Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Read More.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Post Processing, Marketing & Presenting Photos RAW, Post Processing & Printing
Thread started 19 Mar 2011 (Saturday) 19:03
Prev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)

How to convert from RAW to JPEG?

 
yoadrienneaz
Hatchling
yoadrienneaz's Avatar
8 posts
Joined Dec 2010
Arizona
Mar 19, 2011 19:03 |  #1

I accidently put my 60D into raw mode and now I cannot access the photos. How to I convert them to JPEG FREE? there are a lot of software out there that wants $40-$60. I'm disappointed that it didn't come with the camera software.


Love capturing God's creation through the camera lense!

LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)
Bob_A
Cream of the Crop
Bob_A's Avatar
Joined Jan 2005
Alberta, Canada
Mar 19, 2011 19:06 |  #2

Didn't your camera come with EOS Utility and DPP?


Bob
SmugMugexternal link | My Gear Ratings | My POTN Gallery

LOG IN TO REPLY
tonylong
"Amazingly attractive"
tonylong's Avatar
53,855 posts
Gallery: 22 photos
Joined Sep 2007
Vancouver, WA USA
Mar 19, 2011 20:41 |  #3

Too bad you don't have the disks!

Go to this site to get info about installing the Digital Photo Professional software without the disk:

http://www.northlight-images.co.uk ...stall_canon_softwar​e.htmlexternal link

You need to "fake" a previous install before getting the updates from Canon.


Tony
Two Canon cameras (5DC, 30D), three Canon lenses (24-105, 100-400, 100mm macro)
Tony Long Photos on PBaseexternal link
Wildlife project pics hereexternal link, Biking Photog shoots hereexternal link, "Suburbia" project hereexternal link! Mount St. Helens, Mount Hood pics hereexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
K6AZ
Cream of the Crop
K6AZ's Avatar
10,241 posts
Joined Nov 2008
Richmond VA USA
Mar 19, 2011 21:47 |  #4

Better yet this 'mistake' may be a good time to get Lightroom!


Flickrexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
exwintech
Gone, but not forgotten . . .
551 posts
Joined Apr 2009
Croydon Park, Sydney, Australia
Mar 19, 2011 22:52 as a reply to K6AZ's post |  #5

Yoadrienneaz - This is just a quick'n'dirty - but if ALL you want to do is convert RAW data files to TIFF or JPEG, so you can access them in a standard graphics application, you might look at the free RAWdrop utility.

It has very few choices, but you can select Brightness, and Camera or Auto WB. You can do JPEG or 8/16-bit TIFF. There's also a CR2 RAW data recovery function for Canon.

I use it under Wine in Linux, on occasions I want a look-see at RAWs I did that weren't RAW+JPEG and I'm not sure which RAWs are worth working on - so just use RAWdrop on a set of Copies of the original RAWs.

It's a frontend for DCRAW, and is found at:

- www.wizards.de/rawdrop​/external link - which also has an explanation of it.

NOTE: - If you are using Windows, as with all such "open site" downloads - do check the *.exe with your AV program before running it - just to be on the safe side...

Dave.




LOG IN TO REPLY
K6AZ
Cream of the Crop
K6AZ's Avatar
10,241 posts
Joined Nov 2008
Richmond VA USA
Mar 19, 2011 23:04 |  #6

exwintech wrote in post #12053534external link
Yoadrienneaz - This is just a quick'n'dirty - but if ALL you want to do is convert RAW data files to TIFF or JPEG, so you can access them in a standard graphics application, you might look at the free RAWdrop utility.

It has very few choices, but you can select Brightness, and Camera or Auto WB. You can do JPEG or 8/16-bit TIFF. There's also a CR2 RAW data recovery function for Canon.

I use it under Wine in Linux, on occasions I want a look-see at RAWs I did that weren't RAW+JPEG and I'm not sure which RAWs are worth working on - so just use RAWdrop on a set of Copies of the original RAWs.

It's a frontend for DCRAW, and is found at:

- www.wizards.de/rawdrop​/external link - which also has an explanation of it.

NOTE: - If you are using Windows, as with all such "open site" downloads - do check the *.exe with your AV program before running it - just to be on the safe side...

Dave.

The Windows .exe is clean at least up to my latest definition update timestamped at 3PM today.


Flickrexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
bowenbee
Member
93 posts
Joined Feb 2011
MD
Mar 19, 2011 23:34 |  #7

Why don't just download Digital Photo Professional? It'll open the proprietary .CR2 Canon RAW file. http://canon-utilities-digital-photo-profession.software.in​former.com/external link


Eos 7D | 15-85mm | 50mm f/1.8 | 70-200 F/4 IS L | 430EX |

LOG IN TO REPLY
tonylong
"Amazingly attractive"
tonylong's Avatar
53,855 posts
Gallery: 22 photos
Joined Sep 2007
Vancouver, WA USA
Mar 20, 2011 01:02 |  #8

bowenbee wrote in post #12053773external link
Why don't just download Digital Photo Professional? It'll open the proprietary .CR2 Canon RAW file. http://canon-utilities-digital-photo-profession.software.in​former.com/external link

That's an interesting site, a third-party outfit offering a direct download, but using a different name (Canon Utilities Digital Photo Professional is combining two different application titles).

So, whether to trust that site and go for it, I dunno. If it works, you will still need to go to Canon to upgrade to the proper version.


Tony
Two Canon cameras (5DC, 30D), three Canon lenses (24-105, 100-400, 100mm macro)
Tony Long Photos on PBaseexternal link
Wildlife project pics hereexternal link, Biking Photog shoots hereexternal link, "Suburbia" project hereexternal link! Mount St. Helens, Mount Hood pics hereexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
MT ­ Stringer
Goldmember
MT Stringer's Avatar
4,650 posts
Joined May 2006
Channelview, Tx
Mar 20, 2011 01:18 |  #9

I guess when you searched the Canon USA website you overlooked the DPP download, huh?
http://www.usa.canon.c​om ...gital_slr_cameras/e​os_60dexternal link


MaxPreps Profileexternal link

My Gear List

LOG IN TO REPLY
exwintech
Gone, but not forgotten . . .
551 posts
Joined Apr 2009
Croydon Park, Sydney, Australia
Mar 20, 2011 01:37 as a reply to tonylong's post |  #10

K6AZ - That warning was no reflection on the site referred to. I'm running the app in Wine on Linux, so I don't know whether it's infected with things that'd harm a Windows install or not.

But I spent over 11 years as a Windows tech in suburban dealerships - and a lot of the "repair" jobs there were disinfestings of Windows - or "save the data, and reinstall Windows" - so long as the client brought in their Windows, Office, and other apps CDs. That's where the "exwintech" tag is from.

So I've seen a few infested installs, and wouldn't wish that on anyone. So in whichever Forum I'm on - quite a few - if I suggest that folk with Windows download something to install and try - the "rider" - check it with their AV before installing - goes with it.

Most folk on a tech-related Forum like this, would know about it and do that anyway. But there are some newer Members, who might also be a bit newer with PCs, too...

So - good to know the RAWdrop executable is currently clean... But I'd check it anyway. It might leave their site, clean - but a "something" might join it on the way...

I had MS products since 1983 - PC-DOS, then Micro-Soft DOS, on a "Genuine IBM" Twin-Slotter - no HDD, no TSR programs, through to the early 2000s. So I learnt most of my skills on MS O/S sofware, did both of my Trade Courses (2), my College Certs (3), and the CompTIA A+ (twice - Win 95 / NT 3 and 4, then NT 5.0/Win2k and 5.1/XP in 2001) - so do have a reasonable grounding in Windows - up to XP SP3. I haven't had a Vista or Win-7 PC.

Dave.




LOG IN TO REPLY
K6AZ
Cream of the Crop
K6AZ's Avatar
10,241 posts
Joined Nov 2008
Richmond VA USA
Mar 20, 2011 01:45 |  #11

Well, I don't date back that far, only back to MS DOS 3. ;)

I just thought I'd throw it out there from a second member that the Windows application is free.

BTW, I only use Linux for my servers. I prefer Windows for my everyday boxes.


Flickrexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
NinetyEight
"Banned for life"
NinetyEight's Avatar
3,142 posts
Joined Sep 2008
Dorset - England
Mar 20, 2011 03:58 |  #12

MT Stringer wrote in post #12054143external link
I guess when you searched the Canon USA website you overlooked the DPP download, huh?
http://www.usa.canon.c​om ...gital_slr_cameras/e​os_60dexternal link

This still won't install unless a previous version is, or has been installed - See Tony's post (#3) above ;-)a

Alternatively you can download the full version 1 from HEREexternal link and then update from the Canon web site


Kev

LOG IN TO REPLY
macroimage
Goldmember
2,167 posts
Joined Aug 2007
Mar 20, 2011 15:55 |  #13

Canon offers the full version of ZoombrowserEX 6.6.0b at:
http://www.usa.canon.c​om ...os_60d#DriversAndSo​ftwareexternal link

The file you want is ZB660INST_E.exe. This is the full installer, not the updater. You will have to type in your camera serial number to get this file. Once ZoombrowserEX is installed, you can install any of the other Canon updaters like DPP 3.9.3 and EOS Utility 2.9.0.

To keep it really simple, just opening one of the raw files in ZoombrowserEX and clicking "Display Original Image" at the bottom of the picture will convert the raw file to what the original in-camera JPG would have been. You can then use the file menu to save it as a TIF, JPG, BMP, or print it.


Photo Gear

LOG IN TO REPLY
tonylong
"Amazingly attractive"
tonylong's Avatar
53,855 posts
Gallery: 22 photos
Joined Sep 2007
Vancouver, WA USA
Mar 20, 2011 20:19 |  #14

That's a good link to have, macroimage! Thanks!


Tony
Two Canon cameras (5DC, 30D), three Canon lenses (24-105, 100-400, 100mm macro)
Tony Long Photos on PBaseexternal link
Wildlife project pics hereexternal link, Biking Photog shoots hereexternal link, "Suburbia" project hereexternal link! Mount St. Helens, Mount Hood pics hereexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
mrbubbles
Goldmember
mrbubbles's Avatar
1,090 posts
Joined Oct 2010
NJ, USA
Mar 20, 2011 20:22 |  #15

Googles Picasa software is free and will accept CR2 files.


Gear List
Zenfolioexternal link
Flickrexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)

8,741 views & 0 likes for this thread
How to convert from RAW to JPEG?
FORUMS Post Processing, Marketing & Presenting Photos RAW, Post Processing & Printing


Not a member yet? Click here to register to the forums.
Registered members get all the features: search, following threads, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, settings, view hosted photos, own reviews and more...


AAA

Send feedback to staff    •   Jump to forum...    •   Rules    •   Index    •   New posts    •   RTAT    •   'Best of'    •   Gallery    •   Gear    •   Reviews    •   Polls

COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Privacy policy and cookie usage info.

POWERED BY AMASS 1.4version 1.4
made in Finland
by Pekka Saarinen
for photography-on-the.net
Spent 0.00132 for 4 database queries.
PAGE COMPLETED IN 0.02s
Latest registered member is MarcioM
874 guests, 542 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 6106, that happened on Jun 09, 2016