Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Read More.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS General Gear Talk Computers
Thread started 30 Nov 2011 (Wednesday) 13:06
Prev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)

Putting OS onto a new SSD drive on WIndows 7

 
mr2step
Senior Member
mr2step's Avatar
Joined Sep 2008
Ocala, Florida
Nov 30, 2011 13:06 |  #1

Hi everybody. I am curious if anyone knows how difficult it is to move an OS to a SSD drive on windows 7. I have a new gateway but want to upgrade to a SSD at some point. The issue I am having is that I've been told ( by company IT guy) that since my computer came "pre packaged" with no install cd, that it MIGHT not boot up onto the SSD. I am a total computer NOOB but have been learning a lot over the last few weeks researching computers. My new setup consists of Intel i5 2300 Hz, 8 gigs RAM, 1tb HD, dual monitors. I have already installed LR3 and PSE10 on it but not run either app yet. My problem is, I want to know if I will be able to move over all the OS to another drive once I get one to optimize LR3 for speed. I'm presently stuck with one drive and don't want to do anything just yet in case I can move it over without hassle. Thanks


Do what you love, and you will never work a day in your life.
www.Brettmissick.comexternal link

http://www.facebook.co​m/brettmissickphotogra​phyexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)
muskyhunter
Goldmember
muskyhunter's Avatar
1,137 posts
Joined Nov 2010
Toronto, Canada
Nov 30, 2011 13:31 |  #2

you'll need a clean install to work properly.



LOG IN TO REPLY
mr2step
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
mr2step's Avatar
Joined Sep 2008
Ocala, Florida
Nov 30, 2011 14:08 |  #3

I guess my question is IF it will work with computer that came w/o boot cd. Yes I made a backup copy first thing but wasn't sure if it could read it off that.


Do what you love, and you will never work a day in your life.
www.Brettmissick.comexternal link

http://www.facebook.co​m/brettmissickphotogra​phyexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
CactusJuice
Senior Member
853 posts
Joined Jan 2010
Nov 30, 2011 14:58 |  #4

Obviously a clean install is preferred, but yes migration will work. However, I would recommend only if you should be comfortable with comfortable with terms and tasks such as "backup", "defragmenting", "ghosting" and "partitions", for example. Migrating is time consuming. Plan to spend an entire afternoon from start to finsih. While not overly complicated, probably not for the faint of heart. There might be extra risk in your case if you're not able to obtain your original installation software.

Keep in mind with SSD you are usually going from big to small. That is, your SSD holds less data than is (possible) on your current hard drive. If that's the case then you first will want to get your current drive's used size down so it will fit on your SSD. This includes defragmenting. Think about it, you could have a 360 GB drive currently. Even if you're not usuing the entire 360 GB, there still might be data written way out there. So first shink and defrag. Then you can ghost and restore onto the SSD. I'm oversimplifying but that's the general process. Your SSD might come with software to help with this.

There are many articles online that go over the steps in detail.
http://lifehacker.com ...hout-reinstalling-windowsexternal link




LOG IN TO REPLY
tim
Light Bringer
tim's Avatar
50,644 posts
Joined Nov 2004
Wellington, New Zealand
Nov 30, 2011 15:42 |  #5

I suggest a clean install. Go into the BIOS and set the hard drives to AHCI (not IDE) first.

When install Win7 to an SSD sometimes it hangs for a half hour early on in the install process. Just let it go for up to an hour or two and it'll probably recover.


Professional wedding photographer, solution architect and general technical guy with multiple Amazon Web Services certifications.
Read all my FAQs (wedding, printing, lighting, books, etc)

LOG IN TO REPLY
gotaudi
Senior Member
720 posts
Joined Jan 2010
Southern California
Nov 30, 2011 16:49 |  #6

I would also suggest a clean install, some have run into alignment issues with cloning software. Windows is also better when it installs itself in the correct mode such as IDE vs. AHCI. if you clone the a system from an IDE to AHCI you have to do some extra steps to get it to work in that particular mode.




LOG IN TO REPLY
BluewookieJim
Goldmember
BluewookieJim's Avatar
1,095 posts
Joined Mar 2008
Southern CT
Nov 30, 2011 19:33 |  #7

not saying this is right for everyone, but I put intel SSDs in both my desktop (win 7 pro) and my notebook (win 7 home premium) earlier this year. I did a clean install on the notebook, and used the migration software on the desktop. I havent had any problems with either.


My Gear and Stuff :: My Zenfolio Galleryexternal link :: My Flickrexternal link :: http://photos.kodanja.​netexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
sbattey
Goldmember
1,250 posts
Joined Mar 2011
Dec 01, 2011 01:07 |  #8
banned

Some SSDs come with software to do this for you. My father just bought one that came with norton ghost, it worked fine but I ran into boot record issues and had some trouble. For a computer "noob" I would suggest paying someone to do it. Getting a boot CD is only the start of the journey, you have to hope there are drivers for your hardware on the CD as well. Windows 7 is better with drivers than vista and XP were, but there can still be trouble.


Canon 7D | Canon 50mm f/1.4 | 430EX II
Blogexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
cccc
Goldmember
cccc's Avatar
Joined Dec 2008
Sacramento, CA
Dec 01, 2011 02:15 as a reply to sbattey's post |  #9

Clean install is the best way. Make sure the drive is large enough, I tried doing it on a 64GB "boot drive" that held all of my programs as well... terrible idea. It died on me.

Reinstalling everything and reimporting lightroom settings and libraries was the hardest thing for me...

If I could do it again, I would I'd have ponied up for a large SSD and a proper RAID setup for all the media.




LOG IN TO REPLY
PaulSoebekti
Member
139 posts
Joined Dec 2002
Dec 01, 2011 11:02 |  #10

Hi there.

It's possible, here's a link for more detailed steps.

http://www.sevenforums​.com ...fer-operating-system.htmlexternal link

Paul




LOG IN TO REPLY
Methodical
Cream of the Crop
Methodical's Avatar
Joined Oct 2008
Where ever I lay my hat is my home
Dec 02, 2011 02:33 as a reply to PaulSoebekti's post |  #11

I see both of you guys suggested the opposite settings for the same type install. Which is which for which situation (i.e. clean install or migration etc.)?

tim wrote in post #13475500external link
I suggest a clean install. Go into the BIOS and set the hard drives to AHCI (not IDE) first.

When install Win7 to an SSD sometimes it hangs for a half hour early on in the install process. Just let it go for up to an hour or two and it'll probably recover.

gotaudi wrote in post #13475818external link
I would also suggest a clean install, some have run into alignment issues with cloning software. Windows is also better when it installs itself in the correct mode such as IDE vs. AHCI. if you clone the a system from an IDE to AHCI you have to do some extra steps to get it to work in that particular mode.


My Treasure Chest
MethodicalImages (external link)
Flickr (external link)
"Never be afraid to try something new. Remember, amateurs built the Ark, professionals built the Titanic"

LOG IN TO REPLY
EvilXSI
Hatchling
4 posts
Joined Nov 2011
South Georgia...for now.
Dec 07, 2011 21:25 as a reply to Methodical's post |  #12

Use AHCI for either install. IDE does not support TRIM, which is important for the SSD's performance. Also, if for some reason you need to switch to IDE you can just change the BIOS setting. Going from IDE to AHCI, however, requires a registry edit.


Canon 450d, 18-55mm 3.5-5.6 EF-S, 50mm 1.8 Pentax Takumar, m42 to EOS mount adapter
Canon AE-1 circa 1979, 50mm 1.8 FD

LOG IN TO REPLY
Numenorean
Goldmember
4,975 posts
Joined Feb 2011
Dec 07, 2011 21:36 |  #13

Clean install is preferred but you can get imaging software which will copy over to the SSD assuming there is enough space.


Gear List

LOG IN TO REPLY
hollis_f
Cream of the Crop
hollis_f's Avatar
10,649 posts
Gallery: 1 photo
Joined Jul 2007
Sussex, UK
Dec 08, 2011 07:44 |  #14

I've used Acronis to clone to my SSDs twice now. Takes just over an hour, unattended, to copy the OS drive to the SSD in an eSATA docking station. A fresh install would take around three days (finding the various serial numbers and installing all the different software).


Frank Hollis - Retired mass spectroscopist
Give a man a fish and he'll eat for a day. Teach a man to fish and he'll complain about the withdrawal of his free fish entitlement.
Gear Websiteexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
EvilXSI
Hatchling
4 posts
Joined Nov 2011
South Georgia...for now.
Dec 08, 2011 09:40 |  #15

A fresh install shouldn't take more than a few hours. I just did a fresh install on a new SSD this week, windows 7 Ultimate, CS5 master collection and MS Office 2010 took three hours tops.


Canon 450d, 18-55mm 3.5-5.6 EF-S, 50mm 1.8 Pentax Takumar, m42 to EOS mount adapter
Canon AE-1 circa 1979, 50mm 1.8 FD

LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)

2,940 views & 0 likes for this thread
Putting OS onto a new SSD drive on WIndows 7
FORUMS General Gear Talk Computers


Not a member yet? Click here to register to the forums.
Registered members get all the features: search, following threads, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, settings, view hosted photos, own reviews and more...


AAA

Send feedback to staff    •   Jump to forum...    •   Rules    •   Index    •   New posts    •   RTAT    •   'Best of'    •   Gallery    •   Gear    •   Reviews    •   Polls

COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Privacy policy and cookie usage info.

POWERED BY AMASS 1.4version 1.4
made in Finland
by Pekka Saarinen
for photography-on-the.net
Spent 0.00155 for 4 database queries.
PAGE COMPLETED IN 0.04s
Latest registered member is georgmichaelis
1070 guests, 496 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 6106, that happened on Jun 09, 2016