Legal Forms...

FORUMS Post Processing, Marketing & Presenting Photos The Business of Photography
Thread started 08 Mar 2011 (Tuesday) 20:27   
LIST NEARBY THREADS

nighthunter310
Joined Oct 2009
132 posts
Los Angeles, CA
[MORE/SHARE]

So I'm completely new to the whole legal side of photography, because I never really had to deal with it. But I was wondering if anyone could point me in the right direction.

I will be shooting some sports events for my local university. I am basically doing this on a voluntary basis, but the experience that I will gain is worth it to me for now, and I get to pick and choose what I shoot.

What kind of legal document should I have them sign if I basically want to keep all the rights to myself, but want to grant them the right to use my images?

The document they sent me now, pretty much has me give up the right to use any of the images myself, which I am of course not going to do.

Any suggestions would be much appreciated! Thanks!

Post #1, Mar 08, 2011 20:27:50

Canon 7D - Canon 50D

sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)
tracknut
Goldmember
Joined Jun 2005
1,740 posts
Folsom, California
[MORE/SHARE]

A "release" is a general term for a document that releases some or all of your rights. In this case, by default you own all rights to the images and the university owns none. You would "release" some or all of your rights to those photos by putting together a form that states what rights you are releasing (and it might be smart to also include a list of what rights you are NOT releasing as well).