Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras
Thread started 06 Aug 2011 (Saturday) 16:06
Prev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)

EOS Utility not working through a Generic USB Hub

 
globethrottle
Member
globethrottle's Avatar
53 posts

Joined Jan 2010
MORE INFO

Just cant get my new usb extension working. All I get is an MTP device not installing correctly. Without this USB-hub everything works perfectly, same for my XP partition running on WMWare player. Im on windows 7 64.

Anyone had similar problems?

Aug 06, 2011 16:06

Gripped Canon 400D | Pentax Me Super | 1Ds Mk II
Canon EF-S 18-55 | Canon EF 50mm f1.8 II | Tamron AF 18-270 f/3.5-6.3 Di II VC | Vivitar (Kiron) 100mm 2.8 Macro | Canon EF 24-105 f4 L IS USM

LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)
stsva
Cream of the Crop
stsva's Avatar
5,970 posts
GALLERY: 6 photos

Joined Mar 2009

Northern Virginia
MORE INFO

I think it's very common to have errors associated with USB connections, especially when using a hub and not the plugs that are connected directly into the computer. That obviously doesn't help your issue, but points to the probable reason its happening.

Aug 06, 2011 16:29

Some Canon stuff and a little bit of Yongnuo.
http://www.pbase.com/s​tsva/profileexternal link
Member of the GIYF
Club and
HAMSTTR
٩ Breeders Club http://photography-on-the.net ...=744235&highlight=h​amsttr Join today!
Image Editing OK

LOG IN TO REPLY
tonylong
"Amazingly attractive"
tonylong's Avatar
53,517 posts
GALLERY: 20 photos

Joined Sep 2007

Vancouver, WA USA
MORE INFO

Have you tried using the hub with something else, and if so does it work properly? I assume you are trying to use it with your camera plugged in?

And, when you say "generic" is it an older USB 1 hub or a USB 2.0 hub? I don't know if that would have anything to do with your problem, but it sure would affect the speed/performance!

Aug 06, 2011 16:35

Tony
Two Canon cameras (5DC, 30D), three Canon lenses (24-105, 100-400, 100mm macro)
Tony Long Photos on PBaseexternal link
Wildlife project pics hereexternal link, Biking Photog shoots hereexternal link, "Suburbia" project hereexternal link! Mount St. Helens, Mount Hood pics hereexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
globethrottle
THREAD ­ STARTER
Member
globethrottle's Avatar
53 posts

Joined Jan 2010
MORE INFO

It turns up as an Generic USB-device in system properties, and I guess its an normal 2.0 usb, and it works fine under XP with the same camera attached.

Aug 06, 2011 16:47

Gripped Canon 400D | Pentax Me Super | 1Ds Mk II
Canon EF-S 18-55 | Canon EF 50mm f1.8 II | Tamron AF 18-270 f/3.5-6.3 Di II VC | Vivitar (Kiron) 100mm 2.8 Macro | Canon EF 24-105 f4 L IS USM

LOG IN TO REPLY
tonylong
"Amazingly attractive"
tonylong's Avatar
53,517 posts
GALLERY: 20 photos

Joined Sep 2007

Vancouver, WA USA
MORE INFO

OK, it sounds like you are using a Mac? I don't have one, so I can't help much with that. If you are using Win7, well, I've seen different behaviors between Win7 and XP. I have an old USB thumbnail drive that comes up fine with XP but not with Win7. All the other stuff that I've used on my Win7 laptop work, just not this one device.

So, you may want to try out a newer hub. All my hubs are powered full USB 2.0 as well (the power prevents them from getting "dragged" down from USB 1 devices).

Aug 06, 2011 18:44

Tony
Two Canon cameras (5DC, 30D), three Canon lenses (24-105, 100-400, 100mm macro)
Tony Long Photos on PBaseexternal link
Wildlife project pics hereexternal link, Biking Photog shoots hereexternal link, "Suburbia" project hereexternal link! Mount St. Helens, Mount Hood pics hereexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
greenjeans
Goldmember
greenjeans's Avatar
1,084 posts
GALLERY: 6 photos

Joined Aug 2010

Greenville, SC
MORE INFO

I'm running Win 7 64 with an old 4 port USB hub that I've had for years with no problem. My camera connection is through one of those ports. Doesn't help your problem, but they will work.

Aug 06, 2011 19:19

Gripped 6D, gripped 70D, gripped T3i, 24-105 F4L, 50mm 1.8, 55-250mm, 18-135mm, 60mm EF-S macro, 70-200 F4L IS, 400mm F5.6L, 18-55mm IS STM, Sigma 150-600mm C.

LOG IN TO REPLY
RDKirk
Cream of the Crop
RDKirk's Avatar
11,797 posts

Joined May 2004

USA
MORE INFO

It may not be the hub, it might be the particular USB port the hub is plugged into on the computer and whether it's the proper port. I'm not fully versed with USB, but I seem to recall reading that some motherboards have shared USB ports and some have solitary USB ports, or a mix, and some software and devices won't operate on a shared port. I know that my Spyder colorimeter is touchy in that regard.

Aug 06, 2011 19:32



LOG IN TO REPLY
tonylong
"Amazingly attractive"
tonylong's Avatar
53,517 posts
GALLERY: 20 photos

Joined Sep 2007

Vancouver, WA USA
MORE INFO

greenjeans wrote in post #12889193external link
I'm running Win 7 64 with an old 4 port USB hub that I've had for years with no problem. My camera connection is through one of those ports. Doesn't help your problem, but they will work.

I agree that hubs (or whatever) should work -- the question I would have about my little thumbnail drive is why it doesn't work, and whether this in some ways ties in to the problem the OP is having!

Aug 06, 2011 19:58

Tony
Two Canon cameras (5DC, 30D), three Canon lenses (24-105, 100-400, 100mm macro)
Tony Long Photos on PBaseexternal link
Wildlife project pics hereexternal link, Biking Photog shoots hereexternal link, "Suburbia" project hereexternal link! Mount St. Helens, Mount Hood pics hereexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
xarqi
Cream of the Crop
xarqi's Avatar
10,435 posts

Joined Oct 2005

Aotearoa/New Zealand
MORE INFO

It's not impossible. I have a 7-port powered USB-2 hub attached to my iMac with 4 disc drives, a printer, and a cable for uploads from my 30D. I use the 7th from time to time for a USB memory stick. I just hooked everything up and it worked. Disc-to-disc transfers are really slow, as you might expect, but that's not a frequent activity.

Aug 06, 2011 20:37



LOG IN TO REPLY
globethrottle
THREAD ­ STARTER
Member
globethrottle's Avatar
53 posts

Joined Jan 2010
MORE INFO

Ok, the problem with my USB hub is that it works with anything else than the EOS utility, it even work with the EOS utility as long as Im not on my win 7 partition, so Im guessing it is some faulty drivers or something like that on this partition. Have not given up quite yet.

Aug 07, 2011 02:15

Gripped Canon 400D | Pentax Me Super | 1Ds Mk II
Canon EF-S 18-55 | Canon EF 50mm f1.8 II | Tamron AF 18-270 f/3.5-6.3 Di II VC | Vivitar (Kiron) 100mm 2.8 Macro | Canon EF 24-105 f4 L IS USM

LOG IN TO REPLY
globethrottle
THREAD ­ STARTER
Member
globethrottle's Avatar
53 posts

Joined Jan 2010
MORE INFO

Solved with alittle bit of cable-cutting, rewiring and tape. :-D Basically I just dropped the "hub" at the end of the cable.

Aug 07, 2011 09:02

Gripped Canon 400D | Pentax Me Super | 1Ds Mk II
Canon EF-S 18-55 | Canon EF 50mm f1.8 II | Tamron AF 18-270 f/3.5-6.3 Di II VC | Vivitar (Kiron) 100mm 2.8 Macro | Canon EF 24-105 f4 L IS USM

LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)

1,439 views & 0 likes for this thread
EOS Utility not working through a Generic USB Hub
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras

NOT A MEMBER YET? CLICK HERE TO REGISTER TO THE FORUMS
Registered members get all the features: search, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, own reviews...




Send feedback to staff    •   Jump to forum...    •   Rules    •   Index    •   New posts    •   RTAT    •   'Best of'    •   Gallery    •   Gear    •   Reviews    •   Polls

COOKIES DISCLAIMER: By using this site you agree that some cookies will be stored on your browser. For unlogged users we store one session id cookie. For registered members we store (in addition to login session cookie) only cookies that are essential for required functionality. We do not store any personal tracking data in cookies or other browsers' data storage methods.

POWERED BY AMASS 1.33version 1.33
made in Finland
by Pekka Saarinen
for photography-on-the.net
Spent 0.00106 for 4 database queries.
PAGE COMPLETED IN 0.03s
Latest registered member is STARS1984
517 guests, 447 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 5175, that happened on Jun 16, 2015