Canon Digital Photography Forums  

Go Back   Canon Digital Photography Forums > 'Equipment Talk' section > Canon EOS Digital Cameras
Register Rules FAQ Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 3rd of October 2008 (Fri)   #1
dchen99
Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Illinois, USA
Posts: 812
Default 40D: Can't format the CF card

I have a 2GB Sandisk Extreme III CF card pulled from a working Nikon camera. I put the card in the card reader and formated it on a computer. Now when I put it in my 40D, first thing it says: this card need to be formated. But if I do so, it complains: this card cannot be formatted.
Any one has clue? Or it's the time to dump the card (although it works normal on the computer, you can copy file in and out of it)?
Thanks.
Don
__________________
www.flashonstudio.com
dchen99 is offline   Reply With Quote
This ad block will go away when you log in as member
Old 3rd of October 2008 (Fri)   #2
peterbj7
Goldmember
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: A Caribbean island in Belize and occasionally UK
Posts: 3,123
Default Re: 40D: Can't format the CF card

Don't know the answer to your question, but I'm not a fan of Sandisk. The only cards I've ever had problems with have both been Sandisks - one ended up being chucked, the other would only work on my computer. I've used CF cards since they first came out and have several, and no problems with any other brands.
__________________
5D & 7D (both gripped), 24-105L, 100-400L, 15-85, 50 f1.8, Tamron 28-75, Sigma 12-24, G10, EX-Z55 & U/W housing, A1+10 lenses, tripods, lighting gear, etc. etc.
"I prefer radio to television. The pictures are better"
peterbj7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd of October 2008 (Fri)   #3
dchen99
Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Illinois, USA
Posts: 812
Default Re: 40D: Can't format the CF card

ok, thanks for the reply.
__________________
www.flashonstudio.com
dchen99 is offline   Reply With Quote
This ad block will go away when you log in as member
Old 3rd of October 2008 (Fri)   #4
Jim_T
Goldmember
 
Jim_T's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Woodlands, MB, Canada
Posts: 3,166
Default Re: 40D: Can't format the CF card

Just a long shot.......

Did you format it FAT or FAT32? If you formatted it FAT, try again using FAT32.
Jim_T is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd of October 2008 (Fri)   #5
runninmann
what the heck do I know?
 
runninmann's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Michigan-U.S.A.
Posts: 7,728
Default Re: 40D: Can't format the CF card

Quote:
Originally Posted by peterbj7 View Post
Don't know the answer to your question, but I'm not a fan of Sandisk. The only cards I've ever had problems with have both been Sandisks - one ended up being chucked, the other would only work on my computer. I've used CF cards since they first came out and have several, and no problems with any other brands.
I'd bet you're in the minority. I've used Sandisk for years in cameras, PDAs and other devices and they've performed flawlessly for me.
__________________
My Gear
runninmann is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd of October 2008 (Fri)   #6
EnronRocks
Member
 
EnronRocks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Murphysboro, IL
Posts: 557
Default Re: 40D: Can't format the CF card

Quote:
Originally Posted by runninmann View Post
I'd bet you're in the minority. I've used Sandisk for years in cameras, PDAs and other devices and they've performed flawlessly for me.
Second that.

If it doesn't work SanDisk will be more than happy to replace it, I can guarantee you that much.
__________________
Name: Garrett
Visit My Website and My Gallery.
AIM - EnronRocks
EnronRocks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd of October 2008 (Fri)   #7
dchen99
Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Illinois, USA
Posts: 812
Default Re: 40D: Can't format the CF card

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim_T View Post
Just a long shot.......

Did you format it FAT or FAT32? If you formatted it FAT, try again using FAT32.
I did it as FAT32 (the default setting). I realized the title said NIKONxxx while the cards out of Canon always had EOS_DIGITAL as title so I tried to change the title with no avail.

I guess for <$20 I would just let it go, just curious if I had missed something silly.
__________________
www.flashonstudio.com
dchen99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd of October 2008 (Fri)   #8
gasrocks
Cream of the Crop
 
gasrocks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Portage, Wisconsin USA
Posts: 13,431
Default Re: 40D: Can't format the CF card

Do not format cards in the computer, only in the camera. Try deleting/erasing everything in the card in the computer, then formatting in camera.
__________________
GEAR LIST
__________________
gasrocks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd of October 2008 (Fri)   #9
dchen99
Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Illinois, USA
Posts: 812
Default Re: 40D: Can't format the CF card

Thanks for the reply but I can't. That's the problem.

Quote:
Originally Posted by gasrocks View Post
Do not format cards in the computer, only in the camera. Try deleting/erasing everything in the card in the computer, then formatting in camera.
__________________
www.flashonstudio.com
dchen99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd of October 2008 (Fri)   #10
Hermeto
Cream of the Crop
 
Hermeto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 6,671
Default Re: 40D: Can't format the CF card

Quote:
Originally Posted by gasrocks View Post
Do not format cards in the computer, only in the camera. Try deleting/erasing everything in the card in the computer, then formatting in camera.
Why not, if I may ask?
I have formatted CF cards in computer million times and never had a problem.

As a matter of fact, performing full format in computer is the easiest way to fix problems with memory media.
Formatting in camera does nothing other than deleting the content and recreating the folder/file structure.

If the CF card cannot be formatted in computer, the problem is either with the card reader, or the card itself.
__________________
What we see depends mainly on what we look for.
Hermeto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd of October 2008 (Fri)   #11
tonylong
do I really have to respond?
 
tonylong's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Vancouver, WA USA
Posts: 52,438
Default Re: 40D: Can't format the CF card

If the card still shows the Nikon label, then the camera probably won't like it -- nothing personal against Nikon, but you will need to do a low-level format, or even something like fDisk and reformat to get the label blank, I suspect.
__________________
Tony
Two Canon cameras (5DC, 30D), three Canon lenses (24-105, 100-400, 100mm macro)
Tony Long Photos on PBase
Wildlife project pics here, Biking Photog shoots here, "Suburbia" project here! Mount St. Helens, Mount Hood pics here
tonylong is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd of October 2008 (Fri)   #12
peterbj7
Goldmember
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: A Caribbean island in Belize and occasionally UK
Posts: 3,123
Default Re: 40D: Can't format the CF card

I'm with Tony - changing the label can have strange effects. Have you ever tried viewing the camera a picture you've renamed on a computer with a non-standard-camera-format name? It doesn't work.

If the Windows format doesn't work, try repartitioning it with something like Partition Magic.
__________________
5D & 7D (both gripped), 24-105L, 100-400L, 15-85, 50 f1.8, Tamron 28-75, Sigma 12-24, G10, EX-Z55 & U/W housing, A1+10 lenses, tripods, lighting gear, etc. etc.
"I prefer radio to television. The pictures are better"
peterbj7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th of October 2008 (Sat)   #13
silvex
Cream of the Crop
 
silvex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Southern California, USA
Posts: 7,220
Default Re: 40D: Can't format the CF card

Quote:
Originally Posted by EnronRocks View Post
Second that.

If it doesn't work SanDisk will be more than happy to replace it, I can guarantee you that much.
++Ditto
__________________
.
-Ed
CPS Gold Member.
Canon Gear
SilvexPhoto.com
silvex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th of October 2008 (Sat)   #14
Leonard Wong
Member
 
Leonard Wong's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Belmont, CA
Posts: 206
Default Re: 40D: Can't format the CF card

Try to just remove all the partitions.

On Windows, go to Control Panel > Administrator Tools > Computer Management > Disk Manager, then select the partitions with for the CF card and delete. Then eject the card, and format in the camera.

On Mac, go to Applications > Utilities > Disk Utility, select the CF card on the left, then select partition and delete all the partions. Then eject the card, and format in the camera.
__________________
40D | 10-22 | 17-55 | 30 1.4 | 50 1.4 | 85 1.8 | 70-200 F4 IS | 2x580EXII | YN CTR-301P | Lowepro Slingshot 200 | Kata R-103 | Manfrotto Monopod 679B
HV20 | WD-H43 | DM-20 | Manfrotto 390RC2
G12 | D10
Leonard Wong is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th of October 2008 (Sat)   #15
Jon
Moderator

Cocker Spaniel Mod

 
Jon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Bethesda, MD USA
Posts: 67,633
Default Re: 40D: Can't format the CF card

Quote:
Originally Posted by peterbj7 View Post
Don't know the answer to your question, but I'm not a fan of Sandisk. The only cards I've ever had problems with have both been Sandisks - one ended up being chucked, the other would only work on my computer. I've used CF cards since they first came out and have several, and no problems with any other brands.
I've got many GB of SanDisk cards and I've had more trouble with the 4 Kingston cards (totalling less than 3 GB) I have. And SanDisk Extreme III cards have a lifetime warranty.

Quote:
Originally Posted by dchen99 View Post
I did it as FAT32 (the default setting). I realized the title said NIKONxxx while the cards out of Canon always had EOS_DIGITAL as title so I tried to change the title with no avail.

I guess for <$20 I would just let it go, just curious if I had missed something silly.
Quote:
Originally Posted by gasrocks View Post
Do not format cards in the computer, only in the camera. Try deleting/erasing everything in the card in the computer, then formatting in camera.
I too am curious where you got this idea. I routinely format my cards in the computer; it's the safest way to prepare your cards for use in any camera without transferring file numbering. It's also a bit more effective, so if there is a problem area in the card, you're more likely to catch it before the middle of a shoot.

Quote:
Originally Posted by tonylong View Post
If the card still shows the Nikon label, then the camera probably won't like it -- nothing personal against Nikon, but you will need to do a low-level format, or even something like fDisk and reformat to get the label blank, I suspect.
Label names don't matter; I've got many different labels on the cards I use. And you can always change the label in Windows Explorer, for instance, the same way you'd rename a file. Or right-click, choose "Properties" and rename there. Not to mention the "Format" option of Windows Explorer also allows you to change the label. If none of those allow you to relabel the card, it is bad; let SanDisk replace it for you.

Quote:
Originally Posted by peterbj7 View Post
I'm with Tony - changing the label can have strange effects. Have you ever tried viewing the camera a picture you've renamed on a computer with a non-standard-camera-format name? It doesn't work.

If the Windows format doesn't work, try repartitioning it with something like Partition Magic.
File names, directory structures and volume labels are all very different animals. Volume labels are irrelevant; directory structures for different cameras can coexist on the same card, but file names are affected by the last file name on the card regardless of the camera it's from.
__________________
Jon
----------

Cocker Spaniels
Maryland and Virginia activities


Image Posting Rules
and Image Posting FAQ
Report SPAM, Don't Answer It! (link)
PERSONAL MESSAGING REGARDING SELLING OR BUYING ITEMS WITH MEMBERS WHO HAVE NO POSTS IN FORUMS AND/OR WHO YOU DO NOT KNOW FROM FORUMS IS HEREBY DECLARED STRICTLY STUPID AND YOU WILL GET BURNED.
Jon is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Format CF Card walrusgoat Canon EOS Digital Cameras 13 13th of April 2008 (Sun) 19:15
Cant format CF card Grumpy_one Accessories & Storage 5 1st of April 2008 (Tue) 01:06
CF Card Won't Format dsze Accessories & Storage 19 10th of January 2005 (Mon) 16:51
Can't format CF card. monica Canon G-series Digital Cameras 7 29th of November 2003 (Sat) 08:09
Format CF card Sniper Canon G-series Digital Cameras 2 7th of January 2003 (Tue) 09:52


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 13:54.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.12
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
This forum is not affiliated with Canon in any way and is run as a free user helpsite by Pekka Saarinen, Helsinki Finland. You will need to register in order to be able to post messages. Cookies are required for registering and posting. HTML in messages is not allowed, plain website addresses are automatically made active by the board.