Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Read More.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras
Thread started 15 Feb 2011 (Tuesday) 18:20
Prev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)

5D Mark II - AF-ON button?

 
Full-Frame
Member
Full-Frame's Avatar
141 posts
Joined Nov 2007
Feb 15, 2011 18:20 |  #1

I'm thinking of swapping my 5D (MK 1) for a 5D Mark II and have been doing some reading re the AF-ON button.

I have my current 5D set so that the AE-Lock button performs autofocusing and pressing the shutter halfway triggers AE-Lock. Looking at the options available in CFn on the Mark II, I can have pretty much the same behaviour with option 3 selected.

My question is... What will the AE-Lock (*) button do???


My Galleryexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
Full-Frame
THREAD ­ STARTER
Member
Full-Frame's Avatar
141 posts
Joined Nov 2007
Feb 15, 2011 18:48 |  #2

I really don't see the point of option 2 (Metering start/Metering + AF start). With this mode, if I wanted to attain exposure lock and autofocus at different times, I would have to be able to hold both the AF-ON and the AE-Lock buttons at the same time with my thumb!?!?


My Galleryexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
apersson850
Cream of the Crop
apersson850's Avatar
11,265 posts
Joined Nov 2007
Traryd, Sweden
Feb 15, 2011 19:27 as a reply to Full-Frame's post |  #3

No, AE lock lasts for a while, so you don't have to keep that button pressed. Besides, as long as you operate the AF-ON or trigger half-press, AE lock lasts for ever.


Anders

LOG IN TO REPLY
LeeRatters
Goldmember
LeeRatters's Avatar
3,847 posts
Joined Aug 2009
Bristol, UK
Feb 16, 2011 11:25 as a reply to apersson850's post |  #4

i have started using option 3 [<< i think] AFlock on the AF-ON button & AELock on the shutter button.


>> Flickr <<external link


LOG IN TO REPLY

3,896 views & 0 likes for this thread
5D Mark II - AF-ON button?
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras


Not a member yet? Click here to register to the forums.
Registered members get all the features: search, following threads, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, settings, view hosted photos, own reviews and more...


AAA

Send feedback to staff    •   Jump to forum...    •   Rules    •   Index    •   New posts    •   RTAT    •   'Best of'    •   Gallery    •   Gear    •   Reviews    •   Polls

COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Privacy policy and cookie usage info.

POWERED BY AMASS 1.4version 1.4
made in Finland
by Pekka Saarinen
for photography-on-the.net
Spent 0.0007 for 4 database queries.
PAGE COMPLETED IN 0.01s
Latest registered member is CCPix
769 guests, 534 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 5577, that happened on Mar 02, 2016