Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Read More.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras
Thread started 26 Oct 2011 (Wednesday) 10:56
Prev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)

1d Mark IV battery calibration?

 
Oz ­ Visuals
Senior Member
397 posts
Joined Mar 2009
Huntington Beach, CA
Oct 26, 2011 10:56 |  #1

My camera tells me I need to calibrate my battery. Anybody had this before. I did a quick google search and couldn't find why. Just curious.


1D X (2), 1D Mark IV, 24L, 35L, 50L, 85L, 16-35L 24-70LII, 100mm 2.8L IS, 70-200 2.8L IS MARK II, 24mm TS-E 3.5L II, 600 EX RT (3)
Hasselblad 500C Zeiss 80mm Zeiss 150mm, Rolleiflex 3.5
Visit my website http://www.ozvisuals.c​omexternal link
or my blog http://www.ozvisuals.c​om/blogexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)
sdipirro
Goldmember
sdipirro's Avatar
2,207 posts
Joined Dec 2005
Oct 26, 2011 11:16 |  #2

My 1d4 hasn't said this about any of my batteries so far, but my 1d3 did that once. I pushed the calibration option on the charger, and it said it completed successfully. But when I put the battery back in the 1d3, it still said it needed to be calibrated. I just ignored it after that.


Cameras: 1DX, 1D4, 20D, 10D, S90, G2
Lenses: Canon 10-22mm, 16-35mm f2.8L II, 24-70mm f2.8L, 70-200mm f2.8L IS, 300mm f2.8L IS, 200mm f2L IS, 50mm f1.4, 50mm f1.2L, 85mm f1.2L, 1.4x TC, 2x TC, 500D macro, Zeiss 21mm
Lighting: 580EX, Elinchrom 600 RX's, D-Lite 4's, ABR800, 74" Eli Octa, 100cm/70cm DOs, Photoflex Medium Octa and reflectors, PW's, Lastolite Hilite, Newton Di400CR bracket

LOG IN TO REPLY
Sgt.Ed
Senior Member
Sgt.Ed's Avatar
271 posts
Joined Nov 2009
Eau Claire, WI
Oct 26, 2011 13:45 as a reply to sdipirro's post |  #3

The spare battery that I bought for my MK IV gave me that message. I followed the steps in my owners manual and the issue has not returned.
Ed


Ed
GEAR40D, 1D MKIV, 24-70 f2.8L, 70-200 f2.8L, 500 f4.0L, Canon 1.4 teleconverter, 580 EXII Speedlite, Gitzo GT 3530LS, Wimberly WH-200, 190X PROB Manfrotto tripod and a bunch of other stuff
MYFlickrexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
Oggy1
Member
83 posts
Joined Aug 2010
West Sussex, UK
Oct 26, 2011 15:32 |  #4

Have a look at your manual. Page 30 of the UK version.


Cheers, Oggy :)
1D MkIV, 7D (Gripped), 100-400 L IS USM, 300F4 L IS USM, 15-85 IS USM.
Oh Lord won't you buy me a 300 F2.8L

LOG IN TO REPLY
HKGuns
Goldmember
HKGuns's Avatar
1,469 posts
Joined May 2008
Oct 26, 2011 15:59 |  #5

It is so the camera can display properly the amount of juice left in your battery. Pretty simple actually.




LOG IN TO REPLY
tonylong
"Amazingly attractive"
tonylong's Avatar
53,860 posts
Gallery: 22 photos
Joined Sep 2007
Vancouver, WA USA
Oct 26, 2011 17:25 |  #6

In the index of your manual you can look up "Calibration" and it should point you to the place for what to do.


Tony
Two Canon cameras (5DC, 30D), three Canon lenses (24-105, 100-400, 100mm macro)
Tony Long Photos on PBaseexternal link
Wildlife project pics hereexternal link, Biking Photog shoots hereexternal link, "Suburbia" project hereexternal link! Mount St. Helens, Mount Hood pics hereexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
Robert ­ Body
Member
Robert Body's Avatar
67 posts
Joined Apr 2011
Phoenix,Arizona
Nov 09, 2011 01:33 |  #7

There is a button to press on the battery charger in the first few seconds after connecting it and the red Calibration needed light blinking. You press the button and it start calibrating - taking 10 hours instead of 2.
It's just a thing that's required once in a while to give you max performance out the battery. Nothing is wrong unless it keeps happening after each discharge.
The reason for the need? It doesn't matter :), it just needs to be done. Shouldn't be needed for a long time after it's done. When batteries near the end of their life, that's when it might start happening a lot.




LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)

4,647 views & 0 likes for this thread
1d Mark IV battery calibration?
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras


Not a member yet? Click here to register to the forums.
Registered members get all the features: search, following threads, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, settings, view hosted photos, own reviews and more...


AAA

Send feedback to staff    •   Jump to forum...    •   Rules    •   Index    •   New posts    •   RTAT    •   'Best of'    •   Gallery    •   Gear    •   Reviews    •   Polls

COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Privacy policy and cookie usage info.

POWERED BY AMASS 1.4version 1.4
made in Finland
by Pekka Saarinen
for photography-on-the.net
Spent 0.00079 for 4 database queries.
PAGE COMPLETED IN 0.02s
Latest registered member is Wedlv
733 guests, 555 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 6106, that happened on Jun 09, 2016