Canon Digital Photography Forums  

Go Back   Canon Digital Photography Forums > 'Equipment Talk' section > Accessories & Storage
Register Rules FAQ Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 18th of March 2011 (Fri)   #1
tonyniev
Cream of the Crop
 
tonyniev's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 10,677
Default Tether monitor for studio shoots

Looking for advise on gears to hook up a monitor to 5D2 while doing studio shoot.

I have seen others hook up a monitor, some a MacBookPro , share you experience so I do not have to reinvent the wheel.

Thanks
__________________
Cheers,
Tony
tonyniev is offline   Reply With Quote
This ad block will go away when you log in as member
Old 18th of March 2011 (Fri)   #2
monkeymike
Member
 
monkeymike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Chicago Suburbs
Posts: 185
Default Re: Tether monitor for studio shoots

DPP will let you shoot tethered.

camera -> computer -> monitor
i dont think you can do it direct (camera -> monitor) with any setup

~mike
__________________
| 50D |
| 10-22 |
17-40 | 28-135 IS | 70-200 2.8 IS |
| 50 1.4 |
| 430EX II | 055XPROB w/ 488RC2 | 680B w/ 234RC |
monkeymike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th of March 2011 (Fri)   #3
zerovision
Senior Member
 
zerovision's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Dallas/Ft Worth area
Posts: 1,146
Default Re: Tether monitor for studio shoots

DPP, Lightroom will let you tether and OnOne as a wireless software you can add to an iPhone or iPad and change the settings from the device if you have the camera on a tripod, but the camera has to be tethered to a computer.

If you just want to tether direct to a computer, DPP works great.
zerovision is offline   Reply With Quote
This ad block will go away when you log in as member
Old 18th of March 2011 (Fri)   #4
zerovision
Senior Member
 
zerovision's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Dallas/Ft Worth area
Posts: 1,146
Default Re: Tether monitor for studio shoots

Oh, also, you can set the Canon software to open in bridge if that software of what you prefer and edit in RAW and CS.
zerovision is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th of March 2011 (Fri)   #5
tonyniev
Cream of the Crop
 
tonyniev's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 10,677
Default Re: Tether monitor for studio shoots

Okay, got these good info, can anyone share their setup. I have aperture, does it have wirelsscapability as Lightroom? Howdo use an iPad? Thanks again.
__________________
Cheers,
Tony
tonyniev is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th of March 2011 (Sat)   #6
NicolasRubio
Senior Member
 
NicolasRubio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Buenos Aires, Argentina
Posts: 1,152
Default Re: Tether monitor for studio shoots

Wouldn't the 5D Mark II's mini-HDMI output be enough to shoot tethered directly to a monitor?
__________________
Gripped 7D - 3 Ls - 3 non-Ls - 580EX II - Too much Think Tank gear - Cotton Carrier Holster

NicolasRubio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th of March 2011 (Sat)   #7
zerovision
Senior Member
 
zerovision's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Dallas/Ft Worth area
Posts: 1,146
Default Re: Tether monitor for studio shoots

Quote:
Originally Posted by tonyniev View Post
Okay, got these good info, can anyone share their setup. I have aperture, does it have wirelsscapability as Lightroom? Howdo use an iPad? Thanks again.
I tether to a notebook with a USB A to mini B cable. The mini B connects to the 5D II and once you plug it into the computer you can open Aperture and under file there is a tether option. You can select start session and it should have a window pop up and show the 5D II as the camera connected.

Its been awhile since I used Aperture for tethering, but I was able to with both the 5D and 1D Mark III.

OnOne software has a program you can download from their website. www.ononesoftware.com. You need a computer with Wifi. Once your tethered and you have the software loaded on the iPad, there is instruction video that OnOne Software has on their website to help get it set up. Its a very cool program.
zerovision is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th of March 2011 (Sat)   #8
tonyniev
Cream of the Crop
 
tonyniev's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 10,677
Default Re: Tether monitor for studio shoots

Quote:
Originally Posted by zerovision View Post
I tether to a notebook with a USB A to mini B cable. The mini B connects to the 5D II and once you plug it into the computer you can open Aperture and under file there is a tether option. You can select start session and it should have a window pop up and show the 5D II as the camera connected.

Its been awhile since I used Aperture for tethering, but I was able to with both the 5D and 1D Mark III.

OnOne software has a program you can download from their website. www.ononesoftware.com. You need a computer with Wifi. Once your tethered and you have the software loaded on the iPad, there is instruction video that OnOne Software has on their website to help get it set up. Its a very cool program.
Great, this is the info I need, okay on Aperture thru USB, that should be easy and now I will download OnOne Software for ipad, I will be using sdhc wifi with CF adaptor. Thanks
__________________
Cheers,
Tony
tonyniev is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th of March 2011 (Sat)   #9
Mike K
Senior Member
 
Mike K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: San Francisco area
Posts: 1,637
Default Re: Tether monitor for studio shoots

Quote:
Originally Posted by NicolasRubio View Post
Wouldn't the 5D Mark II's mini-HDMI output be enough to shoot tethered directly to a monitor?
Yes, it will. Here are 2 products with 5" screens with reasonable resolution:
http://www.dpreview.com/news/1101/11...v55monitor.asp

http://www.luminous-landscape.com/re..._monitor.shtml

Both are made primarily for the video-DSLR market, but are in essence, larger versions of the camera LCD using the HDMI output. The Sony is less expensive, but doesn't include the necessary Sony camera battery and charger. Both are sold at B&H and Adorama. There are others out there as well. Marshall make quite a few flavors.
Mike K
__________________
Canon 6D, 1DmkII, IR modified 5DII with lots of Canon L, TSE and Zeiss ZE lenses
Mike K is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th of March 2011 (Sat)   #10
tonyniev
Cream of the Crop
 
tonyniev's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 10,677
Default Re: Tether monitor for studio shoots

^^ THanks Mike
__________________
Cheers,
Tony
tonyniev is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th of March 2011 (Sun)   #11
phreeky
Goldmember
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 3,471
Default Re: Tether monitor for studio shoots

Yeah you can hook up directly to a TV/monitor with a HDMI input, and in theory then also a monitor with a DVI input via a simple adapter - assuming it takes a resolution that is compatible etc.
phreeky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th of March 2011 (Sun)   #12
BuckyN8
Member
 
BuckyN8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Ohio
Posts: 352
Default Re: Tether monitor for studio shoots

Are you able to tether a T2i to a macbook pro?
BuckyN8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th of April 2011 (Wed)   #13
joebarnes
Junior Member
 
joebarnes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 20
Default Re: Tether monitor for studio shoots

Can someone be so kind as to help me with what cables to buy and were to get them for tethering. I use a HP laptop.

Thanks in advance

Joe
__________________
Mr Joe
joebarnes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th of April 2011 (Wed)   #14
squaresnappr
Member
 
squaresnappr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 278
Default Re: Tether monitor for studio shoots

Quote:
Originally Posted by tonyniev View Post
Looking for advise on gears to hook up a monitor to 5D2 while doing studio shoot.

I have seen others hook up a monitor, some a MacBookPro , share you experience so I do not have to reinvent the wheel.

Thanks
I shoot tethered all the time in the studio and I use lightroom 3. I shoot 2 times a week in studio and the models also like it when I shoot tethered. I use a 15' usb repeater cable and a jerkstopper for my 5d mark 2 and my 1d4 came with a cable holder for the mini usb

The one thing I found frustrating was there is some wiggle with the mini usb in the camera so sometimes I lost connection. Some of my buddys use gaffer tape but the jerkstopper is pretty good. The best is the cable holder from canon that came with the 1d4.
squaresnappr is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
18-55 for studio shoots?? Gambo Small Flash and Studio Lighting 16 17th of February 2011 (Thu) 11:38
Can I tether with an Ipad for studio shoots? PhilF Accessories & Storage 6 24th of December 2010 (Fri) 08:47
What's your preference for your shoots; best viewed with dekstop monitor or laptop? danielyamseng RAW, Post Processing and Printing 20 24th of April 2010 (Sat) 08:12
Help...need Studio light for shoots opz Small Flash and Studio Lighting 4 4th of February 2009 (Wed) 17:22
Studio in garage for car shoots Dave240 Small Flash and Studio Lighting 11 10th of January 2006 (Tue) 22:39


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 15:09.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.12
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
This forum is not affiliated with Canon in any way and is run as a free user helpsite by Pekka Saarinen, Helsinki Finland. You will need to register in order to be able to post messages. Cookies are required for registering and posting. HTML in messages is not allowed, plain website addresses are automatically made active by the board.