Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Read More.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Post Processing, Marketing & Presenting Photos RAW, Post Processing & Printing 
Thread started 24 Oct 2005 (Monday) 19:34
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

Few questions about printing(what pixel size for 4x6 prints and prints come out dark)

 
fiery360
Junior Member
26 posts
Joined Feb 2005
Location: California
     
Oct 24, 2005 19:34 |  #1

Two general questions about printing:
1) When printing 4x6, what is an acceptable pixel size? Or is it better to just specify the size of prints? For example, I usually convert the raw file into jpeg and the resulting picture size is about 2700 X 2200 pixels (I have 20D camera). I think 2700 X 2200 pixel size is an overkill for 4x6 prints. I usually print my 4x6 prints from online and it would help me if my file sizes are smaller.

2) When I print my pictures, the pictures come out dark. Thus I tend to change the exposure setting to more positive - thus adding more brightness to my picture. I have tried editing my pictures on both Dell 1905 Flat Panel and Dell 21" CRT monitors - and pictures come out dark. I am thinking maybe I need to calibrate my monitors. I have Canon Pixma 8500 printer and I usually use the Canon printing software. Generally I can compensate for the dark picture by adding the option from the Canon printing software (by changing the "face brightness" option).

Thank you....


30D
Canon Lenses: 50mm f/1.4, 28-135mm, 17-85mm IS
Sigma EF500 DG Super Flash

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
elTwitcho
frustrating as ....
Avatar
1,478 posts
Likes: 1
Joined Sep 2005
Location: Toronto
     
Oct 24, 2005 20:28 |  #2

If your pictures are dark, you need to calibrate your monitor.

As for printing, what I do is this. I find out the resolution of the printer being used, and then I resize to the appropriate size for that resolution. If you're using photoshop it's fairly easy to do under the "image size" menu. First set the resolution according to the max resolution of your printer, and then set the image size to the image size you want printed. This will give you exactly the amount of pixels you need, no more, no less. If you want to save on pixel space, you can set the resolution to something less than your printer's maximum, however you'll experience a degradation in quality as a result.


HOSTED PHOTO
please log in to view hosted photos in full size.


Rich
Some of my recent projects
Portraits from 2007 (external link)
Urban Gallery (external link)
Where Toronto Was Built (external link)
People and such (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
kenyc
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
15,495 posts
Gallery: 1 photo
Likes: 60
Joined May 2005
Location: Denver, CO
     
Oct 24, 2005 21:05 |  #3

My monitor is calibarated but when I print the pics are too dark. I have to increase brightness 20-30% for it to come out of the printer similar to what is on the monitor. This is with and Epson esc880.

KAC


Kenny A. Chaffin
Art Page (external link) - Photo Gallery (external link) - Art Print Gallery (external link) - Writing&Poetry (external link)
"Strive on with Awareness" - Siddhartha Gautama

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
HrcRacing
Goldmember
Avatar
2,019 posts
Joined Aug 2005
Location: NE Florida, USA
     
Oct 24, 2005 23:59 as a reply to  @ kenyc's post |  #4

You can also do the resizing by using the Crop Tool and pre-setting your width, height and PPI. Depending on the print size ratio, you may get the entire image in the crop.
For example, I shoot Large/Fine Jpeg which is 3072 pxW x 2048 pxH. I can set the width to "6 in", the height to "4 in" and the PPI to 300 or whatever, and I get a full image crop. If I'm doing multiple 4x6's, PS keeps what was last used and I just drag the crop tool around and click on the checkmark. Very simple.
With the above, you'd loose some of the image when cropping 5x7 or 8x10 prints but it's great for 4x6.
Best of luck.


Robert

Canon 40D | Canon EOS Elan 7

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
elTwitcho
frustrating as ....
Avatar
1,478 posts
Likes: 1
Joined Sep 2005
Location: Toronto
     
Oct 25, 2005 00:54 as a reply to  @ HrcRacing's post |  #5

HrcRacing wrote:
With the above, you'd loose some of the image when cropping 5x7 or 8x10 prints but it's great for 4x6.
Best of luck.

This is (or can be) true and something to look out for. My shots just have a 1/4 inch white border above and beneath the image itself when printed, which I'm not overly bothered by, not as much as having to recrop the image anyway. It is something I should have mentioned though


Rich
Some of my recent projects
Portraits from 2007 (external link)
Urban Gallery (external link)
Where Toronto Was Built (external link)
People and such (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
PhotosGuy
Moderator
Avatar
75,258 posts
Gallery: 8 photos
Likes: 2105
Joined Feb 2004
Location: Middle of Michigan
     
Oct 25, 2005 08:48 |  #6

My shots just have a 1/4 inch white border above and beneath the image itself when printed, which I'm not overly bothered by, not as much as having to recrop the image anyway.

I like the results from Image>Canvas Size with the background color black. Then crop & get a black border. Try it sometime.


FrankC - 20D, RAW, Manual everything...
Classic Carz, Racing, Air Show, Flowers.
Find the light... A few Car Lighting Tips, and MOVE YOUR FEET!
Have you thought about making your own book? // Need an exposure crutch?
New Image Size Limits: Image must not exceed 1600 pixels on any side.

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
fiery360
THREAD ­ STARTER
Junior Member
26 posts
Joined Feb 2005
Location: California
     
Oct 25, 2005 10:24 as a reply to  @ PhotosGuy's post |  #7

Thank you for the info. everyone! :)


30D
Canon Lenses: 50mm f/1.4, 28-135mm, 17-85mm IS
Sigma EF500 DG Super Flash

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
MattyB
Goldmember
Avatar
1,673 posts
Gallery: 8 photos
Likes: 37
Joined May 2005
Location: Queenstown, NZ
     
Oct 25, 2005 11:16 |  #8

i don't touch the pixels in my photos, i up the DPI/PPI (resolution - pixels/inch) to 300 and then make sure they're cropped at the right ratio

i struggled to fit 100 photos on 1 CD as data, heh. most are well over 3000 pixels in the longest diameter.


Matt Bennell
Camera: Canon EOS 80D DSLR Black
Extras: 18-55mm, 10-18mm, Tripod, ND8
Field: These days you'll likely be seeing plenty of Nature and Landscape posts :lol:
New Site In Progress -> bennell.co.nz (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
zacker
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
6,005 posts
Likes: 4
Joined Jan 2005
Location: Oxford, CT.
     
Oct 25, 2005 11:29 |  #9

I PRINT ALL MY 4 X 6'S AT 300dpi AND they come out great.
-zacker-


http://www.theanimalha​ven.com (external link)
My Facebook, Friend me If you want!http://www.facebook.co​m/brokenfencephotograp​hy (external link)

http://www.facebook.co​m/theanimalhaven?ref=t​s (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
HrcRacing
Goldmember
Avatar
2,019 posts
Joined Aug 2005
Location: NE Florida, USA
     
Oct 25, 2005 11:43 as a reply to  @ MattyB's post |  #10

Matt,
Could you explain your process a little more? Are you saying that you uncheck the Resample Image box to maintain, for example 3072 x 2048 pixels then adjust the document size and/or PPI? When I do that, my resolution goes from 180 to 512. If I adjust the PPI to 300, the document size goes to around 6x10.
In other words, I'm loosing total pixels to maintain a 4x6 document size at 300 PPI or, if I maintain the pixels, my PPI is 512.


Robert

Canon 40D | Canon EOS Elan 7

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sharenwalls
Member
Avatar
33 posts
Joined Aug 2005
Location: Central Arkansas
     
Oct 25, 2005 11:53 |  #11

If i shoot with the Canon 20D i crop my images to 11x16.5@ 300dpi. This size prints pretty good and is less than the original when coming in straight from the camera.

http://www.sharenwalls​.com (external link)


Sharen Walls

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
MattyB
Goldmember
Avatar
1,673 posts
Gallery: 8 photos
Likes: 37
Joined May 2005
Location: Queenstown, NZ
     
Oct 25, 2005 12:09 as a reply to  @ HrcRacing's post |  #12

HrcRacing wrote:
Matt,
Could you explain your process a little more? Are you saying that you uncheck the Resample Image box to maintain, for example 3072 x 2048 pixels then adjust the document size and/or PPI? When I do that, my resolution goes from 180 to 512. If I adjust the PPI to 300, the document size goes to around 6x10.
In other words, I'm loosing total pixels to maintain a 4x6 document size at 300 PPI or, if I maintain the pixels, my PPI is 512.

i don't uncheck anything, - this is what i do

out of the camera, my shots are 180DPI (if jpeg, 300 if they're raw)
i open them in photoshop CS2
i select the "rectangular marquee tool"
set it to "Fixed Aspect Ratio" of 4 wide, and 6 high (or vise versa if it's landscape)
then i select what i want,
i go image > crop
then i goto image > image size
and in image size, i change the '180' in "resolution" under the document size (pixels/inch) to 300
when doing the 180 to 300 - the pixels will change, but the document size should stay how it is, ignore everything else, it'll constrain proporsions.

wallah, the image will look bigger on your screen, but don't stress. it's not blowing out any pixels unless you're printing it on the side of a truck, haha

did that make sence? ask me if you don't understand anything


Matt Bennell
Camera: Canon EOS 80D DSLR Black
Extras: 18-55mm, 10-18mm, Tripod, ND8
Field: These days you'll likely be seeing plenty of Nature and Landscape posts :lol:
New Site In Progress -> bennell.co.nz (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
HrcRacing
Goldmember
Avatar
2,019 posts
Joined Aug 2005
Location: NE Florida, USA
     
Oct 26, 2005 13:24 as a reply to  @ MattyB's post |  #13

Okay, I got you. Sounds like just another way of arriving at the same thing. I use the Crop Tool instead and set the width/height/PPI in the tool bar and it does it all at once.
Thanks. :grin:


Robert

Canon 40D | Canon EOS Elan 7

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

28,945 views & 0 likes for this thread
Few questions about printing(what pixel size for 4x6 prints and prints come out dark)
FORUMS Post Processing, Marketing & Presenting Photos RAW, Post Processing & Printing 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.1forum software
version 2.1 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is DouglasAZ
860 guests, 417 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 6430, that happened on Dec 03, 2017

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.