FORUMS General Gear Talk Computers
Thread started 30 Nov 2011 (Wednesday) 13:06   
LIST NEARBY THREADS

mr2step
Joined Sep 2008
416 posts
Ocala, Florida
[MORE/SHARE]

Hi everybody. I am curious if anyone knows how difficult it is to move an OS to a SSD drive on windows 7. I have a new gateway but want to upgrade to a SSD at some point. The issue I am having is that I've been told ( by company IT guy) that since my computer came "pre packaged" with no install cd, that it MIGHT not boot up onto the SSD. I am a total computer NOOB but have been learning a lot over the last few weeks researching computers. My new setup consists of Intel i5 2300 Hz, 8 gigs RAM, 1tb HD, dual monitors. I have already installed LR3 and PSE10 on it but not run either app yet. My problem is, I want to know if I will be able to move over all the OS to another drive once I get one to optimize LR3 for speed. I'm presently stuck with one drive and don't want to do anything just yet in case I can move it over without hassle. Thanks

Post #1, Nov 30, 2011 13:06:47

Do what you love, and you will never work a day in your life.
www.Brettmissick.comexternal link

http://www.facebook.co​m/brettmissickphotogra​phyexternal linkhttp://www.facebook.co​m/brettmissickphotogra​phyexternal linkhttp://www.brettmissic​k.wordpress.comexternal link

sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)
muskyhunter
Goldmember
Joined Nov 2010
1,119 posts
Toronto
[MORE/SHARE]

you'll need a clean install to work properly.

Post #2, Nov 30, 2011 13:31:17

Canon 60D w/ BG-E9 | Tamron SP AF 17-50mm ƒ/2.8 VC | Σ 30mm ƒ/1.4 EX DG HSM | Canon 85mm ƒ/1.8 USM | Canon 70-200mm ƒ4L IS | Σ 70-200mm ƒ/2.8 EX OS DG HSM | Canon 430EX II | Kenko 1.4x + 2x | Think Tank Sreetwalker HardDrive | Vanguard UP-Rise 38 |Flickrexternal link|

mr2step
THREAD ­ STARTER
Joined Sep 2008
416 posts
Ocala, Florida
[MORE/SHARE]