LOG IN    OR   REGISTER TO FORUMS


Specifying the file numbering start point?

FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon G-series Digital Cameras
Thread started 04 Jun 2008 (Wednesday) 16:59   
LIST NEARBY THREADS
 
Junior's ­ G7
Senior Member
Junior's G7's Avatar
Joined Oct 2007
164 posts
Peoria, AZ
[MORE/SHARE]

Hey gang, I just got my G7 back from the Factory Service Center, and it's all back to normal - but I'd like to set the file numbers to pick up where I left off.

When my G7 was broken, I had a loaner G9. The file numbers continued sequentially when I started using the G9. I may have used a memory card with existing photos on it when I switched cameras, I don't recall.

At any rate, I remembered that the numbers had continued sequentially, so I didn't plan ahead for when I got the G7 back. Now that it is, however, the file numbers are off by 3000 or so (it's shooting 1473, and my previous shots were up to 4596). The memory card was formatted blank when I switched back, and I suspect that may be why. The 1473 doesn't correspond to the time the G7 went bad, that was up around 2300.

Is there a way to specify what number is the new "current" number for file numbering?

Thanks!

Post #1, Jun 04, 2008 16:59:23




LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)
spg
Hatchling
Joined Jan 2008
7 posts
London, UK
[MORE/SHARE]

I think if you load a photo back onto the card the camera will start again from that number (so put 4596 on the card, ensure sequential is turned on, and take a photo).

Post #2, Jun 04, 2008 17:22:17




LOG IN TO REPLY
Junior's ­ G7
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
Junior's G7's Avatar
Joined Oct 2007
164 posts
Peoria, AZ
[MORE/SHARE]

^^^ Thanks.

I did try that, thinking the same as you. I loaded 10 or so pictures onto the camera from my hard drive (using Camera Window), and then shot two new ones. When I then used Camera Window to retrieve them from the camera, it still used the lower numbering sequence. Apparently it renamed the ones I uploaded to follow the new sequence it's on...

Post #3, Jun 04, 2008 18:40:50




LOG IN TO REPLY
rpolitsr
Moderator
rpolitsr's Avatar
Joined Jun 2005
5,460 posts
Quito - Ecuador
[MORE/SHARE]

Check my post about Memory Card Folder Structure as a reference.

Follow the steps below:

  • On Shooting Mode go to (Set up) Menu>[File Numbering] and set it to [Auto Reset]
  • Format the card, shot an image (it will be IMG_0001.jpg on folder 100CANON)
  • On a card reader re-name the folder 100CANON to 145CANON
  • Re-name the image IMG_0001.jpg to IMG_4596.jpg
  • Turn on the camera without the card
  • Go to (Set up) Menu>[File Numbering] and set it to [Continuous], turn the camera off
  • Load the card, Turn the camera ON and shot a picture. It will be IMG_4597 on folder 145CANON


I followed a similar procedure for my Pro1 and it worked fine.

Post #4, Jun 04, 2008 23:00:03


rafael
Canon powershot Pro1, EOS Rebel XT, EF-S 18-55mm f3.5-5.6 II, EF 50mm f1.8 II, speedlite 430EX, basic filters set.
My photo galleriesexternal link
"Personal messaging regarding selling or buying items with members who have no posts in forums and/or who you do not know from forums is hereby declared strictly stupid and you will get burned."
Marketplace: PAYPAL GIFT NO LONGER ALLOWED IN POTN

LOG IN TO REPLY
Junior's ­ G7
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
Junior's G7's Avatar
Joined Oct 2007
164 posts
Peoria, AZ
[MORE/SHARE]

HA! Cool, I'll give it a whirl.

Except I don't have an SD card reader :(
I'll go borrow or buy one. I reckon I oughta have one.

Post #5, Jun 05, 2008 01:12:30




LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)
Junior's ­ G7
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
Junior's G7's Avatar
Joined Oct 2007
164 posts
Peoria, AZ
[MORE/SHARE]

rpolitsr wrote in post #5662697external link
Follow the steps below:

I followed a similar procedure for my Pro1 and it worked fine.

Worked like a charm! Thank you so much.

Post #6, Jun 05, 2008 12:46:49




LOG IN TO REPLY


LIST NEARBY THREADS
666 views & 0 likes for this thread
Specifying the file numbering start point?
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon G-series Digital Cameras



NOT A MEMBER YET? CLICK HERE TO REGISTER TO FORUMS

CHANGE BODY TEXT SIZE FOR ALL THREAD PAGES
POWERED BY AMASS 1.0version 1.0
made in Finland
by Pekka Saarinen
for photography-on-the.net


SEND FEEDBACK TO STAFF  |  JUMP TO FORUM...  |  FORUM RULES


Spent 0.00084 for 6 database queries.
PAGE COMPLETED IN 0.01s
1132 guests, 890 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 3341, that happened on Dec 11, 2014
Latest registered member is dewaynelovesabby

COOKIES DISCLAIMER: By using this site you agree that some cookies will be stored on your browser. For unlogged users we store one session id cookie. For registered members we store (in addition to login session cookie) only cookies that are essential for required functionality, we do not store any personal tracking data in cookies or other browser's data storage methods.