Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Read More.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS General Gear Talk Flash and Studio Lighting 
Thread started 01 Oct 2011 (Saturday) 05:16
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

Tested: 2x Elinchrom D-lite 4 it and Vagabond Mini Lithium compatibility

 
toxic
Goldmember
3,498 posts
Likes: 2
Joined Nov 2008
Location: California
     
Oct 01, 2011 05:16 |  #1

I just did some quick testing with both of my D-lites hooked up to a VML (120VAC). Same power for both, from 2.0 to 6.0 (25-400 Ws). I only did each power setting a couple times, so your times might vary a tenth or two because of slight variations and human error.

Recycle time (seconds):
2.0: 0.9
3.0: 1.2
4.0: 1.6
5.0: 2.8
5.5: 3.7
5.9: 4.5

6.0 does not work, I get an E.4 (charge fault) error. This happens when going from any setting < 6.0 up to 6, or if the lights are turned on at 6.0, the error will come out after the first pop.

Also, the first pop after being turned on always takes a bit longer. The "ready" beep usually goes off twice.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
TMR ­ Design
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
23,883 posts
Likes: 10
Joined Feb 2006
Location: Huntington Station, NY
     
Oct 01, 2011 07:55 |  #2

It's very important to understand that the Elinchrom E4 error is not just a glitch or indication that the strobe couldn't stabilize the voltage, but it's an indication that that the voltage drop was rather substantial, and that the inverter isn't working correctly and safely with the Elinchrom bi-voltage power supply.

This is a huge problem using inverters with bi-voltage power supplies and should not be shrugged off and 'just an error'.

PCB does not support third party strobes and this issue will not be addressed.

I realize that you can get bi-voltage strobes to work with the VML but it does not mean they are working correctly.

Honestly, I don't recommend that combination.


Robert
RobertMitchellPhotogra​phy (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
spacetime
Goldmember
Avatar
1,276 posts
Joined Oct 2009
     
Oct 01, 2011 12:24 |  #3

Will a single D-lite4 run at full power? I have the 230VAC VML and it will run two strobes at all settings but recycle times are poor and the double beeps and LCD blanking out amongst other issues make you wonder what if any damage is occurring.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
110yd
Senior Member
760 posts
Likes: 19
Joined Jan 2005
     
Oct 01, 2011 12:57 |  #4

spacetime wrote in post #13191519 (external link)
Will a single D-lite4 run at full power? I have the 230VAC VML and it will run two strobes at all settings but recycle times are poor and the double beeps and LCD blanking out amongst other issues make you wonder what if any damage is occurring.

I would not put two strobes that were (Multi voltage 90-260VAC) on a VML. The inverter can not safely handle the PEAK current draw of two lights, and something is going to eventually burn out, either the lights or the inverter.

Hope this helps,

110yd




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Csae
Goldmember
Avatar
3,350 posts
Likes: 1
Joined Nov 2008
Location: Montreal, Canada
     
Oct 01, 2011 17:47 |  #5

spacetime wrote in post #13191519 (external link)
Will a single D-lite4 run at full power? I have the 230VAC VML and it will run two strobes at all settings but recycle times are poor and the double beeps and LCD blanking out amongst other issues make you wonder what if any damage is occurring.

It does, its not recommended so use it at your own risk.


Feel free to call me Case.
CasePhoto.ca (external link) - FanPage (external link)
-Montreal based Photography.

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
c2thew
Goldmember
Avatar
3,929 posts
Likes: 4
Joined Aug 2008
Location: Not enough minerals.
     
Oct 01, 2011 23:47 |  #6

of course you can use a single d-lite 4 at full power. there shouldn't be ANY issues with one d-lite 4.

There is a youtube video that shows that 2 d-lite 4 IT's can be run off the vml which agree with the OP's post.


Flickr (external link) |Gear|The-Digital-Picture (external link)|The $6 mic | MAGIC LANTERN (external link) | Welding Filter
Go Support Magic Lantern 2.3!!

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
TMR ­ Design
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
23,883 posts
Likes: 10
Joined Feb 2006
Location: Huntington Station, NY
     
Oct 02, 2011 04:42 as a reply to  @ c2thew's post |  #7

Except for the fact that the E4 message comes up often. The fact that the OP is getting the delays in stabilization, power relay glitching and the E4 error indicates that it's not working well at all.

If people want to ignore the error, that's on them, but I would not endorse this practice and would not call it compatible.


Robert
RobertMitchellPhotogra​phy (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
eduardofrances
Senior Member
679 posts
Joined Oct 2006
     
Oct 02, 2011 05:42 |  #8

Robert and 110yd x2 the fact that your D-lite is telling you there is an error isn't because there is a glitch on the auto-diagnosis system of the D-lite but rather to let you know that there's potentially an issue with the inverter not being able to work properly with the D-lite that can damage your D-lite, the VML or both.

If you are getting this kind of issues I would not recommend at all using the VML with your D-lites to avoid damaging your gear.


http://flickr.com/phot​os/eduardofrances/ (external link) :D

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
c2thew
Goldmember
Avatar
3,929 posts
Likes: 4
Joined Aug 2008
Location: Not enough minerals.
     
Oct 02, 2011 15:13 |  #9

PCB will warranty the VML so you can take the damaging to the VML out of the equation. There is internal circuitry that should prevent the VML from overloading. I also believe that there is circuitry in the elinchrom strobes that also prevent the strobe from getting damaged. However, since there aren't any protections against the elinchrom strobe, I would use at each own's discretion

http://www.youtube.com​/watch?v=_chkTSaG1HM (external link)


Flickr (external link) |Gear|The-Digital-Picture (external link)|The $6 mic | MAGIC LANTERN (external link) | Welding Filter
Go Support Magic Lantern 2.3!!

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Csae
Goldmember
Avatar
3,350 posts
Likes: 1
Joined Nov 2008
Location: Montreal, Canada
     
Oct 02, 2011 16:31 |  #10

I can use 1x Dlite4 (non-it) at full power and never get a E4.

I'd rather not use both as its been long-stated the the drop in current is massive enough to cause or potentially cause issues, but i've never had -any- indications of problems with only 1.

I should mention, that i have used two of my dLites on a non-pure but high grade sinewave inverter before at full power for hundreds of pops and keep that around in case the VML fails.

The DLites aren't the squishy things they are made out to be, these are well-made and solid lights, i have had them topple to the ground light-stand and all several times and they are Still kickin.

This is all at your own risk, so judge by yourself, some people are in fact using 1 Dlite with the VML without any issues, i am one of those.


Feel free to call me Case.
CasePhoto.ca (external link) - FanPage (external link)
-Montreal based Photography.

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

4,842 views & 0 likes for this thread
Tested: 2x Elinchrom D-lite 4 it and Vagabond Mini Lithium compatibility
FORUMS General Gear Talk Flash and Studio Lighting 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.0forum software
version 2.0 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is fishesman
687 guests, 416 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 6430, that happened on Dec 03, 2017

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.