Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Read More.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Photography Talk by Genre General Photography Talk 
Thread started 03 Nov 2005 (Thursday) 12:32
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

How is this done?

 
dioptic
Senior Member
262 posts
Joined Jan 2005
     
Nov 03, 2005 12:32 |  #1

Hey guys,

Is this moving effect http://www.fotosearch.​com/DSN001/1215/ (external link)done by using:

a slow shutter speed or
is it done in photoshop or
is it a combination of the two or
is it something else?

Thanks.

dioptic




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
Jon
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
69,628 posts
Likes: 218
Joined Jun 2004
Location: Bethesda, MD USA
     
Nov 03, 2005 12:37 |  #2

It can be done with slow shutter speed and second-curtain flash.


Jon
----------
Cocker Spaniels
Maryland and Virginia activities
Image Posting Rules and Image Posting FAQ
Report SPAM, Don't Answer It! (link)
PERSONAL MESSAGING REGARDING SELLING OR BUYING ITEMS WITH MEMBERS WHO HAVE NO POSTS IN FORUMS AND/OR WHO YOU DO NOT KNOW FROM FORUMS IS HEREBY DECLARED STRICTLY STUPID AND YOU WILL GET BURNED.
PAYPAL GIFT NO LONGER ALLOWED HERE

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
dioptic
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
262 posts
Joined Jan 2005
     
Nov 03, 2005 13:42 |  #3

Thanks Jon.

What is a "second-curtain flash"?

dioptic




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Jon
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
69,628 posts
Likes: 218
Joined Jun 2004
Location: Bethesda, MD USA
     
Nov 03, 2005 13:45 |  #4

It's when your flash fires not, as usually happens, as soon as the first curtain of your shutter completely opens, but just before the second curtain of the shutter begins to close the lens; available light can affect the image up until that moment, accounting for the light trails on the sax, and the flash freezes the whole picture.


Jon
----------
Cocker Spaniels
Maryland and Virginia activities
Image Posting Rules and Image Posting FAQ
Report SPAM, Don't Answer It! (link)
PERSONAL MESSAGING REGARDING SELLING OR BUYING ITEMS WITH MEMBERS WHO HAVE NO POSTS IN FORUMS AND/OR WHO YOU DO NOT KNOW FROM FORUMS IS HEREBY DECLARED STRICTLY STUPID AND YOU WILL GET BURNED.
PAYPAL GIFT NO LONGER ALLOWED HERE

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
dioptic
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
262 posts
Joined Jan 2005
     
Nov 03, 2005 14:18 as a reply to  @ Jon's post |  #5

Jon,

Thanks again.

I use a couple of Britek Strobes with a 20D. I also have a 420EX Speedlite. Can I do what you describe with this equipment? If so, how?

Thanks.

dioptic




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Jon
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
69,628 posts
Likes: 218
Joined Jun 2004
Location: Bethesda, MD USA
     
Nov 03, 2005 14:40 |  #6

Custom Function 15-1 with the 20D and 420EX. You'll need some available light source for the "trail", and set your exposure for that; trust the flash to E-TTL the full subject exposure. You wouldn't use the Britek's unless you have digital slaves and make allowances for them in setting the FEC for the 420.


Jon
----------
Cocker Spaniels
Maryland and Virginia activities
Image Posting Rules and Image Posting FAQ
Report SPAM, Don't Answer It! (link)
PERSONAL MESSAGING REGARDING SELLING OR BUYING ITEMS WITH MEMBERS WHO HAVE NO POSTS IN FORUMS AND/OR WHO YOU DO NOT KNOW FROM FORUMS IS HEREBY DECLARED STRICTLY STUPID AND YOU WILL GET BURNED.
PAYPAL GIFT NO LONGER ALLOWED HERE

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
dioptic
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
262 posts
Joined Jan 2005
     
Nov 03, 2005 15:51 as a reply to  @ Jon's post |  #7

Jon,

Thanks.

If I can accomplish all that I'll be happy.

dioptic




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
ACDCROCKS
321 123 33
Avatar
2,931 posts
Joined Sep 2005
Location: in your attic
     
Nov 05, 2005 04:01 |  #8

Or press bulb and have a flash, you can do it that way to ( Pretty sure).
Make sure to sell your prints at $59.99 ;)


canon weight ;)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

785 views & 0 likes for this thread
How is this done?
FORUMS Photography Talk by Genre General Photography Talk 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.0forum software
version 2.0 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is fishesman
698 guests, 413 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 6430, that happened on Dec 03, 2017

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.