Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Read More.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon Accessories
Thread started 18 Mar 2011 (Friday) 12:42
Prev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)

Tether monitor for studio shoots

 
tonyniev
Cream of the Crop
tonyniev's Avatar
11,096 posts
Joined Dec 2009
Mar 18, 2011 12:42 |  #1

Looking for advise on gears to hook up a monitor to 5D2 while doing studio shoot.

I have seen others hook up a monitor, some a MacBookPro , share you experience so I do not have to reinvent the wheel.

Thanks


Cheers,
Tony

LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)
monkeymike
Member
monkeymike's Avatar
186 posts
Joined Jan 2009
Chicago Suburbs
Mar 18, 2011 15:17 |  #2

DPP will let you shoot tethered.

camera -> computer -> monitor
i dont think you can do it direct (camera -> monitor) with any setup

~mike


| 50D | 7Dii |
| 10-22 | 17-40 | 28-135 IS | 70-200 2.8 IS |
| 50 1.4 |
| 430EX II | 055XPROB w/ 488RC2 | 680B w/ 234RC |

LOG IN TO REPLY
zerovision
Goldmember
zerovision's Avatar
1,198 posts
Joined Aug 2008
Dallas/Ft Worth area
Mar 18, 2011 15:22 |  #3

DPP, Lightroom will let you tether and OnOne as a wireless software you can add to an iPhone or iPad and change the settings from the device if you have the camera on a tripod, but the camera has to be tethered to a computer.

If you just want to tether direct to a computer, DPP works great.


LOG IN TO REPLY
zerovision
Goldmember
zerovision's Avatar
1,198 posts
Joined Aug 2008
Dallas/Ft Worth area
Mar 18, 2011 15:24 |  #4

Oh, also, you can set the Canon software to open in bridge if that software of what you prefer and edit in RAW and CS.


LOG IN TO REPLY
tonyniev
THREAD ­ STARTER
Cream of the Crop
tonyniev's Avatar
11,096 posts
Joined Dec 2009
Mar 18, 2011 16:14 |  #5

Okay, got these good info, can anyone share their setup. I have aperture, does it have wirelsscapability as Lightroom? Howdo use an iPad? Thanks again.


Cheers,
Tony

LOG IN TO REPLY
NicolasRubio
Goldmember
NicolasRubio's Avatar
1,152 posts
Joined Sep 2006
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Mar 19, 2011 01:16 |  #6

Wouldn't the 5D Mark II's mini-HDMI output be enough to shoot tethered directly to a monitor?


Gripped 7D - 3 Ls - 3 non-Ls - 580EX II - Too much Think Tank gear - Cotton Carrier Holster


Detailed Gear List - My Websiteexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
zerovision
Goldmember
zerovision's Avatar
1,198 posts
Joined Aug 2008
Dallas/Ft Worth area
Mar 19, 2011 21:03 |  #7

tonyniev wrote in post #12045739external link
Okay, got these good info, can anyone share their setup. I have aperture, does it have wirelsscapability as Lightroom? Howdo use an iPad? Thanks again.

I tether to a notebook with a USB A to mini B cable. The mini B connects to the 5D II and once you plug it into the computer you can open Aperture and under file there is a tether option. You can select start session and it should have a window pop up and show the 5D II as the camera connected.

Its been awhile since I used Aperture for tethering, but I was able to with both the 5D and 1D Mark III.

OnOne software has a program you can download from their website. www.ononesoftware.comexternal link. You need a computer with Wifi. Once your tethered and you have the software loaded on the iPad, there is instruction video that OnOne Software has on their website to help get it set up. Its a very cool program.


LOG IN TO REPLY
tonyniev
THREAD ­ STARTER
Cream of the Crop
tonyniev's Avatar
11,096 posts
Joined Dec 2009
Mar 19, 2011 21:22 |  #8

zerovision wrote in post #12052978external link
I tether to a notebook with a USB A to mini B cable. The mini B connects to the 5D II and once you plug it into the computer you can open Aperture and under file there is a tether option. You can select start session and it should have a window pop up and show the 5D II as the camera connected.

Its been awhile since I used Aperture for tethering, but I was able to with both the 5D and 1D Mark III.

OnOne software has a program you can download from their website. www.ononesoftware.comexternal link. You need a computer with Wifi. Once your tethered and you have the software loaded on the iPad, there is instruction video that OnOne Software has on their website to help get it set up. Its a very cool program.

Great, this is the info I need, okay on Aperture thru USB, that should be easy and now I will download OnOne Software for ipad, I will be using sdhc wifi with CF adaptor. Thanks


Cheers,
Tony

LOG IN TO REPLY
Mike ­ K
Goldmember
Mike K's Avatar
1,637 posts
Joined Apr 2001
San Francisco area
Mar 19, 2011 22:08 |  #9

NicolasRubio wrote in post #12048320external link
Wouldn't the 5D Mark II's mini-HDMI output be enough to shoot tethered directly to a monitor?

Yes, it will. Here are 2 products with 5" screens with reasonable resolution:
http://www.dpreview.co​m ...1305sonyclmv55monit​or.aspexternal link

http://www.luminous-landscape.com ...50_portable_monitor​.shtmlexternal link

Both are made primarily for the video-DSLR market, but are in essence, larger versions of the camera LCD using the HDMI output. The Sony is less expensive, but doesn't include the necessary Sony camera battery and charger. Both are sold at B&H and Adorama. There are others out there as well. Marshall make quite a few flavors.
Mike K


Canon 6D, 1DmkII, IR modified 5DII with lots of Canon L, TSE and Zeiss ZE lenses

LOG IN TO REPLY
tonyniev
THREAD ­ STARTER
Cream of the Crop
tonyniev's Avatar
11,096 posts
Joined Dec 2009
Mar 19, 2011 22:11 |  #10

^^ THanks Mike


Cheers,
Tony

LOG IN TO REPLY
phreeky
Goldmember
3,471 posts
Joined Oct 2007
Australia
Mar 20, 2011 06:05 |  #11

Yeah you can hook up directly to a TV/monitor with a HDMI input, and in theory then also a monitor with a DVI input via a simple adapter - assuming it takes a resolution that is compatible etc.




LOG IN TO REPLY
BuckyN8
Senior Member
BuckyN8's Avatar
352 posts
Joined Oct 2010
Ohio
Mar 20, 2011 12:14 |  #12

Are you able to tether a T2i to a macbook pro?




LOG IN TO REPLY
joebarnes
Junior Member
joebarnes's Avatar
20 posts
Joined Sep 2008
Apr 06, 2011 12:39 |  #13

Can someone be so kind as to help me with what cables to buy and were to get them for tethering. I use a HP laptop.

Thanks in advance

Joe


Mr Joe:rolleyes:

LOG IN TO REPLY
squaresnappr
Senior Member
squaresnappr's Avatar
278 posts
Joined Mar 2009
Toronto, Ontario
Apr 06, 2011 21:32 |  #14

tonyniev wrote in post #12044585external link
Looking for advise on gears to hook up a monitor to 5D2 while doing studio shoot.

I have seen others hook up a monitor, some a MacBookPro , share you experience so I do not have to reinvent the wheel.

Thanks

I shoot tethered all the time in the studio and I use lightroom 3. I shoot 2 times a week in studio and the models also like it when I shoot tethered. I use a 15' usb repeater cable and a jerkstopper for my 5d mark 2 and my 1d4 came with a cable holder for the mini usb

The one thing I found frustrating was there is some wiggle with the mini usb in the camera so sometimes I lost connection. Some of my buddys use gaffer tape but the jerkstopper is pretty good. The best is the cable holder from canon that came with the 1d4.


My Gear
http://www.solofotogra​phy.comexternal link
http://www.modelmayhem​.com/1896508external link

LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)

3,274 views & 0 likes for this thread
Tether monitor for studio shoots
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon Accessories


Not a member yet? Click here to register to the forums.
Registered members get all the features: search, following threads, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, settings, view hosted photos, own reviews and more...


AAA

Send feedback to staff    •   Jump to forum...    •   Rules    •   Index    •   New posts    •   RTAT    •   'Best of'    •   Gallery    •   Gear    •   Reviews    •   Polls

COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Privacy policy and cookie usage info.

POWERED BY AMASS 1.4version 1.4
made in Finland
by Pekka Saarinen
for photography-on-the.net
Spent 0.00123 for 4 database queries.
PAGE COMPLETED IN 0.02s
Latest registered member is Ziatriguy
614 guests, 547 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 5577, that happened on Mar 02, 2016