Canon Digital Photography Forums  

Go Back   Canon Digital Photography Forums > 'Sharing Knowhow' section > The Business of Photography
Register Rules FAQ Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 8th of March 2011 (Tue)   #1
nighthunter310

Question Legal Forms...

So I'm completely new to the whole legal side of photography, because I never really had to deal with it. But I was wondering if anyone could point me in the right direction.

I will be shooting some sports events for my local university. I am basically doing this on a voluntary basis, but the experience that I will gain is worth it to me for now, and I get to pick and choose what I shoot.

What kind of legal document should I have them sign if I basically want to keep all the rights to myself, but want to grant them the right to use my images?

The document they sent me now, pretty much has me give up the right to use any of the images myself, which I am of course not going to do.

Any suggestions would be much appreciated! Thanks!
nighthunter310 is offline   Reply With Quote
This ad block will go away when you log in as member
Old 9th of March 2011 (Wed)   #2
tracknut

Default Re: Legal Forms...

A "release" is a general term for a document that releases some or all of your rights. In this case, by default you own all rights to the images and the university owns none. You would "release" some or all of your rights to those photos by putting together a form that states what rights you are releasing (and it might be smart to also include a list of what rights you are NOT releasing as well).