Canon Digital Photography Forums  

Go Back   Canon Digital Photography Forums > 'Sharing Knowhow' section > RAW, Post Processing and Printing > Computers
Register Rules FAQ Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 30th of November 2011 (Wed)   #1
mr2step
Member
 
mr2step's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Ocala, Florida
Posts: 405
Default Putting OS onto a new SSD drive on WIndows 7

Hi everybody. I am curious if anyone knows how difficult it is to move an OS to a SSD drive on windows 7. I have a new gateway but want to upgrade to a SSD at some point. The issue I am having is that I've been told ( by company IT guy) that since my computer came "pre packaged" with no install cd, that it MIGHT not boot up onto the SSD. I am a total computer NOOB but have been learning a lot over the last few weeks researching computers. My new setup consists of Intel i5 2300 Hz, 8 gigs RAM, 1tb HD, dual monitors. I have already installed LR3 and PSE10 on it but not run either app yet. My problem is, I want to know if I will be able to move over all the OS to another drive once I get one to optimize LR3 for speed. I'm presently stuck with one drive and don't want to do anything just yet in case I can move it over without hassle. Thanks
__________________
Do what you love, and you will never work a day in your life.
www.Brettmissick.com

http://www.facebook.com/brettmissickphotography

mr2step is offline   Reply With Quote
This ad block will go away when you log in as member
Old 30th of November 2011 (Wed)   #2
muskyhunter
Senior Member
 
muskyhunter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,119
Default Re: Putting OS onto a new SSD drive on WIndows 7

you'll need a clean install to work properly.
__________________
Canon 60D w/ BG-E9 | Tamron SP AF 17-50mm /2.8 VC | Σ 30mm /1.4 EX DG HSM | Canon 85mm /1.8 USM | Canon 70-200mm 4L IS | Σ 70-200mm /2.8 EX OS DG HSM | Canon 430EX II | Kenko 1.4x + 2x | Think Tank Sreetwalker HardDrive | Vanguard UP-Rise 38 | Flickr |
muskyhunter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th of November 2011 (Wed)   #3
mr2step
Member
 
mr2step's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Ocala, Florida
Posts: 405
Default Re: Putting OS onto a new SSD drive on WIndows 7

I guess my question is IF it will work with computer that came w/o boot cd. Yes I made a backup copy first thing but wasn't sure if it could read it off that.
__________________
Do what you love, and you will never work a day in your life.
www.Brettmissick.com

http://www.facebook.com/brettmissickphotography

mr2step is offline   Reply With Quote
This ad block will go away when you log in as member
Old 30th of November 2011 (Wed)   #4
CactusJuice
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 851
Default Re: Putting OS onto a new SSD drive on WIndows 7

Obviously a clean install is preferred, but yes migration will work. However, I would recommend only if you should be comfortable with comfortable with terms and tasks such as "backup", "defragmenting", "ghosting" and "partitions", for example. Migrating is time consuming. Plan to spend an entire afternoon from start to finsih. While not overly complicated, probably not for the faint of heart. There might be extra risk in your case if you're not able to obtain your original installation software.

Keep in mind with SSD you are usually going from big to small. That is, your SSD holds less data than is (possible) on your current hard drive. If that's the case then you first will want to get your current drive's used size down so it will fit on your SSD. This includes defragmenting. Think about it, you could have a 360 GB drive currently. Even if you're not usuing the entire 360 GB, there still might be data written way out there. So first shink and defrag. Then you can ghost and restore onto the SSD. I'm oversimplifying but that's the general process. Your SSD might come with software to help with this.

There are many articles online that go over the steps in detail.
http://lifehacker.com/5837543/how-to...alling-windows
CactusJuice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th of November 2011 (Wed)   #5
tim
Light Bringer
 
tim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Wellington, New Zealand
Posts: 49,236
Default Re: Putting OS onto a new SSD drive on WIndows 7

I suggest a clean install. Go into the BIOS and set the hard drives to AHCI (not IDE) first.

When install Win7 to an SSD sometimes it hangs for a half hour early on in the install process. Just let it go for up to an hour or two and it'll probably recover.
__________________
tim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th of November 2011 (Wed)   #6
gotaudi
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Southern California
Posts: 694
Default Re: Putting OS onto a new SSD drive on WIndows 7

I would also suggest a clean install, some have run into alignment issues with cloning software. Windows is also better when it installs itself in the correct mode such as IDE vs. AHCI. if you clone the a system from an IDE to AHCI you have to do some extra steps to get it to work in that particular mode.
gotaudi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th of November 2011 (Wed)   #7
BluewookieJim
Senior Member
 
BluewookieJim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Southern CT
Posts: 1,095
Default Re: Putting OS onto a new SSD drive on WIndows 7

not saying this is right for everyone, but I put intel SSDs in both my desktop (win 7 pro) and my notebook (win 7 home premium) earlier this year. I did a clean install on the notebook, and used the migration software on the desktop. I havent had any problems with either.
__________________
My Gear and Stuff :: My Zenfolio Gallery :: My Flickr ::
BluewookieJim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st of December 2011 (Thu)   #8
sbattey
User is banned from forums
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 1,250
Default Re: Putting OS onto a new SSD drive on WIndows 7

Some SSDs come with software to do this for you. My father just bought one that came with norton ghost, it worked fine but I ran into boot record issues and had some trouble. For a computer "noob" I would suggest paying someone to do it. Getting a boot CD is only the start of the journey, you have to hope there are drivers for your hardware on the CD as well. Windows 7 is better with drivers than vista and XP were, but there can still be trouble.

Last edited by sbattey : 1st of December 2011 (Thu) at 01:09.
sbattey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st of December 2011 (Thu)   #9
cccc
Senior Member
 
cccc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Rocklin, CA
Posts: 1,717
Default Re: Putting OS onto a new SSD drive on WIndows 7

Clean install is the best way. Make sure the drive is large enough, I tried doing it on a 64GB "boot drive" that held all of my programs as well... terrible idea. It died on me.

Reinstalling everything and reimporting lightroom settings and libraries was the hardest thing for me...

If I could do it again, I would I'd have ponied up for a large SSD and a proper RAID setup for all the media.
__________________
www.chaddavies.com
cccc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st of December 2011 (Thu)   #10
PaulSoebekti
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 106
Default Re: Putting OS onto a new SSD drive on WIndows 7

Hi there.

It's possible, here's a link for more detailed steps.

http://www.sevenforums.com/tutorials...ng-system.html

Paul
PaulSoebekti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd of December 2011 (Fri)   #11
Methodical
Cream of the Crop
 
Methodical's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Where ever I lay my hat is my home
Posts: 5,852
Default Re: Putting OS onto a new SSD drive on WIndows 7

I see both of you guys suggested the opposite settings for the same type install. Which is which for which situation (i.e. clean install or migration etc.)?

Quote:
Originally Posted by tim View Post
I suggest a clean install. Go into the BIOS and set the hard drives to AHCI (not IDE) first.

When install Win7 to an SSD sometimes it hangs for a half hour early on in the install process. Just let it go for up to an hour or two and it'll probably recover.
Quote:
Originally Posted by gotaudi View Post
I would also suggest a clean install, some have run into alignment issues with cloning software. Windows is also better when it installs itself in the correct mode such as IDE vs. AHCI. if you clone the a system from an IDE to AHCI you have to do some extra steps to get it to work in that particular mode.
__________________
Just some Photography stuff
My Site
Flickr
"Never be afraid to try something new. Remember, amateurs built the Ark, professionals built the Titanic"
Methodical is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th of December 2011 (Wed)   #12
EvilXSI
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: South Georgia...for now.
Posts: 4
Default Re: Putting OS onto a new SSD drive on WIndows 7

Use AHCI for either install. IDE does not support TRIM, which is important for the SSD's performance. Also, if for some reason you need to switch to IDE you can just change the BIOS setting. Going from IDE to AHCI, however, requires a registry edit.
__________________
Canon 450d, 18-55mm 3.5-5.6 EF-S, 50mm 1.8 Pentax Takumar, m42 to EOS mount adapter

Canon AE-1 circa 1979, 50mm 1.8 FD
EvilXSI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th of December 2011 (Wed)   #13
Numenorean
Goldmember
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 4,729
Default Re: Putting OS onto a new SSD drive on WIndows 7

Clean install is preferred but you can get imaging software which will copy over to the SSD assuming there is enough space.
Numenorean is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th of December 2011 (Thu)   #14
hollis_f
Cream of the Crop
 
hollis_f's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Sussex, UK
Posts: 10,226
Default Re: Putting OS onto a new SSD drive on WIndows 7

I've used Acronis to clone to my SSDs twice now. Takes just over an hour, unattended, to copy the OS drive to the SSD in an eSATA docking station. A fresh install would take around three days (finding the various serial numbers and installing all the different software).
__________________
Frank Hollis - Retired mass spectroscopist
Give a man a fish and he'll eat for a day. Teach a man to fish and he'll complain about the withdrawal of his free fish entitlement.
Gear Website
hollis_f is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 8th of December 2011 (Thu)   #15
EvilXSI
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: South Georgia...for now.
Posts: 4
Default Re: Putting OS onto a new SSD drive on WIndows 7

A fresh install shouldn't take more than a few hours. I just did a fresh install on a new SSD this week, windows 7 Ultimate, CS5 master collection and MS Office 2010 took three hours tops.
__________________
Canon 450d, 18-55mm 3.5-5.6 EF-S, 50mm 1.8 Pentax Takumar, m42 to EOS mount adapter

Canon AE-1 circa 1979, 50mm 1.8 FD
EvilXSI is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need help setting G-drive HD with Windows 7 digital_AM Computers 7 29th of September 2011 (Thu) 13:18
putting user profile on drive D: SouthGalInSF Computers 4 30th of November 2010 (Tue) 15:49
Windows Crashed my Hard Drive John_B Still Life, B/W & Experimental 4 20th of July 2009 (Mon) 07:50
external drive share between Mac & Windows viodea Accessories & Storage 24 23rd of June 2007 (Sat) 15:16
How can I get Windows to show my camera as a drive? CaseLogic Canon EOS Digital Cameras 6 5th of June 2007 (Tue) 19:48


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:11.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.12
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
This forum is not affiliated with Canon in any way and is run as a free user helpsite by Pekka Saarinen, Helsinki Finland. You will need to register in order to be able to post messages. Cookies are required for registering and posting. HTML in messages is not allowed, plain website addresses are automatically made active by the board.