Canon Digital Photography Forums  

Go Back   Canon Digital Photography Forums > 'Sharing Knowhow' section > Talk About Photography > Kids & Family Talk
Register Rules FAQ Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 28th of January 2012 (Sat)   #1
Kikz

Default What have i done wrong here?

Hi guys,ok i was in friends small party this late afternoon,a bit rainy so it was held indoors,low ceiling and small room with about 20 peoples inside,i am new to flash photography and this is part of my learning experience..

I have 60D with 35mm F2 and 430EX II and i want to try my newly bought Cactus V4 trigger,fire random shots and i put the flash off camera,bounce it on the ceiling and fire away,all i got was harsh big shadows that is really annoying...

Can you guys enlighten me what happened on these shots?is it the position of the flash?the low ceiling?or i could've done better if i use the pop up flash to trigger the 430 EX?thanks a bunch....

Old 29th of January 2012 (Sun)   #2
Kikz

Default Re: What have i done wrong here?

Looks like i'm in a wrong forum to place this thread,46 views,not a single reply.
Old 29th of January 2012 (Sun)   #3
FlyingPhotog
Cream of the "Prop"

Looks like you either didn't have your flash high enough or far enough off to one side to drive the shadows out of the frame.

Looks pretty much like direct flash but it's about two feet to your left.
Old 29th of January 2012 (Sun)   #4
skygod44
"in stockings and suspenders"

Location: Southern Kyushu, Japan. Which means nowhere near Tokyo!

^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^
Hahahahahahaha!
Relax....many members (like me!) are spread around the world, so it takes a while to find you!

So, that looks like you should have angled the flash for the walls. Not the ceiling.
Though those shadows look like coming from the built-in flash, fired upwards...?

Regards,
Simon
Old 29th of January 2012 (Sun)   #5
samsonrodriguez
User is banned from forums

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kikz View Post