Canon Digital Photography Forums  

Go Back   Canon Digital Photography Forums > 'Equipment Talk' section > Canon EOS Digital Cameras
Register Rules FAQ Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 24th of May 2011 (Tue)   #1
tomko0
Member
 
tomko0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 40
Default iPad 2 as monitor for 60D???

Can an IPad 2 be hooked up as a monitor for a 60D to help with focusing while shooting video?
__________________
70D, Canon 100-400 Sigma 18-50
tomko0 is offline   Reply With Quote
This ad block will go away when you log in as member
Old 25th of May 2011 (Wed)   #2
freshcargo
Member
 
freshcargo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 361
Default Re: iPad 2 as monitor for 60D???

I don't think so, the iPad is very limited as a tool.

I have no idea why Apple restrict so many features that cheap alternatives have.

I can shoot stills directly to my iPadII by using the eye-fi card. The eye-fi software is very unstable.

See http://www.eye.fi/

Matt
__________________
1DsMk III, 5DII, 17-40L. 135L. 70-200mmL II. 50mm F/1.4
freshcargo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th of May 2011 (Wed)   #3
FlyingPhotog
Cream of the "Prop"
 
FlyingPhotog's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Probably Chasing Aircraft
Posts: 57,560
Default Re: iPad 2 as monitor for 60D???

Besides which, I don't believe the 60D can pass Liveview out the HDMI port.
__________________
"If you aren't getting extraordinary images from today's dSLRs, regardless of brand, it's not the camera!" - Bill Fortney, Nikon Corp.
FlyingPhotog is offline   Reply With Quote
This ad block will go away when you log in as member
Old 25th of May 2011 (Wed)   #4
T2IBob
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 17
Default Re: iPad 2 as monitor for 60D???

Maybe a little off topic but related I hope. I use the EOS Utility on a netbook I bought cheap off of CList. It does require tether but I get a 10" display screen prior to clicking the shutter.

I believe the Eye-Fi solution is only an after the fact preview but I'm not positive.
__________________
Bob
---------------------
T2i | BG-E8 Gripped | Canon 18-55 Kit | Canon 55-250 IS | Canon Nifty 50 f/1.4
T2IBob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th of May 2011 (Wed)   #5
newworld666
Goldmember
 
newworld666's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: on earth
Posts: 2,303
Default Re: iPad 2 as monitor for 60D???

Asus EP121 ... should be a better alternative USB port, Win7, 12"
__________________
Marc
5DMKII+1Dx 24L1.4II 85L1.2II 180L3.5 300F2.8nonIS TC2XII ..... Sigma14F2.8AFDG, Zuiko 500F/8 Reflex
http://myc-photos.eu
newworld666 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th of May 2011 (Wed)   #6
JAnders
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 223
Default Re: iPad 2 as monitor for 60D???

I haven't played around a whole lot with the 60D and iPad, but I believe you can only download images from the camera to the device. You can't even simply browse full sized images from
the SD card.

I would be interested to hear otherwise.
JAnders is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th of May 2011 (Wed)   #7
TijmenDal
Senior Member
 
TijmenDal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Amsterdam, Netherlands
Posts: 1,210
Default Re: iPad 2 as monitor for 60D???

Quote:
Originally Posted by FlyingPhotog View Post
Besides which, I don't believe the 60D can pass Liveview out the HDMI port.
Can.

And no, iPad can't function as a monitor. Just get a cheap 150$ monitor.
Something like this:
http://cheesycam.com/7-hdmi-lcd-for-130/
TijmenDal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th of October 2011 (Tue)   #8
saristeguieta
Member
 
saristeguieta's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Knoxville TN
Posts: 198
Default Re: iPad 2 as monitor for 60D???

I am not sure if it will work, but if you jailbreak the IPad and install an app called Mywi (I think) and then use wifi cards on your camera, you'll probably be able to see the pictures in the IPad.

Disclaimer: I read the this procedure somewhere. Don't know if it will work. Heck I don't even have an iPad or a 60D.
__________________
SIMON
syartphoto@gmail.com
Selling Canon 30D; see http://photography-on-the.net/forum/...=saristeguieta
saristeguieta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th of December 2011 (Fri)   #9
horchard
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 1
Default Re: iPad 2 as monitor for 60D???

The 60D doesn't have live shoot function where you can use an external screen, but i think you can with the HDMI Port.

But what you can do, is use this accessory from Apple, which allows you to insert your SD card, or plug your camera into it with USB. But you will have to turn you camera on USB mode, its a great way just to stop shoots and show clients the photos on a bigger screen on a neat little iPad!

Heres the accesory!

http://store.apple.com/uk/product/MC...de=MTc0MjU4NjE
horchard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th of December 2011 (Fri)   #10
John from PA
Cream of the Crop
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Southeast Pennsylvania
Posts: 5,205
Default Re: iPad 2 as monitor for 60D???

iPad 2 doesn't even allow you to put pictures on it for viewing without a lot of work! I have about 400 shots from my niece's wedding and reception in the Virgin Islands that I'd like to put onto the ipad2 but gave up. Everyone tells me that I can email them to myself but that isn't practical becuase of files size considerations. Crazy, but I can easily put them on my Garmin GPS.
John from PA is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 30th of December 2011 (Fri)   #11
Veemac
Goldmember
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Arizona, USA
Posts: 2,100
Default Re: iPad 2 as monitor for 60D???

Quote:
Originally Posted by John from PA View Post
iPad 2 doesn't even allow you to put pictures on it for viewing without a lot of work! I have about 400 shots from my niece's wedding and reception in the Virgin Islands that I'd like to put onto the ipad2 but gave up. Everyone tells me that I can email them to myself but that isn't practical becuase of files size considerations. Crazy, but I can easily put them on my Garmin GPS.
Should be pretty easy if you're using iTunes to sync. Under photos, choose the folders they're in to be synced to your iPad.
__________________
Mac
-Stuff I Use-
Veemac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th of December 2011 (Fri)   #12
newworld666
Goldmember
 
newworld666's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: on earth
Posts: 2,303
Default Re: iPad 2 as monitor for 60D???

With android now, with can control 100% of the dslr on a galaxy tab 10.1 or Galaxy Note .. really comfortable for focus stacking too ..
I really recommend that solution with "DSLR controller" exactly like EOS Utility but with android

All pictures best viewed in FullHD mode, by clicking on pictures ..



and my very first test with 28 pictures



Much more comfortable with 5,3" to control stacking
__________________
Marc
5DMKII+1Dx 24L1.4II 85L1.2II 180L3.5 300F2.8nonIS TC2XII ..... Sigma14F2.8AFDG, Zuiko 500F/8 Reflex
http://myc-photos.eu

Last edited by newworld666 : 30th of December 2011 (Fri) at 11:39.
newworld666 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th of December 2011 (Fri)   #13
Mike K
Senior Member
 
Mike K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: San Francisco area
Posts: 1,637
Default Re: iPad 2 as monitor for 60D???

The IPad needs a computer as and interface to the camera.
However, there are several portable monitors for dSLR use. The HDMI output will show whatever is normally on the LCD. Several self powered dSLR monitors have been developed for video dSLR use, and with live view can be used for real time composition and manual focus as well. 5-7" size is pretty popular, and they usually come with a ballhead for mounting in the flash shoe.
http://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/search...tialSearch=yes

http://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/produc...D_Monitor.html

http://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/produc...On_Camera.html

http://www.amazon.com/Lilliput-monit...5275150&sr=8-1

The Marshall and Sony models come with focus peaking, a poppular video feature, see description here
http://www.luminous-landscape.com/re..._monitor.shtml
__________________
Canon 6D, 1DmkII, IR modified 5DII with lots of Canon L, TSE and Zeiss ZE lenses
Mike K is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th of December 2011 (Fri)   #14
archpictures
Member
 
archpictures's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 165
Default Re: iPad 2 as monitor for 60D???

Quote:
Originally Posted by newworld666 View Post
With android now, with can control 100% of the dslr on a galaxy tab 10.1 or Galaxy Note .. really comfortable for focus stacking too ..
I really recommend that solution with "DSLR controller" exactly like EOS Utility but with android

All pictures best viewed in FullHD mode, by clicking on pictures ..



and my very first test with 28 pictures



Much more comfortable with 5,3" to control stacking
nice!
focusing seems to be better with it on?
__________________

is photography an art, or sport?
archpictures is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th of December 2011 (Fri)   #15
John from PA
Cream of the Crop
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Southeast Pennsylvania
Posts: 5,205
Default Re: iPad 2 as monitor for 60D???

veemac, "Under photos, choose the folders they're in to be synced to your iPad." My issue is getting them onto the iPad which is cumbersome at best with 1-2 gig of pictures. With a Samsung Galaxy there is an adapter that will accept a direct plug in of an SDHC card. To me it just seems that Apple is lacking in connectivity options.
John from PA is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
monitor as good as the Ipad's tkbslc Computers 25 19th of March 2011 (Sat) 12:18


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 15:49.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.12
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
This forum is not affiliated with Canon in any way and is run as a free user helpsite by Pekka Saarinen, Helsinki Finland. You will need to register in order to be able to post messages. Cookies are required for registering and posting. HTML in messages is not allowed, plain website addresses are automatically made active by the board.