Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Read More.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras
Thread started 05 Mar 2011 (Saturday) 21:36
Prev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)

Can't open RAW .CR2 files...why?

 
eco_bach
Member
87 posts
Joined Jan 2011
Mar 05, 2011 21:36 |  #1

Hi
Anyone able to shed some light on why I can't open RAW files from my 7D, while I have no problem opening RAW.CR2 files saved from my old Digital Rebel??

This is with both Photoshop CS4 and my RAW software, PhaseOne CaptureOne.




LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)
anscochrome
Senior Member
anscochrome's Avatar
425 posts
Joined Jan 2010
Mar 05, 2011 21:45 |  #2

ACR in CS4 is too old-upgrade to CS5 or use latest DPP


http://anscochrome.zen​folio.comexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
bexi20
Senior Member
bexi20's Avatar
568 posts
Joined Dec 2009
Atlanta GA
Mar 05, 2011 21:47 as a reply to anscochrome's post |  #3

Upgrade DPP.


Canon 5D Mark II

LOG IN TO REPLY
Bill ­ Boehme
Enjoy being spanked
Bill Boehme's Avatar
Joined Jan 2007
DFW Metro-mess, Texas
Mar 06, 2011 01:30 as a reply to bexi20's post |  #4

You will need Photoshop CS5. The structure of RAW files are different for each camera model whether Canon, Nikon, or whatnot.


Atmospheric haze in images? Click for Tutorial to Reduce Atmospheric Haze with Photoshop.
Gear List .... Gallery: Woodturner Bill (external link)
Donate to Support POTN Operating Costs

LOG IN TO REPLY
tonylong
"Amazingly attractive"
tonylong's Avatar
53,832 posts
Gallery: 22 photos
Joined Sep 2007
Vancouver, WA USA
Mar 06, 2011 02:09 |  #5

Pulling all of the above together: each new Canon model has some degree of "revision" to the Raw file and so processors need an up-to-date version of software to handle this. Canon issues a new upgrade of their Digital Photo Professional to deal with this and the others have to do this also, but periodically at a price because they also roll out new versions of software entirely.

So, you are "stuck" with an update -- of your Raw processor, or using the free Adobe DNG converter to convert your Raw images to a DNG format that CS4 Camera Raw can process.

If you install the Canon software, Digital Photo Professional (DPP) you get a very capable Raw processor that can produce very nice Raw conversion.


Tony
Two Canon cameras (5DC, 30D), three Canon lenses (24-105, 100-400, 100mm macro)
Tony Long Photos on PBaseexternal link
Wildlife project pics hereexternal link, Biking Photog shoots hereexternal link, "Suburbia" project hereexternal link! Mount St. Helens, Mount Hood pics hereexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
MGiddings ­ Photography
Senior Member
MGiddings Photography's Avatar
961 posts
Joined Mar 2010
Norwich, Norfolk, UK
Mar 06, 2011 05:26 |  #6

DPP will give you all you need to convert for now.


http://www.mgiddings.c​om (external link)

LOG IN TO REPLY
mjmackinnon
Senior Member
807 posts
Joined Jan 2009
Ontario, Canada
Mar 06, 2011 06:02 as a reply to MGiddings Photography's post |  #7

What everyone had said is true to the most part. The RAW .CR2 file is changed for each camera that is released. You can get around the opening in and older version of Photoshop buy doing the following.

Download thisexternal link and convert your .CR2 files into Adobe's .DNG format that your photoshop will understand.

Now that said, the newer CS5 version of photoshop has a way better method of removing noise and processing the raw files that is worth the cost of upgrade.. but I understand where money is involved that doing it cheaper is sometimes desired.


My Flickrexternal link - Canon EOS 5Diii | EF 50f/1.4 | EF 24-105 f/4L IS| EF 100-400L IS | EF 70-200f/4L |430 EX II | Elinchrom BX500Ri
Post Production: i7-2600k, Win7, iMac 27 i7 | Adobe Photoshop CS6

LOG IN TO REPLY
DetlevCM
Goldmember
DetlevCM's Avatar
3,421 posts
Gallery: 1 photo
Joined Apr 2010
Europe
Mar 06, 2011 06:17 |  #8

mjmackinnon wrote in post #11965423external link
What everyone had said is true to the most part. The RAW .CR2 file is changed for each camera that is released. You can get around the opening in and older version of Photoshop buy doing the following.

Download thisexternal link and convert your .CR2 files into Adobe's .DNG format that your photoshop will understand.

Now that said, the newer CS5 version of photoshop has a way better method of removing noise and processing the raw files that is worth the cost of upgrade.. but I understand where money is involved that doing it cheaper is sometimes desired.

There is one thing you might need to mention with CS5 ;) it runs worse than CS4 -> i.e. it needs a more powerful computer for CameraRAW.
Why? Well, I had the CS5 trial over summer (OS reinstall, discs for CS in the UK) - and the sliders where slightly laggy in CameraRAW. Back in the UK and CS4 works much smoother with my 5D MK II's RAW files.
Not sure what they broke...

On that note though - I do agree with your statement regarding the noise reduction - it is very much improved over CS4, however I personally don't think the cost is worth an upgrade over CS4.


5D MK II AF Satisfaction Poll | Reduced Kit List
A Basic Guide to Photographyexternal link | Websiteexternal link
Flickrexternal link | Artflakesexternal link | Blurbexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
MCAsan
Goldmember
MCAsan's Avatar
3,527 posts
Joined Jun 2010
Atlanta
Mar 06, 2011 06:52 as a reply to DetlevCM's post |  #9

get LightRoom 3 to give you one tool to handle file management and post process raw files. From LR you can kick in Elements or PS if you need to do something on the pixel level.


Canon EOS 5DIII | 24-105f4L | 17-40f4L | 100-400 f/4.5-5.6L | 100 f2.8L Macro | Canon EOS 7D | Tamron AF 18-270 f/3.5-6.3 Di II VC PZD| Canon Speedlite 580EXII | Gitzo GT-3531S | RRS BH-55 | Lexar 32GB 600x & 1000x CF cards | Lexar USB 3 reader
www.ourimages.netexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
JBF
Goldmember
JBF's Avatar
1,492 posts
Joined Dec 2005
Lexington, KY
Mar 06, 2011 08:47 |  #10

NAPP has a nice little discount if you are a member. I think you can get the upgrade from your version of PS to the newest one for $169.00. Then you are set to go. Or download the DNG converter for free then open in PS.


JBF
Canon 7D, Canon 1D Mark IV, Canon 24-105L f/4, Canon 35L 1.4, Canon 200L f/2.8, Canon 70-200L II IS f/2.8, Canon 300L f/2.8IS, 580ex Flash, 430ex Flash, 1.4X Converter. Bunch of other crap! I want the new 500mmL and the 200L f/2.0

LOG IN TO REPLY
Bill ­ Boehme
Enjoy being spanked
Bill Boehme's Avatar
Joined Jan 2007
DFW Metro-mess, Texas
Mar 06, 2011 11:45 as a reply to JBF's post |  #11

tonylong wrote in post #11964982external link
... So, you are "stuck" with an update -- of your Raw processor, or using the free Adobe DNG converter to convert your Raw images to a DNG format that CS4 Camera Raw can process....

... and, even though DNG Converter is free, it also requires updating to work properly with RAW files from new camera models.

DetlevCM wrote in post #11965462external link
... CS5 ... needs a more powerful computer for CameraRAW ..... the sliders where slightly laggy in CameraRAW.

My computer is about five years old and there is not a great deal of difference in speed except for CA correction which is a bit slower. However, a great new feature in CS5 is automatic lens identification and correction of CA and other distortion characteristics. It might be that your computer has so many background processes running that they are hogging the processing resources -- that is a typical cause of slowness in computers as they get older and accumulate more unnecessary invisible "stuff".


Atmospheric haze in images? Click for Tutorial to Reduce Atmospheric Haze with Photoshop.
Gear List .... Gallery: Woodturner Bill (external link)
Donate to Support POTN Operating Costs

LOG IN TO REPLY
DetlevCM
Goldmember
DetlevCM's Avatar
3,421 posts
Gallery: 1 photo
Joined Apr 2010
Europe
Mar 06, 2011 11:51 |  #12

Bill Boehme wrote in post #11966686external link
... and, even though DNG Converter is free, it also requires updating to work properly with RAW files from new camera models.

My computer is about five years old and there is not a great deal of difference in speed except for CA correction which is a bit slower. However, a great new feature in CS5 is automatic lens identification and correction of CA and other distortion characteristics. It might be that your computer has so many background processes running that they are hogging the processing resources -- that is a typical cause of slowness in computers as they get older and accumulate more unnecessary invisible "stuff".

If you would have read my post closely you could see why your reasoning, why in principle correct, is wrong/irrelevant in my case.
I wrote I had to do a OS reinstall -> hence no junk on it.
In fact, CS4 was running on it better before my reinstall, when I had a HDD, and it runs better on my laptop ever since I removed CS5 and replaced it with CS4.

And a 2,5GHz Core2Duo with 4GB RAM (about 3GB usable) and a 160GB Intel SSD, 32Bit OS should be fast enough :)
(heck, there is a lot running on my computer now - and CS4 runs just fine)

So I'm not sure what was wrong - but there must have been some flaw in CameraRAW.


5D MK II AF Satisfaction Poll | Reduced Kit List
A Basic Guide to Photographyexternal link | Websiteexternal link
Flickrexternal link | Artflakesexternal link | Blurbexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
Bill ­ Boehme
Enjoy being spanked
Bill Boehme's Avatar
Joined Jan 2007
DFW Metro-mess, Texas
Mar 06, 2011 13:42 as a reply to DetlevCM's post |  #13

I'll take your word that you have no extraneous processes running, but reinstalling the operating system doesn't clean up anything beyond the OS itself unless you did it as a completely new installation (where the registry is wiped clean as well as the table of contents) rather than doing it as a repair installation. The CS5 version of ACR has a lot more processing going on compared to earlier versions so using the same hardware, it would be surprising if there was not a difference in speed noticed.


Atmospheric haze in images? Click for Tutorial to Reduce Atmospheric Haze with Photoshop.
Gear List .... Gallery: Woodturner Bill (external link)
Donate to Support POTN Operating Costs

LOG IN TO REPLY
mastertech01
Goldmember
mastertech01's Avatar
2,098 posts
Joined Jun 2007
LAWTON OKLAHOMA USA
Mar 06, 2011 13:56 |  #14

I just picked up Photoshop Elements 9 for 50 dollars at Staples over the holiday and it contains Camera Raw 6.3 out of the box.




LOG IN TO REPLY
DetlevCM
Goldmember
DetlevCM's Avatar
3,421 posts
Gallery: 1 photo
Joined Apr 2010
Europe
Mar 06, 2011 14:01 |  #15

Bill Boehme wrote in post #11967351external link
I'll take your word that you have no extraneous processes running, but reinstalling the operating system doesn't clean up anything beyond the OS itself unless you did it as a completely new installation (where the registry is wiped clean as well as the table of contents) rather than doing it as a repair installation. The CS5 version of ACR has a lot more processing going on compared to earlier versions so using the same hardware, it would be surprising if there was not a difference in speed noticed.

-> Not a repair install, but a complete reinstall of the OS - i.e. all gone.
(I broke it with Revo...)

It definitely had less running on it than I can run now with CS4 and still get a nice responsive program.

-> Repair installations are a waste of time for me - it just breaks more than it fixes on my laptop. (I can blame Sony for that -> some functions need Sony libraries...)

-> Oh, and the number of processes doesn't matter one bit, that's another nice Windows Myth. What matter is the number of ACTIVE processes - i.e. a machine with 200 processes can be just as responsive as a machine with 50 processes provided the processes are just "lying around in the RAM". They do need RAM though.

With respect to CS5 - it might do more processing, I don't know. I know that it's noise reduction is definitely improved and that it ran worse on my laptop after the OS was reinstalled.


5D MK II AF Satisfaction Poll | Reduced Kit List
A Basic Guide to Photographyexternal link | Websiteexternal link
Flickrexternal link | Artflakesexternal link | Blurbexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)

24,863 views & 0 likes for this thread
Can't open RAW .CR2 files...why?
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras


Not a member yet? Click here to register to the forums.
Registered members get all the features: search, following threads, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, settings, view hosted photos, own reviews and more...


AAA

Send feedback to staff    •   Jump to forum...    •   Rules    •   Index    •   New posts    •   RTAT    •   'Best of'    •   Gallery    •   Gear    •   Reviews    •   Polls

COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Privacy policy and cookie usage info.

POWERED BY AMASS 1.4version 1.4
made in Finland
by Pekka Saarinen
for photography-on-the.net
Spent 0.00197 for 4 database queries.
PAGE COMPLETED IN 0.04s
Latest registered member is focusfirm
453 guests, 388 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 5577, that happened on Mar 02, 2016