Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Read More.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EF and EF-S Lenses
Thread started 24 Feb 2012 (Friday) 15:28
Prev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)

Auto focus with teleconverter.

 
blakeG!
Goldmember
blakeG!'s Avatar
1,404 posts
Joined May 2010
Oklahoma
Feb 24, 2012 15:28 |  #1

I'm about to pick up a 100-400 and would like to get a 2x teleconverter to use for longer shots. Do teleconverters support autofocus and IS? If so, which brands do? I have a 7D if that makes any difference.
Thanks in advance!


-Blake
EOS 7D
Canon 100mm F 2.8 Macro, Canon 400mm 5.6L, Tokina 11-16mm 2.8, Canon 28-135,Canon 430exii

LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)
Snydremark
Myth-informed
17,077 posts
Gallery: 26 photos
Joined Mar 2009
Issaquah, WA USA
Feb 24, 2012 15:34 |  #2

IS, yes; you'll lose AF with a 2x on the 100-400, as that will drop your max aperture to f/11.

I had ok results with the 2x MkIII TC + 100-400, when I was testing out the 2x with my 70-200; but the 'Pump' was manual focus only with it. So I couldn't justify keeping it when it didn't work for anything on the 70-200.


- Eric S.: My Birds/Wildlife (external link) (7D MkII, Canon 10-22 f/3.5-4.5, Canon 24-105L f/4 IS, Canon 70-200L f/2.8 IS MkII, Canon 100-400L f/4.5-5.6 IS)
"The easiest way to improve your photos is to adjust the loose nut between the shutter release and the ground."

LOG IN TO REPLY
watt100
Cream of the Crop
14,021 posts
Joined Jun 2008
Feb 24, 2012 15:42 |  #3

blakeG! wrote in post #13960399external link
I'm about to pick up a 100-400 and would like to get a 2x teleconverter to use for longer shots. Do teleconverters support autofocus and IS? If so, which brands do? I have a 7D if that makes any difference.
Thanks in advance!


Do a search, the Kenko Pro 300 DGX 1.4x teleconverter works on the 100-400 with autofocus and IS




LOG IN TO REPLY
Wallace ­ River
" ...a bit of a pervy voyeur "
Wallace River's Avatar
11,703 posts
Gallery: 71 photos
Joined Jul 2010
Wallace, Nova Scotia
Feb 24, 2012 15:44 |  #4

You will lose autofocus on this lens with any Canon extender, on anything but a 1D camera. A 1.4 will make the f5.6 into f8 and a 2X will be f11. You lose one and two f-stops respectively with the TC's. There is a way to fool the camera and make it try to autofocus by putting scotch tape over certain electrical contacts (I tried it) but it's unreliable and still realllllly slllooowww to focus except in real bright sunlight. Not worth it.


IAN - Living life on the shores of the Wallace River in northern Nova Scotia, Canada :
Canon 1D4, 1D-X, almost enough glass.
My Flickr (external link). http://ianmurray.zenfo​lio.com/ (external link)

LOG IN TO REPLY
blakeG!
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
blakeG!'s Avatar
1,404 posts
Joined May 2010
Oklahoma
Feb 24, 2012 15:50 |  #5

So you lose autofocus with the 2x. if I were to get a 1.4 tele, I would keep autofocus and IS?


-Blake
EOS 7D
Canon 100mm F 2.8 Macro, Canon 400mm 5.6L, Tokina 11-16mm 2.8, Canon 28-135,Canon 430exii

LOG IN TO REPLY
pol024
Member
166 posts
Joined Sep 2009
Feb 24, 2012 15:52 |  #6

on a 7d yes




LOG IN TO REPLY
Snydremark
Myth-informed
17,077 posts
Gallery: 26 photos
Joined Mar 2009
Issaquah, WA USA
Feb 24, 2012 15:54 |  #7

blakeG! wrote in post #13960574external link
So you lose autofocus with the 2x. if I were to get a 1.4 tele, I would keep autofocus and IS?

Maybe. Some of the 1.4s won't report the focal length change to the camera and AF will remain on; however, it still may slow down and/or be inaccurate enough to not be worth it.

All you can do is try and see how you like the results.

[EDIT: PS; don't get the Canon 1.4. The Kenkos tend to give better results in that range of TC]


- Eric S.: My Birds/Wildlife (external link) (7D MkII, Canon 10-22 f/3.5-4.5, Canon 24-105L f/4 IS, Canon 70-200L f/2.8 IS MkII, Canon 100-400L f/4.5-5.6 IS)
"The easiest way to improve your photos is to adjust the loose nut between the shutter release and the ground."

LOG IN TO REPLY
blakeG!
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
blakeG!'s Avatar
1,404 posts
Joined May 2010
Oklahoma
Feb 24, 2012 16:12 |  #8

Snydremark wrote in post #13960598external link
Maybe. Some of the 1.4s won't report the focal length change to the camera and AF will remain on; however, it still may slow down and/or be inaccurate enough to not be worth it.

All you can do is try and see how you like the results.

[EDIT: PS; don't get the Canon 1.4. The Kenkos tend to give better results in that range of TC]

I plan on getting a kenko. Along with kenko extension tubes for my macro work :)


-Blake
EOS 7D
Canon 100mm F 2.8 Macro, Canon 400mm 5.6L, Tokina 11-16mm 2.8, Canon 28-135,Canon 430exii

LOG IN TO REPLY
fredrikb81
Member
109 posts
Joined Dec 2010
Feb 24, 2012 18:11 as a reply to blakeG!'s post |  #9

Don't bother with the extender on a 100-400 lens unless you plan on using it with manual focus. You will only be disappointed if you expect ANY AF capabilities.




LOG IN TO REPLY
blakeG!
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
blakeG!'s Avatar
1,404 posts
Joined May 2010
Oklahoma
Feb 25, 2012 02:45 |  #10

fredrikb81 wrote in post #13961333external link
Don't bother with the extender on a 100-400 lens unless you plan on using it with manual focus. You will only be disappointed if you expect ANY AF capabilities.

I will mostly be using it for moon and bird shots. With birds that far away, I should be able to use live view to focus pretty spot on.


-Blake
EOS 7D
Canon 100mm F 2.8 Macro, Canon 400mm 5.6L, Tokina 11-16mm 2.8, Canon 28-135,Canon 430exii

LOG IN TO REPLY
Invertalon
Cream of the Crop
Invertalon's Avatar
6,489 posts
Joined Jun 2009
Cleveland, OH
Feb 25, 2012 10:12 |  #11

When I used a 1.4x TC with the 400 f/5.6 when I had it (taped pins) AF was terrible. But it still was nice to have the reach, and just pre-set the focus via live-view... For birding and such.


-Steve
Facebookexternal link
Flickrexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
amfoto1
Cream of the Crop
10,158 posts
Joined Aug 2007
San Jose, California
Feb 25, 2012 11:38 |  #12

Don't expect great image quality with a teleconverter on a zoom. With a few exceptions (such as the Canon 70-200/2.8 IS Mark II with the Canon 2X Mark III), teleconverters work best with prime lenses.

A 1.4X "costs" one stop of light and a 2X "costs" two stops. So an f5.6 lens with a 1.4X added "becomes" an f8 lens. And a 2X on the same lens makes it an f11 lens. Technically, Canon cameras other than the 1D series are not supposed to be able to auto focus with less than f5.6 lens. You might still be able to manually focus, but your viewfinder will be dimmer too.

There are some tricks to try to get the lens to try to auto focus with a teleconverter. Use a third party TC that doesn't "report" to the camera. With TCs that report, you can tape up a couple of the electronic contacts so the camera doesn't know it's there. There are illustrations how to do this here on POTN and elsewhere on the Internet. Do a search if interested. Either way, the EXIF will only show the lens, not the lens + TC focal length.

However, "tricking" the camera will give reduced AF performance. It will be slower and it will hunt more... might fail more in lower light or lower contrast situations.

And adding the optics of a TC always costs some image quality. Less with a weaker TC (1.4X) than with stronger ones (2X). It can be very little loss with more ideal lens/TC combos... or a lot with less ideal combinations. In general, the 100-400 is not a very good zoom to use with teleconverters. But some people make it work adequately for their purposes.

Have you considered simply getting a longer lens, instead? For example, the Sigma 150-500mm lens alone might serve better than a 100-400 with a 1.4X. The Sigma also costs about $500 less.


Alan Myers "Walk softly and carry a big lens."
5DII, 7DII(x2), 7D(x2), other cameras. 10-22mm, Tokina 12-24/4, 20/2.8, TS 24/3.5L, 24-70/2.8L, 28/1.8, 28-135 IS (x2), TS 45/2.8, 50/1.4, Tamron 60/2.0, 70-200/4L IS, 70-200/2.8 IS, 85/1.8, Tamron 90/2.5 Macro, 100/2.8 USM, 100-400L II, 135/2L, 180/3.5L, 300/4L IS, 300/2.8L IS, 500/4L IS, EF 1.4X II, EF 2X II. Flashes, studio strobes & various access. - FLICKR (external link) - EXPOSUREMANAGER (external link)

LOG IN TO REPLY
troutfisher
Goldmember
troutfisher's Avatar
Joined Apr 2007
West Yorkshire UK
Feb 25, 2012 11:52 |  #13

Personally having tried the combination of a 7D+100/400+Kenko 1.4TC (with the pins taped ) in good light I would not bother just stick to the lens +camera.
The 7D +100/400 is quite croppable, one of the benefits of 18MP.
This is about 70 yards away from my house and while there is not much feather detail I would not expect it at that distance.

IMAGE: http://merlinphotographics.zenfolio.com/img/s3/v45/p491260951-4.jpg


BTW I tried it with the TC and had to MF hand holding so all the shots were OOF.

if you want to read up on pin taping this http://www.michaelfurt​man.com/taping_the_pin​s.htm (external link) gives lots of info.
Like amfoto1 says if you need longer than 400mm try a longer lens

Chris
" Age and treachery will always defeat youth and enthusiasm"

LOG IN TO REPLY
Fiddlefingers
Member
Fiddlefingers's Avatar
195 posts
Joined Dec 2008
Scotland
Feb 25, 2012 13:08 |  #14

AF will work in LiveView with any combination of lens + extender e.g. 400mm f5.6 plus 2x extender. It's very slow, but useable for stationary or slow moving objects. Best to focus just past the subject as the af always seems to go from far focus to close and back again until it finds focus. Therefore, it takes much less time to lock on if you firstly focus just past the subject.


http://www.tomgilland.​co.ukexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
blakeG!
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
blakeG!'s Avatar
1,404 posts
Joined May 2010
Oklahoma
Feb 25, 2012 13:50 |  #15

Thank you for all the input everyone. Greatly appreciated. I'm guessing a tele would have a lot better IQ with a prime. Such as the 400 5.6. Decisions decisions...


-Blake
EOS 7D
Canon 100mm F 2.8 Macro, Canon 400mm 5.6L, Tokina 11-16mm 2.8, Canon 28-135,Canon 430exii

LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)

4,321 views & 0 likes for this thread
Auto focus with teleconverter.
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EF and EF-S Lenses


Not a member yet? Click here to register to the forums.
Registered members get all the features: search, following threads, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, settings, view hosted photos, own reviews and more...


AAA

Send feedback to staff    •   Jump to forum...    •   Rules    •   Index    •   New posts    •   RTAT    •   'Best of'    •   Gallery    •   Gear    •   Reviews    •   Polls

COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Privacy policy and cookie usage info.

POWERED BY AMASS 1.4version 1.4
made in Finland
by Pekka Saarinen
for photography-on-the.net
Spent 0.0009 for 4 database queries.
PAGE COMPLETED IN 0.03s
Latest registered member is Dougout
745 guests, 448 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 6106, that happened on Jun 09, 2016