Canon Digital Photography Forums  

Go Back   Canon Digital Photography Forums > 'Sharing Knowhow' section > RAW, Post Processing and Printing > Computers
Register Rules FAQ Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 30th of November 2011 (Wed)   #1
mr2step

Default Putting OS onto a new SSD drive on WIndows 7

Hi everybody. I am curious if anyone knows how difficult it is to move an OS to a SSD drive on windows 7. I have a new gateway but want to upgrade to a SSD at some point. The issue I am having is that I've been told ( by company IT guy) that since my computer came "pre packaged" with no install cd, that it MIGHT not boot up onto the SSD. I am a total computer NOOB but have been learning a lot over the last few weeks researching computers. My new setup consists of Intel i5 2300 Hz, 8 gigs RAM, 1tb HD, dual monitors. I have already installed LR3 and PSE10 on it but not run either app yet. My problem is, I want to know if I will be able to move over all the OS to another drive once I get one to optimize LR3 for speed. I'm presently stuck with one drive and don't want to do anything just yet in case I can move it over without hassle. Thanks

http://www.facebook.com/brettmissickphotography

mr2step is offline   Reply With Quote
This ad block will go away when you log in as member
Old 30th of November 2011 (Wed)   #2
muskyhunter

Default Re: Putting OS onto a new SSD drive on WIndows 7

you'll need a clean install to work properly.
Canon 60D w/ BG-E9 | Tamron SP AF 17-50mm /2.8 VC | Σ 30mm /1.4 EX DG HSM | Canon 85mm /1.8 USM | Canon 70-200mm 4L IS | Σ 70-200mm /2.8 EX OS DG HSM | Canon 430EX II | Kenko 1.4x + 2x | Think Tank Sreetwalker HardDrive | Vanguard UP-Rise 38 | Flickr |
muskyhunter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th of November 2011 (Wed)   #3
mr2step

I guess my question is IF it will work with computer that came w/o boot cd. Yes I made a backup copy first thing but wasn't sure if it could read it off that.