Canon Digital Photography Forums  

Go Back   Canon Digital Photography Forums > 'Equipment Talk' section > Small Flash and Studio Lighting
Register Rules FAQ Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 23rd of February 2011 (Wed)   #1
boerewors

Default How do you make strobe trigger using 60D?

So i am a newbie at this and the place i bought my soft box from said that the 60D can trigger it, but i have no idea how?
what mode must the camera be on? And is there any setting i should know about? I understand that i would loose ETTL function but thats about all i know. Would apreciate a little help here thanks.
Old 23rd of February 2011 (Wed)   #2
TopHatMoments

Default Re: How do you make strobe trigger using 60D?

Do your strobes have optical slaves? If so your 430 will set them off. Study manual flash in the flash manual.

Point you 430 at one of the optical slaves strobes or bounce it. Set the 430 as low as it will go ( power wise ) and give it a try.
Old 23rd of February 2011 (Wed)   #3
boerewors

Ya i dont know. All i know is that they trigger with any form of a flash. I dont see any form of optical sensor and wouldnt even know where to start looking for it. There is a sync socket on them but i dont use it. the problem i have rite now is that they trigger if the camera decides to use the pop up to assist AF. I can still take a picture if i just wait for the strobes to recharge before pressing the shutter fully down as long as i have the built in flash set to manually fire at each shot. As for the 430EX, i havent started learning how to use it yet. I got all my equipment in one blow and im a newbie so i can only discover one thing at a time. I did test it once and i noticed it uses a red light to assist AF. That could probably solve the unesessary triggering. Sometimes the resulting images i take are dark but the strobes did fire, but thats only around 10% of the time.

Last edited by boerewors : 23rd of February 2011 (Wed) at 10:41.