Canon Digital Photography Forums  

Go Back   Canon Digital Photography Forums > 'Equipment Talk' section > Canon EOS Digital Cameras
Register Rules FAQ Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 23rd of December 2012 (Sun)   #16
Snydremark
Cream of the Crop
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Issaquah, WA
Posts: 15,042
Default Re: Back button focus on the 6D . . .

and what does it do when holding the back button?
__________________
- Eric S.: My Birds/Wildlife (7D, 40D, Canon 10-22 f/3.5-4.5, Canon 24-105L f/4 IS, Canon 70-200L f/2.8 IS MkII, Canon 100-400L f/4.5-5.6 IS, Tamron 150-600 f/5-6.3 Di VC, Canon 100mm f/2.8 Macro, Tamron 18-270 DiII PZD, 580EX II)
"The easiest way to improve your photos is to adjust the loose nut between the shutter release and the ground."
Snydremark is offline   Reply With Quote
This ad block will go away when you log in as member
Old 23rd of December 2012 (Sun)   #17
amfoto1
Cream of the Crop
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 9,927
Default Re: Back button focus on the 6D . . .

On 6D it's the same as the 7D, 5DIII and some of the other newer models now... there are a number of assignable buttons in each camera, all handled through that same custom funtion.

Quote:
1. Go in to C.Fn III - 5
Select the shutter button and set it so that the icon only shows the metering icon
2. Then, (still in the C.Fn III - 5 screen) go select the back button and set it so the icon shows the metering icon and AF icon
The above is correct, but you only need to do step 1. to set up BBF... All you are actually doing is removing AF from the shutter button.

Step 2. should be at the default setting, anyway. So the only reason to do that step is to double check that it's still set correctly. You shouldn't have to change anything.

Unless you also want to swap the function of the AF On and the AE Lock (*) buttons, which can be done optionally (and happens to be the setup I prefer personally... because the AE Lock button is larger, more prominent and closer to one's thumb.... after all, I use AF constantly, and AE Lock only occasionally). If you want to swap these two buttons, just navigate into each of them in that same custom function and set them accordingly, after doing above step 1.
amfoto1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd of December 2012 (Sun)   #18
Nalauk
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 53
Default Re: Back button focus on the 6D . . .

Quote:
Originally Posted by Snydremark View Post
and what does it do when holding the back button?
It stops focus when in AI Servo.

So you have focus and meter as normal on the shutter button, then assign the AF-ON button to become AF-OFF.

If you need to stop focus and use it it on a known stationary target, hold it down while shooting, if the subject starts to move, just release and you're back to AI Servo.

I prefer it like this as well.

This is assuming you were asking phreeky that question?
Nalauk is offline   Reply With Quote
This ad block will go away when you log in as member
Old 23rd of December 2012 (Sun)   #19
Snydremark
Cream of the Crop
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Issaquah, WA
Posts: 15,042
Default Re: Back button focus on the 6D . . .

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nalauk View Post
It stops focus when in AI Servo.

So you have focus and meter as normal on the shutter button, then assign the AF-ON button to become AF-OFF.

If you need to stop focus and use it it on a known stationary target, hold it down while shooting, if the subject starts to move, just release and you're back to AI Servo.

I prefer it like this as well.

This is assuming you were asking phreeky that question?
Yes, I was; interesting, though; thanks for the detail. it isn't, technically, "back button focus", though, in that configuration. I can see where you guys might use that setup, though.
__________________
- Eric S.: My Birds/Wildlife (7D, 40D, Canon 10-22 f/3.5-4.5, Canon 24-105L f/4 IS, Canon 70-200L f/2.8 IS MkII, Canon 100-400L f/4.5-5.6 IS, Tamron 150-600 f/5-6.3 Di VC, Canon 100mm f/2.8 Macro, Tamron 18-270 DiII PZD, 580EX II)
"The easiest way to improve your photos is to adjust the loose nut between the shutter release and the ground."
Snydremark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd of December 2012 (Sun)   #20
apersson850
Cream of the Crop
 
apersson850's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Traryd, Sweden
Posts: 10,470
Default Re: Back button focus on the 6D . . .

No, it's "not the back button focus". Perhaps similar to "Not the nine o'clock news".

I prefer to have active focus on the back buttons, since that allows me to focus with selected point with AF-ON and pre-registered point with *. Very quick change between them.
__________________
Anders
apersson850 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd of August 2013 (Fri)   #21
JIA333
Member
 
JIA333's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Caribbean
Posts: 209
Default Re: Back button focus on the 6D . . .

This thread is a god sent!!! I thought my camera was broken...

AHBGDHJSGDS
__________________
Canon T3i/Canon 50mm 1.8 II/LR 4
JIA333 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th of November 2013 (Tue)   #22
gaabnz
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 104
Default Re: Back button focus on the 6D . . .

I've only just tried this on my 6D, and first time I've ever done it.

Had a little play just taking photos of a guy at work and so far so good. I'll certainly be giving this a try on some more serious shots.

Thanks for the thread.
gaabnz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th of November 2013 (Tue)   #23
m3thods
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 166
Default Re: Back button focus on the 6D . . .

I thought I'd chime in with an observation-

If you remove the AF portion from the AF-ON button, you won't be able to focus when using the EOS app. I thought my camera was broken for the longest time because I had AF-ON set up to stop focus on my 50D, and brought said setting to the 6D.
__________________
Fuji X-E2 | 18-55 | 23 | Nikon 60mm AF-D Macro | 55-250 |YN-560EXIIx2 | YN-565EX | YN-622C | YN-622C-TX
m3thods is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th of November 2013 (Tue)   #24
Snydremark
Cream of the Crop
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Issaquah, WA
Posts: 15,042
Default Re: Back button focus on the 6D . . .

Quote:
Originally Posted by m3thods View Post
I thought I'd chime in with an observation-

If you remove the AF portion from the AF-ON button, you won't be able to focus when using the EOS app. I thought my camera was broken for the longest time because I had AF-ON set up to stop focus on my 50D, and brought said setting to the 6D.
This is also true for most cable/remote releases.
__________________
- Eric S.: My Birds/Wildlife (7D, 40D, Canon 10-22 f/3.5-4.5, Canon 24-105L f/4 IS, Canon 70-200L f/2.8 IS MkII, Canon 100-400L f/4.5-5.6 IS, Tamron 150-600 f/5-6.3 Di VC, Canon 100mm f/2.8 Macro, Tamron 18-270 DiII PZD, 580EX II)
"The easiest way to improve your photos is to adjust the loose nut between the shutter release and the ground."
Snydremark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th of November 2013 (Wed)   #25
apersson850
Cream of the Crop
 
apersson850's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Traryd, Sweden
Posts: 10,470
Default Re: Back button focus on the 6D . . .

It's if you remove AF from half-pressing the trigger button you loose the ability to focus with wired remote releases. Since they don't press the AF-ON button, but perform a half-press followed by a full-press of the trigger button.
__________________
Anders
apersson850 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 13th of November 2013 (Wed)   #26
BigAl007
Goldmember
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Gt Yarmouth, Norfolk, UK.
Posts: 2,805
Default Re: Back button focus on the 6D . . .

On the subject of wired remotes. Has anyone tried wiring two switches up to a remote cable so one can either hit "focus" or go straight to shutter release? I used to have a nifty shoulder stock arrangement for hand holding long lenses back in the film days, so I could use my ME Super in the same way as the Zenith Photosniper. I would like to make something similar for my 20D. I have access to several old rifle stocks but knowing I could build it so that I could separate focus and shutter would make me more inclined to start the project.

Alan
__________________
My Flickr
BigAl007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th of November 2013 (Wed)   #27
apersson850
Cream of the Crop
 
apersson850's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Traryd, Sweden
Posts: 10,470
Default Re: Back button focus on the 6D . . .

Are you asking if it works? Since the camera starts metering on half-press, then going directly to the second step, without making contact on the first, may not work at all. Perhaps the camera will just give you an error code.

But I don't know; I haven't tried that.
__________________
Anders
apersson850 is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Canon 5D Mk II Shutter Button Overriding Back Button Focus princer7 Canon EOS Digital Cameras 4 4th of December 2012 (Tue) 08:25
Help with the Back button focus Gunstar34 Canon EOS Digital Cameras 3 18th of June 2012 (Mon) 08:33
Canon 60D: Suggestion to improve focus hit with back AF button and focus priority fe1ixs Canon EOS Digital Cameras 18 1st of March 2012 (Thu) 16:02
What exactly is back button focus? JW22 Sports 11 21st of December 2010 (Tue) 06:48
back button focus on XS? jeljohns Canon EOS Digital Cameras 4 1st of March 2010 (Mon) 21:58


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:13.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.12
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
This forum is not affiliated with Canon in any way and is run as a free user helpsite by Pekka Saarinen, Helsinki Finland. You will need to register in order to be able to post messages. Cookies are required for registering and posting. HTML in messages is not allowed, plain website addresses are automatically made active by the board.