Index  •   • New Posts  •   • RTAT  •   • "Best Of"  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
New Posts  •   • RTAT  •   • "Best Of"  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon Accessories
Thread started 18 Mar 2011 (Friday) 12:42
PREV/NEXT

Tether monitor for studio shoots

 
tonyniev
Cream of the Crop
tonyniev's Avatar
10,987 posts

Joined Dec 2009
MORE INFO

Looking for advise on gears to hook up a monitor to 5D2 while doing studio shoot.

I have seen others hook up a monitor, some a MacBookPro , share you experience so I do not have to reinvent the wheel.

Thanks

Mar 18, 2011 12:42

Cheers,
Tony

LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)
monkeymike
Member
monkeymike's Avatar
186 posts

Joined Jan 2009

Chicago Suburbs
MORE INFO

DPP will let you shoot tethered.

camera -> computer -> monitor
i dont think you can do it direct (camera -> monitor) with any setup

~mike

Mar 18, 2011 15:17

| 50D |
| 10-22 |
17-40 | 28-135 IS | 70-200 2.8 IS |
| 50 1.4 |
| 430EX II | 055XPROB w/ 488RC2 | 680B w/ 234RC |

LOG IN TO REPLY
zerovision
Goldmember
zerovision's Avatar
1,146 posts

Joined Aug 2008

Dallas/Ft Worth area
MORE INFO

DPP, Lightroom will let you tether and OnOne as a wireless software you can add to an iPhone or iPad and change the settings from the device if you have the camera on a tripod, but the camera has to be tethered to a computer.

If you just want to tether direct to a computer, DPP works great.

Mar 18, 2011 15:22

LOG IN TO REPLY
zerovision
Goldmember
zerovision's Avatar
1,146 posts

Joined Aug 2008

Dallas/Ft Worth area
MORE INFO

Oh, also, you can set the Canon software to open in bridge if that software of what you prefer and edit in RAW and CS.

Mar 18, 2011 15:24

LOG IN TO REPLY
tonyniev
THREAD ­ STARTER
Cream of the Crop
tonyniev's Avatar
10,987 posts

Joined Dec 2009
MORE INFO

Okay, got these good info, can anyone share their setup. I have aperture, does it have wirelsscapability as Lightroom? Howdo use an iPad? Thanks again.

Mar 18, 2011 16:14

Cheers,
Tony

LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)
NicolasRubio
Goldmember
NicolasRubio's Avatar
1,152 posts

Joined Sep 2006

Buenos Aires, Argentina
MORE INFO

Wouldn't the 5D Mark II's mini-HDMI output be enough to shoot tethered directly to a monitor?

Mar 19, 2011 01:16

Gripped 7D - 3 Ls - 3 non-Ls - 580EX II - Too much Think Tank gear - Cotton Carrier Holster


Detailed Gear List - My Websiteexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
zerovision
Goldmember
zerovision's Avatar
1,146 posts

Joined Aug 2008

Dallas/Ft Worth area
MORE INFO

tonyniev wrote in post #12045739external link
Okay, got these good info, can anyone share their setup. I have aperture, does it have wirelsscapability as Lightroom? Howdo use an iPad? Thanks again.

I tether to a notebook with a USB A to mini B cable. The mini B connects to the 5D II and once you plug it into the computer you can open Aperture and under file there is a tether option. You can select start session and it should have a window pop up and show the 5D II as the camera connected.

Its been awhile since I used Aperture for tethering, but I was able to with both the 5D and 1D Mark III.

OnOne software has a program you can download from their website. www.ononesoftware.comexternal link. You need a computer with Wifi. Once your tethered and you have the software loaded on the iPad, there is instruction video that OnOne Software has on their website to help get it set up. Its a very cool program.

Mar 19, 2011 21:03

LOG IN TO REPLY
tonyniev
THREAD ­ STARTER
Cream of the Crop
tonyniev's Avatar
10,987 posts

Joined Dec 2009
MORE INFO

zerovision wrote in post #12052978external link
I tether to a notebook with a USB A to mini B cable. The mini B connects to the 5D II and once you plug it into the computer you can open Aperture and under file there is a tether option. You can select start session and it should have a window pop up and show the 5D II as the camera connected.

Its been awhile since I used Aperture for tethering, but I was able to with both the 5D and 1D Mark III.

OnOne software has a program you can download from their website. www.ononesoftware.comexternal link. You need a computer with Wifi. Once your tethered and you have the software loaded on the iPad, there is instruction video that OnOne Software has on their website to help get it set up. Its a very cool program.

Great, this is the info I need, okay on Aperture thru USB, that should be easy and now I will download OnOne Software for ipad, I will be using sdhc wifi with CF adaptor. Thanks

Mar 19, 2011 21:22

Cheers,
Tony

LOG IN TO REPLY
Mike ­ K
Goldmember
Mike K's Avatar
1,637 posts

Joined Apr 2001

San Francisco area
MORE INFO

NicolasRubio wrote in post #12048320external link
Wouldn't the 5D Mark II's mini-HDMI output be enough to shoot tethered directly to a monitor?

Yes, it will. Here are 2 products with 5" screens with reasonable resolution:
http://www.dpreview.co​m ...1305sonyclmv55monit​or.aspexternal link

http://www.luminous-landscape.com ...50_portable_monitor​.shtmlexternal link

Both are made primarily for the video-DSLR market, but are in essence, larger versions of the camera LCD using the HDMI output. The Sony is less expensive, but doesn't include the necessary Sony camera battery and charger. Both are sold at B&H and Adorama. There are others out there as well. Marshall make quite a few flavors.
Mike K

Mar 19, 2011 22:08

Canon 6D, 1DmkII, IR modified 5DII with lots of Canon L, TSE and Zeiss ZE lenses

LOG IN TO REPLY
tonyniev
THREAD ­ STARTER
Cream of the Crop
tonyniev's Avatar
10,987 posts

Joined Dec 2009
MORE INFO

^^ THanks Mike

Mar 19, 2011 22:11

Cheers,
Tony

LOG IN TO REPLY
phreeky
Goldmember
3,471 posts
Joined Oct 2007

Australia
MORE INFO

Yeah you can hook up directly to a TV/monitor with a HDMI input, and in theory then also a monitor with a DVI input via a simple adapter - assuming it takes a resolution that is compatible etc.

Mar 20, 2011 06:05



LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)
BuckyN8
Senior Member
BuckyN8's Avatar
352 posts

Joined Oct 2010

Ohio
MORE INFO

Are you able to tether a T2i to a macbook pro?

Mar 20, 2011 12:14



LOG IN TO REPLY
joebarnes
Junior Member
joebarnes's Avatar
20 posts

Joined Sep 2008
MORE INFO

Can someone be so kind as to help me with what cables to buy and were to get them for tethering. I use a HP laptop.

Thanks in advance

Joe

Apr 06, 2011 12:39

Mr Joe:rolleyes:

LOG IN TO REPLY
squaresnappr
Senior Member
squaresnappr's Avatar
278 posts

Joined Mar 2009

Toronto, Ontario
MORE INFO

tonyniev wrote in post #12044585external link
Looking for advise on gears to hook up a monitor to 5D2 while doing studio shoot.

I have seen others hook up a monitor, some a MacBookPro , share you experience so I do not have to reinvent the wheel.

Thanks

I shoot tethered all the time in the studio and I use lightroom 3. I shoot 2 times a week in studio and the models also like it when I shoot tethered. I use a 15' usb repeater cable and a jerkstopper for my 5d mark 2 and my 1d4 came with a cable holder for the mini usb

The one thing I found frustrating was there is some wiggle with the mini usb in the camera so sometimes I lost connection. Some of my buddys use gaffer tape but the jerkstopper is pretty good. The best is the cable holder from canon that came with the 1d4.

Apr 06, 2011 21:32

My Gear
http://www.solofotogra​phy.comexternal link
http://www.modelmayhem​.com/1896508external link

LOG IN TO REPLY

2,740 views & 0 likes for this thread
Tether monitor for studio shoots
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon Accessories

NOT A MEMBER YET? CLICK HERE TO REGISTER TO THE FORUMS
Registered members get all the features: search, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, own reviews...




SEND FEEDBACK TO STAFF    •   JUMP TO FORUM    •   FORUM RULES    •   Index    •   New Posts    •   RTAT    •   "Best Of"    •   Gallery    •   Gear    •   Reviews    •   Polls

COOKIES DISCLAIMER: By using this site you agree that some cookies will be stored on your browser. For unlogged users we store one session id cookie. For registered members we store (in addition to login session cookie) only cookies that are essential for required functionality. We do not store any personal tracking data in cookies or other browsers' data storage methods.

POWERED BY AMASS 1.1version 1.1
made in Finland
by Pekka Saarinen
for photography-on-the.net
Spent 0.00094 for 4 database queries.
PAGE COMPLETED IN 0.02s
Latest registered member is koiko99
952 guests, 769 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 3341, that happened on Dec 11, 2014