Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Read More.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Small Compact Digitals by Canon 
Thread started 30 Nov 2011 (Wednesday) 02:58
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

Canon, please "fix" S100 with new Firmware

 
DaaamnGina
Member
67 posts
Likes: 2
Joined Jul 2005
Location: Denver
     
Nov 30, 2011 02:58 |  #1

I had the original S90, then switched to the LX5, and now I'm back to the S100. The S100 is the best pocket camera I've ever used, overall. It has just about all I could realistically want in a point-and-shoot. Great size, great ISO ability, lens range, GPS, Eye-fi support, 1080P video, zoom/focus during video, and on and on.

But I would love a firmware update to address some shortcomings.

  • Make it easier to move the Flexizone focus point. E.g. Make the Ring Func button assignable to go directly to the position change screen
  • Allow GPS and Eye-Fi settings to be added to My Menu
  • Change Auto Exposure Bracketing so that the shutter can stay open longer than 1 second
  • Allow ISO 3200 and 6400 in Max Auto ISO. Why limit to 1600? I prefer grainy shots over blurry shot.
  • Maybe get some better auto focusing, especially in low light. I tested it side by side with an LX5 during a pageant and the LX5 was quicker and never missed a focus. The S100 struggles to get a focus lock on many occasions.
  • And maybe an option to disable all those UI animations. The animations make the camera feel less responsive to me.


Anyone else concur or want to add to this list?

For fun, I've attached photos from the 2012 Miss Colorado pageant. Image 4 shows off the IS. Shot at 1/5s. Images 4 and 5 shows the low light focus struggle. All shots are from RAW using default Lightroom 3.6 RC.

1.
IMAGE: http://www.turbopotato.com/photos/2011/1030_MissColorado/img_0511.jpg


2.
IMAGE: http://www.turbopotato.com/photos/2011/1030_MissColorado/img_0521.jpg


3.
IMAGE: http://www.turbopotato.com/photos/2011/1030_MissColorado/img_0523.jpg


4.
IMAGE: http://www.turbopotato.com/photos/2011/1030_MissColorado/img_0531.jpg


5.
IMAGE: http://www.turbopotato.com/photos/2011/1030_MissColorado/img_0532.jpg


6.
IMAGE: http://www.turbopotato.com/photos/2011/1030_MissColorado/img_0533.jpg


7.
IMAGE: http://www.turbopotato.com/photos/2011/1030_MissColorado/img_0555.jpg


8.
IMAGE: http://www.turbopotato.com/photos/2011/1030_MissColorado/img_0557.jpg



  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
duffguy808
Member
181 posts
Joined Aug 2008
     
Nov 30, 2011 03:16 |  #2

nice pictures and nice rack


It's 5 o'clock some where :p

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
PaulRivers
Member
193 posts
Joined Sep 2010
     
Nov 30, 2011 16:07 |  #3

DaaamnGina wrote in post #13472676 (external link)
I had the original S90, then switched to the LX5, and now I'm back to the S100. The S100 is the best pocket camera I've ever used, overall. It has just about all I could realistically want in a point-and-shoot. Great size, great ISO ability, lens range, GPS, Eye-fi support, 1080P video, zoom/focus during video, and on and on.

But I would love a firmware update to address some shortcomings.
  • Make it easier to move the Flexizone focus point. E.g. Make the Ring Func button assignable to go directly to the position change screen
  • Allow GPS and Eye-Fi settings to be added to My Menu
  • Change Auto Exposure Bracketing so that the shutter can stay open longer than 1 second

I personally don't care that much about these, not saying they're bad or anything, but -

DaaamnGina wrote in post #13472676 (external link)
  • Allow ISO 3200 and 6400 in Max Auto ISO. Why limit to 1600? I prefer grainy shots over blurry shot.
  • I 100% agree with you, this is the #1 annoying thing for me about the s100. Seriously...who puts in a menu that lets you set the max iso, then cripples is so you can't actually use the higher iso's? I make sense to put it at iso1600 by default, but not letting you set it higher? *sigh*.

    DaaamnGina wrote in post #13472676 (external link)
  • Maybe get some better auto focusing, especially in low light. I tested it side by side with an LX5 during a pageant and the LX5 was quicker and never missed a focus. The S100 struggles to get a focus lock on many occasions.
  • The lx5 is definitely the king of speedy focussing for a compact. I would also love to see Canon improve the s100's focussing speed. I don't know if they ever will though...at the risk of sounding like a conspiracy theorist, I feel like they like their compacts being noticeably slower than their dslr's so people have another reason to buy a dslr. Maybe eventually everyone else will have snappy autofocus and Canon will be forced to do it...

    DaaamnGina wrote in post #13472676 (external link)
  • And maybe an option to disable all those UI animations. The animations make the camera feel less responsive to me.

  • I like that they display an icon for the mode you're in in the upper right-hand corner of the screen.

    I also really dislike that they display a sort of splash screen every time you change modes. It wasn't in the s90, they added it for the s95 (and kept it for the s100) but I find it non-useful and very annoying. Switch from P to TV (shuttter priority) and try to immediately change or check the shutter speed, and you can't because of the silly splash screen.




      
      LOG IN TO REPLY
    hnikesch
    Goldmember
    Avatar
    1,133 posts
    Gallery: 24 photos
    Best ofs: 1
    Likes: 19
    Joined Nov 2008
    Location: Michigan
         
    Nov 30, 2011 17:38 |  #4

    Once the camera is ported to CHDK you will have control over manual ISO, auto ISO, and Hi Auto ISO. Not only can you increase the max iso for the auto ranges you can also exceed the cameras ISO range in both directions. The Canon max ISO on my SD990 is 1600 and I can set my HI Auto ISO to go to 2500 if I chose. The Min ISO for my camera is 80 but I can use 50 if I chose using CHDK. I can also exceed the MFG shutter speed range in both directions from 64 sec's to 1/100,000 sec.

    Hans


    Hans
    It is better to burn a roll of film than curse the darkness. Equip. Canon S100 w/CHDK, SD990 w/CHDK, SD900 w/CHDK, Pentax K30, & Kr, Pentax Q7 Flickr: (external link)

      
      LOG IN TO REPLY
    LowriderS10
    Cream of the Crop
    Avatar
    10,170 posts
    Likes: 8
    Joined Mar 2008
    Location: South Korea / Canada
         
    Nov 30, 2011 18:26 |  #5

    Wait...you had a bunch of hot women willing to do almost anything for a silly plastic tiara and you were testing focus speed??? ;)


    -=Prints For Sale at PIXELS=- (external link)
    -=Facebook=- (external link)
    -=Flickr=- (external link)

    -=Gear=-

      
      LOG IN TO REPLY
    LowriderS10
    Cream of the Crop
    Avatar
    10,170 posts
    Likes: 8
    Joined Mar 2008
    Location: South Korea / Canada
         
    Nov 30, 2011 18:27 |  #6

    hnikesch wrote in post #13476071 (external link)
    Once the camera is ported to CHDK you will have control over manual ISO, auto ISO, and Hi Auto ISO. Not only can you increase the max iso for the auto ranges you can also exceed the cameras ISO range in both directions. The Canon max ISO on my SD990 is 1600 and I can set my HI Auto ISO to go to 2500 if I chose. The Min ISO for my camera is 80 but I can use 50 if I chose using CHDK. I can also exceed the MFG shutter speed range in both directions from 64 sec's to 1/100,000 sec.

    Hans

    Oooh this is good news...I always thought Canon's 15 sec shutter speed wasn't long enough for a lot of stuff.


    -=Prints For Sale at PIXELS=- (external link)
    -=Facebook=- (external link)
    -=Flickr=- (external link)

    -=Gear=-

      
      LOG IN TO REPLY
    booju
    Goldmember
    2,314 posts
    Likes: 4
    Joined Feb 2008
         
    Nov 30, 2011 20:20 as a reply to  @ LowriderS10's post |  #7

    sorry folks...But what is CHDK?

    Thanks:oops:


    http://photography-on-the.net …57557&highlight​=canon+G12

      
      LOG IN TO REPLY
    imjason
    Goldmember
    1,667 posts
    Likes: 3
    Joined Nov 2010
    Location: Bay Area, CA
         
    Nov 30, 2011 21:05 |  #8

    CHDK or Canon Hack Development Kit is a third party firmware for Canon cameras. It adds things such as Raw for cameras that do not support raw from the factory and more manual controls.

    http://chdk.wikia.com/​wiki/CHDK (external link)


    Canon gear: EOS M, Canonet QL17, SX230HS, S95, SD1200IS
    Non-Canon gear: D600, D5000, D70, XG-2, U20
    Flickr (external link)

      
      LOG IN TO REPLY
    PaulRivers
    Member
    193 posts
    Joined Sep 2010
         
    Nov 30, 2011 22:07 |  #9

    hnikesch wrote in post #13476071 (external link)
    Once the camera is ported to CHDK you will have control over manual ISO, auto ISO, and Hi Auto ISO. Not only can you increase the max iso for the auto ranges you can also exceed the cameras ISO range in both directions. The Canon max ISO on my SD990 is 1600 and I can set my HI Auto ISO to go to 2500 if I chose. The Min ISO for my camera is 80 but I can use 50 if I chose using CHDK. I can also exceed the MFG shutter speed range in both directions from 64 sec's to 1/100,000 sec.

    Hans

    ...lol, are you sure? Because that would just be...like...super awesome... :D




      
      LOG IN TO REPLY
    DaaamnGina
    THREAD ­ STARTER
    Member
    67 posts
    Likes: 2
    Joined Jul 2005
    Location: Denver
         
    Dec 01, 2011 01:08 |  #10

    PaulRivers wrote in post #13475632 (external link)
    I personally don't care that much about these, not saying they're bad or anything, but -

    I 100% agree with you, this is the #1 annoying thing for me about the s100. Seriously...who puts in a menu that lets you set the max iso, then cripples is so you can't actually use the higher iso's? I make sense to put it at iso1600 by default, but not letting you set it higher? *sigh*.

    The lx5 is definitely the king of speedy focussing for a compact. I would also love to see Canon improve the s100's focussing speed. I don't know if they ever will though...at the risk of sounding like a conspiracy theorist, I feel like they like their compacts being noticeably slower than their dslr's so people have another reason to buy a dslr. Maybe eventually everyone else will have snappy autofocus and Canon will be forced to do it...

    I like that they display an icon for the mode you're in in the upper right-hand corner of the screen.

    I also really dislike that they display a sort of splash screen every time you change modes. It wasn't in the s90, they added it for the s95 (and kept it for the s100) but I find it non-useful and very annoying. Switch from P to TV (shuttter priority) and try to immediately change or check the shutter speed, and you can't because of the silly splash screen.

    I agree with all that you've said. If they got rid of the mode "splash screen" and also disabled the Func/Set slide affect, I think the camera will feel so much much more responsive. Then add the ability to quickly change the focus area and increase the max auto ISO. Just those changes alone would be awesome.

    LowriderS10 wrote in post #13476349 (external link)
    Wait...you had a bunch of hot women willing to do almost anything for a silly plastic tiara and you were testing focus speed??? ;)

    It's nice to have two eyes. One on the focus and the other on them. :D

    hnikesch wrote in post #13476071 (external link)
    Once the camera is ported to CHDK you will have control over manual ISO, auto ISO, and Hi Auto ISO. Not only can you increase the max iso for the auto ranges you can also exceed the cameras ISO range in both directions. The Canon max ISO on my SD990 is 1600 and I can set my HI Auto ISO to go to 2500 if I chose. The Min ISO for my camera is 80 but I can use 50 if I chose using CHDK. I can also exceed the MFG shutter speed range in both directions from 64 sec's to 1/100,000 sec.

    It will be exciting to see what CHDK can do when it's out. I know they've gots some cool stuff for the S90 and S95. Any info on when?




      
      LOG IN TO REPLY
    sponsored links
    (this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

    6,398 views & 0 likes for this thread
    Canon, please "fix" S100 with new Firmware
    FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Small Compact Digitals by Canon 
    AAA
    x 1600
    y 1600

    Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

    Not a member yet?
    Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


    COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
    Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


    POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.0forum software
    version 2.0 /
    code and design
    by Pekka Saarinen ©
    for photography-on-the.net

    Latest registered member is ppahv
    751 guests, 390 members online
    Simultaneous users record so far is 6430, that happened on Dec 03, 2017

    Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.