Canon Digital Photography Forums  

Go Back   Canon Digital Photography Forums > 'Sharing Knowhow' section > RAW, Post Processing and Printing
Register Rules FAQ Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 19th of March 2011 (Sat)   #1
yoadrienneaz
Junior Member
 
yoadrienneaz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Arizona
Posts: 8
Default How to convert from RAW to JPEG?

I accidently put my 60D into raw mode and now I cannot access the photos. How to I convert them to JPEG FREE? there are a lot of software out there that wants $40-$60. I'm disappointed that it didn't come with the camera software.
__________________
Love capturing God's creation through the camera lense!
yoadrienneaz is offline   Reply With Quote
This ad block will go away when you log in as member
Old 19th of March 2011 (Sat)   #2
Bob_A
Cream of the Crop
 
Bob_A's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Alberta, Canada
Posts: 7,940
Default Re: How to convert from RAW to JPEG?

Didn't your camera come with EOS Utility and DPP?
__________________
Bob

Bob_A is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th of March 2011 (Sat)   #3
tonylong
do I really have to respond?
 
tonylong's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Vancouver, WA USA
Posts: 52,634
Default Re: How to convert from RAW to JPEG?

Too bad you don't have the disks!

Go to this site to get info about installing the Digital Photo Professional software without the disk:

http://www.northlight-images.co.uk/a..._software.html

You need to "fake" a previous install before getting the updates from Canon.
__________________
Tony
Two Canon cameras (5DC, 30D), three Canon lenses (24-105, 100-400, 100mm macro)
Tony Long Photos on PBase
Wildlife project pics here, Biking Photog shoots here, "Suburbia" project here! Mount St. Helens, Mount Hood pics here
tonylong is offline   Reply With Quote
This ad block will go away when you log in as member
Old 19th of March 2011 (Sat)   #4
K6AZ
Cream of the Crop
 
K6AZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Richmond VA USA
Posts: 10,229
Default Re: How to convert from RAW to JPEG?

Better yet this 'mistake' may be a good time to get Lightroom!
__________________
Flickr
K6AZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th of March 2011 (Sat)   #5
exwintech
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Croydon Park, Sydney, Australia
Posts: 551
Default Re: How to convert from RAW to JPEG?

Yoadrienneaz - This is just a quick'n'dirty - but if ALL you want to do is convert RAW data files to TIFF or JPEG, so you can access them in a standard graphics application, you might look at the free RAWdrop utility.

It has very few choices, but you can select Brightness, and Camera or Auto WB. You can do JPEG or 8/16-bit TIFF. There's also a CR2 RAW data recovery function for Canon.

I use it under Wine in Linux, on occasions I want a look-see at RAWs I did that weren't RAW+JPEG and I'm not sure which RAWs are worth working on - so just use RAWdrop on a set of Copies of the original RAWs.

It's a frontend for DCRAW, and is found at:

- www.wizards.de/rawdrop/ - which also has an explanation of it.

NOTE: - If you are using Windows, as with all such "open site" downloads - do check the *.exe with your AV program before running it - just to be on the safe side...

Dave.
exwintech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th of March 2011 (Sat)   #6
K6AZ
Cream of the Crop
 
K6AZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Richmond VA USA
Posts: 10,229
Default Re: How to convert from RAW to JPEG?

Quote:
Originally Posted by exwintech View Post
Yoadrienneaz - This is just a quick'n'dirty - but if ALL you want to do is convert RAW data files to TIFF or JPEG, so you can access them in a standard graphics application, you might look at the free RAWdrop utility.

It has very few choices, but you can select Brightness, and Camera or Auto WB. You can do JPEG or 8/16-bit TIFF. There's also a CR2 RAW data recovery function for Canon.

I use it under Wine in Linux, on occasions I want a look-see at RAWs I did that weren't RAW+JPEG and I'm not sure which RAWs are worth working on - so just use RAWdrop on a set of Copies of the original RAWs.

It's a frontend for DCRAW, and is found at:

- www.wizards.de/rawdrop/ - which also has an explanation of it.

NOTE: - If you are using Windows, as with all such "open site" downloads - do check the *.exe with your AV program before running it - just to be on the safe side...

Dave.
The Windows .exe is clean at least up to my latest definition update timestamped at 3PM today.
__________________
Flickr
K6AZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th of March 2011 (Sat)   #7
bowenbee
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: MD
Posts: 82
Default Re: How to convert from RAW to JPEG?

Why don't just download Digital Photo Professional? It'll open the proprietary .CR2 Canon RAW file. http://canon-utilities-digital-photo....informer.com/

Last edited by bowenbee : 19th of March 2011 (Sat) at 23:36.
bowenbee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th of March 2011 (Sun)   #8
tonylong
do I really have to respond?
 
tonylong's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Vancouver, WA USA
Posts: 52,634
Default Re: How to convert from RAW to JPEG?

Quote:
Originally Posted by bowenbee View Post
Why don't just download Digital Photo Professional? It'll open the proprietary .CR2 Canon RAW file. http://canon-utilities-digital-photo....informer.com/
That's an interesting site, a third-party outfit offering a direct download, but using a different name (Canon Utilities Digital Photo Professional is combining two different application titles).

So, whether to trust that site and go for it, I dunno. If it works, you will still need to go to Canon to upgrade to the proper version.
__________________
Tony
Two Canon cameras (5DC, 30D), three Canon lenses (24-105, 100-400, 100mm macro)
Tony Long Photos on PBase
Wildlife project pics here, Biking Photog shoots here, "Suburbia" project here! Mount St. Helens, Mount Hood pics here
tonylong is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th of March 2011 (Sun)   #9
MT Stringer
Goldmember
 
MT Stringer's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Channelview, Tx
Posts: 4,610
Default Re: How to convert from RAW to JPEG?

I guess when you searched the Canon USA website you overlooked the DPP download, huh?
http://www.usa.canon.com/cusa/suppor...ameras/eos_60d
__________________
MaxPreps Profile

MT Stringer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th of March 2011 (Sun)   #10
exwintech
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Croydon Park, Sydney, Australia
Posts: 551
Default Re: How to convert from RAW to JPEG?

K6AZ - That warning was no reflection on the site referred to. I'm running the app in Wine on Linux, so I don't know whether it's infected with things that'd harm a Windows install or not.

But I spent over 11 years as a Windows tech in suburban dealerships - and a lot of the "repair" jobs there were disinfestings of Windows - or "save the data, and reinstall Windows" - so long as the client brought in their Windows, Office, and other apps CDs. That's where the "exwintech" tag is from.

So I've seen a few infested installs, and wouldn't wish that on anyone. So in whichever Forum I'm on - quite a few - if I suggest that folk with Windows download something to install and try - the "rider" - check it with their AV before installing - goes with it.

Most folk on a tech-related Forum like this, would know about it and do that anyway. But there are some newer Members, who might also be a bit newer with PCs, too...

So - good to know the RAWdrop executable is currently clean... But I'd check it anyway. It might leave their site, clean - but a "something" might join it on the way...

I had MS products since 1983 - PC-DOS, then Micro-Soft DOS, on a "Genuine IBM" Twin-Slotter - no HDD, no TSR programs, through to the early 2000s. So I learnt most of my skills on MS O/S sofware, did both of my Trade Courses (2), my College Certs (3), and the CompTIA A+ (twice - Win 95 / NT 3 and 4, then NT 5.0/Win2k and 5.1/XP in 2001) - so do have a reasonable grounding in Windows - up to XP SP3. I haven't had a Vista or Win-7 PC.

Dave.
exwintech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th of March 2011 (Sun)   #11
K6AZ
Cream of the Crop
 
K6AZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Richmond VA USA
Posts: 10,229
Default Re: How to convert from RAW to JPEG?

Well, I don't date back that far, only back to MS DOS 3.

I just thought I'd throw it out there from a second member that the Windows application is free.

BTW, I only use Linux for my servers. I prefer Windows for my everyday boxes.
__________________
Flickr
K6AZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th of March 2011 (Sun)   #12
NinetyEight
"Banned for life"
 
NinetyEight's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Bath - England
Posts: 3,060
Default Re: How to convert from RAW to JPEG?

Quote:
Originally Posted by MT Stringer View Post
I guess when you searched the Canon USA website you overlooked the DPP download, huh?
http://www.usa.canon.com/cusa/suppor...ameras/eos_60d
This still won't install unless a previous version is, or has been installed - See Tony's post (#3) above

Alternatively you can download the full version 1 from HERE and then update from the Canon web site
__________________
Kev

Last edited by NinetyEight : 20th of March 2011 (Sun) at 04:02. Reason: added link
NinetyEight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th of March 2011 (Sun)   #13
macroimage
Goldmember
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 2,159
Default Re: How to convert from RAW to JPEG?

Canon offers the full version of ZoombrowserEX 6.6.0b at:
http://www.usa.canon.com/cusa/suppor...ersAndSoftware

The file you want is ZB660INST_E.exe. This is the full installer, not the updater. You will have to type in your camera serial number to get this file. Once ZoombrowserEX is installed, you can install any of the other Canon updaters like DPP 3.9.3 and EOS Utility 2.9.0.

To keep it really simple, just opening one of the raw files in ZoombrowserEX and clicking "Display Original Image" at the bottom of the picture will convert the raw file to what the original in-camera JPG would have been. You can then use the file menu to save it as a TIF, JPG, BMP, or print it.

Last edited by macroimage : 20th of March 2011 (Sun) at 15:58.
macroimage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th of March 2011 (Sun)   #14
tonylong
do I really have to respond?
 
tonylong's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Vancouver, WA USA
Posts: 52,634
Default Re: How to convert from RAW to JPEG?

That's a good link to have, macroimage! Thanks!
__________________
Tony
Two Canon cameras (5DC, 30D), three Canon lenses (24-105, 100-400, 100mm macro)
Tony Long Photos on PBase
Wildlife project pics here, Biking Photog shoots here, "Suburbia" project here! Mount St. Helens, Mount Hood pics here
tonylong is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th of March 2011 (Sun)   #15
mrbubbles
Senior Member
 
mrbubbles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: NJ, USA
Posts: 1,090
Default Re: How to convert from RAW to JPEG?

Googles Picasa software is free and will accept CR2 files.
__________________
Gear List
Zenfolio
Flickr
mrbubbles is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How do I convert a .psd to jpeg? Specs RAW, Post Processing and Printing 12 26th of February 2014 (Wed) 03:33
Convert .DGN to .JPEG Peerie RAW, Post Processing and Printing 4 11th of May 2009 (Mon) 18:39
DPP..convert to JPEG Matt30D RAW, Post Processing and Printing 3 21st of December 2007 (Fri) 13:03
Shooting JPEG or RAW and convert to JPEG pharris RAW, Post Processing and Printing 10 25th of December 2005 (Sun) 23:00
How do I convert TIF to JPEG ? ? ? urycyon Canon EOS Digital Cameras 7 25th of October 2003 (Sat) 06:42


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 17:12.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.12
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
This forum is not affiliated with Canon in any way and is run as a free user helpsite by Pekka Saarinen, Helsinki Finland. You will need to register in order to be able to post messages. Cookies are required for registering and posting. HTML in messages is not allowed, plain website addresses are automatically made active by the board.