LOG IN    OR   REGISTER TO FORUMS


Firmware update

FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon G-series Digital Cameras
Thread started 20 May 2003 (Tuesday) 11:50   
LIST NEARBY THREADS
 
2Hog
Member
Joined May 2003
63 posts
Shenandoah Valley, Va.
[MORE/SHARE]

Has anyone tried the G3 firmware update [ver 1.0.2.0]? Were there any problems?

My G3 is a candidate for the update. I discovered this after checking serial numbers and submitting it to Canon on the download web page.

Patches and updates are not always as reliable as one would wish so I was wondering if anyone else had updated their firmware or had any comments.

Thanks 2Hog

Post #1, May 20, 2003 11:50:34




LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)
DanyaL
Senior Member
Joined Mar 2003
100 posts
[MORE/SHARE]

I 've never tried a firmware update before.

Post #2, May 20, 2003 12:56:46




LOG IN TO REPLY
PFlor
Senior Member
Joined Apr 2003
265 posts
[MORE/SHARE]

I updated mine when the firmware was first released and the process went without a hitch. Your camera should simply turn off automatically after the update so don't be alarmed if it doesn't power up as indicated by the instructions.

Post #3, May 20, 2003 13:31:55




LOG IN TO REPLY
markm
Member
Joined Jan 2003
65 posts
[MORE/SHARE]

I did the update, too, without a hitch.

Make sure your battery is full, cuz' if not, and you lose power, your camera will get seriously screwed up, and will have to go to Canon for fixing.


Also, make sure you don;t touch a thing on your camera while uploading.

I may be nuts, but I did notice somewhat faster focusing after the upgrade.

Good luck!

Markm

Post #4, May 20, 2003 13:52:24




LOG IN TO REPLY
BartS
Member
Joined Mar 2003
66 posts
Amsterdam
[MORE/SHARE]

No problems here, just follow the instructions and you should be OK.

Post #5, May 20, 2003 14:55:53




LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)
2Hog
THREAD ­ STARTER
Member
Joined May 2003
63 posts
Shenandoah Valley, Va.
[MORE/SHARE]

2Hog here. Thanks for the comments. I have the battery on charge now. That takes awhile. The instructions Canon posted are pretty complete and straight forward so I suspect things will go smoothly.

Thanks again 2Hog

Post #6, May 20, 2003 15:38:24




LOG IN TO REPLY
2Hog
THREAD ­ STARTER
Member
Joined May 2003
63 posts
Shenandoah Valley, Va.
[MORE/SHARE]

Thanks to BartS,Markm,PFlor,Dany​al. You were right. It was as smooth as ice cream and cake. Firmware installed.

Thanks again 2 Hog

Post #7, May 20, 2003 19:11:30




LOG IN TO REPLY


LIST NEARBY THREADS
1,870 views & 0 likes for this thread
Firmware update
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon G-series Digital Cameras



NOT A MEMBER YET? CLICK HERE TO REGISTER TO FORUMS

CHANGE BODY TEXT SIZE FOR ALL THREAD PAGES
POWERED BY AMASS 1.0version 1.0
made in Finland
by Pekka Saarinen
for photography-on-the.net


SEND FEEDBACK TO STAFF  |  JUMP TO FORUM...  |  FORUM RULES


Spent 0.0009 for 6 database queries.
PAGE COMPLETED IN 0.01s
934 guests, 756 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 3341, that happened on Dec 11, 2014
Latest registered member is myshkin

COOKIES DISCLAIMER: By using this site you agree that some cookies will be stored on your browser. For unlogged users we store one session id cookie. For registered members we store (in addition to login session cookie) only cookies that are essential for required functionality, we do not store any personal tracking data in cookies or other browser's data storage methods.