Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Read More.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras 
Thread started 06 Aug 2011 (Saturday) 16:06
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

EOS Utility not working through a Generic USB Hub

 
globethrottle
Member
Avatar
53 posts
Joined Jan 2010
     
Aug 06, 2011 16:06 |  #1

Just cant get my new usb extension working. All I get is an MTP device not installing correctly. Without this USB-hub everything works perfectly, same for my XP partition running on WMWare player. Im on windows 7 64.

Anyone had similar problems?


Gripped Canon 400D | Pentax Me Super | 1Ds Mk II
Canon EF-S 18-55 | Canon EF 50mm f1.8 II | Tamron AF 18-270 f/3.5-6.3 Di II VC | Vivitar (Kiron) 100mm 2.8 Macro | Canon EF 24-105 f4 L IS USM

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
stsva
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
6,360 posts
Gallery: 45 photos
Likes: 284
Joined Mar 2009
Location: Northern Virginia
     
Aug 06, 2011 16:29 |  #2

I think it's very common to have errors associated with USB connections, especially when using a hub and not the plugs that are connected directly into the computer. That obviously doesn't help your issue, but points to the probable reason its happening.


Some Canon stuff and a little bit of Yongnuo.
http://www.pbase.com/s​tsva/profile (external link)
Member of the GIYF
Club and
HAMSTTR
٩ Breeders Club http://photography-on-the.net …=744235&highlig​ht=hamsttr Join today!
Image Editing OK

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
tonylong
...winded
Avatar
54,637 posts
Gallery: 60 photos
Likes: 513
Joined Sep 2007
Location: Vancouver, WA USA
     
Aug 06, 2011 16:35 |  #3

Have you tried using the hub with something else, and if so does it work properly? I assume you are trying to use it with your camera plugged in?

And, when you say "generic" is it an older USB 1 hub or a USB 2.0 hub? I don't know if that would have anything to do with your problem, but it sure would affect the speed/performance!


Tony
Two Canon cameras (5DC, 30D), three Canon lenses (24-105, 100-400, 100mm macro)
Tony Long Photos on PBase (external link)
Wildlife project pics here (external link), Biking Photog shoots here (external link), "Suburbia" project here (external link)! Mount St. Helens, Mount Hood pics here (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
globethrottle
THREAD ­ STARTER
Member
Avatar
53 posts
Joined Jan 2010
     
Aug 06, 2011 16:47 |  #4

It turns up as an Generic USB-device in system properties, and I guess its an normal 2.0 usb, and it works fine under XP with the same camera attached.


Gripped Canon 400D | Pentax Me Super | 1Ds Mk II
Canon EF-S 18-55 | Canon EF 50mm f1.8 II | Tamron AF 18-270 f/3.5-6.3 Di II VC | Vivitar (Kiron) 100mm 2.8 Macro | Canon EF 24-105 f4 L IS USM

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
tonylong
...winded
Avatar
54,637 posts
Gallery: 60 photos
Likes: 513
Joined Sep 2007
Location: Vancouver, WA USA
     
Aug 06, 2011 18:44 |  #5

OK, it sounds like you are using a Mac? I don't have one, so I can't help much with that. If you are using Win7, well, I've seen different behaviors between Win7 and XP. I have an old USB thumbnail drive that comes up fine with XP but not with Win7. All the other stuff that I've used on my Win7 laptop work, just not this one device.

So, you may want to try out a newer hub. All my hubs are powered full USB 2.0 as well (the power prevents them from getting "dragged" down from USB 1 devices).


Tony
Two Canon cameras (5DC, 30D), three Canon lenses (24-105, 100-400, 100mm macro)
Tony Long Photos on PBase (external link)
Wildlife project pics here (external link), Biking Photog shoots here (external link), "Suburbia" project here (external link)! Mount St. Helens, Mount Hood pics here (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
greenjeans
Goldmember
Avatar
1,778 posts
Gallery: 233 photos
Likes: 1741
Joined Aug 2010
Location: Greenville, SC
     
Aug 06, 2011 19:19 |  #6

I'm running Win 7 64 with an old 4 port USB hub that I've had for years with no problem. My camera connection is through one of those ports. Doesn't help your problem, but they will work.


Gripped 6D, gripped 70D, gripped T3i, 24-105 F4L, 50mm 1.8 STM, 55-250mm, 18-135mm, 60mm EF-S macro, 70-200 F4L IS, 400mm F5.6L, 18-55mm IS STM, Canon 85mm 1.8, Sigma 150-600mm C., Sigma 100-400mm C, Samyang 8mm 3.5 fisheye

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
RDKirk
Adorama says I'm "packed."
Avatar
12,690 posts
Gallery: 2 photos
Likes: 373
Joined May 2004
Location: USA
     
Aug 06, 2011 19:32 |  #7

It may not be the hub, it might be the particular USB port the hub is plugged into on the computer and whether it's the proper port. I'm not fully versed with USB, but I seem to recall reading that some motherboards have shared USB ports and some have solitary USB ports, or a mix, and some software and devices won't operate on a shared port. I know that my Spyder colorimeter is touchy in that regard.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
tonylong
...winded
Avatar
54,637 posts
Gallery: 60 photos
Likes: 513
Joined Sep 2007
Location: Vancouver, WA USA
     
Aug 06, 2011 19:58 |  #8

greenjeans wrote in post #12889193 (external link)
I'm running Win 7 64 with an old 4 port USB hub that I've had for years with no problem. My camera connection is through one of those ports. Doesn't help your problem, but they will work.

I agree that hubs (or whatever) should work -- the question I would have about my little thumbnail drive is why it doesn't work, and whether this in some ways ties in to the problem the OP is having!


Tony
Two Canon cameras (5DC, 30D), three Canon lenses (24-105, 100-400, 100mm macro)
Tony Long Photos on PBase (external link)
Wildlife project pics here (external link), Biking Photog shoots here (external link), "Suburbia" project here (external link)! Mount St. Helens, Mount Hood pics here (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
xarqi
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
10,435 posts
Likes: 1
Joined Oct 2005
Location: Aotearoa/New Zealand
     
Aug 06, 2011 20:37 |  #9

It's not impossible. I have a 7-port powered USB-2 hub attached to my iMac with 4 disc drives, a printer, and a cable for uploads from my 30D. I use the 7th from time to time for a USB memory stick. I just hooked everything up and it worked. Disc-to-disc transfers are really slow, as you might expect, but that's not a frequent activity.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
globethrottle
THREAD ­ STARTER
Member
Avatar
53 posts
Joined Jan 2010
     
Aug 07, 2011 02:15 |  #10

Ok, the problem with my USB hub is that it works with anything else than the EOS utility, it even work with the EOS utility as long as Im not on my win 7 partition, so Im guessing it is some faulty drivers or something like that on this partition. Have not given up quite yet.


Gripped Canon 400D | Pentax Me Super | 1Ds Mk II
Canon EF-S 18-55 | Canon EF 50mm f1.8 II | Tamron AF 18-270 f/3.5-6.3 Di II VC | Vivitar (Kiron) 100mm 2.8 Macro | Canon EF 24-105 f4 L IS USM

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
globethrottle
THREAD ­ STARTER
Member
Avatar
53 posts
Joined Jan 2010
     
Aug 07, 2011 09:02 |  #11

Solved with alittle bit of cable-cutting, rewiring and tape. :-D Basically I just dropped the "hub" at the end of the cable.


Gripped Canon 400D | Pentax Me Super | 1Ds Mk II
Canon EF-S 18-55 | Canon EF 50mm f1.8 II | Tamron AF 18-270 f/3.5-6.3 Di II VC | Vivitar (Kiron) 100mm 2.8 Macro | Canon EF 24-105 f4 L IS USM

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

2,607 views & 0 likes for this thread
EOS Utility not working through a Generic USB Hub
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.0forum software
version 2.0 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is Nidge
823 guests, 449 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 6430, that happened on Dec 03, 2017

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.