Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Read More.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon G-series Digital Cameras
Thread started 02 May 2011 (Monday) 19:53
Prev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)

Canon G12 LCD screen replacement?

 
love_ekim
Hatchling
1 post
Joined May 2011
May 02, 2011 19:53 |  #1

Hello, I just bought a canon G12 4 months ago but somehow the LCD screen broke. I cannot see a thing and the pictures come out white. I ordered a new LCD screen from the canon parts department in New Jersey because sending it to the main parts department and having ca repair it will cost much more, I figured. I also have a warranty but i was positive they would still make me pay for the damage so i decided to just order a new lcd screen. I realize a new problem... I have to replace the LCD screen myself AND get the camera to work properly. I have read some articles online where people that replaced the LCD screen on other cameras have met new problems after the replacement with the camera. Will i be able to just unscrew the lcd screen and replace it with a new one... because thats what i was planning and hoping to do. What should I do? should i cancel my order?

Please help! I'm devastated!!! :cry:




LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)
Geodude
Member
55 posts
Joined Oct 2010
United Kingdom
May 04, 2011 14:40 |  #2

love_ekim wrote in post #12335774external link
Hello, I just bought a canon G12 4 months ago but somehow the LCD screen broke. I cannot see a thing and the pictures come out white. I ordered a new LCD screen from the canon parts department in New Jersey because sending it to the main parts department and having ca repair it will cost much more, I figured. I also have a warranty but i was positive they would still make me pay for the damage so i decided to just order a new lcd screen. I realize a new problem... I have to replace the LCD screen myself AND get the camera to work properly. I have read some articles online where people that replaced the LCD screen on other cameras have met new problems after the replacement with the camera. Will i be able to just unscrew the lcd screen and replace it with a new one... because thats what i was planning and hoping to do. What should I do? should i cancel my order?

Please help! I'm devastated!!! :cry:

Terrible news :(

I'd cancel the order and send it into a Canon repair centre and bite the bullet as they know what they are doing......best to spend a few more $$$$$$$$$$$$$$ because the camera will 1. work when it comes back physically and any electronic's 2. last along time for you to carry on taking superb photo's. Don't scrimp on this..not worth it.




LOG IN TO REPLY
CarloY
Senior Member
607 posts
Joined Sep 2009
May 04, 2011 15:35 as a reply to Geodude's post |  #3

love_ekim,
Assuming G12 has a tethered mode as previous G's, try connecting to your PC/other via USB cable.

Test out what still works. Take some pics using RemoteCapture software (or whatever it's called now), and review them on the PC.

Also test out Windows browsing of the SD Card while it is in the camera (windows explorer).

Lastly, connect the Video Out port to your TV. I think in that mode you will actually see the camera settings and menus as well as previewing/shooting display to take a picture. Again test out what works and make notes of what's wrong.

If all of the above works normally, then maybe nothing else has been affected and you can simply swap out the LCD component.


G9's... enthusiast and hobby clicker... toying w/ Canon 2x Tele & Raynox .7x Wide.

LOG IN TO REPLY
Mortimer62
Junior Member
24 posts
Joined Nov 2010
May 04, 2011 19:10 |  #4

love_ekim wrote in post #12335774external link
the LCD screen broke. I cannot see a thing and the pictures come out white.

As said above, connect your G12 to your TV set with the AV Cable wich is in the box.
The picture is the same as the screen one.

In your situation, a Canon Repair Centre seems to be the best choice.




LOG IN TO REPLY
ZoneV
Goldmember
Joined Dec 2010
Germany
May 05, 2011 05:21 |  #5

On my DIY link directory you could find How Tos for other Canon compact cameras. If the rest of the camera works godd, you should check out these, and estimate if you could do that.

I would do it on myself.


DIY-Homepageexternal link - Image Galleryexternal link - Gear List

LOG IN TO REPLY
oneil23
Hatchling
2 posts
Joined Jan 2011
May 09, 2011 04:32 |  #6

Thanks ZoneV for sharing your DIY link directory. I really need to try fixing this stuff on my own. I guess I could do it if only I have some ideas or guides to follow.


find employment historyexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)

4,880 views & 0 likes for this thread
Canon G12 LCD screen replacement?
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon G-series Digital Cameras


Not a member yet? Click here to register to the forums.
Registered members get all the features: search, following threads, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, settings, view hosted photos, own reviews and more...


AAA

Send feedback to staff    •   Jump to forum...    •   Rules    •   Index    •   New posts    •   RTAT    •   'Best of'    •   Gallery    •   Gear    •   Reviews    •   Polls

COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Privacy policy and cookie usage info.

POWERED BY AMASS 1.4version 1.4
made in Finland
by Pekka Saarinen
for photography-on-the.net
Spent 0.00082 for 4 database queries.
PAGE COMPLETED IN 0.02s
Latest registered member is Studio 63
754 guests, 625 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 5577, that happened on Mar 02, 2016