Canon Digital Photography Forums  

Go Back   Canon Digital Photography Forums > 'Equipment Talk' section > Canon G-series Digital Cameras
Register Rules FAQ Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 4th of June 2008 (Wed)   #1
Junior's G7
Member
 
Junior's G7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Peoria, AZ
Posts: 164
Default Specifying the file numbering start point?

Hey gang, I just got my G7 back from the Factory Service Center, and it's all back to normal - but I'd like to set the file numbers to pick up where I left off.

When my G7 was broken, I had a loaner G9. The file numbers continued sequentially when I started using the G9. I may have used a memory card with existing photos on it when I switched cameras, I don't recall.

At any rate, I remembered that the numbers had continued sequentially, so I didn't plan ahead for when I got the G7 back. Now that it is, however, the file numbers are off by 3000 or so (it's shooting 1473, and my previous shots were up to 4596). The memory card was formatted blank when I switched back, and I suspect that may be why. The 1473 doesn't correspond to the time the G7 went bad, that was up around 2300.

Is there a way to specify what number is the new "current" number for file numbering?

Thanks!
Junior's G7 is offline   Reply With Quote
This ad block will go away when you log in as member
Old 4th of June 2008 (Wed)   #2
spg
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: London, UK
Posts: 7
Default Re: Specifying the file numbering start point?

I think if you load a photo back onto the card the camera will start again from that number (so put 4596 on the card, ensure sequential is turned on, and take a photo).
spg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th of June 2008 (Wed)   #3
Junior's G7
Member
 
Junior's G7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Peoria, AZ
Posts: 164
Default Re: Specifying the file numbering start point?

^^^ Thanks.

I did try that, thinking the same as you. I loaded 10 or so pictures onto the camera from my hard drive (using Camera Window), and then shot two new ones. When I then used Camera Window to retrieve them from the camera, it still used the lower numbering sequence. Apparently it renamed the ones I uploaded to follow the new sequence it's on...
Junior's G7 is offline   Reply With Quote
This ad block will go away when you log in as member
Old 4th of June 2008 (Wed)   #4
rpolitsr
Moderator
 
rpolitsr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Quito - Ecuador
Posts: 4,958
Default Re: Specifying the file numbering start point?

Check my post about Memory Card Folder Structure as a reference.

Follow the steps below:
  • On Shooting Mode go to (Set up) Menu>[File Numbering] and set it to [Auto Reset]
  • Format the card, shot an image (it will be IMG_0001.jpg on folder 100CANON)
  • On a card reader re-name the folder 100CANON to 145CANON
  • Re-name the image IMG_0001.jpg to IMG_4596.jpg
  • Turn on the camera without the card
  • Go to (Set up) Menu>[File Numbering] and set it to [Continuous], turn the camera off
  • Load the card, Turn the camera ON and shot a picture. It will be IMG_4597 on folder 145CANON

I followed a similar procedure for my Pro1 and it worked fine.
__________________
rafael

Canon powershot Pro1, EOS RebelXT, EF-S 18-55mm II, speedlite 420EX, basic filters set.
My photo galleries

"PERSONAL MESSAGING REGARDING SELLING OR BUYING ITEMS WITH MEMBERS WHO HAVE NO POSTS IN FORUMS AND/OR WHO YOU DO NOT KNOW FROM FORUMS IS HEREBY DECLARED STRICTLY STUPID AND YOU WILL GET BURNED."
rpolitsr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th of June 2008 (Thu)   #5
Junior's G7
Member
 
Junior's G7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Peoria, AZ
Posts: 164
Default Re: Specifying the file numbering start point?

HA! Cool, I'll give it a whirl.




Except I don't have an SD card reader
I'll go borrow or buy one. I reckon I oughta have one.
Junior's G7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th of June 2008 (Thu)   #6
Junior's G7
Member
 
Junior's G7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Peoria, AZ
Posts: 164
Default Re: Specifying the file numbering start point?

Quote:
Originally Posted by rpolitsr View Post
Follow the steps below:

I followed a similar procedure for my Pro1 and it worked fine.
Worked like a charm! Thank you so much.
Junior's G7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
File Numbering Technographer Canon EOS Digital Cameras 1 15th of February 2007 (Thu) 13:33
5D file numbering Canongirl Canon EOS Digital Cameras 15 21st of June 2006 (Wed) 08:42
File Numbering DaveBinks Canon EOS Digital Cameras 2 31st of May 2006 (Wed) 07:06
File Numbering GPR1 Canon EOS Digital Cameras 0 1st of July 2003 (Tue) 22:32
File Numbering? pmed Canon G-series Digital Cameras 1 19th of May 2003 (Mon) 09:01


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:45.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.12
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
This forum is not affiliated with Canon in any way and is run as a free user helpsite by Pekka Saarinen, Helsinki Finland. You will need to register in order to be able to post messages. Cookies are required for registering and posting. HTML in messages is not allowed, plain website addresses are automatically made active by the board.