Canon Digital Photography Forums  

Go Back   Canon Digital Photography Forums > 'Equipment Talk' section > Small Flash and Studio Lighting
Register Rules FAQ Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 8th of June 2011 (Wed)   #1
jmaher
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Sarasota, FL
Posts: 172
Default Bracket for Kacey Beauty Dish?

I am thinking about purchasing a Kacey Beauty Dish and I am not sure I need the bracket they sell. I have A Cheetah 24 softbox and was thinking about using the bracket from that. Would that work? It would make it a less expensive option.
jmaher is offline   Reply With Quote
This ad block will go away when you log in as member
Old 8th of June 2011 (Wed)   #2
bobbyz
Cream of the Crop
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 16,237
Default Re: Bracket for Kacey Beauty Dish?

I assume you using speedlites. Get the kacey bracket.
__________________
5dmk3, 6d, Sigma Art 35mm f1.4, 35L, 85mm f1.4, 85L II, 24-70mm f2.8 II, 70-200mm f2.8 IS II
bobbyz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th of June 2011 (Wed)   #3
m.shalaby
Goldmember
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 3,440
Default Re: Bracket for Kacey Beauty Dish?

I use the Cheetah Stand one, and ordered the Kacey Beauty Dish with a Bowens mount.

The Cheetah Stand bracket is excellent.
m.shalaby is offline   Reply With Quote
This ad block will go away when you log in as member
Old 8th of June 2011 (Wed)   #4
Blackey Cole
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 313
Default Re: Bracket for Kacey Beauty Dish?

I know of two other brackets. I have two of the Strobies brackets from iNterfit. I also have a 16" BD in a Bowens mount. The other bracket is very similar to the one I have but it only has a lower support whereas the Strobies has full support top bottom and rear. I even bought a couple of speed rings for the Bowen mount. I haven't purchased the softboxes I want yet.
Blackey Cole is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th of June 2011 (Wed)   #5
jmaher
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Sarasota, FL
Posts: 172
Default Re: Bracket for Kacey Beauty Dish?

Thanks for your responses. The Kacey bracket looks good as does the separate Cheetah one. However I am in a less is more frame of mine. The bracket that comes with the Cheetah Q Box 24 seems to work well and has 4 bolts hols that look standard. Is there any reason this couldn't be used for both?

Last edited by jmaher : 8th of June 2011 (Wed) at 15:55.
jmaher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th of June 2011 (Wed)   #6
dmward
Cream of the Crop
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Metro Chicago
Posts: 7,036
Default Re: Bracket for Kacey Beauty Dish?

Not sure how much the Kacey dish weights but I doubt the Q box bracket is intended to hold up that weight. The Kacey bracket seems a much better choice with the Cheetah Pro bracket a close second.
dmward is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th of June 2011 (Wed)   #7
tetrode
I am a walking repository of thoroughly useless information
 
tetrode's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: New York
Posts: 3,768
Default Re: Bracket for Kacey Beauty Dish?

Quote:
Originally Posted by jmaher View Post
Thanks for your responses. The Kacey bracket looks good as does the separate Cheetah one. However I am in a less is more frame of mine. The bracket that comes with the Cheetah Q Box 24 seems to work well and has 4 bolts hols that look standard. Is there any reason this couldn't be used for both?
Nope; won't work. The holes in the QBox24 bracket are spaced approximately 107mm apart. The holes in Jerry Kacey's BD and, of course, his bracket are spaced approximately 135mm apart.

Dave F.
tetrode is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th of June 2011 (Wed)   #8
JakAHearts
Cream of the Crop
 
JakAHearts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Silver Spring, MD
Posts: 5,991
Default Re: Bracket for Kacey Beauty Dish?

Quote:
Originally Posted by m.shalaby View Post
I use the Cheetah Stand one, and ordered the Kacey Beauty Dish with a Bowens mount.

The Cheetah Stand bracket is excellent.
You ordered it and it works or you ordered it and havent received it yet? Im intereted in this as well. I want a BD but the Kacey bracket, while Im sure is nice, is quite pricey.
JakAHearts is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 9th of June 2011 (Thu)   #9
m.shalaby
Goldmember
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 3,440
Default Re: Bracket for Kacey Beauty Dish?

Quote:
Originally Posted by JakAHearts View Post
You ordered it and it works or you ordered it and havent received it yet? Im intereted in this as well. I want a BD but the Kacey bracket, while Im sure is nice, is quite pricey.
my personal experice with both are they are great items. they work very well together.
m.shalaby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th of June 2011 (Thu)   #10
JakAHearts
Cream of the Crop
 
JakAHearts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Silver Spring, MD
Posts: 5,991
Default Re: Bracket for Kacey Beauty Dish?

Quote:
Originally Posted by m.shalaby View Post
my personal experice with both are they are great items. they work very well together.
Cool, thank ya!
JakAHearts is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Kacey Enterprises Unveils New Beauty Dish & Flash Bracket TMR Design Small Flash and Studio Lighting 365 17th of September 2011 (Sat) 20:49
Kacey Enterprises Beauty Reflector (aka Beauty Dish) ocabj Small Flash and Studio Lighting 46 2nd of May 2011 (Mon) 13:23
Kacey Beauty Dish vs. Ebay Dish thoughts? m.shalaby Small Flash and Studio Lighting 13 2nd of April 2011 (Sat) 21:41
Kacey 22" Beauty Dish vs. Cheeta Speed Pro 16" Beauty Dish ?? m.shalaby Small Flash and Studio Lighting 68 14th of February 2011 (Mon) 08:24


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 20:04.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.12
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
This forum is not affiliated with Canon in any way and is run as a free user helpsite by Pekka Saarinen, Helsinki Finland. You will need to register in order to be able to post messages. Cookies are required for registering and posting. HTML in messages is not allowed, plain website addresses are automatically made active by the board.