Canon Digital Photography Forums  

Go Back   Canon Digital Photography Forums > 'Equipment Talk' section > Canon EOS Digital Cameras
Register Rules FAQ Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 26th of January 2012 (Thu)   #1
pinkdaisy
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 104
Default I have a EOS 550D and it says Busy lots

Hi, when I am taking quite a few photos, the camera comes up Busy, and when in a photo shoot this
can be very annoying as then I miss great shots sometimes the best ones grrr
Is there anything I can do to make the busy less or?


I am a newbe so dont know lots about my camera I just have a good eye on taking photos.. need to learn lot's.
pinkdaisy is offline   Reply With Quote
This ad block will go away when you log in as member
Old 26th of January 2012 (Thu)   #2
kurt segers
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Belgium
Posts: 52
Default Re: I have a EOS 550D and it says Busy lots

Never encountered this with my 550D, does this happen when you are taking burst series photographs? What speed of memory card do you have in there?
A slow memory card could cause this when taking burst shots as it can't write the data away fast enough causing the camera buffer to get full.
edit: especially when you are shooting RAW as opposed to jpg due to the extra filesizes of RAW images

That's all I can think of to be honest, maybe others will chip in with other suggestions or fixes if they have experience with this issue.
__________________
Canon 550D / 18-135 kit lens / nifty fifty
A few photos on Flickr
kurt segers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th of January 2012 (Thu)   #3
pinkdaisy
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 104
Default Re: I have a EOS 550D and it says Busy lots

I changed my memory card from a sandisk 8gb to a 16gb but it is still doing it, some times it does burts of photos, can I ask about the RAW ? can I change this to see if it helps or see if it is on or not?
pinkdaisy is offline   Reply With Quote
This ad block will go away when you log in as member
Old 26th of January 2012 (Thu)   #4
drmaxx
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 400
Default Re: I have a EOS 550D and it says Busy lots

How fast is your new sd card? Usually there is a number indicating the speed -- typically something between >0 to 10.

What mode are you shooting in?
__________________
Donate if you love POTN
drmaxx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th of January 2012 (Thu)   #5
pinkdaisy
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 104
Default Re: I have a EOS 550D and it says Busy lots

There is a number 10 in a circle on the card is that it? I have been shooting on portrait or automatic at the minute untill I get used to the shutter speeds etc etc.
pinkdaisy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th of January 2012 (Thu)   #6
Sorarse
Goldmember
 
Sorarse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Kent, UK
Posts: 2,192
Default Re: I have a EOS 550D and it says Busy lots

Have you got the noise reduction function switched on, as this can slow your camera down if you are taking a lot of continuous shots or long exposures?
__________________
At the beginning of time there was absolutely nothing. And then it exploded! Terry Pratchett

http://www.scarecrowimages.com
Canon PowerShot G2
Sorarse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th of January 2012 (Thu)   #7
dexy101
Senior Member
 
dexy101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Aberdeen, Scotland.
Posts: 1,703
Default Re: I have a EOS 550D and it says Busy lots

I had this a lot with using the flash a lot on my 550D but it may also be your card.
__________________
Flickr

Gear List
dexy101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th of January 2012 (Thu)   #8
pinkdaisy
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 104
Default Re: I have a EOS 550D and it says Busy lots

can you tell me how to check this Sorarse?
pinkdaisy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th of January 2012 (Thu)   #9
pinkdaisy
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 104
Default Re: I have a EOS 550D and it says Busy lots

my memory disc is a exsteme hd video 8 and a 16mg san disk they both ahve number 10's in cirlcles on the front cant see anything on the back
pinkdaisy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th of January 2012 (Thu)   #10
drmaxx
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 400
Default Re: I have a EOS 550D and it says Busy lots

Quote:
Originally Posted by pinkdaisy View Post
There is a number 10 in a circle on the card is that it? I have been shooting on portrait or automatic
This is a fast card and the mode you're in does not produce any raw files. So, I don't think it is the card. It might be that you are too fast for the camera?

Somebody with a 550D might chime in - I personally never had the problem with the 450D. But I am also a slow shooter
__________________
Donate if you love POTN
drmaxx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th of January 2012 (Thu)   #11
highergr0und
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 545
Default Re: I have a EOS 550D and it says Busy lots

You are probably just filling the buffer..... If you take a bunch of shots then look down at the camera, it will say busy because it's trying to complete the writing process. I notice it on my t3i from time to time, but I shoot RAW. JPG will produce many more shots, but the buffer still needs to clear.

What are you shooting so rapidly?
__________________
T3i, Sigma 10-20, Sigma 30 1.4, 18-55 kit, 55-250, YN-565, a few books, some software, and a desire to get good.....
highergr0und is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th of January 2012 (Thu)   #12
pinkdaisy
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 104
Default Re: I have a EOS 550D and it says Busy lots

Can I ask what the difrence in RAW and JPG? and how do I change this on my camera?
pinkdaisy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th of January 2012 (Thu)   #13
drmaxx
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 400
Default Re: I have a EOS 550D and it says Busy lots

A raw file is an other file format for pictures. Check out ...
http://photography-on-the.net/forum/...ht=what+is+raw

You can set that in the setting - there you usually can choose the jpeg resolution (quality) and if you would like to have raw or raw + jpeg. Check out the manual.

You only get raw files when you shoot in P, M, Av, or Tv, .....

By the way: When you do decrease the jpeg quality then you actually will get less 'busy' signs. The price you pay are pictures with lesser quality. But you might want to go for this trade off?
__________________
Donate if you love POTN

Last edited by drmaxx : 26th of January 2012 (Thu) at 11:43.
drmaxx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th of January 2012 (Thu)   #14
RTPVid
Goldmember
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: MN
Posts: 3,364
Default Re: I have a EOS 550D and it says Busy lots

Are you shooting in burst mode or not? Do you have noise reduction enabled or not? Are you shooting with the flash or not? (I can't see where you answered any of these questions).

(Don't get sidetracked on RAW v JPEG. That is unlikely to be pertinent unless you are also shooting in burst mode).
__________________
Tom

Last edited by RTPVid : 26th of January 2012 (Thu) at 12:21.
RTPVid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th of January 2012 (Thu)   #15
Ricardo222
Cream of the Crop
 
Ricardo222's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Nelson, New Zealand
Posts: 15,397
Default Re: I have a EOS 550D and it says Busy lots

Quote:
Originally Posted by pinkdaisy View Post
Can I ask what the difrence in RAW and JPG? and how do I change this on my camera?
Read the manual?

Take the advice that said turn off noise reduction if it's on, and any other presets that may slow the thing down.

Are you shooting multiple shots? And if so, is it very necessary? What kind of subjects are you shooting?

I use "one shot" most of the time....

Many of the questions you are asking a VERY basic...just sit down with your manual or with someone who knows and learn the basics at least...you'll find that it makes photography much more fun!
__________________
Growing old disgracefully!
Ricardo222 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Photoshoots-what I have been busy doing. (lots of exotics) NVPhotoman Transportation 19 29th of January 2011 (Sat) 18:01
550D / T2i flash busy mastermind_h Canon EOS Digital Cameras 5 21st of January 2011 (Fri) 21:55
Flash "busy" problem 550D Gregg.Siam Small Flash and Studio Lighting 5 10th of October 2010 (Sun) 10:12
Busy Morning Birding (Lots Of Pics) Scottes Wildlife 10 8th of September 2004 (Wed) 20:35


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 15:06.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.12
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
This forum is not affiliated with Canon in any way and is run as a free user helpsite by Pekka Saarinen, Helsinki Finland. You will need to register in order to be able to post messages. Cookies are required for registering and posting. HTML in messages is not allowed, plain website addresses are automatically made active by the board.