are quite good at that. I like the one in Picasa.
__________________
----------------------------------------
Luke
Canon G9, Lensmate, Canon TC-DC58N (for sale), Raynox Macro 4x
XSi, Kit Lens, Nifty 50, Tokina 11-16mm, Canon 200mm f2.8, Canon 100-300 f5.6, 420EX, 420EZ....and growing
lukeeesteve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th of January 2008 (Tue)   #13
fortinaa
Member
 
fortinaa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Detroit, MI (suburbs)
Posts: 710
Default Re: G9 ND feature

I actually discovered the ND filter when using the video function of the camera to take clips of a performance. With the spotlight, the subject was blown out. There weren't any settings it would let me change, so I activated the ND filter and voila! Video looked like it should have in the first place.
__________________
Aaron


Gear List
fortinaa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th of January 2009 (Tue)   #14
nathan3011
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 1
Default Re: G9 ND feature

Broomer that is a really good pic i must say, where was it taken if you don't mind me asking??

I really want the G9 but at the moment Contractors Insurance just a little bit too expensive so i'm going to wait a bit and buy it when it comes down now!!

Last edited by nathan3011 : 7th of May 2009 (Thu) at 09:41.
nathan3011 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th of January 2009 (Tue)   #15
ambroseliao
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Washington, DC area
Posts: 92
Default Re: G9 ND feature

Quote:
Originally Posted by fortinaa View Post
I actually discovered the ND filter when using the video function of the camera to take clips of a performance. With the spotlight, the subject was blown out. There weren't any settings it would let me change, so I activated the ND filter and voila! Video looked like it should have in the first place.
That's a great idea, Aaron.

I had never thought of using the ND filter shooting videos. I had the same problem of blown highlights so couldn't figure out how to adjust it. Thanks for the idea.
__________________
Canon 30D with 17-85mm IS lens, Kalimar 500mm f/8 mirror lens, Canon G7, Canon 430EX, NIkon 50mm f1.4 with adapter, Manfrotto tripod and head, etc.
ambroseliao is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
1D feature?? fstop11.net Canon EOS Digital Cameras 1 25th of November 2007 (Sun) 15:48
one feature I would like.... Photolistic Canon EOS Digital Cameras 13 8th of January 2007 (Mon) 19:50
Possible Feature (I know, I know) for 2.0? segal3 Version 1.0-1.5 discussion 3 26th of March 2006 (Sun) 15:31
Possible feature for EE 2.0 lost Version 1.0-1.5 discussion 1 19th of June 2005 (Sun) 00:38
I want this feature... FlyingPete The POTN Lounge 9 16th of February 2005 (Wed) 15:46


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:08.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.12
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
This forum is not affiliated with Canon in any way and is run as a free user helpsite by Pekka Saarinen, Helsinki Finland. You will need to register in order to be able to post messages. Cookies are required for registering and posting. HTML in messages is not allowed, plain website addresses are automatically made active by the board.