Canon Digital Photography Forums  

Go Back   Canon Digital Photography Forums > 'Equipment Talk' section > Canon EOS Digital Cameras
Register Rules FAQ Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 29th of November 2011 (Tue)   #1
thedcmule2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 1,125
Default Why does my shutter speed have to be so slow and aperture at 1.4-1.6 to get light?

1) Im indoors at home under white lights.
2) Canon 60D + 50mm F/1.4 (prime).
3) ISO is 200 to prevent noise.

I'm reading Bryan Peterson's Understanding Exposure and so far every shot he's taking has had high F-stops like F/11 or F/22 so he can capture a bigger depth of field. Also his shutter speeds are faster EVEN when the aperture hole is smaller like at shutter speeds of 1/500 or 1/250.

I'm shooting close objects (5-10 feet away) and the only way to get a decently lit image is to have my F at 1.6 or lower and my shutter speed at 4 (which is 1/4 sec?). If I boost my shutter speed at all it gets dark, really dark.

Last edited by thedcmule2 : 29th of November 2011 (Tue) at 21:11.
thedcmule2 is offline   Reply With Quote
This ad block will go away when you log in as member
Old 29th of November 2011 (Tue)   #2
MT Stringer
Goldmember
 
MT Stringer's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Channelview, Tx
Posts: 4,610
Default Re: Why does my shutter speed have to be so slow and aperture at 1.4-1.6 to get light

Adjust your ISO
__________________
MaxPreps Profile

MT Stringer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th of November 2011 (Tue)   #3
rdompor
Member
 
rdompor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 667
Default Re: Why does my shutter speed have to be so slow and aperture at 1.4-1.6 to get light

His examples are most likely for an outdoor exposure. I have never seen a building bright enough to shoot at f/11 and 1/500 under ambient light.
__________________
Ramon

ULTRAMONTAGNE
Website
rdompor is offline   Reply With Quote
This ad block will go away when you log in as member
Old 29th of November 2011 (Tue)   #4
Iscariotau
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 241
Default Re: Why does my shutter speed have to be so slow and aperture at 1.4-1.6 to get light

Quote:
Originally Posted by MT Stringer View Post
Adjust your ISO
This.
Iscariotau is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th of November 2011 (Tue)   #5
thedcmule2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 1,125
Default Re: Why does my shutter speed have to be so slow and aperture at 1.4-1.6 to get light

But my ISO is 200 to prevent noise, isnt this what im supposed to do? I hope nothing is wrong with my equipment.


Quote:
Originally Posted by rdompor View Post
His examples are most likely for an outdoor exposure. I have never seen a building bright enough to shoot at f/11 and 1/500 under ambient light.
Duh, I shouldve realized this makes a difference.

Last edited by thedcmule2 : 29th of November 2011 (Tue) at 21:20.
thedcmule2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th of November 2011 (Tue)   #6
timnosenzo
Cream of the Crop
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: CT
Posts: 8,814
Default Re: Why does my shutter speed have to be so slow and aperture at 1.4-1.6 to get light

Quote:
Originally Posted by thedcmule2 View Post
But my ISO is 200 to prevent noise, isnt this what im supposed to do?
Then add more light.
timnosenzo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th of November 2011 (Tue)   #7
pbelarge
Goldmember
 
pbelarge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Westchester County, NY
Posts: 2,832
Default Re: Why does my shutter speed have to be so slow and aperture at 1.4-1.6 to get light

You can definitely shoot at a higher ISO than 200. The best way to learn at this point is to set your camera up for the shot and experiment at different ISO's for multiple shots.
__________________
just a few of my thoughts...


Pierre
pbelarge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th of November 2011 (Tue)   #8
Tim S
Senior Member
 
Tim S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Michigan
Posts: 1,471
Default Re: Why does my shutter speed have to be so slow and aperture at 1.4-1.6 to get light

Try ISO 800, very little noise.....
__________________
Tim
Equipment
Tim S is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th of November 2011 (Tue)   #9
Echo63
Goldmember
 
Echo63's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Perth - Western Australia - Earth
Posts: 2,214
Default Re: Why does my shutter speed have to be so slow and aperture at 1.4-1.6 to get light

ISO is the sensor's sensitivity to light - because there is not much light, you need to turn the sensitivity up.

you should be at Iso 800 to Iso 6400 inside (depending on how dark it is) to get a reasonable hand holdable shutter speed inside

outside use 100, 200, 400 Iso in the sunlight, and if its a miserable cloudy day, you might need to push it to 800 Iso
__________________
My Best Images[/size]www.echo63.deviantart.com
Gear listhttp://photography-on-the.net/forum/...&postcount=385
Echo63 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th of November 2011 (Tue)   #10
Stone 13
Senior Member
 
Stone 13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Huntersville, NC
Posts: 1,688
Default Re: Why does my shutter speed have to be so slow and aperture at 1.4-1.6 to get light

Keep in mind that your eyes are far more sensitive to light than any camera's sensor. Alot of times, what looks like plenty of light to you is not enough for you to shoot at a low ISO indoors. If you're at 1/4 sec & f1.6, you can go up to ISO 800 f1.4 to get a slightly faster shutter speed, you shouldn't have much noise but it appears that you're in a pretty dimly lit room, you might want to use your flash....
__________________
Ken

5D III gripped | 35L | 24-70 2.8L II | 70-200 2.8L IS II | 85 1.8 | 430 EX II | Yongnuo YN-568EX | Billingham 445 | Think Tank UD 60 |

Last edited by Stone 13 : 29th of November 2011 (Tue) at 21:21.
Stone 13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th of November 2011 (Tue)   #11
timnosenzo
Cream of the Crop
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: CT
Posts: 8,814
Default Re: Why does my shutter speed have to be so slow and aperture at 1.4-1.6 to get light

It's been a while, but Bryan must talk about the "exposure triangle" in that book, no? There are 3 settings you can change to obtain a correct exposure with a set amount of light, your aperture, shutter speed and ISO. Adjusting each one changes something about the final photo, good or bad - whether it's the amount of motion in the photo (shutter speed), the depth of field (aperture), or the amount of noise (ISO).

If you would like more DOF but can't slow your shutter speed down anymore, and don't want to increase your ISO, you need to add more light.
timnosenzo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th of November 2011 (Tue)   #12
thedcmule2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 1,125
Default Re: Why does my shutter speed have to be so slow and aperture at 1.4-1.6 to get light

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tim S View Post
Try ISO 800, very little noise.....
Quote:
Originally Posted by Echo63 View Post
ISO is the sensor's sensitivity to light - because there is not much light, you need to turn the sensitivity up.

you should be at Iso 800 to Iso 6400 inside (depending on how dark it is) to get a reasonable hand holdable shutter speed inside

outside use 100, 200, 400 Iso in the sunlight, and if its a miserable cloudy day, you might need to push it to 800 Iso
Cool, this makes sense thanks so much.
thedcmule2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th of November 2011 (Tue)   #13
thedcmule2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 1,125
Default Re: Why does my shutter speed have to be so slow and aperture at 1.4-1.6 to get light

Okay I read somewhere like the minimum my shutter speed should be is 1/50 (the 50 comes from my lenses' focal length number). So does that mean I should avoid slower speeds like 1/4? I hate rules, I dont want to be scared to use a setting, I want to embrace them.
thedcmule2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th of November 2011 (Tue)   #14
deanedward
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Philippines
Posts: 313
Default Re: Why does my shutter speed have to be so slow and aperture at 1.4-1.6 to get light

they're not rules. they are merely recommendations. if you want to shoot at your preferred settings, then do as you please but do not expect to get the results that you want by simply using whatever setting that you want. there are just limits that you have to grasp, accept and work within.
__________________
Make yourself heard
Canon EOS 6D, EF 24-70mm f/2.8L USM, EF 50mm f/1.4 USM, EF 100mm, f/2 USM, 430EX
http://www.flickr.com/photos/deanmejos/
deanedward is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th of November 2011 (Tue)   #15
Veemac
Goldmember
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Arizona, USA
Posts: 2,100
Default Re: Why does my shutter speed have to be so slow and aperture at 1.4-1.6 to get light

Quote:
Originally Posted by timnosenzo View Post
It's been a while, but Bryan must talk about the "exposure triangle" in that book, no? There are 3 settings you can change to obtain a correct exposure with a set amount of light, your aperture, shutter speed and ISO. Adjusting each one changes something about the final photo, good or bad - whether it's the amount of motion in the photo (shutter speed), the depth of field (aperture), or the amount of noise (ISO).

If you would like more DOF but can't slow your shutter speed down anymore, and don't want to increase your ISO, you need to add more light.
Yes, Bryan does talk about the exposure triangle - in fact, he covers it very thoroughly. It sounds as if the OP (as with many new photographers) overestimated the amount of light in an ambient indoor setting and was getting resultant very slow shutter speeds.

thecdmule2 - as Stone 13 said, indoor light which seems entirely adequate to our eyes appears very dim to a camera. Sports shooters often have to use high ISOs and very "fast" (wide aperture) lenses to shoot in indoor gyms, which usually appear plenty bright to the human eye. The lighting in most homes necessitates a high ISO and/or use of a flash to brighten things up enough that the camera isn't "starving for light" for an exposure. Try working through some of the shots in Understanding Exposure outdoors in daylight, you'll have much better luck!

Quote:
Originally Posted by thecdmule2
...So does that mean I should avoid slower speeds like 1/4? I hate rules, I dont want to be scared to use a setting, I want to embrace them.
Now you sound like my wife!!! Feel free to experiment with settings - worst you'll have to do is delete the image because it's a blurry mess (which it most likely will be if you handhold your camera at a 1/4 second shutter speed). The "rule" you're talking about is a recommendation to avoid seeing the effects of camera shake in your images. If you put the camera on a tripod or rest it on a sturdy object and use the 2-second timer, you can get away with those kind of shutter speeds....handheld, you're going to have a big mushy blur. Experiment with it and you'll understand why the "rule" (recommendation) exists.
__________________
Mac
-Stuff I Use-

Last edited by Veemac : 29th of November 2011 (Tue) at 21:39.
Veemac is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help! In Av mode, the wide open aperture often gives me a slow shutter speed Samonon_94582 General Photography Talk 9 12th of June 2011 (Sun) 17:20
Which EOS - beginer/slow shutter speed/night photographs/light painting s_car Canon EOS Digital Cameras 11 21st of April 2011 (Thu) 20:00
Slow Shutter in Aperture Priority Premgenius General Photography Talk 16 18th of October 2010 (Mon) 12:44
G11 Slow Shutter speed? Badgerballs Canon G-series Digital Cameras 3 28th of May 2010 (Fri) 05:17
Question about aperture vs sync speed vs shutter speed dearis Small Flash and Studio Lighting 3 7th of August 2006 (Mon) 14:23


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:45.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.12
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
This forum is not affiliated with Canon in any way and is run as a free user helpsite by Pekka Saarinen, Helsinki Finland. You will need to register in order to be able to post messages. Cookies are required for registering and posting. HTML in messages is not allowed, plain website addresses are automatically made active by the board.