Canon Digital Photography Forums  

Go Back   Canon Digital Photography Forums > 'Equipment Talk' section > Canon EOS Digital Cameras
Register Rules FAQ Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 7th of December 2011 (Wed)   #1
mafoo
Senior Member
 
mafoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 1,501
Default 5D Mk II Shutter Count

I have a refurbished 5D2 on the FedEx truck our for delivery as we speak .

It's coming directly from Canon, so I trust the quality of the camera. The first thing I am going to do however, is use a utility I found to tell me what the shutter count is.

What number would start to worry you as being to high?
mafoo is offline   Reply With Quote
This ad block will go away when you log in as member
Old 7th of December 2011 (Wed)   #2
wfarrell4
User is banned from forums
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: NJ
Posts: 2,551
Default Re: 5D Mk II Shutter Count

What do you think? Pick a number and be happy if it's under or sad if it's over.
wfarrell4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th of December 2011 (Wed)   #3
Higgs Boson
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: San Antonio, Texas
Posts: 1,880
Default Re: 5D Mk II Shutter Count

0. Any more than that and it will probably break soon.
__________________
A7R | EM-1 | EM-5
7.5 | 17 | 75 | 12-40 | 60M | 17-40L | 70-200LII | 70-200 G OSS
Higgs Boson is offline   Reply With Quote
This ad block will go away when you log in as member
Old 7th of December 2011 (Wed)   #4
mafoo
Senior Member
 
mafoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 1,501
Default Re: 5D Mk II Shutter Count

thank you for your highly constructive feedback.
mafoo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th of December 2011 (Wed)   #5
Ody
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Santee, CA
Posts: 105
Default Re: 5D Mk II Shutter Count

If the shutter count was a critical issue for you, shoulda bought a new one. If it's coming from Canon, it'll be fine. Shoot it, enjoy it, and don't worry about it.
Ody is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th of December 2011 (Wed)   #6
irishman
Goldmember
 
irishman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Scottsdale, AZ
Posts: 4,098
Default Re: 5D Mk II Shutter Count

Wow---lots of smart a$$es on here today. The 5D MkII 's shutter is rated to 150,000. Under 50K would be great, however, don't think its expensive to have a shutter worked on in a worst case scenario. I'm sure its fine. They give you a warranty? Hope you enjoy yours as much as I have mine.
__________________
6D, G9, Sigma 50 1.4, Sigma 15mm Fisheye, Sigma 50 2.8 macro, Nikon 14-24G 2.8, Canon 16-35 2.8 II, Canon 24-105 f/4 IS, Canon 70-200 2.8 IS, tripod, lights, other stuff.
irishman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th of December 2011 (Wed)   #7
Kaiser_photographer
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 194
Default Re: 5D Mk II Shutter Count

My 5D MKII has 160K Clicks and still running.
Kaiser_photographer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th of December 2011 (Wed)   #8
mafoo
Senior Member
 
mafoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 1,501
Default Re: 5D Mk II Shutter Count

Thanks guys. It comes with a 90 day warrantee.

And the shutter count was not a critical issue. But I would think if it comes in, and it's say, 250,000, I might want to investigate further as to issues that might arise due to it's use.

Ok, so for me, under 100K, and I won't think twice.

Last question on the topic. If you had 200K shutter count, and sent it off to Canon to have it serviced (effectively what this is), and it came back, would there be any part of the camera would would be worried about, due to extended use?
mafoo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th of December 2011 (Wed)   #9
wfarrell4
User is banned from forums
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: NJ
Posts: 2,551
Default Re: 5D Mk II Shutter Count

Quote:
Originally Posted by mafoo View Post
Thanks guys. It comes with a 90 day warrantee.

And the shutter count was not a critical issue. But I would think if it comes in, and it's say, 250,000, I might want to return it.

Ok, so for me, under 100K, and I won't think twice.

Last question on the topic. If you had 200K shutter count, and sent it off to Canon to have it serviced (effectively what this is), and it came back, would there be any part of the camera would would be worried about, due to extended use?
Dude I'd be surprised if it had more than a couple hundred yes like 300.

Have you even read the CLP thread about Canon refurbs?
wfarrell4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th of December 2011 (Wed)   #10
mafoo
Senior Member
 
mafoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 1,501
Default Re: 5D Mk II Shutter Count

Quote:
Originally Posted by wfarrell4 View Post
Dude I'd be surprised if it had more than a couple hundred yes like 300.

Have you even read the CLP thread about Canon refurbs?
No. In fact I was not in the market for the 5D2 (due to price), but when a coupon for 15% off + $5 shipping came into my hands, I could not pass it up for $1,699.

Almost everything I own, I buy referb from the factory (I am typing this on a 27" iMac I got referb from Apple). I have always had great luck with it, and know Canon is top notch.

I felt if I spent to much time thinking about it, they would all be gone, and just pulled the trigger on it.

You have a link to the thread your talking about?
mafoo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th of December 2011 (Wed)   #11
wfarrell4
User is banned from forums
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: NJ
Posts: 2,551
Default Re: 5D Mk II Shutter Count

Quote:
Originally Posted by mafoo View Post
No. In fact I was not in the market for the 5D2 (due to price), but when a coupon for 15% off + $5 shipping came into my hands, I could not pass it up for $1,699.

Almost everything I own, I buy referb from the factory (I am typing this on a 27" iMac I got referb from Apple). I have always had great luck with it, and know Canon is top notch.

I felt if I spent to much time thinking about it, they would all be gone, and just pulled the trigger on it.

You have a link to the thread your talking about?
Search CLP POTN on google.
wfarrell4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th of December 2011 (Wed)   #12
melanopsin
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 278
Default Re: 5D Mk II Shutter Count

Call Canon Service to search their records for the shutter count on leaving refurbish. All they need is serial #.
melanopsin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th of December 2011 (Wed)   #13
wfarrell4
User is banned from forums
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: NJ
Posts: 2,551
Default Re: 5D Mk II Shutter Count

Quote:
Originally Posted by melanopsin View Post
Call Canon Service to search their records for the shutter count on leaving refurbish. All they need is serial #.
And all you need is EOSInfo.
wfarrell4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th of December 2011 (Wed)   #14
Unregistered.Coward
Member
 
Unregistered.Coward's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Looking thru the viewfinder
Posts: 884
Default Re: 5D Mk II Shutter Count

Quote:
Originally Posted by mafoo View Post
thank you for your highly constructive feedback.
According to Canon's website

http://shop.usa.canon.com/webapp/wcs...ogId=10051#pao

"Products are returned to Canon for a variety of reasons, including overstock balancing, miscellaneous returns from retailers, suspected mis-operation, and minor damage to the box."

A refurbished camera is not a used camera, it's an essentially new camera that can't be sold as new. It will have an arbitrarily low shutter count that one might expect from a camera that may have been used briefly as a demo, handled, or returned by the consumer.

Why aren't you concerned about why the camera was originally returned, are you perhaps buying one that was damaged or operated improperly?
__________________
....the best camera is the one you have on you at the time.
Unregistered.Coward is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th of December 2011 (Wed)   #15
mafoo
Senior Member
 
mafoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 1,501
Default Re: 5D Mk II Shutter Count

thanks wfarrell4, I read up on the CLP. Good info to know.

@Unregistered.Coward
I trust Canon to properly fix whatever was broken on the camera, if it was returned from a user, so that does not bother me.

However, being this camera has been on the market now for several years, and it's a model used by pros, my only concern is general wear and tear of the camera. I figured shutter count would be a fairly good measuring stick as to how much it's been used.

I know some photography studios sell there camera after the shutter count reaches a threshold. They must be doing it for some reason .

The good news, is after your post, and the one above it, I am far less worried about getting a camera that has been traded it due to being used a lot.

Thanks everyone.
mafoo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Shutter count after shutter replacement.. kwyml12106 Canon EOS Digital Cameras 10 4th of April 2011 (Mon) 21:17
Shutter Count on a Camera with Shutter Replaced? fourelements99 Canon EOS Digital Cameras 13 1st of July 2010 (Thu) 00:14
Shutter count/actuations....excessive worry about count? HeathNC Canon EOS Digital Cameras 34 13th of May 2009 (Wed) 01:41
SHUTTER COUNT theimagepoint Canon EOS Digital Cameras 3 2nd of February 2009 (Mon) 19:18


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:24.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.12
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
This forum is not affiliated with Canon in any way and is run as a free user helpsite by Pekka Saarinen, Helsinki Finland. You will need to register in order to be able to post messages. Cookies are required for registering and posting. HTML in messages is not allowed, plain website addresses are automatically made active by the board.