Canon Digital Photography Forums  

Go Back   Canon Digital Photography Forums > 'Sharing Knowhow' section > Talk About Photography > General Photography Talk
Register Rules FAQ Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 3rd of November 2005 (Thu)   #1
dioptic
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 262
Default How is this done?

Hey guys,

Is this moving effect http://www.fotosearch.com/DSN001/1215/ done by using:

a slow shutter speed or
is it done in photoshop or
is it a combination of the two or
is it something else?

Thanks.

dioptic
dioptic is offline   Reply With Quote
This ad block will go away when you log in as member
Old 3rd of November 2005 (Thu)   #2
Jon
Moderator

Cocker Spaniel Mod

 
Jon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Bethesda, MD USA
Posts: 67,534
Default Re: How is this done?

It can be done with slow shutter speed and second-curtain flash.
__________________
Jon
----------

Cocker Spaniels
Maryland and Virginia activities


Image Posting Rules
and Image Posting FAQ
Report SPAM, Don't Answer It! (link)
PERSONAL MESSAGING REGARDING SELLING OR BUYING ITEMS WITH MEMBERS WHO HAVE NO POSTS IN FORUMS AND/OR WHO YOU DO NOT KNOW FROM FORUMS IS HEREBY DECLARED STRICTLY STUPID AND YOU WILL GET BURNED.
Jon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd of November 2005 (Thu)   #3
dioptic
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 262
Default Re: How is this done?

Thanks Jon.

What is a "second-curtain flash"?

dioptic
dioptic is offline   Reply With Quote
This ad block will go away when you log in as member
Old 3rd of November 2005 (Thu)   #4
Jon
Moderator

Cocker Spaniel Mod

 
Jon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Bethesda, MD USA
Posts: 67,534
Default Re: How is this done?

It's when your flash fires not, as usually happens, as soon as the first curtain of your shutter completely opens, but just before the second curtain of the shutter begins to close the lens; available light can affect the image up until that moment, accounting for the light trails on the sax, and the flash freezes the whole picture.
__________________
Jon
----------

Cocker Spaniels
Maryland and Virginia activities


Image Posting Rules
and Image Posting FAQ
Report SPAM, Don't Answer It! (link)
PERSONAL MESSAGING REGARDING SELLING OR BUYING ITEMS WITH MEMBERS WHO HAVE NO POSTS IN FORUMS AND/OR WHO YOU DO NOT KNOW FROM FORUMS IS HEREBY DECLARED STRICTLY STUPID AND YOU WILL GET BURNED.
Jon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd of November 2005 (Thu)   #5
dioptic
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 262
Default Re: How is this done?

Jon,

Thanks again.

I use a couple of Britek Strobes with a 20D. I also have a 420EX Speedlite. Can I do what you describe with this equipment? If so, how?

Thanks.

dioptic
dioptic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd of November 2005 (Thu)   #6
Jon
Moderator

Cocker Spaniel Mod

 
Jon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Bethesda, MD USA
Posts: 67,534
Default Re: How is this done?

Custom Function 15-1 with the 20D and 420EX. You'll need some available light source for the "trail", and set your exposure for that; trust the flash to E-TTL the full subject exposure. You wouldn't use the Britek's unless you have digital slaves and make allowances for them in setting the FEC for the 420.
__________________
Jon
----------

Cocker Spaniels
Maryland and Virginia activities


Image Posting Rules
and Image Posting FAQ
Report SPAM, Don't Answer It! (link)
PERSONAL MESSAGING REGARDING SELLING OR BUYING ITEMS WITH MEMBERS WHO HAVE NO POSTS IN FORUMS AND/OR WHO YOU DO NOT KNOW FROM FORUMS IS HEREBY DECLARED STRICTLY STUPID AND YOU WILL GET BURNED.
Jon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd of November 2005 (Thu)   #7
dioptic
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 262
Default Re: How is this done?

Jon,

Thanks.

If I can accomplish all that I'll be happy.

dioptic
dioptic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th of November 2005 (Sat)   #8
ACDCROCKS
321 123 33
 
ACDCROCKS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: in your attic
Posts: 2,925
Default Re: How is this done?

Or press bulb and have a flash, you can do it that way to ( Pretty sure).
Make sure to sell your prints at $59.99
__________________
canon weight
ACDCROCKS is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 20:43.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.12
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
This forum is not affiliated with Canon in any way and is run as a free user helpsite by Pekka Saarinen, Helsinki Finland. You will need to register in order to be able to post messages. Cookies are required for registering and posting. HTML in messages is not allowed, plain website addresses are automatically made active by the board.