Canon Digital Photography Forums  

Go Back   Canon Digital Photography Forums > 'Sharing Knowhow' section > RAW, Post Processing and Printing
Register Rules FAQ Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 18th of February 2011 (Fri)   #1
SkateSoft
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 383
Default Gimp vs. Photoshop 6.0 vs. Lightroom

I have photoshop 6.0 (from 2000), GIMP, and Lightroom (trial but will be getting it). When shooting RAW can I use lightroom as a stand alone editor or should I double it with 6.0 or GIMP. Then for my JPEGs should I use 6.0 or Gimp.
SkateSoft is offline   Reply With Quote
This ad block will go away when you log in as member
Old 18th of February 2011 (Fri)   #2
tzalman
Fatal attraction.
 
tzalman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Gesher Haziv, Israel
Posts: 12,468
Default Re: Gimp vs. Photoshop 6.0 vs. Lightroom

Many, maybe the majority, say that LR is enough for all of their editing in 90% of their RAWs. For the other 10% it would probably be the sort of follow-up that can be done perfectly well in 8 bit in PS6. For jpgs, since they are already 8 bit, PS6 would be good or you might find LR to be easier.
__________________
Elie / אלי
"If you presume to love something, you must love the process of it much more than you love the finished product." John Irving, 5/2012. "In theory there is no difference between practice and theory, but in practice there is." Yogi Berra
Site
tzalman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th of February 2011 (Fri)   #3
SkateSoft
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 383
Default Re: Gimp vs. Photoshop 6.0 vs. Lightroom

So there is no need to use gimp?
SkateSoft is offline   Reply With Quote
This ad block will go away when you log in as member
Old 18th of February 2011 (Fri)   #4
tonylong
do I really have to respond?
 
tonylong's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Vancouver, WA USA
Posts: 52,609
Default Re: Gimp vs. Photoshop 6.0 vs. Lightroom

Quote:
Originally Posted by SkateSoft View Post
So there is no need to use gimp?
Well, the question is does Gimp provide capabilities that PS6 lacks? I don't use Gimp so can't give an answer there, so others would have to address that.

But, Gimp is free, so there's nothing wrong with installing it and learning to use it. Since you have PS6, you can make your own comparison. And, as has been mentioned, Lightroom can do most everything that you need and, if you shoot Raw or plan to shoot Raw LR has the top-of-the-line Raw processor that is used in the latest version of Photoshop so you are good there.
__________________
Tony
Two Canon cameras (5DC, 30D), three Canon lenses (24-105, 100-400, 100mm macro)
Tony Long Photos on PBase
Wildlife project pics here, Biking Photog shoots here, "Suburbia" project here! Mount St. Helens, Mount Hood pics here
tonylong is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Photoshop, Gimp and Lightroom Porkywill RAW, Post Processing and Printing 5 12th of November 2010 (Fri) 12:35
Can Lightroom 3 and the GIMP work and play together? jsvphoto RAW, Post Processing and Printing 3 3rd of August 2010 (Tue) 21:09
Can I improve my workflow? Lightroom/Gimp(Photoshop)/Cloning buurin RAW, Post Processing and Printing 12 25th of August 2009 (Tue) 08:50
What can Photoshop do that Gimp cant? danielyamseng RAW, Post Processing and Printing 5 21st of July 2009 (Tue) 12:06
GIMP vs Photoshop Cyrix_2k RAW, Post Processing and Printing 11 9th of April 2009 (Thu) 21:01


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 18:46.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.12
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
This forum is not affiliated with Canon in any way and is run as a free user helpsite by Pekka Saarinen, Helsinki Finland. You will need to register in order to be able to post messages. Cookies are required for registering and posting. HTML in messages is not allowed, plain website addresses are automatically made active by the board.