Canon Digital Photography Forums  

Go Back   Canon Digital Photography Forums > 'Equipment Talk' section > Canon EOS Digital Cameras
Register Rules FAQ Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 20th of February 2011 (Sun)   #1
dsrupert
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 1
Default Memory for T3i?

I'm pre-ordering my first DSLR the T3i, what kind of memory card should I get? I can get the Sandisk or Transcend, which is sufficient enough?
dsrupert is offline   Reply With Quote
This ad block will go away when you log in as member
Old 20th of February 2011 (Sun)   #2
rxjohn
Member
 
rxjohn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Northern Cal
Posts: 996
Default Re: Memory for T3i?

If you plan to shoot video, you'll want to get the minimum recommended class memory card. I believe 550D recommends at least class 6.

This is important because of the speed at which it can write on the card. If the card can't process at adequate speed, the processing buffer will get loaded and automatically shut off the recording.

That being said, I use 16GB class 10 Transcend with no issues. It provides about 40 minutes of HD video recording.
rxjohn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th of February 2011 (Sun)   #3
kenshap
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: What exit?
Posts: 364
Default Re: Memory for T3i?

Quote:
Originally Posted by rxjohn View Post
If you plan to shoot video, you'll want to get the minimum recommended class memory card. I believe 550D recommends at least class 6.

This is important because of the speed at which it can write on the card. If the card can't process at adequate speed, the processing buffer will get loaded and automatically shut off the recording.

That being said, I use 16GB class 10 Transcend with no issues. It provides about 40 minutes of HD video recording.
I have found Transcend Class 10 cars to be cost effective and reliable. I have 4 8 gig cards and have not had an issue with them. SANDISK is also recommended but is more expensive, so in my opinion unless you are doing critical work the Transcends work fine.
__________________
Canon T4i (aftermarket battery grip) | Canon T2i | Canon EF-S 18-55 IS | Canon EF-S 55 - 250 | Canon EF 50mm f/1.4 | Canon EF-S 10-22mm | Canon EF 100mm f2.8L Macro | Canon 40mm

Last edited by kenshap : 20th of February 2011 (Sun) at 09:58.
kenshap is offline   Reply With Quote
This ad block will go away when you log in as member
Old 20th of February 2011 (Sun)   #4
stevemacko
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Southern California
Posts: 301
Default Re: Memory for T3i?

I'm not the OP, but a 60D may be in my near future... So I'll be making the switch from CF to SD. Thanks for the info, Guys!
__________________
A whole box of point and shoots, EOS 30D, EF 20-35 f/3.5-4.5, 50mm f/1.8, Super Tak 135, 70-200 f/4 L
stevemacko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th of February 2011 (Sun)   #5
Gregg.Siam
Goldmember
 
Gregg.Siam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Bangkok
Posts: 2,300
Default Re: Memory for T3i?

I've used both the SandDisk and Transcend, both are sufficient, especially at class 10. Flash can go bad no matter who makes it.

I would also consider getting a backup card too.
__________________
5D MKIII | 24-105mm f/4 L| 50mm f/1.8 | 600EX-RT |
∞ 500px
flickr
Gregg.Siam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th of February 2011 (Sun)   #6
coffee_mon
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 45
Default Re: Memory for T3i?

I just got my T2i and 2 4 gig class 10 and 1 16 gig class 10 transcend and I've had nothing but great results. I don't think I will be using anything else at this moment.
coffee_mon is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2 memory card slots camera vs single memory card camera ? picard Canon EOS Digital Cameras 34 4th of February 2011 (Fri) 15:49
rate that shooting 7D video goes thru memory card & memory card speed required h123 Canon EOS Digital Cameras 2 17th of April 2010 (Sat) 06:59
Not enough memory??? Wayne Photography RAW, Post Processing and Printing 9 23rd of December 2007 (Sun) 23:31


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 18:44.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.12
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
This forum is not affiliated with Canon in any way and is run as a free user helpsite by Pekka Saarinen, Helsinki Finland. You will need to register in order to be able to post messages. Cookies are required for registering and posting. HTML in messages is not allowed, plain website addresses are automatically made active by the board.