Canon Digital Photography Forums  

Go Back   Canon Digital Photography Forums > 'Sharing Knowhow' section > RAW, Post Processing and Printing
Register Rules FAQ Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 21st of August 2011 (Sun)   #1
Steven Dieter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 3
Default Editing metadata

This may be a silly question, or one already answered, but do any of the Canon programs (Digital Photo Professional, for example) allow for editing metadata, or can it only be done through Photoshop?

I seem to recall that Nikon's Capture NX2 allows for metadata to be edited at the same time as processing, but I could be mistaken.

I'm just trying to simplify the number of steps and programs needed.

Thanks in advance.
Steven Dieter is offline   Reply With Quote
This ad block will go away when you log in as member
Old 21st of August 2011 (Sun)   #2
tzalman
Fatal attraction.
 
tzalman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Gesher Haziv, Israel
Posts: 12,544
Default Re: Editing metadata

Quote:
Originally Posted by Steven Dieter View Post
This may be a silly question, or one already answered, but do any of the Canon programs (Digital Photo Professional, for example) allow for editing metadata, or can it only be done through Photoshop?
It can be done in many programs, but DPP is not one of them.
__________________
Elie / אלי
"If you presume to love something, you must love the process of it much more than you love the finished product." John Irving, 5/2012. "In theory there is no difference between practice and theory, but in practice there is." Yogi Berra
Site
tzalman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st of August 2011 (Sun)   #3
Steven Dieter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 3
Default Re: Editing metadata

I know it can be done in Photoshop. I was wondering if there was the ability to do it in one of the Canon software packages.
Steven Dieter is offline   Reply With Quote
This ad block will go away when you log in as member
Old 21st of August 2011 (Sun)   #4
tonylong
do I really have to respond?
 
tonylong's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Vancouver, WA USA
Posts: 52,923
Default Re: Editing metadata

Quote:
Originally Posted by Steven Dieter View Post
I know it can be done in Photoshop. I was wondering if there was the ability to do it in one of the Canon software packages.
There doesn't seem to be.

And, to be clear, when you say "Metadata" are you trying to change the shooting Exif stored by the camera, or are you trying to edit the more "descriptive" metadata that software can enter into the file? There is a difference and some apps can enter "descriptive" metadata and change it but not touch the shooting info the camera writes in.
__________________
Tony
Two Canon cameras (5DC, 30D), three Canon lenses (24-105, 100-400, 100mm macro)
Tony Long Photos on PBase
Wildlife project pics here, Biking Photog shoots here, "Suburbia" project here! Mount St. Helens, Mount Hood pics here
tonylong is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st of August 2011 (Sun)   #5
Steven Dieter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 3
Default Re: Editing metadata

Hi Tony,

I definitely don't want to change the shooting data, but the descriptors (keywoards, captions, etc.)

I guess Photoshop it is. Thanks for confirming. I appreciate the verification.

It seems odd that Canon doesn't allow that in their software, when others do.
Steven Dieter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st of August 2011 (Sun)   #6
tonylong
do I really have to respond?
 
tonylong's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Vancouver, WA USA
Posts: 52,923
Default Re: Editing metadata

Quote:
Originally Posted by Steven Dieter View Post
Hi Tony,

I definitely don't want to change the shooting data, but the descriptors (keywoards, captions, etc.)

I guess Photoshop it is. Thanks for confirming. I appreciate the verification.

It seems odd that Canon doesn't allow that in their software, when others do.
Yeah, Canon is pretty basic in what it does with the software. Oh well, for a freebie it does some pretty nice stuff.

I know the EOS Utility lets you put some metadata in if you use it to download files from your camera, but I've never used it except for some tethered shooting and I've never really delved into the Metadata part.
__________________
Tony
Two Canon cameras (5DC, 30D), three Canon lenses (24-105, 100-400, 100mm macro)
Tony Long Photos on PBase
Wildlife project pics here, Biking Photog shoots here, "Suburbia" project here! Mount St. Helens, Mount Hood pics here
tonylong is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Editing PSD files in LR kills the raw-editing capability? js09 RAW, Post Processing and Printing 10 3rd of November 2010 (Wed) 18:27
Editing / Adding to metadata jsinon Canon EOS Digital Cameras 5 15th of August 2008 (Fri) 09:44
Editing,Photoshop Editing , Video (where to find) i'm looking to up my PP skills. Tinh Ngo RAW, Post Processing and Printing 6 26th of June 2008 (Thu) 05:20
Stripping Editing History from Metadata BurBunny RAW, Post Processing and Printing 4 1st of November 2007 (Thu) 16:28
Metadata slappy sam RAW, Post Processing and Printing 0 4th of October 2007 (Thu) 23:41


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:46.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.12
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
This forum is not affiliated with Canon in any way and is run as a free user helpsite by Pekka Saarinen, Helsinki Finland. You will need to register in order to be able to post messages. Cookies are required for registering and posting. HTML in messages is not allowed, plain website addresses are automatically made active by the board.