Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Read More.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras
Thread started 19 Jul 2011 (Tuesday) 07:05
Prev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)

SD Card "Write Protected"

 
Steve ­ Campbell
Senior Member
449 posts
Joined Nov 2010
Jul 19, 2011 07:05 |  #1

I fired off a few shots with my 60D last night and then downlowded them onto my computer via a built in card reader. I then removed the card and put it back in my camera. I attempted to delete all images from the card but I recieved a message on the rear display saying the card was Write Protected. I could not format the card either. What's going on?


Gear List
5D Mark III |5D Mark II | 7D | 70-200 2.8L IS II | 24-105 | 17-40 | 300 f2.8L IS |35 1.4L | 50 1.8 | | 24 3.5 TSE II |
Speedlite 430 EX II |

LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)
Fiddlefingers
Member
Fiddlefingers's Avatar
195 posts
Joined Dec 2008
Scotland
Jul 19, 2011 07:28 |  #2

If the lock switch hasn't been moved to lock the card then it could well be that the card has been corrupted. One of the ways this can happen is removing the card before using the Safely Remove option in the task bar.


http://www.tomgilland.​co.ukexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
Steve ­ Campbell
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
449 posts
Joined Nov 2010
Jul 19, 2011 07:50 as a reply to Fiddlefingers's post |  #3

Is the card ruined? Anything I can do?


Gear List
5D Mark III |5D Mark II | 7D | 70-200 2.8L IS II | 24-105 | 17-40 | 300 f2.8L IS |35 1.4L | 50 1.8 | | 24 3.5 TSE II |
Speedlite 430 EX II |

LOG IN TO REPLY
Fiddlefingers
Member
Fiddlefingers's Avatar
195 posts
Joined Dec 2008
Scotland
Jul 19, 2011 08:01 |  #4

If it's corrupted then as far as I know that's the end of it. I don't use SD cards, but I believe corrupted cards aren't all that unusual. Maybe someone else can give more detailed information on what to check, or use Google to read about corrupted SD cards.


http://www.tomgilland.​co.ukexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
Citizen_Insane
Senior Member
Citizen_Insane's Avatar
453 posts
Joined Oct 2006
Ames, IA
Jul 19, 2011 08:48 |  #5

Try jiggling the switch back and forth a couple times and then try formatting it on your computer. Always make sure to use "remove hardware safely" on Win, drag to trash on Mac, or unmount on Linux before removing your card.


Gear
Flickrexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
Steve ­ Campbell
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
449 posts
Joined Nov 2010
Jul 19, 2011 09:59 as a reply to Citizen_Insane's post |  #6

Where is that on Windows 7?


Gear List
5D Mark III |5D Mark II | 7D | 70-200 2.8L IS II | 24-105 | 17-40 | 300 f2.8L IS |35 1.4L | 50 1.8 | | 24 3.5 TSE II |
Speedlite 430 EX II |

LOG IN TO REPLY
Mike
ugly when I'm sober
Mike's Avatar
15,133 posts
Gallery: 4 photos
Joined Nov 2006
Sandwich UK...the place, not the food!
Jul 19, 2011 10:03 |  #7

So did you try the suggestion of toggling the switch on the SD card?


www.mikegreenphotograp​hy.co.ukexternal link
Gear
UK South Easterners
flickrexternal link Blogexternal link 5∞pxexternal link

Quis custodiet ipsos custodes? ::: A closed mouth gathers no foot.

LOG IN TO REPLY
Fligi7
Senior Member
952 posts
Joined Dec 2010
Jul 19, 2011 10:46 |  #8

If the switch isn't the problem, you can go into Hard Disk Management on your computer, delete the partition on the card, create a new partition on the card, and try formatting again to see if that works.




LOG IN TO REPLY
DwainRowe
Senior Member
DwainRowe's Avatar
781 posts
Joined Mar 2011
Northeast Tennessee
Jul 19, 2011 12:17 |  #9

Fligi7 wrote in post #12785716external link
If the switch isn't the problem, you can go into Hard Disk Management on your computer, delete the partition on the card, create a new partition on the card, and try formatting again to see if that works.

And then format it in your camera before using.


6D | EF 17-40 f/4 L | EF 70-200 f/4 L IS | EF 50mm f1.4 USM -|- Rebel T2i | EF-S 17-55 IS | Σ 10-20 f3.5 EX DC | Σ 70-300 4-5.6 DG Macro (Yes, I am cheap) | Speedlite 580EXII | YN622c
EOS M | EFM 22 f/2

LOG IN TO REPLY
amfoto1
Cream of the Crop
10,158 posts
Joined Aug 2007
San Jose, California
Jul 19, 2011 13:05 |  #10

If you look at "Computer" on your menu you should see the memory card as a "drive" with data on it. Right click on it and choose "Eject". You might get a warning "Card is in use", but can still click "continue anyway" or something similar. You should see a pop-up that says "removeable media can be safely removed" or somthing similar.

Always do that when removing a card from the computer. (I always simply use drag and drop to transfer data from my cards, then I'm already in "Computer" to do the eject once all data is moved or copied.) It's the same as unplugging any USB device.

I agree with Dwain.... if you format the card in your computer, be sure to format it again in your camera before starting to shoot with it. In fact, it's a good habit to get in, always formatting in camera any time you put a card in... All data that was on the card prior will be lost, though. So be sure you have transfered all the images you want to keep.

If using Windows 7 64 bit and shooting RAW, you might not be able to see the images in Windows Explorer. There is an applet or codec you can buy for little money that will make the images viewable. I have it installed but can't recall the name. If using 32 bit operating system, Canon's codec should work...it's free, but there isn't a 64 bit version yet.


Alan Myers "Walk softly and carry a big lens."
5DII, 7DII(x2), 7D(x2), other cameras. 10-22mm, Tokina 12-24/4, 20/2.8, TS 24/3.5L, 24-70/2.8L, 28/1.8, 28-135 IS (x2), TS 45/2.8, 50/1.4, Tamron 60/2.0, 70-200/4L IS, 70-200/2.8 IS, 85/1.8, Tamron 90/2.5 Macro, 100/2.8 USM, 100-400L II, 135/2L, 180/3.5L, 300/4L IS, 300/2.8L IS, 500/4L IS, EF 1.4X II, EF 2X II. Flashes, studio strobes & various access. - FLICKR (external link) - EXPOSUREMANAGER (external link)

LOG IN TO REPLY
Steve ­ Campbell
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
449 posts
Joined Nov 2010
Jul 19, 2011 15:40 as a reply to amfoto1's post |  #11

I just tried moving that little switch and the damn thing fell off! I think this card is a write off. Thanks for the help all the same.


Gear List
5D Mark III |5D Mark II | 7D | 70-200 2.8L IS II | 24-105 | 17-40 | 300 f2.8L IS |35 1.4L | 50 1.8 | | 24 3.5 TSE II |
Speedlite 430 EX II |

LOG IN TO REPLY
Calicajun
Goldmember
Calicajun's Avatar
Joined Jan 2008
Quartz Hill, CA
Jul 19, 2011 15:51 |  #12

Steve Campbell wrote in post #12787414external link
I just tried moving that little switch and the damn thing fell off! I think this card is a write off. Thanks for the help all the same.

What brand of SD card were you using?


Remember, Stressed spelled backward is Desserts.:)
Suggestions welcome.
5DIII, EF 50 1.4, EF 40 f2.8, EF 24-105L IS , EF 70-200 f4L IS, 580EX ll

LOG IN TO REPLY
jbsumo
Junior Member
25 posts
Joined Apr 2009
Jul 19, 2011 16:04 |  #13

Even if the switch has come away you can still use a small flat head screwdriver to push the white bit to the open position?

Used this trick a lot working in a photo lab- a lot of the cheaper brand cards tend to come apart in your hands!!!




LOG IN TO REPLY
LarryD
Senior Member
LarryD's Avatar
839 posts
Joined Jan 2009
Mojave Desert
Jul 19, 2011 16:39 as a reply to jbsumo's post |  #14

It's likely that you have simply accidently moved the little plastic "lock" on the side of the card, as has been mentioned..

Also, you may have "write protected" your images in-camera... reset the camera.

You should try and format the SD card in-camera..


.... Got some cameras; got some glass ..... I just need one more of each.....:rolleyes:

Some Snap-Shotsexternal link
http://500px.com/Larry​Dexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
equach206
Senior Member
equach206's Avatar
307 posts
Joined Mar 2011
Seattle, WA
Jul 19, 2011 18:47 |  #15

If the switch itself broke off, you can try using a small folded piece of paper to move the switch in the slot itself.


5D | 50D | 60 f/2.8 Macro | 85 f/1.8 | 17-40 f/4L | 70-200 f/2.8L | 430EX
Flickrexternal link | Facebookexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)

16,755 views & 0 likes for this thread
SD Card "Write Protected"
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras


Not a member yet? Click here to register to the forums.
Registered members get all the features: search, following threads, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, settings, view hosted photos, own reviews and more...


AAA

Send feedback to staff    •   Jump to forum...    •   Rules    •   Index    •   New posts    •   RTAT    •   'Best of'    •   Gallery    •   Gear    •   Reviews    •   Polls

COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Privacy policy and cookie usage info.

POWERED BY AMASS 1.4version 1.4
made in Finland
by Pekka Saarinen
for photography-on-the.net
Spent 0.00122 for 4 database queries.
PAGE COMPLETED IN 0.04s
Latest registered member is gustavobarrosfreitas
780 guests, 556 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 6106, that happened on Jun 09, 2016