Index  •   • New Posts  •   • RTAT  •   • "Best Of"  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
New Posts  •   • RTAT  •   • "Best Of"  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS General Gear Talk Flash and Studio Lighting
Thread started 01 Oct 2011 (Saturday) 05:16
PREV/NEXT

Tested: 2x Elinchrom D-lite 4 it and Vagabond Mini Lithium compatibility

 
toxic
Goldmember
3,498 posts
Joined Nov 2008

California
MORE INFO

I just did some quick testing with both of my D-lites hooked up to a VML (120VAC). Same power for both, from 2.0 to 6.0 (25-400 Ws). I only did each power setting a couple times, so your times might vary a tenth or two because of slight variations and human error.

Recycle time (seconds):
2.0: 0.9
3.0: 1.2
4.0: 1.6
5.0: 2.8
5.5: 3.7
5.9: 4.5

6.0 does not work, I get an E.4 (charge fault) error. This happens when going from any setting < 6.0 up to 6, or if the lights are turned on at 6.0, the error will come out after the first pop.

Also, the first pop after being turned on always takes a bit longer. The "ready" beep usually goes off twice.

Oct 01, 2011 05:16



LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)
TMR ­ Design
Cream of the Crop
TMR Design's Avatar
23,881 posts

Joined Feb 2006

Huntington Station, NY
MORE INFO

It's very important to understand that the Elinchrom E4 error is not just a glitch or indication that the strobe couldn't stabilize the voltage, but it's an indication that that the voltage drop was rather substantial, and that the inverter isn't working correctly and safely with the Elinchrom bi-voltage power supply.

This is a huge problem using inverters with bi-voltage power supplies and should not be shrugged off and 'just an error'.

PCB does not support third party strobes and this issue will not be addressed.

I realize that you can get bi-voltage strobes to work with the VML but it does not mean they are working correctly.

Honestly, I don't recommend that combination.

Oct 01, 2011 07:55

Please call me Robert or Rob, not TMR
Gear List & Feedback | The Lighting Academyexternal link
"Art is the elimination of the unnecessary." - Pablo Picasso

LOG IN TO REPLY
spacetime
Goldmember
spacetime's Avatar
1,275 posts

Joined Oct 2009
MORE INFO

Will a single D-lite4 run at full power? I have the 230VAC VML and it will run two strobes at all settings but recycle times are poor and the double beeps and LCD blanking out amongst other issues make you wonder what if any damage is occurring.

Oct 01, 2011 12:24



LOG IN TO REPLY
110yd
Senior Member
597 posts
Joined Jan 2005
MORE INFO

spacetime wrote in post #13191519external link
Will a single D-lite4 run at full power? I have the 230VAC VML and it will run two strobes at all settings but recycle times are poor and the double beeps and LCD blanking out amongst other issues make you wonder what if any damage is occurring.

I would not put two strobes that were (Multi voltage 90-260VAC) on a VML. The inverter can not safely handle the PEAK current draw of two lights, and something is going to eventually burn out, either the lights or the inverter.

Hope this helps,

110yd

Oct 01, 2011 12:57



LOG IN TO REPLY
Csae
Goldmember
Csae's Avatar
3,350 posts

Joined Nov 2008

Montreal, Canada
MORE INFO

spacetime wrote in post #13191519external link
Will a single D-lite4 run at full power? I have the 230VAC VML and it will run two strobes at all settings but recycle times are poor and the double beeps and LCD blanking out amongst other issues make you wonder what if any damage is occurring.

It does, its not recommended so use it at your own risk.

Oct 01, 2011 17:47

Feel free to call me Case.
CasePhoto.caexternal link - FanPageexternal link
-Montreal based Photography.

LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)
c2thew
Goldmember
c2thew's Avatar
3,929 posts

Joined Aug 2008

Not enough minerals.
MORE INFO

of course you can use a single d-lite 4 at full power. there shouldn't be ANY issues with one d-lite 4.

There is a youtube video that shows that 2 d-lite 4 IT's can be run off the vml which agree with the OP's post.

Oct 01, 2011 23:47

Flickrexternal link |Gear|The-Digital-Pictureexternal link|The $6 mic | MAGIC LANTERNexternal link | Welding Filter
Go Support Magic Lantern 2.3!!

LOG IN TO REPLY
TMR ­ Design
Cream of the Crop
TMR Design's Avatar
23,881 posts

Joined Feb 2006

Huntington Station, NY
MORE INFO

Except for the fact that the E4 message comes up often. The fact that the OP is getting the delays in stabilization, power relay glitching and the E4 error indicates that it's not working well at all.

If people want to ignore the error, that's on them, but I would not endorse this practice and would not call it compatible.

Oct 02, 2011 04:42 as a reply to c2thew's post 4 hours earlier.

Please call me Robert or Rob, not TMR
Gear List & Feedback | The Lighting Academyexternal link
"Art is the elimination of the unnecessary." - Pablo Picasso

LOG IN TO REPLY
eduardofrances
Senior Member
679 posts
Joined Oct 2006
MORE INFO

Robert and 110yd x2 the fact that your D-lite is telling you there is an error isn't because there is a glitch on the auto-diagnosis system of the D-lite but rather to let you know that there's potentially an issue with the inverter not being able to work properly with the D-lite that can damage your D-lite, the VML or both.

If you are getting this kind of issues I would not recommend at all using the VML with your D-lites to avoid damaging your gear.

Oct 02, 2011 05:42

http://flickr.com/phot​os/eduardofrances/external link :D

LOG IN TO REPLY
c2thew
Goldmember
c2thew's Avatar
3,929 posts

Joined Aug 2008

Not enough minerals.
MORE INFO

PCB will warranty the VML so you can take the damaging to the VML out of the equation. There is internal circuitry that should prevent the VML from overloading. I also believe that there is circuitry in the elinchrom strobes that also prevent the strobe from getting damaged. However, since there aren't any protections against the elinchrom strobe, I would use at each own's discretion

http://www.youtube.com​/watch?v=_chkTSaG1HMexternal link

Oct 02, 2011 15:13

Flickrexternal link |Gear|The-Digital-Pictureexternal link|The $6 mic | MAGIC LANTERNexternal link | Welding Filter
Go Support Magic Lantern 2.3!!

LOG IN TO REPLY
Csae
Goldmember
Csae's Avatar
3,350 posts

Joined Nov 2008

Montreal, Canada
MORE INFO

I can use 1x Dlite4 (non-it) at full power and never get a E4.

I'd rather not use both as its been long-stated the the drop in current is massive enough to cause or potentially cause issues, but i've never had -any- indications of problems with only 1.

I should mention, that i have used two of my dLites on a non-pure but high grade sinewave inverter before at full power for hundreds of pops and keep that around in case the VML fails.

The DLites aren't the squishy things they are made out to be, these are well-made and solid lights, i have had them topple to the ground light-stand and all several times and they are Still kickin.

This is all at your own risk, so judge by yourself, some people are in fact using 1 Dlite with the VML without any issues, i am one of those.

Oct 02, 2011 16:31

Feel free to call me Case.
CasePhoto.caexternal link - FanPageexternal link
-Montreal based Photography.

LOG IN TO REPLY

2,689 views & 0 likes for this thread
Tested: 2x Elinchrom D-lite 4 it and Vagabond Mini Lithium compatibility
FORUMS General Gear Talk Flash and Studio Lighting

NOT A MEMBER YET? CLICK HERE TO REGISTER TO THE FORUMS
Registered members get all the features: search, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, own reviews...




SEND FEEDBACK TO STAFF    •   JUMP TO FORUM    •   FORUM RULES    •   Index    •   New Posts    •   RTAT    •   "Best Of"    •   Gallery    •   Gear    •   Reviews    •   Polls

COOKIES DISCLAIMER: By using this site you agree that some cookies will be stored on your browser. For unlogged users we store one session id cookie. For registered members we store (in addition to login session cookie) only cookies that are essential for required functionality. We do not store any personal tracking data in cookies or other browsers' data storage methods.

POWERED BY AMASS 1.1version 1.1
made in Finland
by Pekka Saarinen
for photography-on-the.net
Spent 0.00189 for 4 database queries.
PAGE COMPLETED IN 0.01s
Latest registered member is Snaphoto
1043 guests, 813 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 3341, that happened on Dec 11, 2014