Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Read More.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Small Compact Digitals by Canon 
Thread started 10 May 2009 (Sunday) 14:20
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

Taking Technical Pictures

 
tja081960
Hatchling
2 posts
Joined May 2009
     
May 10, 2009 14:20 |  #1

I have an SD870 IS which I am using to take photos of equipment in order to write technical support documents. We have one control panel which has LED display on it and when I attempt to take the picture, it only shows part of the illuminated display. When looking through the viewfinder, it shows the display as if it's a rolling display and the camera cannot capture it the way my eye does. Not sure I explained that properly but if anyone has any idea, please let me know. I am pulling what's left of my hair out of my head trying to figure this out. Thank you for any anticipated assitance with this issue




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
drh681
Member
Avatar
157 posts
Joined Feb 2009
Location: Freeway close to all Southern California
     
May 10, 2009 18:02 |  #2

frequency.
the LEDs are flashing at the rate of the power supply
you need a longer shutter speed.
you might set the camera to a tripod.
set the lowest ISO, turn the flash off.
you may need to use a different camera, one that will let you set the shutter speed, probably around 1/15 of a second




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
tja081960
THREAD ­ STARTER
Hatchling
2 posts
Joined May 2009
     
May 12, 2009 08:45 as a reply to  @ drh681's post |  #3

That didn't dawn on me. Thank you for that information. I believe I can set the shutter speed with this camera. I love to learn. MY rule is to learn at least one new thing a day. Have an awesome day!! Thank you again!!




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
rebecca12
Member
161 posts
Joined Apr 2008
Location: New Zealand
     
May 12, 2009 08:50 |  #4

If the camera does not allow you to set shutter speed can you use a night photo setting.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

859 views & 0 likes for this thread
Taking Technical Pictures
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Small Compact Digitals by Canon 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.0forum software
version 2.0 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is binyahmmad
579 guests, 280 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 6430, that happened on Dec 03, 2017

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.