Canon Digital Photography Forums  

Go Back   Canon Digital Photography Forums > 'Equipment Talk' section > Canon EOS Digital Cameras
Register Rules FAQ Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 18th of February 2012 (Sat)   #1
brighambartol

Default "Recording Stopped Automatically" - help?

First off, I'm a bit of a camera noob, but I'm a musician and I saved up for a camera that I could shoot HD videos of my music with (plus I wanted to take up photography as well), so I picked up a Canon Rebel T3i.

The problem is, half the time when I record video the camera stops about a minute in and says "recording stopped automatically". I've seen a couple threads of people with this same problem, but no very helpful responses. I have a class 10 memory card that I bought from Henry's, so I'm pretty sure the card isn't the issue.

So far as I can tell after searching, this has something to do with overheating. Is there any way to solve/combat this issue? I feel kind of ripped of having bought and expensive (by my standards) piece of equipment that I can't use half the time....
brighambartol is offline   Reply With Quote
This ad block will go away when you log in as member
Old 18th of February 2012 (Sat)   #2
lannes
Goldmember

Default Re: "Recording Stopped Automatically" - help?

Usually with recording problems it is the card speed, what brand is your card, some don't perform to their stated class.
Something like a genuine Sandisk extreme pro SDHC card, would guarrantee you have the card performance.
Also try reformatting the card in the camera.

what settings are using for video ?

Last edited by lannes : 18th of February 2012 (Sat) at 19:48.
lannes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th of February 2012 (Sat)   #3
brighambartol

Quote:
Originally Posted by lannes View Post
Usually with recording problems it is the card speed, what brand is your card, some don't perform to their stated class.
Also try reformatting the card in the camera